130 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

kianwee
post Feb 16 2007, 02:52 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

Any idea how to remove the game shortcut from game folder under start menu?
seaotter
post Feb 16 2007, 05:38 PM

601 posts

question: i had a friend who was using the RTM of vista, and he says he cant play ANY of his burnt dvds with anime that was made in XP.

is there anybody else who has this problem? or his is an isolated case?
dattebayo
post Feb 16 2007, 07:28 PM

5,366 posts

I hope the next SP release will offer the choice to disable 'calculating time for copy/moving/deleting..' its freaking redundant, and waste CPU time vmad.gif
samurai1337
post Feb 16 2007, 07:34 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Feb 16 2007, 05:38 PM)
question: i had a friend who was using the RTM of vista, and he says he cant play ANY of his burnt dvds with anime that was made in XP.

is there anybody else who has this problem? or his is an isolated case?
Most probably codec problem. Make sure that he has installed the correct codec pack.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/282412

I've no problem playing all the Video in vista after installing K-lite mega codec pack
dattebayo
post Feb 16 2007, 08:57 PM

5,366 posts

is it normal that vista always uses the memory to 100% ?

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Feb 16 2007, 09:05 PM
wztech
post Feb 16 2007, 09:09 PM

521 posts

I don't see any issues there........Actually it was pretty good with 46% of physical memory usage,I don't any problem there........
dattebayo
post Feb 16 2007, 09:59 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(wztech @ Feb 16 2007, 09:09 PM)
I don't see any issues there........Actually it was pretty good with 46% of physical memory usage,I don't any problem there........
then how come theres only 12MB free in physical memory??

and have anyone experience longer time for the word explanation to pop up, when using dictionary software such as powerword?

I have checked it, its due to the aero interface, when I turned it off, it appears almost simultaneously

any patch to solve that?

I uses powerword 2006 and also 2007, both give the same symptom

its took longest when I move the cursor over in a webpage body in firefox, while slightly longer in IE, and over the UI is faster (but still slower abit compare to XP)

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Feb 16 2007, 10:04 PM
wztech
post Feb 16 2007, 11:02 PM

521 posts

Which version of Vista are you using ? And,do you have Internet Security or AntiVirus software installed if you have, what is it ?

SUSMatrix
post Feb 17 2007, 12:05 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 16 2007, 09:59 PM)
then how come theres only 12MB free in physical memory??

This is normal under VISTA. It uses the max available memory as it's own cache and allocate accordingly.
vailance
post Feb 17 2007, 12:11 AM

wat??
841 posts

guys,, i search google for the difference of oem and retail for windows vista.
some ppl said that evan in oem u can migrate to another new pc after u uninstall the copy of windows on the previous pc. and in oem u cant get support from MS but retail do. inorder to activate on another pc, u just need to call MS and talk to them nicly and they will let u activate.

is all this true?
woopypooky
post Feb 17 2007, 01:50 PM

1,292 posts

why is window vista defragmenting so slow? i used xp last time, and i can defrag a drive of 80Gb in 1 min, now i defrag it in vista, 30 min already.

i also got 1 more problem here, i cant play .rmvb files anymore with real one player, apparently it doesnt support vista.

This post has been edited by woopypooky: Feb 17 2007, 02:13 PM
Xefron
post Feb 17 2007, 02:02 PM

2,507 posts

why my sidebar is missing....i try to restart the sidebar but nothing happened...arghhh
toughnut
post Feb 17 2007, 02:23 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Feb 17 2007, 01:50 PM)
why is window vista defragmenting so slow? i used xp last time, and i can defrag a drive of 80Gb in 1 min, now i defrag it in vista, 30 min already.

i also got 1 more problem here, i cant play .rmvb files anymore with real one player, apparently it doesnt support vista.
1min? lol i don't think it actually defrag your hdd or u defrag every 6 hours of pc usage.use Perfectdisk and see whether got different o not.

try use codec pack like K-Lite Mega codec pack. it's compatible with vista and not only play rmvb but almost all media file u can think of.

QUOTE(Xefron @ Feb 17 2007, 02:02 PM)
why my sidebar is missing....i try to restart the sidebar but nothing happened...arghhh
what version of vista? build? never happen before. crash but still can be restarted
zhen^wei
post Feb 17 2007, 03:00 PM

4,057 posts

find out the Vista so hard to use.. haha..
my Vista Internet explorer suddenly cannot open
and it show this message.
[attachmentid=195375]
who know why?
woopypooky
post Feb 17 2007, 05:04 PM

1,292 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Feb 17 2007, 02:23 PM)
1min? lol i don't think it actually defrag your hdd or u defrag every 6 hours of pc usage.use Perfectdisk and see whether got different o not.

try use codec pack like K-Lite Mega codec pack. it's compatible with vista and not only play rmvb but almost all media file u can think of.
what version of vista? build? never happen before. crash but still can be restarted
i already got klite installed. u use what player to play .rmvb and .rm files?

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Feb 17 2007, 03:00 PM)
find out the Vista so hard to use.. haha..
my Vista Internet explorer suddenly cannot open
and it show this message.
[attachmentid=195375]
who know why?
windows vista is a bit buggy, i also experienced a bit of minor things.
linkinstreet
post Feb 17 2007, 06:06 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Feb 17 2007, 02:02 PM)
there will be a sidebar icon in ur tray. Most likely you have hidden the sidebar. use that to recover it
woopypooky
post Feb 17 2007, 06:42 PM

1,292 posts

windows media player classic gone from vista? y i cant find it?

please tell me please,

i installed vista and right now i cant play .rmvb and .rm files?
i installed all sorts of codecs edi.
real one player 10.5 is crazy, it doesnt seem to work in my new windows.

This post has been edited by woopypooky: Feb 17 2007, 06:50 PM
linkinstreet
post Feb 17 2007, 07:01 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

Windows never have Media Player Classic
You have to install K-Lite Mega codec pack to have it
Xefron
post Feb 17 2007, 07:12 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Feb 17 2007, 02:23 PM)

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 17 2007, 06:06 PM)
there will be a sidebar icon in ur tray. Most likely you have hidden the sidebar. use that to recover it
hohoho there's no icon the tray either.i try manually,also no luck.
linkinstreet
post Feb 17 2007, 08:51 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

really? run the sidebar again (start --> Type 'Sidebar'). If there is an instance called 'Sidebar.exe' in the task manager, there should be a blue rectangle icon in the systray

130 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:52 PM