Tiles, Cost and Installation
numbertwo
Sep 14 2011, 11:03 AM
I bought all my Feruni tiles (>10k) from their HQ.. It is true that the price is not as low as what you can find in let say houz Depot, but the difference is insignificant IMO. Tiles out from the HQ ensures good quality as I heard you may get 'reject' stocks if one were to source it from big distributors/reseller. In my case, non of the tiles were claimed as defect by my tiler..
ivanlio1989
Sep 15 2011, 10:30 PM
Hi
I would like to ask all sifus here about tile size. I bought a 2nd hand house. The tile size is 8" x 8". I went to a tile shop in nearby my house and the salesman say that that size is no longer available. The smallest size now is 8" x 10". Izit it true? And does anyone know tile shop that still sell 8" x8" tile shop.
Thanks...
Jo_da48
Sep 16 2011, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(ivanlio1989 @ Sep 15 2011, 10:30 PM) Hi I would like to ask all sifus here about tile size. I bought a 2nd hand house. The tile size is 8" x 8". I went to a tile shop in nearby my house and the salesman say that that size is no longer available. The smallest size now is 8" x 10". Izit it true? And does anyone know tile shop that still sell 8" x8" tile shop. Thanks... Still have shop salling but not much choice lol. 8x8 normally use on toilet, if have option or plan to change all, than may want to considera to change the size to have much choice lol
ivanlio1989
Sep 16 2011, 08:56 PM
Hey Jo_da48, thanks for the advise. ya, i did some renovation to my master bedroom and the bathroom need to change the door position. I juz wanted to buy white color to opver the particular wall. I juz got it. RM1 perpiece. Guocera tiles. So, problem solved.
Skydrop
Sep 18 2011, 07:36 PM
I went to Super Ceramic shop today and there is a promotion for grade 1, 2x2 polished porcelain tile at RM9.90 per piece, made in China of course. Don't know whether to believe it's 1st grade or not. What other questions should I be asking?
Do people put 1'x1' tile on wall? Is it common?
Jo_da48
Sep 18 2011, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(Skydrop @ Sep 18 2011, 07:36 PM) I went to Super Ceramic shop today and there is a promotion for grade 1, 2x2 polished porcelain tile at RM9.90 per piece, made in China of course. Don't know whether to believe it's 1st grade or not. What other questions should I be asking? Do people put 1'x1' tile on wall? Is it common? 1x1 for wall? The question should be is for Wall or Floor? Because where your tiles will be install is what tiles you need to purchase.\
weikee
Sep 18 2011, 10:41 PM
Wall can use softer like ceramic tiles. Floor you make sure is hard type. The seller will advice you.
If area are small use 1x1 or 1x2 is good. 1x2 for wall is also nice.
Skydrop
Sep 19 2011, 08:07 AM
Jo_da48 & weikee Yeah, the seller told me the 1x1 tile is for wall just that most people use rectangular shape instead of square shape on wall. So I am not sure how it will look like at the end. Bedroom floor - more advisable to use glossy or matt tile? This post has been edited by Skydrop: Sep 19 2011, 08:07 AM
scouser7
Sep 26 2011, 03:23 PM

Noob here...wanna know if there is any difference between Grade A china made porcelain tiles (polished) worth abt RM10 and other tiles that are double the price? Sales ppl say all are same Grade A n i cant tell the diffference. Plan to buy over 250 pieces of 2x2 tiles n therefore budget is crucial. Hope some sifu can help. Im from Cheras anyway. Tq
weikee
Sep 26 2011, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(scouser7 @ Sep 26 2011, 03:23 PM) Noob here...wanna know if there is any difference between Grade A china made porcelain tiles (polished) worth abt RM10 and other tiles that are double the price? Sales ppl say all are same Grade A n i cant tell the diffference. Plan to buy over 250 pieces of 2x2 tiles n therefore budget is crucial. Hope some sifu can help. Im from Cheras anyway. Tq Grade A mean more symmetrical cutting, less variance in color between same batch of tiles, less "pregnant" issue. Do remember, Grade A does not mean all quality are the same all grade A tiles., Grade A Tiles "X" that cost RM 15, may be difference between Grade A tiles that cost RM 10. The seller can advice you. Some tiles cost cheaper even is Grade A because it use have difference color, or polish level are difference.
Skydrop
Sep 26 2011, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 26 2011, 03:56 PM) Grade A mean more symmetrical cutting, less variance in color between same batch of tiles, less "pregnant" issue. Do remember, Grade A does not mean all quality are the same all grade A tiles., Grade A Tiles "X" that cost RM 15, may be difference between Grade A tiles that cost RM 10. The seller can advice you. Some tiles cost cheaper even is Grade A because it use have difference color, or polish level are difference. +1 Nobody can answer me before. Now I don't know whether to buy the RM10 grade A tile or not. Not sure of the quality.
scouser7
Sep 26 2011, 09:47 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 26 2011, 03:56 PM) Grade A mean more symmetrical cutting, less variance in color between same batch of tiles, less "pregnant" issue. Do remember, Grade A does not mean all quality are the same all grade A tiles., Grade A Tiles "X" that cost RM 15, may be difference between Grade A tiles that cost RM 10. The seller can advice you. Some tiles cost cheaper even is Grade A because it use have difference color, or polish level are difference. Thank you for ya reply. Im still confused on what should be the "right" tile to use for my home floor. Im afraid if the tile is chipped then the color inside may be a different color. Does any1 know how durable are these China made tiles? Any1 bought these cheaper China made tiles? Mind sharing ya experience?
Skydrop
Sep 26 2011, 10:10 PM
Hope I am correct. From what I understand, you can use any tile on wall but not floor but there are some ceramic tiles for floor also. Of course porcelain tile is better and more durable for floor. If you want those that still gives you same color when chipped, then you have to go for full body type. And this one is super expensive (to me aje.). Any other types, chip, sure can see color difference no matter how light the color is.
I was thinking of getting some cheap RM10 porcelain for my bedroom floor but from weikee's explanation, a RM10 ceramic tile might be better quality than RM10 porcelain. Am I right weikee?
This post has been edited by Skydrop: Sep 26 2011, 10:13 PM
kelvyn
Sep 26 2011, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(scouser7 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:47 PM) Thank you for ya reply. Im still confused on what should be the "right" tile to use for my home floor. Im afraid if the tile is chipped then the color inside may be a different color. Does any1 know how durable are these China made tiles? Any1 bought these cheaper China made tiles? Mind sharing ya experience? Actually, quite a number of those branded (well known) tile in Malaysia are actually manufactured in China. It does not mean that all tiles from China are no good. It depend on their quality control.
metalbod
Sep 26 2011, 10:26 PM

jus bak from walk walk at houz depot. saw the 800x800 floor tiles. very tempted to get that for my living room. but existingly i got 1x1ft tiles that are very very old.  anyone here knows how much would it cost to dig up existing (remove) tiles so that i can lay new ones?
weikee
Sep 26 2011, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(Skydrop @ Sep 26 2011, 10:10 PM) Hope I am correct. From what I understand, you can use any tile on wall but not floor but there are some ceramic tiles for floor also. Of course porcelain tile is better and more durable for floor. If you want those that still gives you same color when chipped, then you have to go for full body type. And this one is super expensive (to me aje.). Any other types, chip, sure can see color difference no matter how light the color is. I was thinking of getting some cheap RM10 porcelain for my bedroom floor but from weikee's explanation, a RM10 ceramic tile might be better quality than RM10 porcelain. Am I right weikee? That not what i mean. E.g. Porcelain tiles may have difference level of polishing (say No Polishing and No protection layer:Level 0 - Level 10:best polishing and best protection layer). Brand M RM 10 for a Grade A 2x2, the level is 3, but Brand N RM 18 for a Grade A 2x2, the level is 8. You get what i mean?
escargo75
Sep 27 2011, 10:20 AM
For cheaper quality tiles, do check-out the one selling at Seri Kembangan near Public Bank facing main road. You will be surprised with the price -promise!
scouser7
Sep 27 2011, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 26 2011, 10:22 PM) Actually, quite a number of those branded (well known) tile in Malaysia are actually manufactured in China. It does not mean that all tiles from China are no good. It depend on their quality control. So the real question here should be QUALITY rite? But thats the problem im facing with these unbranded made in China tiles...it does not come with any quality guarantee. Price wise it is so tempting but whereas the branded ones cost more. Sigh! Thank you ppl for ya kind reply!!
weikee
Sep 27 2011, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(scouser7 @ Sep 27 2011, 02:12 PM) So the real question here should be QUALITY rite? But thats the problem im facing with these unbranded made in China tiles...it does not come with any quality guarantee. Price wise it is so tempting but whereas the branded ones cost more. Sigh! Thank you ppl for ya kind reply!!  Ask the seller, and do visual comparison. IT sure have difference. During my tiles shopping time I ask, and do visual comparison. Some cheaper grade A are less glossy. The sales girls (usually is girls don't know why) can advice you, I ask why is this cheaper she can explain if difference coating and protective material uses.
Jo_da48
Sep 27 2011, 03:21 PM
If possiable get the volume require at one go, dont purchased half half, as the quality (colour) maybe slight different even from same shop after the getting new stock in. I hit the problem when miscount of 10pcs on my toilet, endup the new one is more shining and previous