SSPN, Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional

moonmoon1985
post Dec 16 2018, 11:42 PM

moonmoon
340 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 10 2018, 12:29 PM)
Oh and before I forgot, not sure anyone has mentioned this, but as of next year SSPN deposit for tax rebate purpose will be increased to RM8000 per year...

RM8000 x 25%... awesome ROI yearly.
In fact more than 25%.... u can withdraw immediately in January next year and put the 8k into FD yielding another 3.5%
LostAndFound
post Dec 17 2018, 09:00 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(moonmoon1985 @ Dec 16 2018, 11:42 PM)
In fact more than 25%.... u can withdraw immediately in January next year and put the 8k into FD yielding another 3.5%
You leave it in you get 4% interest
MeToo
post Dec 17 2018, 10:29 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Dec 17 2018, 09:00 AM)
You leave it in you get 4% interest
Though banks these days giving more then 4% for a 12 month FD...

Buuuttt... I'll dump it into my mortgage... still have about 600k left huhuhuh...
SUSyklooi
post Dec 17 2018, 10:32 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 17 2018, 10:29 AM)

Buuuttt... I'll dump it into my mortgage... still have about 600k left huhuhuh...
I think he/she is comparing 4% with 3.5% in related to that post...
LostAndFound
post Dec 17 2018, 10:36 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 17 2018, 10:32 AM)
I think he/she is comparing 4% with 3.5% in related to that post...
Exactly
QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 17 2018, 10:29 AM)

12 month FD means you won't get the money in there out in time for the next round of SSPN deposit. If I withdraw 8k in January, I need to put in 16k by December to be eligible for the next year's income tax benefit.

And income tax benefit for the next year is likely to be 'better' than this year's, generally speaking (because your income presumably is increasing).

12 month FD is not a good way to play this game. Better if you can find middle of year some 6/9 month promo, then the rest of the time keep in something like OCBC 360 for 4.1%.

But the hassle-free (no need to park, submit form, wait) option is to leave in SSPN.

Until/unless you are no longer confident that PTPTN can sustain.
MeToo
post Dec 17 2018, 10:55 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Dec 17 2018, 10:36 AM)
Exactly
12 month FD means you won't get the money in there out in time for the next round of SSPN deposit. If I withdraw 8k in January, I need to put in 16k by December to be eligible for the next year's income tax benefit.

And income tax benefit for the next year is likely to be 'better' than this year's, generally speaking (because your income presumably is increasing).

12 month FD is not a good way to play this game. Better if you can find middle of year some 6/9 month promo, then the rest of the time keep in something like OCBC 360 for 4.1%.

But the hassle-free (no need to park, submit form, wait) option is to leave in SSPN.

Until/unless you are no longer confident that PTPTN can sustain.
1. Income tax benefits hardly will be better next year as the 25% bracket is pretty big and not easy to move out at the moment.. sweat.gif

2. 12 month FD is a broad sweep, even some random 7 months promo from RHB can net us 4.1%

3. I used to take it out every Jan and put back in again Dec cause I dont trust the old govt. Now I'm more pliable to leaving it in SSPN, but consdering my mortgage disbursement started mid of last year, I;m running out of cash to dump in hence will be squeezing every drop from even SSPN....

Hence everyone's situation is unique and there is no one best solution, for me its In Dec/Out Jan and rest of the time in the mortgage account...
LostAndFound
post Dec 17 2018, 02:08 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 17 2018, 10:55 AM)
1. Income tax benefits hardly will be better next year as the 25% bracket is pretty big and not easy to move out at the moment.. sweat.gif

2. 12 month FD is a broad sweep, even some random 7 months promo from RHB can net us 4.1%

3. I used to take it out every Jan and put back in again Dec cause I dont trust the old govt. Now I'm more pliable to leaving it in SSPN, but consdering my mortgage disbursement started mid of last year, I;m running out of cash to dump in hence will be squeezing every drop from even SSPN....

Hence everyone's situation is unique and there is no one best solution, for me its In Dec/Out Jan and rest of the time in the mortgage account...
You're... just agreeing with what I said w.r.t not using 12 months but instead aiming for shorter tenure so liquidity is available again?
potenza10
post Dec 17 2018, 03:20 PM

1,936 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 10 2018, 12:29 PM)
Oh and before I forgot, not sure anyone has mentioned this, but as of next year SSPN deposit for tax rebate purpose will be increased to RM8000 per year...

RM8000 x 25%... awesome ROI yearly.
where u get this info?
rapple
post Dec 17 2018, 03:29 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Dec 17 2018, 03:20 PM)
where u get this info?
It's announced in Budget 2019.

https://www.comparehero.my/blog/budget-2019...-taxes-malaysia
spreeeee
post Dec 18 2018, 11:15 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

we can freely top up sspn without informing sspn agent.. but the previous agent who first helped to register.. asked to send them receipt for future deposited amount.. i wonder do they earn commission?
spreeeee
post Dec 18 2018, 11:18 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

anyone able to login sspn? got this error:

504 Gateway Time-out
ronnie
post Dec 18 2018, 04:23 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Dec 18 2018, 11:15 AM)
we can freely top up sspn without informing sspn agent.. but the previous agent who first helped to register.. asked to send them receipt for future deposited amount.. i wonder do they earn commission?
They have some sort of quota to meet it seems.
spreeeee
post Dec 18 2018, 04:47 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 18 2018, 04:23 PM)
They have some sort of quota to meet it seems.
ok.. i dun bother to send them any receipt after deposited.. biggrin.gif
ronnie
post Dec 19 2018, 11:56 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Dec 18 2018, 04:47 PM)
ok.. i dun bother to send them any receipt after deposited..  biggrin.gif
You can claim a free gift from them actually.
pisang
post Dec 19 2018, 01:20 PM

854 posts

hi there, i'm not sure if this is the correct thread to ask.

i just want to confirm that for maximun pelepasan cukai 2018 is RM8000.
checked online website and it 's stated RM6K.
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pelepasan-taksiran...kai-sspn-i-side
an someone share me the latest info/link?
SUSDavid83
post Dec 19 2018, 01:26 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Dec 19 2018, 01:20 PM)
hi there, i'm not sure if this is the correct thread to ask.

i just want to confirm that for maximun pelepasan cukai 2018 is RM8000.
checked online website and it 's stated RM6K.
https://www.ptptn.gov.my/pelepasan-taksiran...kai-sspn-i-side
an someone share me the latest info/link?
RM 6k for this year (2018) ---> File April 2019
RM 8k is for next year (2019) ---> File April 2020
meteoraniac
post Dec 19 2018, 01:54 PM

1,099 posts

yo interested in this since i became parent last year

been reading quite a bit, just to confirm:

if i deposit 6k this year and withdraw jan 2019, i have to depo 12k end 2019 to be eligible for 2019 tax relief right?

what if I deposit 6k this year (2018) then dont touch the amount for entire 2019, can i claim tax relief for both 2018 and 2019? or only 2018?
rapple
post Dec 19 2018, 01:59 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Dec 19 2018, 01:54 PM)

if i deposit 6k this year and withdraw jan 2019, i have to depo 12k end 2019 to be eligible for 2019 tax relief right? Yes

what if I deposit 6k this year (2018) then dont touch the amount for entire 2019, can i claim tax relief for both 2018 and 2019? or only 2018?
2018 ONLY
Tax relief given is on NET SAVINGS.

2019 onwards is 8k tax relief.
lyc1982
post Dec 19 2018, 02:05 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Dec 19 2018, 01:54 PM)

if i deposit 6k this year and withdraw jan 2019, i have to depo 12k end 2019 to be eligible for 2019 tax relief right?

if no contribution at all in 2019, you can only claim tax relief for 2018
meteoraniac
post Dec 19 2018, 02:13 PM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Dec 19 2018, 01:59 PM)
Tax relief given is on NET SAVINGS.

2019 onwards is 8k tax relief.
QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Dec 19 2018, 02:05 PM)
if no contribution at all in 2019, you can only claim tax relief for 2018
thanks! great help as always!

709 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top