6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

samurai1337
post Jul 23 2005, 12:07 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Yeah, name doesn't matter to me either, sooner or later we will get used to it

It is useless for a OS to have a wonderful name but costs you a bomb and yet fails to perform

I'd rather to see the next release to impress me in term of quality.
samurai1337
post Jul 23 2005, 01:06 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Dead__Man @ Jul 23 2005, 12:40 AM)
Longhorn reminds me of long and horny, and that's really not what I want of Windows, so I prefer Vista.
It is probably to compensate Bill Gates' weaknesses, which is Micro and soft laugh.gif
samurai1337
post Jul 23 2005, 01:38 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 23 2005, 01:37 AM)
Vista is official name or the beta name?
Longhorn is the codename
Vista is the official name, regardless of whether it is beta or final
samurai1337
post Jul 23 2005, 12:03 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Jul 23 2005, 04:18 AM)
Would you just stop talking about whether the name is professional or either way? Just think about XP. What was XP codename?

QUOTE(keyz @ Jul 23 2005, 10:15 AM)
Hmm..Codename 'Whistler' ?Not sure..Just ingat-ingat lupa or 'Memphis' ?  sweat.gif

QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Jul 23 2005, 11:57 AM)
Memphis
Wrong...it is Whistler
Memphis is the codename for win98

Refer here for all code names.
samurai1337
post Jul 23 2005, 12:09 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(reeyon @ Jul 23 2005, 12:07 PM)
The link is already in the first post smile.gif
Thanks anyway
samurai1337
post Jul 25 2005, 07:31 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(deus_ex_machina @ Jul 25 2005, 12:58 AM)
M$ VI? I thougt M$ hate open source?
If you're talking about the text editor Vi, it is not open source. Its clone, Vim is
samurai1337
post Jul 26 2005, 07:31 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(bgeh @ Jul 26 2005, 12:35 AM)
no it's not...it supposedly will be Windows 6.0(iirc)
Yeah, it's NT 6.0
It will be a major upgrade from the 2000/XP/2K3 series (NT 5.X)
samurai1337
post Jul 28 2005, 12:55 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(sampride @ Jul 27 2005, 11:40 PM)
First Beta1 Screen Shot
Gosh...some unintelligent use of transparency....
I seriously think Microsoft have some serious problem in their taste

Sorry if I've offended someone
samurai1337
post Jul 28 2005, 10:35 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Instead of the name, why not we talk about all the little changes. There will be no "My Computer", "My Document" and "My Pictures" etc....

All will eventually be changed to "Documents", "Photos" etc, which 'makes life easier', according to microsoft biggrin.gif
samurai1337
post Aug 6 2005, 09:28 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Hmm, seriously I don't think the Icons need to be that big
Maybe Microsoft have their own reason behind

samurai1337
post Aug 10 2005, 06:03 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Thread pinned
samurai1337
post Aug 14 2005, 08:32 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Windows Vista Guided Tour by Scot Finnie
samurai1337
post Aug 15 2005, 07:56 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Jasontll @ Aug 15 2005, 07:53 PM)
er... don care la... as long as its good then can liao lo..
by the way...
is the vista running on 64bit?
There will be 32 and 64-bit versions
samurai1337
post Sep 1 2005, 08:10 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Aug 26 2005, 06:34 PM)
wahh..not bad...vista komanwel in bukit jalil release new windows vista???cool.....or did microsoft cetak rompak vista from vista komanwel??i wonder??

but personally...the name sux.....windows longhorn is nicer....
Stop commenting about the name la sweat.gif
Longhorn is the codename and Vista is the official name, it's the fact already

The name itself doesn't imply in any way how the system performs, or looks like
Would people refrain from using Windows Vista just because its name sucks? I doubt
samurai1337
post Sep 16 2005, 08:22 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Beta 2 requirements for software developers and beta testers (speculation):
3.4 GHz processor
1.5 GB memory
1 GB videomemory with WGF 2.0 support
10000 RPM harddisk 8 MB cache

If this is true, then OMG....97% of the computers today will be obsolete very soon sweat.gif
samurai1337
post Oct 1 2005, 11:40 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(kevinchlee @ Sep 28 2005, 06:22 PM)
is there any ppl have question with Vista? if have, try to post at here n i will try to reply u with answer...thx
What display card are you using?
I'm using FX5200 and it seems that the 75.03 LDDM driver that I downloaded from the nvidia website couldn't work

It said cannot find a compatible device for the driver.
samurai1337
post Oct 7 2005, 02:35 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(kevinchlee @ Oct 7 2005, 02:09 PM)
im using 128mb Readon 9200SE...my display card is not LDDM driver but i using old version of TweakVista to enable transperancy....FX5200 is LDDM driver, u try to download nVidia Display Drivers 75.03 LDDM from nvidia website again n install it...after install, restart ur pc, if after restart ur pc still cant get the effect, try to use TweakVista...
It doesn't even allow me to continue the installation, it said my card not compatible
samurai1337
post Oct 13 2005, 11:27 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

ckhoong: are you sure it is build 5219 that you're talking about? in build 5219 it's still Windows Media Player 10 rather than 11

Or it was 5231 that you were trying to say?

Anyway, I've upgraded my card to ATI Radeon 9550 GT, hopefully it will run smoother...But will try it once I got 5231
samurai1337
post Oct 14 2005, 06:58 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Oct 14 2005, 12:27 AM)
does the 5231 work on a 32 bit computer??

planning to install it....but i dont have a 64 bit computer....

hehe
There is 32 bit version, so is 64 bit.
samurai1337
post Oct 15 2005, 04:00 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

Just taken Windows Vista 5231's WMP 11 screenie
Version 11 even though the logo still hasn't changed yet

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top