it would be great if we can bind the 3d windows shortcut to da mouse...
Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion
Feb 27 2007, 11:51 AM
2,687 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sue Bunk Jai Yaa! |
it would be great if we can bind the 3d windows shortcut to da mouse...
Feb 27 2007, 01:15 PM
1,292 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
want to ask, will a directx 10 graphic card make any difference to the AERO function compared to a directx 9 graphic card?
will it be better? my vista experience index is 4.0 |
Feb 27 2007, 01:36 PM
5,366 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Feb 27 2007, 04:16 AM) Anybody here using Windows Vista & Sony Ericsson's phone, can you get the Sony Ericsson PC Suite to work? SE is currently working on next version of pc suite that will be vista compatible, and is due to release in 2nd half of 2007I've tried Vista RTM version before, and can't get the PC Suite to install. IIRC, it prompt an error that I need Windows XP to install the program. I've tried running the installer in XP Compatibility mode, but it still won't work. Since Vista final version has been released (and Sony Ericsson probably has updated the PC Suite to support Vista), anybody can get the PC Suite to work now? I checked at Sony Ericsson's site and it mention that the OS requirements are Windows 2000 SP3/SP4, XP SP1/SP2 (Professional and Home). It didn't mention Vista at all. QUOTE(woopypooky @ Feb 27 2007, 01:15 PM) want to ask, will a directx 10 graphic card make any difference to the AERO function compared to a directx 9 graphic card? I think it wont make a difference, even a rm 150 PCI-E cards is enough to run Aero, although with fewer framerates.will it be better? my vista experience index is 4.0 |
Feb 27 2007, 02:15 PM
1,484 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Klang |
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 27 2007, 01:36 PM) SE is currently working on next version of pc suite that will be vista compatible, and is due to release in 2nd half of 2007 2nd Half of 2007? I just got my copy of Vista. Microsoft is launching Windows Vista at my campus (MMU Cyberjaya) today and tomorrow. Every staff & student is eligible for a copy of Vista Business Edition I want to install it, but I know that I can't use SE's PC Suite if I install Vista. Is it possible to dual-boot XP & Vista if I have only 1 HDD? My roommate said that I need at least 2 HDD to dual-boot. |
Feb 27 2007, 02:18 PM
1,801 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Shibuya, Japan |
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Feb 27 2007, 02:15 PM) 2nd Half of 2007? Yes, you can dual boot in a same HDD but for installing vista you need a clean hard disk(empty).I just got my copy of Vista. Microsoft is launching Windows Vista at my campus (MMU Cyberjaya) today and tomorrow. Every staff & student is eligible for a copy of Vista Business Edition I want to install it, but I know that I can't use SE's PC Suite if I install Vista. Is it possible to dual-boot XP & Vista if I have only 1 HDD? My roommate said that I need at least 2 HDD to dual-boot. This post has been edited by WingKalimdor: Feb 27 2007, 02:18 PM |
Feb 27 2007, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(WingKalimdor @ Feb 27 2007, 02:18 PM) Empty HDD? I have a 160GB HDD with 2 partition, C & D. So this means that only the C partition have to be empty or both of em?Which one should I install first? XP or Vista? |
Feb 27 2007, 03:03 PM
14,258 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
will i be able to use any c++ programming tools on vista?
i have borland,but kind of old...can it be used? how bout other programming tools? do i need to get a newer version,or would the old versions work 100%? i hear vista has alot of incompatibility issues atm... thx |
Feb 27 2007, 03:18 PM
1,262 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Butterworth, Penang |
If u red from Microsoft site, they recommend to create partition of 60 GB. What i mean here is Ms recommended to have 40 free GB space of the partition.
Feb 27 2007, 04:34 PM
10,459 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Feb 27 2007, 02:15 PM) 2nd Half of 2007? That sounds cool. Sadly, I never got such great deals. I just got my copy of Vista. Microsoft is launching Windows Vista at my campus (MMU Cyberjaya) today and tomorrow. Every staff & student is eligible for a copy of Vista Business Edition I want to install it, but I know that I can't use SE's PC Suite if I install Vista. Is it possible to dual-boot XP & Vista if I have only 1 HDD? My roommate said that I need at least 2 HDD to dual-boot. |
Feb 27 2007, 05:00 PM
145 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Feb 27 2007, 02:15 PM) 2nd Half of 2007? You means you get the Vista Business Edition for free?I just got my copy of Vista. Microsoft is launching Windows Vista at my campus (MMU Cyberjaya) today and tomorrow. Every staff & student is eligible for a copy of Vista Business Edition I want to install it, but I know that I can't use SE's PC Suite if I install Vista. Is it possible to dual-boot XP & Vista if I have only 1 HDD? My roommate said that I need at least 2 HDD to dual-boot. |
Feb 27 2007, 05:09 PM
10,222 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
yeah mmu students have free full copy of vista business premium, same as those u can download online, only diff is they burn for us in a dvd
Feb 27 2007, 05:11 PM
2,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Secret Laboratory |
Sucks that it's only in Cyber. What about the students in Melaka campus
Feb 27 2007, 05:33 PM
10,222 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
lol, come up here lor tomorrow
This post has been edited by alwizbthere: Feb 27 2007, 05:36 PM |
Feb 27 2007, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Feb 27 2007, 05:09 PM) yeah mmu students have free full copy of vista business premium, same as those u can download online, only diff is they burn for us in a dvd Not to mention that you get legal CD-Key. QUOTE(wsho71 @ Feb 27 2007, 05:00 PM) Yup, full version. I'm not sure whether it's retail or OEM version. They're not giving Vistas in Retail boxes for sure. To get the Vista, we must bring your Student ID and a piece of blank DVD. Each student will be given unique cd-key. According to the MS rep, the cd-key is valid till 2012.The process to get the Vista is tedious. You have to queue up at any booth, complete a task (answer some questions, watch their demo, etc), and they'll give you 1 stamp. There are 7 booths, but you only need to collect 5 stamps, and then you can claim your copy of Vista. I queued for 3 1/2 hours before I got mine. This post has been edited by mzaidi: Feb 27 2007, 07:16 PM |
Feb 27 2007, 07:32 PM
3,567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Paradise |
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Feb 27 2007, 02:15 PM) 2nd Half of 2007? need 2 hdd to dual-boot? funny :lol why i don need? 1 HDD is enough but different partitions pls.I just got my copy of Vista. Microsoft is launching Windows Vista at my campus (MMU Cyberjaya) today and tomorrow. Every staff & student is eligible for a copy of Vista Business Edition I want to install it, but I know that I can't use SE's PC Suite if I install Vista. Is it possible to dual-boot XP & Vista if I have only 1 HDD? My roommate said that I need at least 2 HDD to dual-boot. QUOTE(mzaidi @ Feb 27 2007, 05:56 PM) Not to mention that you get legal CD-Key. i queue up for 4 hours buthen need to wait for tomorrow to get back my dvd and the cd-keys. Yup, full version. I'm not sure whether it's retail or OEM version. They're not giving Vistas in Retail boxes for sure. To get the Vista, we must bring your Student ID and a piece of blank DVD. Each student will be given unique cd-key. According to the MS rep, the cd-key is valid till 2012. The process to get the Vista is tedious. You have to queue up at any booth, complete a task (answer some questions, watch their demo, etc), and they'll give you 1 stamp. There are 7 booths, but you only need to collect 5 stamps, and then you can claim your copy of Vista. I queued for 3 1/2 hours before I got mine. |
Feb 27 2007, 07:33 PM
1,907 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Pahang |
I had partition my 40GB HD into C: (30GB) D:(10GB). C: For winxp and D: for Vista. Now my D: only got 4gb after clean install of vista. Vista really makan lot of spaces
Feb 27 2007, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 27 2007, 07:32 PM) Must both partition be empty? Currently I have 2 partitions, 1 which I use to install XP, and the 2nd partition is where I store all my songs/movie/pictures/assignments. Can I install Vista in the 2nd partition without reformatting the partition itself?QUOTE(basSist @ Feb 27 2007, 07:32 PM) Ah, my friend was tired of waiting and he just pass up the form and going to collect tomorrow. Any idea what the time & venue to collect the disc? |
Feb 27 2007, 08:05 PM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Feb 27 2007, 07:33 PM) I had partition my 40GB HD into C: (30GB) D:(10GB). C: For winxp and D: for Vista. Now my D: only got 4gb after clean install of vista. Vista really makan lot of spaces Dude, you got that all wrong. Give the bigger one to Vista. At least 15GB. XP does not need that much space |
Feb 27 2007, 08:14 PM
10,472 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
my friend tells me that all the vista in the market are ultimate copy inside the DVD.but the difference lies in the product key only, which will then determine the version of vista that's going to be installed. is that true?
i'm asking becoz i've never browse through the disc for home and ultimate. |
Feb 27 2007, 09:10 PM
3,567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Paradise |
QUOTE(mzaidi @ Feb 27 2007, 07:41 PM) Must both partition be empty? Currently I have 2 partitions, 1 which I use to install XP, and the 2nd partition is where I store all my songs/movie/pictures/assignments. Can I install Vista in the 2nd partition without reformatting the partition itself? one of them must empty. and it is recommanded to have not less than 40GB for the particular partition.Ah, my friend was tired of waiting and he just pass up the form and going to collect tomorrow. Any idea what the time & venue to collect the disc? |
| Change to: | 0.0172sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:01 PM |