Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V13, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

Bugeca
post Feb 16 2011, 10:45 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Feb 16 2011, 10:43 PM)
Got a quick one to ask, does the latest Speedmod kernel includes Voodoo's sound fix?

If not, can I flash Speedmod, enable tweaks and lagfix to ext4, then flash with Supercurio's Voodoo kernel? Will the tweak settings be retained and I can get my sound fix?

Was recording lion dance in my office today, well, the result you all would have expected. The sound was badly broken due to the over gain by the default settings of the phone. sad.gif
It does and you just need to download Voodoo App from market.
freakfingers12
post Feb 16 2011, 10:49 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Yes, new speedmod comes with Voodoo sound drivers v4, meaning you can use the latest voodoo app. And sound recording is amazing!
KH Cheah
post Feb 16 2011, 11:29 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Feb 16 2011, 05:24 PM)
I am finding moboplayer to be a better video player than rockplayer..

http://moboplayer.com/moboplayer_en.html
Just tried. Not sure why it's not able to play .divx format.

Added on February 16, 2011, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Feb 16 2011, 06:42 PM)
Waah, call me macha some more.. tongue.gif

A buddy of mine found moboplayer and recommended it to me, seems that the lead developer from the rockplayer team left the team and developed moboplayer on his/her own. I noticed RMVB playback to be smoother with moboplayer than rockplayer. smile.gif

I bought my batt from aliexpress.com - it was a 1800mAh batt for the SGS, free shipping, cost me USD9.99 and arrived in 14 days. My colleague has just ordered her 3000mAh batt for her SGS from batterybay.net, I think, for USD19.79 with free shipping also.
3000mA will need a new battery cover I think. Will make phone very fat. wink.gif

This post has been edited by KH Cheah: Feb 16 2011, 11:33 PM
Harddisk
post Feb 16 2011, 11:40 PM

2,967 posts

Thanks peeps! Will test the recording now by shouting near the mic like a madman. Hehe.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Feb 16 2011, 11:49 PM
Jason
post Feb 17 2011, 12:04 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(KH Cheah @ Feb 16 2011, 11:29 PM)
Just tried. Not sure why it's not able to play .divx format.

Added on February 16, 2011, 11:33 pm
3000mA will need a new battery cover I think. Will make phone very fat. wink.gif
3000mAh is definitely a fatter battery with a new cover.
my advice is not to use non-original batteries.. you can die from it.. seriously.

read news of exploding batteries and killing the owners. imagine you talking on your phone and it explodes.
ken2291
post Feb 17 2011, 12:05 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 17 2011, 12:04 AM)
3000mAh is definitely a fatter battery with a new cover.
my advice is not to use non-original batteries.. you can die from it.. seriously.

read news of exploding batteries and killing the owners. imagine you talking on your phone and it explodes.
+1 wink.gif one of my fren use "(insert country here)"-made battery b4. He's talking on the phone n felt sth weird. Guess wad, he threw the phone away and the nxt moment it exploded shocking.gif

Added on February 17, 2011, 12:07 am
QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Feb 16 2011, 10:31 PM)
Got a question,

Currently I on 2.21 XXJPY firmware with speedmode-k12t. All recommended tweak and lagfix is on.

I want to upgrade to K13b-bigmen(CWM)
My question is,

1) Do I need to disable tweak and lagfix?
2) How to upgrade via CWM? Place the zip file into SD and boot into CWM and update?

thanks and appreciate the help!  smile.gif
1) No need to disable anything
2) just reboot into CWM and install zip from sdcard

This post has been edited by ken2291: Feb 17 2011, 12:07 AM
gmhafiz
post Feb 17 2011, 12:12 AM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(haxri @ Feb 16 2011, 01:05 PM)
you sure can tahan for another 2 years? i did the same thing myself last year, but guess what now... i'm craving for a new and better phone. gila gila...
I was super excited when I learned about android in 2008. Linux OS backed up by google? I'm sold! I immediately saw that it will be a very popular choice among developers.

So I waited until a good phone to come out. Not until two years later, I got myself my first android phone, the galaxy s!

QUOTE(haxri @ Feb 16 2011, 01:22 PM)
well, currently i'm using n900 as my phone.. i bought this phone last year with a sole promised to myself.. no more new phones.. but yeah.. after the shyt nokia has fallen into, and the maemo project masuk longkang, i guess, i just might jump ship..

a month ago i have been eyeing on SGS, but on the day im at maxis to buy the phone, the people there told me to wait a few months for the new SGS2.. so yeah.. i'm waiting.. as waiting is what i can do.. but, will only buy if it is under maxis contract..
You know that N900 is very easily hackable right? Can put android, meego on the phone.

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Feb 16 2011, 02:54 PM)
I am finding moboplayer to be a better video player than rockplayer..

http://moboplayer.com/moboplayer_en.html
Very nice player indeed!
Jason
post Feb 17 2011, 12:40 AM

6,356 posts

guys..what do you use for remote wipe software?
freakfingers12
post Feb 17 2011, 12:41 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Slowpoke but this review is quite eye opening for us.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4179/ti-omap...timus-3d-tested

Same GPU, I wonder if we could upgrade our GPU drivers... Probably we can get that kinda performance too.
Harddisk
post Feb 17 2011, 05:16 AM

2,967 posts

A friend of my brother just joined the SGS bandwagon after comparing ip4 (brother) and SGS (mine), despite all the shortfalls of SGS on lags, possible issues on GPS and the extra efforts required over just jailbreaking on ip4.

He was satisfied with the smoothness on my phone, which was Speedmod-ed and the ability to get GPS lock despite inside the house.

Probably it further boost his confidence that I'd help him flash/tweak his phone if he decided to go with SGS.

Just thought of sharing with you guys. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Feb 17 2011, 05:17 AM
gzero
post Feb 17 2011, 05:29 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Feb 17 2011, 05:16 AM)
A friend of my brother just joined the SGS bandwagon  after comparing ip4 (brother) and SGS (mine), despite all the shortfalls of SGS on lags, possible issues on GPS and the extra efforts required over just jailbreaking on ip4.

He was satisfied with the smoothness on my phone, which was Speedmod-ed and the ability to get GPS lock despite inside the house.

Probably it further boost his confidence that I'd help him flash/tweak his phone if he decided to go with SGS.

Just thought of sharing with you guys. biggrin.gif
nice less 1 blind iF@g supporter in this world. rclxms.gif
ken2291
post Feb 17 2011, 08:11 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 17 2011, 12:41 AM)

Same GPU, I wonder if we could upgrade our GPU drivers... Probably we can get that kinda performance too.
if those devs can do something about this.. our phone has so much potential laugh.gif
freakfingers12
post Feb 17 2011, 08:41 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Feb 17 2011, 08:11 AM)
if those devs can do something about this.. our phone has so much potential laugh.gif
You could try this and tell me how it goes. It's overclocked a little at 205mhz.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=828052
Dothan
post Feb 17 2011, 10:02 AM

Dingle Berries
1,054 posts

Hi guys,
I just got SGS from my bro after he decided to be iFag...
Currently I am on stock JXPA rom, as usual the GPS is not so accurate (70 meters only). Anyone has tried the Darky Extreme rom?
Bugeca
post Feb 17 2011, 10:49 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 17 2011, 12:41 AM)

According to the write up. Samsung Orion is no longer coupled with PowerVR SGX, it use own ARM Mali GPU. hmm.gif This year SoC makers are having different GPU in their chipset.

This post has been edited by Bugeca: Feb 17 2011, 10:50 AM
gmhafiz
post Feb 17 2011, 02:52 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Feb 17 2011, 07:32 AM)
Hi guys,
I just got SGS from my bro after he decided to be iFag...
Currently I am on stock JXPA rom, as usual the GPS is not so accurate (70 meters only). Anyone has tried the Darky Extreme rom?
A lot of us do. But custom ROM does not affect gps performance. The modems are.

There are a number of things you can do to improve gps signal

1. Install fasterfix to lock faster. This app simply uses a nearer server.
- download attachement
- extract to get the apk file.
- copy it to sdcard
- browse using file manager and click on it. it'll prompt to install

2. Install different modem. Different modem on different area, carrier, phone can have different performances. Look here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...postcount=13293
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...postcount=14434
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=843019 (Under alternate modems.

3. Hardware fix. Phones that was manufactured before october has a problem with the hardware. there's a fix for that. But try the above methods first.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  fasterfix.zip ( 14.24k ) Number of downloads: 758
Fornaxlife
post Feb 17 2011, 03:31 PM

836 posts

you guys think which modem is the best for us in malaysia? biggrin.gif
gmhafiz
post Feb 17 2011, 03:33 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Feb 17 2011, 01:01 PM)
you guys think which modem is the best for us in malaysia? biggrin.gif
I have no idea. Need everyone to test each modem and send pm to TS
Fornaxlife
post Feb 17 2011, 04:03 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Feb 17 2011, 03:33 PM)
I have no idea. Need everyone to test each modem and send pm to TS
i'm using jpy modem and not really that satisfied in terms of gps and connections ohmy.gif
gmhafiz
post Feb 17 2011, 04:18 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Feb 17 2011, 01:33 PM)
i'm using jpy modem and not really that satisfied in terms of gps and connections  ohmy.gif
Both JPY and JPX modem fare badly with my phone. JPP is a lot better. I'm in India so my result may not be applicable to Malaysians.

125 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:48 AM