70 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Acer Aspire 5750G, Malaysia's 1st Sandy Bridge laptop

TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Feb 16 2011, 10:20 PM, updated 15y ago

1,450 posts

Hi all, since there are many 5750G owners now, I decided to open this thread to discuss about our laptops.
The discussion is continued from this thread, biggrin.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1713602

Specifications of 5750G

Regarding the Sandy Bridge flaw, code name "Cougar Point"
Acer Highpoint is now giving out 3 options to affected user.
1) Replace the motherboard
2) Swap another equivalent model
3) Full refund
The exact link is here, http://202.53.141.223/support/index.html
Any additional information can pm me and I will post it here!

Owners of 5750G
1. [G]ooD_Day (fixed version)
2. yeapsc73
3. skycrawler
4. iILoveChicks
5. ping0613
6. faezfahmi618
7. tonyvyp
8. chastan1
9. ***********
10. lakost
11. apek1989
12. mdnurman (refund and get 4750G)
13. angelbratz
14. hongjoo
15. yu_vvj
16. NIC912
17. jkwanness
18. king_crazy (fixed version)
19. syazx (fixed version)
20. skycrawler
21. djronzai (fixed version)
22. shahiryusoff (fixed version)
23. signora bianca (fixed version)
24. kevchinyl (replace motherboard)
25. esdome (fixed version)
26. felix5152001

This post has been edited by [G]ooD_DaY: Apr 19 2011, 11:55 AM
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Feb 16 2011, 10:22 PM

1,450 posts

Reserved~
apek1989
post Feb 16 2011, 11:59 PM

366 posts

add me to the owner of 5750g..still having BSOD problem..
btw any of u guys replace the motherboard already??
i wan to know how long the process will take..
lakost
post Feb 17 2011, 12:30 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Feb 16 2011, 11:59 PM)
the motherboard will be available on April if im not mistaken as i read it from other users who already contacted Acer Highpoint.It might takes 2-3 days after inspection depending on availability
apek1989
post Feb 17 2011, 12:40 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(lakost @ Feb 17 2011, 12:30 AM)
the motherboard will be available on April if im not mistaken as i read it from other users who already contacted Acer Highpoint.It might takes 2-3 days after inspection depending on availability
so nid to wait until April or can juz send now??
hmm.gif
lakost
post Feb 17 2011, 12:57 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Feb 17 2011, 12:40 AM)
so nid to wait until April or can juz send now??
hmm.gif
u can send now but they will probably have to hold your laptop until the spare parts is available.
iLoveChicks
post Feb 17 2011, 01:01 AM

527 posts

is it necessary for the bios thingy
lakost
post Feb 17 2011, 01:12 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(iLoveChicks @ Feb 17 2011, 01:01 AM)
no i guess. i never upgrade my bios unless i have some problems.i have downloaded the new bios but i havent installed it yet.lol
TS[G]ooD_DaY
post Feb 17 2011, 08:29 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Feb 16 2011, 11:59 PM)
Ok done

QUOTE(iLoveChicks @ Feb 17 2011, 01:01 AM)
hmm.gif I update whenever there is new(don't really check for it, only update if some post the link tongue.gif)

QUOTE(lakost @ Feb 17 2011, 01:12 AM)
no i guess. i never upgrade my bios unless i have some problems.i have downloaded the new bios but i havent installed it yet.lol
U downloaded but never update, by the time u want to update there may be newer versions.
= =
mdnurman
post Feb 17 2011, 09:49 AM

738 posts

me owner as well

previously got 2 BSOD episodes saying driver bla bla bla... always happen if left the notebook for a long time. probably the power management thingy.

anyway, just updated all the necessary drivers today... will see how it goes.

mainly use 5750G for video editing and normal office work plus Unreal Tournament, Modern Warfare 2 and Angry Bird. So far so good!

leon0831
post Feb 17 2011, 12:48 PM

hi, may i know when will Acer start shipping this 5750G model(i mean with problem fix) to Malaysia again, so that I can buy from the retailer?

sry for my bad english blush.gif
lakost
post Feb 17 2011, 01:00 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(leon0831 @ Feb 17 2011, 12:48 PM)
hi, may i know when will Acer start shipping this 5750G model(i mean with problem fix) to Malaysia again, so that I can buy from the retailer?

sry for my bad english  blush.gif
as early as March but will reach full production on April or May.u have to wait for another 2 months to be save.
angelbratz
post Feb 17 2011, 01:57 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

Slot me in the Battleship...

Awaiting for new new motherboard or the model listed to swap...
apek1989
post Feb 17 2011, 02:28 PM

366 posts

anyone here already send the laptop to acer servece centre??
may i know how long it will take to make the replacement..>.<
motherboard replacement..due date is 21-2-2011..

[b]WRONG INFORMATION..SRRY FOR MY MISTAKE..
notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by apek1989: Feb 17 2011, 03:54 PM
ping0613
post Feb 17 2011, 03:12 PM

Look at all my stars
2,974 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Feb 17 2011, 02:28 PM)
anyone here already send the laptop to acer servece centre??
may i know how long it will take to make the replacement..>.<
motherboard replacement..due date is 12-2-2011..
where you got this statament?
just now Hikari85 inform me that the dateline for option 1 is 21-02-2011.
the fixed motherboard adi arrived Malaysia?
seem impossible leh.. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ping0613: Feb 17 2011, 03:19 PM
apek1989
post Feb 17 2011, 03:27 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(ping0613 @ Feb 17 2011, 03:12 PM)
seem impossible leh.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
i juz call the acer service centre..the say the motherboard not arrive yet..
so they say gv ur name, number, ic number n laptop serial code..
after the motherboard arrive they will pick up to our location..
juz call the acer service centre..1800-88-1918 notworthy.gif
i think maybe in march or april will get picked up our laptop..
ping0613
post Feb 17 2011, 03:35 PM

Look at all my stars
2,974 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Feb 17 2011, 03:27 PM)
i juz call the acer service centre..the say the motherboard not arrive yet..
so they say gv ur name, number, ic number n laptop serial code..
after the motherboard arrive they will pick up to our location..
juz call the acer service centre..1800-88-1918 notworthy.gif
i think maybe in march or april will get picked up our laptop..
yes. me too. i oso just called up the Acer service center (174/02/2011, 15:29).
they said the motherboard not yet arrived Malaysia.
So, what we can do is wait until march or april
1. Acer send people come to our house collect laptop to service (FOC)
2. Acer will send back our laptop to us oso after the service (FOC oso)
3. no need provide receipt, just provide them laptop enuf.

This post has been edited by ping0613: Feb 17 2011, 04:08 PM
tonyvyp
post Feb 17 2011, 03:39 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(lakost @ Feb 17 2011, 12:30 AM)
juz minor correction, they "say" it should be available early march, not april...thats wat 'they' say ya, not me tongue.gif

QUOTE(ping0613 @ Feb 17 2011, 03:12 PM)
seem impossible leh.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
huh? how is tat possible?? the due date is before the replacement reach??

QUOTE(ping0613 @ Feb 17 2011, 03:35 PM)
So, what we can do is:
1. wait until march or april
2. Acer send people come to our house collect laptop to service (FOC)
3. Acer will send back our laptop to us oso after the service (FOC oso)
4. no need provide receipt, just provide them laptop enuf.
reminder : make sure u guys ask for some sort of "proof of returning" like invoice or acknowledgement that enables u to claim back ur laptop...if u dun hav such proof, say goodbye to ur lappy once & for all icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by tonyvyp: Feb 17 2011, 03:41 PM
ping0613
post Feb 17 2011, 03:41 PM

Look at all my stars
2,974 posts

QUOTE(tonyvyp @ Feb 17 2011, 03:39 PM)
juz minor correction, they "say" it should be available early march, not april...thats wat 'they' say ya, not me  tongue.gif
huh? how is tat possible?? the due date is before the replacement reach??
i think Hikari85's distributor gave her the wrong information.

apek1989
post Feb 17 2011, 03:49 PM

366 posts

Added on February 17, 2011, 3:51 pm
QUOTE(ping0613 @ Feb 17 2011, 03:35 PM)
So, what we can do is:
1. wait until march or april
2. Acer send people come to our house collect laptop to service (FOC)
3. Acer will send back our laptop to us oso after the service (FOC oso)
4. no need provide receipt, just provide them laptop enuf.
what u do now??wait for the new annoucement??
did they ask for ur information??
hmm.gif

This post has been edited by apek1989: Feb 17 2011, 03:51 PM

70 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:19 AM