SSPN, Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional

lyc1982
post Dec 11 2018, 12:50 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 10 2018, 12:29 PM)
Oh and before I forgot, not sure anyone has mentioned this, but as of next year SSPN deposit for tax rebate purpose will be increased to RM8000 per year...

RM8000 x 25%... awesome ROI yearly.
RM8000 contribution starting 2019 ?

that's good news
lyc1982
post Dec 11 2018, 01:06 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Dec 11 2018, 12:54 PM)
so the conclusion is cannot pay SSPN-I using credit card (for JOMPAY) rite?

will they allow swipe credit card if I go PTPTN office to pay ?
would like to know as well...

but looking at this site:
https://www.worldofbuzz.com/ptptn-counters-...tarting-july-1/

seems like cannot....sigh
bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by lyc1982: Dec 11 2018, 01:07 PM
lyc1982
post Dec 19 2018, 02:05 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Dec 19 2018, 01:54 PM)
yo interested in this since i became parent last year

been reading quite a bit, just to confirm:

if i deposit 6k this year and withdraw jan 2019, i have to depo 12k end 2019 to be eligible for 2019 tax relief right?

what if I deposit 6k this year (2018) then dont touch the amount for entire 2019, can i claim tax relief for both 2018 and 2019? or only 2018?
if no contribution at all in 2019, you can only claim tax relief for 2018
lyc1982
post Dec 19 2018, 03:46 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(goatbernard @ Dec 19 2018, 03:38 PM)
i successfully top up SSPN-i using my BigPay card RM10K, as maximum monthly topup is RM10k for BigPay...
over ptptn counter or online ?
lyc1982
post Dec 21 2018, 11:25 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Dec 21 2018, 11:10 AM)
Anyone knows if credit card is accepted when topping up SSPN account?
no...if you read back few posts...it's not available anymore

sadly...however can top up using bigpay card
lyc1982
post Dec 24 2018, 02:06 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Dec 24 2018, 02:00 PM)
This one has been quite clearly shown in their example, you will only get 5k rebate.

Don't confuse yourself with 'after tax filed' or anything, that is not relevant. Relevant is just:-

1. How much money you had in the account on Jan 1st 20XX - RM A
2. How much interest (if any) you earned on your account during 20XX) - RM B
3. How much money you had on Dec 31st 20XX - RM C

You can claim RM (C- (A+B)). That's all, not complicated.
most importantly is point #3...rebate is based on #3

This post has been edited by lyc1982: Dec 24 2018, 02:07 PM
lyc1982
post Dec 24 2018, 10:36 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Dec 24 2018, 02:09 PM)
No it's not, it's based on change, not final amount.

I currently have about 32k in SSPN, means to qualify for the 8k deduction next year I need to end the year at 40+k in SSPN. If in between I withdraw everything will need to put it back in + 8k.
i know

in my earlier post replying to another guy also i mentioned the tax relief is based on net saving on that particular year only, e.g: rm6k fresh fund in 2018 then eligible for 2018 tax relief, if no fresh fund in 2018 means not eligible for 2018 tax relief.
lyc1982
post Dec 27 2018, 01:15 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

i top up more than 6k over counter...got a free hamper on the spot
lyc1982
post Jan 2 2019, 11:04 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Prop.Observer @ Jan 2 2019, 10:48 AM)
Thanks for shed some light.  rclxm9.gif
I do aware max. tax relief is RM8k for year 2019.
Anyway, await hands-on experienced sifu to confirm.
you can only claim for tax relief for the year that you have deposited FRESH fund
lyc1982
post Jan 11 2019, 11:18 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jan 10 2019, 05:08 PM)
hi sifu-sifu,

I have an evil idea. Can we do multiple SSPN deposit and withdrawal in a year? Set aside the tax relief purpose, the intention here is to get as many credit card reward points as possible. Anyone tried below:

1. reload 10k into BgiPay card using visa/master credit card, earn 10k credit card points.
2. deposit 10k by swipe BigPay card at PTPTN branch.
3. wait 1 month, then go PTPTN withdraw that 10k.
4. repeat steps 1-3 again to earn another 10k credit card points.

Is that do-able ?
technically it's doable
lyc1982
post Jan 16 2019, 10:38 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Nov 24 2018, 08:44 AM)
Erm, not something new.

I already did it in:-

Nov/Dec 2015 - Deposit 6k then withdraw in Jan 2016
Nov/Dec 2016 - Deposit 12k then withdraw in Jan 2017
Nov/Dec 2017 - Deposit 18k then withdraw in Feb 2018
but would you still get the interest ?
lyc1982
post Jan 16 2019, 10:45 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Jan 16 2019, 10:43 AM)
Didn't really check on how they calculate.

Yes I do receive interest
so you withdraw all in jan 2017...deposited all back in dec 2017 and still get interest for 2017 ?
lyc1982
post Jan 16 2019, 10:51 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jan 16 2019, 10:49 AM)
I believe the interest will be very minimal, the idea of deposit+withdraw mainly for tax relief purpose and taking the money to invest in somewhere that gives much higher return.

I deposited 6k on dec2017 and withdrawal on Jun2018 (wasted few months parking money there), I got interest of rm20.
yea..i have the same thinking

but just wanna confirm my theory

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 16 2019, 10:49 AM)
while waiting for his responses....
I think theoretically if you deposited in Dec 2017.....then you should just get abt 1 month of interest...
yea around that i guess...
lyc1982
post Jan 29 2019, 01:44 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jan 29 2019, 12:17 PM)
4% is nice. The way I see the return is different and its still a very simplistic aproach.

I invest 6k p.a. and then get my tax refund on it. Given my marginal tax lvl is 24% I get a refund of RM 1440 i.e. I really only invested RM 4560. I do get interest on RM 6000 though at 4% = RM 240 and on top I get the free money.

240/4560 = 5.26% interest on the money i really invested. That is damn good for a save investment is it not? And when I eventually cash out I get all the extra free money on top as well. I am not complaining.

Of course you can still say I could take the entire money out and make it work outside for higher returns to improve the ROI even further. Granted but anything that has a real return of 5% on the money i invested and is guaranteed no loss of money sounds decent enough for me.
good simple math you shared there...

depends on how much housing loans you have committed, one have to calculate the interest charged (flexi-loan) vs interest earned (sspn) to make sure it's worth the investment
lyc1982
post Feb 3 2019, 12:33 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Feb 2 2019, 04:54 PM)
Household income not more than 2k who will still put money in SSPN??? Do they really think it through before implementing this 'incentive'?
i was thinking the same...
lyc1982
post Feb 13 2019, 10:44 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 13 2019, 10:26 AM)
If you deposit in December (as most people do) you will not earn dividend for that amount in December.
i think majority here deposit in SSPN for tax relief purpose...not so much on its dividend...

correct me if i am wrong
lyc1982
post Feb 14 2019, 09:42 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(saitong09 @ Feb 14 2019, 09:28 AM)
ic. nowadays LHDN rajin siasat the SSPN. My friend kena submit statement for SSPN.
same here

i wonder who so daring wanna con LHDN on rm6k portion
lyc1982
post Feb 21 2019, 10:56 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Feb 20 2019, 10:01 PM)
You're right. Guess I gotta bug BP CS tomorrow then but gonna set expectation to myself that they'll most probably be clueless. sweat.gif
same case here....no BP even after depositing 10k
lyc1982
post Feb 21 2019, 02:42 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

ok, i just checked

i deposited rm10k into sspn, received total 500 pts, is that normal ?
lyc1982
post Feb 21 2019, 03:01 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 21 2019, 02:36 PM)
I deposited RM5900 on 24.12.2018 and receive Air ASIA BIG 295 pts on 28.12.2018
Yes i just  posted on PTPTN FB,
but email to Air ASia also

askbig@airasiabig.com
Dear Sir,

I refer to above Air Asia/ Big Pay campaign  for depositor to SSPN-i

https://www.ptptn.gov.my/images/fail/promos...ercuma_2018.pdf

I deposited RM5900 using my BIG PAY on 24.12.2018 for above campaign

I have only received the normal BIG point of 295 on 28.12.2018.

Terms and conditions say I should get additional 6X per RM20, after 45 days.

Can you please check when can i get the additional points?

Thank you,
Should be Big Pa/ Air Asia
i just noticed we both deposited on the same date...haha

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:29 PM