Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

ch_teo
post Apr 14 2011, 10:33 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 14 2011, 10:08 AM)
I checked Yahoo... S$ is >RM2.40 this morning. Interest rates for savings accounts should go up. Property buyers with heavy loans should seriously re-evaluate their holding power.
have been observing every day since around 3 weeks ago. keep appreciating.
sg gov is preventing hiking of inflation.
anyhow, happy good friday to everyone for next week!

1 thing for sure, malaysia food is still the most favorable for me.
even singaporean colleagues complaining sg food tasteless.
ch_teo
post Apr 17 2011, 09:39 PM

809 posts

always pass through ss2 as need go du. smile.gif
murni no places...always full until car park lots also being "hijacked"...
outside people shops also kena "blocked"... sad.gif

using ron97 as wanna overtake on highway with acceleration faster response. sweat.gif
ron95 no response when wanna overtake.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Apr 17 2011, 09:41 PM
ch_teo
post Apr 17 2011, 11:00 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 17 2011, 10:46 PM)
At the wheel?
loaded with mp3 then will get u to focus. that wat i always do all the way from jb-->kl non-stop or stop just to rest room.
sometimes, do feel tired driving after work.

like go ss2 as lot makan places. du night time not many places to eat. realise people open restaurants in du really "lazy", weekends especially Sun no open.
ch_teo
post Apr 17 2011, 11:15 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Apr 17 2011, 11:09 PM)
im thinkin about working around tuas/jurong and
stay around JB/gelang patah
(save alot leh!)   tongue.gif  tongue.gif

which means i will have to drive in and out of both country everyday
anybody has experience of doing this?

im wondering if you need any special visa/passport for frequent embarkment
and since i am going to drive my car from my place to work
do my car need some special sticker.tag or something too?

i heard quite many malaysians do this too.
living in my while working in sg
just need the autopass + the IU. with EP/passport.
sometimes, away from work due to traveling.
pls learn more yourself from here:
http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...oring_guide.htm

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Apr 17 2011, 11:17 PM
ch_teo
post Apr 19 2011, 11:29 AM

809 posts

quick check if anyone knows:

is the there a jack-up drilling rig, Rubicone in progress converted into MOPU in Jurong shipyard.

here only with up to 2010 track records.
http://www.jspl.com.sg/track-conver.htm

thanks. smile.gif
ch_teo
post Apr 24 2011, 10:59 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 24 2011, 09:22 PM)
nope ^^ sorry... but my figures are based on what i see and hear  tongue.gif

Added on April 24, 2011, 9:23 pmlester, can i bring a big bag this friday? i am taking 1/2 day off... so will arrive in jb early i think to avoid jam

any1 else beside me and nokia?
another here.... smile.gif just joking...
lester good guy, big big bag also no problem. biggrin.gif
wan back kl too hehe...

Added on April 24, 2011, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(stinky @ Apr 24 2011, 07:28 PM)
Hi all,
I have question on how to fill up the disembarkation card,
http://www.ica.gov.sg/data/resources/docs/...s/DE%20Card.pdf

Please refer to the link and can anyone advice me what to fill up at the center portion of the card that says,
1) Place of residence
2) City, State, Country

For this part do i fill up my Malaysian address or Singapore Address?
I'm confused.

Thank You
just state JB Malaysia/XXXX (where u enter sg from).
address in sg, u must put in at least the house no, street name or hotel name. few years ago, i was asked to fill in at least the no & which street.

Added on April 24, 2011, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ Apr 23 2011, 01:54 PM)
I was thinking of buying a Macbook. but since ill start working sg by june, should i buy now in Malaysia or buy it in sg?

or is it no different to the price in Malaysia?
i compared Dell Mas & Sg few months back with currency conversion. Mas still cheaper.
not sure about apple.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Apr 24 2011, 11:05 PM
ch_teo
post Apr 26 2011, 10:04 AM

809 posts

mostly petronas, shell or caltex.

there is Esso & Petronas at R&R after out from Tuas 2nd link & back to JB.
Towards Tuas before the last toll, there is Shell & Petronas.

There is 1 Shell towards Causeway. But have never frequent that before.
ch_teo
post Apr 26 2011, 08:59 PM

809 posts

your employer should fill up a form for you to submit to LHDN, CP 21.

http://www.hasil.gov.my/goindex.php?jboran...osi=1&Submit=Go
ch_teo
post Apr 27 2011, 09:32 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Apr 27 2011, 09:06 PM)
I booked a bus ticket bound for Berjaya Times Square KL this friday night. I think it is still not too late to book if you want coz I saw many empty seats when I was booking online yesterday. I paid SGD65 for both way.

It feels kinda weird coz I was back in KL just last week. On top of that, I'm going back this Wesak day too. sweat.gif
rclxms.gif me just back last week, this Fri nite again tongue.gif

ch_teo
post May 10 2011, 01:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 10 2011, 01:29 PM)
I don't know about india indians in singapore, but in my experience working with the indians in india in my MNC, their concept of exaggeration is way beyond what malaysians are capable of. They've got this ability to talk as if they have superhuman powers but in reality can't deliver. And in concalls if you let them dictate the meeting, it'll be hours of talking and end up with nothing at the end of it.

Of course I'm generalizing from my personal viewpoints, your mileage may vary.
nod.gif
also becareful on what had been verbally agreed totally different from in the documents.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 10 2011, 01:45 PM
ch_teo
post May 11 2011, 09:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 11 2011, 03:43 PM)
I've seen 4 people stay in a single common room. I've heard you can fit around 6 to 7 in a room since i know a guy who sub let a condo with 4 rooms to 22 china labourers.

Added on May 11, 2011, 3:45 pm

Why cant they hire an indian worker on a work permit at the same salary range? Why does it have to be from china?

Most indian welders and fitters in shipyards and construction workers are indians and they basic pay is around 700-900. With OT their salary goes above 1000.

Plus employers can get around the high cost of minimum wage for an s-pass guy.

Say the s-pass gets $ 1800 a month according to mom law, the employer can state on their pay slip that they get that amount but in reality they may shortchanged them.

I know a couple of SME's which does this. I know one guy who's an S-Pass who's supposed to get $1800 and his pay slip states that same amount but every month is bank account is credited with $1500. No guesses where the balance $300 goes.

This usually happens to banglas, china, indians and burmese people since alot of singaporean employers know they can bully them since those people need the money and cant afford to job hop and to pay back the loan they took to get a job in singapore in the first place.
some of the balance goes into here:
levies

lot of sg employers find ways to exploit them. their 1st job all salary is paying for their food, accommodation & manpower supplied agent for the 1-2 years. end up nothing after S-pass expired. get nothing back to their own country.
that is how smart most of the sg employers are. the locals are not willing to take such physical demanding & dusty job.
so if lot of people especially those academically low still think it is great to work at sg, think thrice, unless one is very highly pay.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 11 2011, 09:45 PM
ch_teo
post May 13 2011, 11:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ May 13 2011, 10:52 PM)
Hey~! Anyone here interested in gathering?
u r the host? biggrin.gif tongue.gif
ch_teo
post May 13 2011, 11:49 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 13 2011, 04:26 PM)
You should change from "smart" to "modern day salvery". But i doubt singaporean employers will change their stance of this, its easy for them to exploit foreign workers for cheap labour since it would mean they would have to face a cut into their revenue which is unacceptable as is kaisu tradition.

I also found out that you can bribe your way during a commercial vehicle inspection for around 100 dollars. I know a sub-con whose vehicle i had the "pleasure" to ride in and they guy told me that the engines busted, the steering is whacked and the radiator needs topping up every few days and he told me that his company made a "special" request to their mechanic to help them pass through the annual vehicle inspection. He even saw the vehicle report which initially stated that the vehicle inpection failed, after his boss called his mechanic to sort it out, the vehicle passed so in that one day, that vehicle could have failed and then passed the inspection.
there is a saying always i hear "still stagnant in the era of policemen wearing short pant".

u have given an example as above. sometime ago minor people in opposed opinions as what i was trying to mention at here. thx! rclxms.gif
there are lot of loophole creatively keeps happening but settle quietly.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 13 2011, 11:50 PM
ch_teo
post May 15 2011, 10:09 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ May 15 2011, 07:06 PM)
Hmmm... My mum just informed me that she coming to SG coming Saturday and Sunday doh.gif  So I can't go anymore..
bring ur mum along loh tongue.gif

Added on May 15, 2011, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(bellion @ May 15 2011, 09:47 PM)
I don't blame the Singaporeans for feeling frustrated with one-third of the country being made up of foreigners.
though i am a foreigner at there. i feel it too from s'poreans' point of view.
lot of foods is no longer s'pore's style or taste.
sometimes, i feel not par to the standard as what a developed country should be projected. on surface, everything perfect but inner depth different stories.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 15 2011, 10:12 PM
ch_teo
post May 17 2011, 02:08 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 17 2011, 11:38 AM)
is it? didnt know...  i thought more at west... lol... nvm lor, those interested cont the list below... so we can gauge... amk or bishan seems ok...

me - west
nokia - west
toughnut - west
yimyum - east
wasaubushi - east
come jb eat seafood biggrin.gif
jurong point also not bad.

ch_teo
post May 17 2011, 07:39 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ May 17 2011, 05:15 PM)
what!! I busy working mah... like u meh! Always spam here while on work tongue.gif
Ok ok, 4 June I'm ok ar!! Ho yeh~!
if 28/6 great lah. 4 june that week need go OGA 2011 @ klcc. then to australia...

rclxms.gif drool.gif
Restaurant Chua Kee
Tian Lai not recommended. sad.gif

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 17 2011, 07:41 PM
ch_teo
post May 17 2011, 10:07 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ May 17 2011, 09:36 PM)
im ok with the date  icon_idea.gif
wub.gif those who have cars, mau tumpang boleh?i will subsidy for the fuel.  smile.gif

Added on May 17, 2011, 9:38 pm

28/6 (tue) or 26/6 (sun)?

last time during my undergrad times i oways wanted to go to OGA...but now  cry.gif  no need-lah...in a depressed industry...
oops sorry typo. supposed is 28/5 free. only free for this week. the following coming weeks tight schedule.
the last OGA 2009 grabbed many things there & learnt lot things. tongue.gif

4/6 then i cannot join. remember Chua Kee, not others. wanna try but still no big gang to go try.
indeed public transport in jb cry.gif
car or motorbike the best transport at jb. if next time jb gathering, i can offer car.
remember also Sat morning & night no matter 1st or 2nd link also jam. stucked on a Sat night around 1 hr once just around 1km before reaching jb checkpoint at 2nd link back from sg. scare liao...

Added on May 17, 2011, 10:09 pm
QUOTE(reign226 @ May 17 2011, 10:01 PM)
Let's decide on the transportation when we get closer to the date. Who knows last minute might have changes.

From my experience it's quite pleasant to take CW3 from Jurong East to the JB stop...near gelang patah Jusco/Tesco there (can't recall the name right now) on a Sat morning. We can meet up there then move out. This assuming we are meeting at gelang patah that area.

As for activities, anybody know what's there to do in JB? Lol. If Melaka I can advise la...spent 4 years there haha.
best is drop to gelang patah (gp) bus station or the gp petronas station.
actually seafood only at night open smile.gif drool.gif

that one i suppose u r referring to bukit indah jusco/tesco.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 17 2011, 10:11 PM
ch_teo
post May 18 2011, 01:17 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 17 2011 @ 10:11 PM)
no la, i thought take pub transport more yit lau mar... hahahaa, dont need to split XD

*going list..
alaskanbunny - west  <<--- if not on busyness trip
nokia - west <<--- allergic to yada yada
yimyum - east
wasaubushi - east
mackiddo + girl - west
reign226 - west
lerater1987 - jb
fbjsd - west
ch_teo - gp, jb (if 28/5 on only)

*location list
alaskanbunny - west
nokia - west
toughnut - west
yimyum - east
wasaubushi - east
mackiddo - west
reign226 - west
lerater1987 - jb
fbkjd - west
ch_teo - gp, jb (if 28/5 on only)
i am on if 28/5 on. smile.gif the subsequent few weeks after 30/5 not available.

Added on May 18, 2011, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 18 2011, 12:54 PM)
a lot of factory workers are crossing the causeway daily with only $800 pay. u say leh?
also with factory transport provided + OT allowance. the basic + OT may slightly higher than 2k or nearing. some canteen also subsidized food or free tea break.
sometimes, can buy discount rate products (or refurbished) which lower than market price from factory.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 18 2011, 01:24 PM
ch_teo
post May 19 2011, 05:20 PM

809 posts

just remember always alert on your wallet or try not to bring handbag (ladies) -->motorbike lots sweat.gif
actually Singgah Selalu the malay food there not bad, great for lunch, many varieties. also the bahulu, some chips selling at there biggrin.gif

tebrau jusco is great bcos got cinema. too bad bukit indah jusco no cinema but still lot shops.
gp there is 1 restaurant bat kut teh lunch time also not bad.
maybe can pass-by puteri harbour for the view.

legoland in progress, maybe next year will complete if on track.

permas go kart around 20km from jb city.
sky-diving is at segamat.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: May 19 2011, 05:21 PM
ch_teo
post May 25 2011, 09:53 PM

809 posts

just always remember hotels/guesthouse/motels in sg not always walk-in can get especially during peak seasons.
some even book 1 year earlier for hotel smile.gif

CC is great if use wisely! biggrin.gif
self-control is very important. CC always helps me settle my hotel bill when on business travel instead of travel with lot cash. helping me earn lot points and others rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
it is about discipline oneself.

0.0474sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:39 AM