May 29 2011, 07:18 PM
4,072 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: μετά |
May 29 2011, 09:04 PM
420 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Johor |
QUOTE(tellmewhy @ May 29 2011, 06:31 PM) QUOTE(springfall @ May 29 2011, 07:18 PM) 5950? definitely cheaper. aus lappies are a tad bit more exp than mal if u do direct conversion. unless u hav 2.7 exchange rate or work in australia, lappies are then cheaper. depends on the specs oso...like 5750g, i cant find one which the specs is exactly the same like malaysia one...here the best one u can get is BD-rom, 8gb ram + 750gb hdd...they got like around 4-5 others which some of them are using i5 & i3...so hard compare...but nonetheless, still electronics in australia are comparatively more expensiveThis post has been edited by tonyvyp: May 29 2011, 09:05 PM |
May 29 2011, 09:11 PM
4,072 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: μετά |
QUOTE(tonyvyp @ May 29 2011, 11:04 PM) depends on the specs oso...like 5750g, i cant find one which the specs is exactly the same like malaysia one...here the best one u can get is BD-rom, 8gb ram + 750gb hdd...they got like around 4-5 others which some of them are using i5 & i3...so hard compare...but nonetheless, still electronics in australia are comparatively more expensive i saw in city jbhifi i think, 5750 i7 8gbram, dvd-rw 1333x780 something res screen 540gt 2gb blue edi wif blutooth, 1600 aud something..compare electronics aus more explar.. pendrive, monitors, comp desktops, empty cd/dvd, all more exp1.. 5950 cheaper than malaysia i can slash hand.. >last month price lar.. now dunno.. This post has been edited by springfall: May 29 2011, 09:16 PM |
May 29 2011, 10:27 PM
2,152 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(springfall @ May 29 2011, 09:11 PM) i saw in city jbhifi i think, 5750 i7 8gbram, dvd-rw 1333x780 something res screen 540gt 2gb blue edi wif blutooth, 1600 aud something.. 1366x768compare electronics aus more explar.. pendrive, monitors, comp desktops, empty cd/dvd, all more exp1.. 5950 cheaper than malaysia i can slash hand.. >last month price lar.. now dunno.. |
May 30 2011, 08:06 PM
270 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
just changed my mobo lol.dunno whether they change or not as it is hard to tell.hahaha..
Jun 5 2011, 12:27 AM
2,227 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Guys, nvidia update: http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-win7...?nvidiaupdate=1
Jun 5 2011, 01:53 AM
270 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jun 5 2011, 12:27 AM) already did this one yesterday |
Jun 5 2011, 05:02 AM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Hello friends,
I bought my 5750G just less than a month ago. I am experiencing BSODs when playing games (nvlddmkm.sys stopped working [...]). I tried 4 driver versions by now (including 2 supplied by Acer) and the error persists so I'm pretty sure it's not a software problem. Those BSODs occur after a random gameplay time. Sometimes it will happen just after 1 minute, sometimes I would be able to play ~30 minutes. Nevertheless, it happens all the time, sooner or later. The funny thing is that I ran FurMark along with Prime95 to stress both GPU and CPU to check for overheating. It ran for almost half an hour with no BSOD, CPU temperatures staying below 90 deg, GPU at 92-95 deg (is there some kind of a 95 deg cap in the GPU sensor? I never got past 95 deg...). I guess this allows me to pretty much consider overheating as not being the reason behind this. My guess is that the GPU's VRAM is faulty. FurMark uses no more than 10% of it and this leads me to thinking that this is the reason it did not crash with the BSOD. So when it comes to games (which we all know can use that whole 1GB) I think this might be causing trouble. Some faulty memory sectors perhaps? Is there anything like Memtest for GPU VRAM so I could check it? Please, I am becoming really frustrated by now. I've run out of ideas and it seems that this is the only place I can ask for advice as I found ZERO threads on the issue connected specifically to the 5750G (they almost never mention laptops in the nvlddmkm.sys thread over at NVIDIA forums). Not to mention that this model is really fresh on my domestic market (I'm from Poland) so there's no way to consult with people whatsoever. I sent a technical query (not yet a servicing request) to the Acer Service on Friday evening so I am still yet to receive an answer from them. Does anybody here know of the ways out of this? Can I ask for a replacement from the 2nd batch (is the 2nd batch nvlddmkm.sys BSOD-free?)? The laptop has no scratches and there is still protective foil on the frame around the display so it's fresh like a brand new one... Please help me out on this guys, I would be extremely grateful if you could lend me a hand. This post has been edited by lays: Jun 5 2011, 05:07 AM |
Jun 5 2011, 07:40 AM
can anybody tell me whether there is a bios mux for optimus? there should be a bios option to choose between optimus and only nvidia. it should say something like discrete and switchable. can anybody confirm this please? I want to buy one of these but i am a linux user and optimus is not supported on linux yet. thanks
Jun 5 2011, 01:17 PM
i'm just bought this laptop.why my HDD only 581GB not 640GB
Jun 5 2011, 01:27 PM
14,813 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
640GB = 640 000 000 000 bytes is what you get..
In computer eyes, 1KB = 1024 bytes, so, 640GB = 640 000 000 000 / 1024^3 = 596GB. Then Acer take another around 15GB for the recovery partition.. |
Jun 5 2011, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jun 5 2011, 12:27 AM) Thanks. Will update later. Hope they make it higher clock. For Battlefield 3.QUOTE(lays @ Jun 5 2011, 05:02 AM) Hello friends, Yours is first batch? How come you manage to buy the first batch less than a month ago? You should be getting the second batch which is blue in colour...I bought my 5750G just less than a month ago. I am experiencing BSODs when playing games (nvlddmkm.sys stopped working [...]). I tried 4 driver versions by now (including 2 supplied by Acer) and the error persists so I'm pretty sure it's not a software problem. Those BSODs occur after a random gameplay time. Sometimes it will happen just after 1 minute, sometimes I would be able to play ~30 minutes. Nevertheless, it happens all the time, sooner or later. The funny thing is that I ran FurMark along with Prime95 to stress both GPU and CPU to check for overheating. It ran for almost half an hour with no BSOD, CPU temperatures staying below 90 deg, GPU at 92-95 deg (is there some kind of a 95 deg cap in the GPU sensor? I never got past 95 deg...). I guess this allows me to pretty much consider overheating as not being the reason behind this. My guess is that the GPU's VRAM is faulty. FurMark uses no more than 10% of it and this leads me to thinking that this is the reason it did not crash with the BSOD. So when it comes to games (which we all know can use that whole 1GB) I think this might be causing trouble. Some faulty memory sectors perhaps? Is there anything like Memtest for GPU VRAM so I could check it? Please, I am becoming really frustrated by now. I've run out of ideas and it seems that this is the only place I can ask for advice as I found ZERO threads on the issue connected specifically to the 5750G (they almost never mention laptops in the nvlddmkm.sys thread over at NVIDIA forums). Not to mention that this model is really fresh on my domestic market (I'm from Poland) so there's no way to consult with people whatsoever. I sent a technical query (not yet a servicing request) to the Acer Service on Friday evening so I am still yet to receive an answer from them. Does anybody here know of the ways out of this? Can I ask for a replacement from the 2nd batch (is the 2nd batch nvlddmkm.sys BSOD-free?)? The laptop has no scratches and there is still protective foil on the frame around the display so it's fresh like a brand new one... Please help me out on this guys, I would be extremely grateful if you could lend me a hand. what colour is ur current laptop? black right? |
Jun 5 2011, 01:32 PM
^He's from Poland..
Jun 5 2011, 01:34 PM
Jun 5 2011, 04:49 PM
Yes, my laptop is black which means it's 1st batch (no bluetooth also). I did however check my S/N on the SB flaw page and it said that no chipset error exists.
What about the problem I explained above? |
Jun 5 2011, 04:54 PM
So far, no solutions for it..
Jun 5 2011, 04:58 PM
What about Acer, what will they probably offer me? Unit swap or mobo swap? Can I ask for a full refund?
Or should I contact the shop in which I bought it? |
Jun 5 2011, 05:02 PM
Since its already almost one month, most likely they will ask you to send in your unit for testing...
But then, I'm not sure about the law in your place.. |
Jun 5 2011, 05:58 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2011 |
BIOS version ??
| Change to: | 0.0340sec