Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V13, Galaxy S, live on a smart life
Feb 9 2011, 04:37 PM
165 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang Valley |
Tempted to move to speedmod BIGMEM... coz my used ram now is 280MB dy....
Feb 9 2011, 04:41 PM
1,398 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Feb 9 2011, 04:41 PM
165 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang Valley |
Feb 9 2011, 04:49 PM
1,151 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Hi sifus,
Wanna ask a question. Is it possible to sync my contact's birthday to calendar and set reminder ? All my contacts are sent from my previous phone via bluetooth. The contact already have all the information including birthday, but calendar dun hav. Is there any possible to link it ? |
Feb 9 2011, 06:52 PM
596 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Lol, my battery so terror. Been using the phone the whole day. Battery still 100%
Feb 9 2011, 06:56 PM
2,644 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Akatsuki |
Feb 9 2011, 07:18 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(neo0915 @ Feb 9 2011, 02:19 PM) Hi sifus, Yes, easiest is by syncing with google. Create a google account, login with your phone, and your contacts will be synced with google's server. Wanna ask a question. Is it possible to sync my contact's birthday to calendar and set reminder ? All my contacts are sent from my previous phone via bluetooth. The contact already have all the information including birthday, but calendar dun hav. Is there any possible to link it ? If you look at Settings > Accounts and Sync > Manage Accounts, you can sync gmail,, calendar, contacts and picasa |
Feb 9 2011, 07:29 PM
1,852 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: Alor Setar, Kedah. Live: Kangar, Perlis. |
Feb 9 2011, 07:31 PM
Feb 9 2011, 07:34 PM
726 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Kepong |
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Feb 9 2011, 07:31 PM) Killing apps manually is not recommended. Instead, use it only for hanged apps. Autokiller is the way to go. i remember the app "spare part" has an option to set the autokiller to aggressive too... no need for another app if u have that preinstalled with the custom ROM |
Feb 9 2011, 07:37 PM
44 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Guys, sorry i forgot alredi la..if im on darky9.2 with vodoo and want to flash to speedmod K13A, just disable vodoo and run speedmod through CWM right?
Feb 9 2011, 07:54 PM
836 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Feb 9 2011, 08:44 PM
44 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Feb 9 2011, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(azzurious_rs @ Feb 9 2011, 06:14 PM) thanx..on speedmod, is it better to convert to ext4 or just stay with the rfs? any difference if convert to ext4? ext4 has faster data read/write, but almost no observable difference in smoothness against RFS. If you have an app that uses a lot of database like newsrob, you'll see a lot of difference in the speed. But the smoothness will be the same.I think I read hardcore said about optimizations he made to ext4 that it uses less battery because of fewer data write. (less data write --> less work --> less battery consumption). If this is true, there's no reason to stay with RFS anymore. Thoughts? Added on February 9, 2011, 8:52 pm QUOTE(CrossX @ Feb 9 2011, 05:04 PM) i remember the app "spare part" has an option to set the autokiller to aggressive too... no need for another app if u have that preinstalled with the custom ROM Yup, forgot about spare parts. Only that Autokiller has a few more options on the profile.This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Feb 9 2011, 08:52 PM |
Feb 9 2011, 08:53 PM
1,649 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Hey, you guys ever heard of an app called Theft Aware v2?? It is said that the app is the best Theft software in the security market...
But to me, i find it completely useless because it does not even allow the owner to track the phone down. So, i thought of an idea for the perfect theft app.. i dont know if it already exist (if it does.. please tell me the app name) ... A perfect theft app in my opinion is : 1. It enables the GPS and A-GPS (hidden) by sending a command to the phone. 2. Enables DATA/3G (hidden) 3. Send a Google map image of the phone location back to the owner (computer) or Enable the Owner to view the phone live location .. google map style (3rd party software that the owner install in his/her computer) The reason that both 3G and GPS must be activated is so that since 3G is activated, the phone can act like being able to remotely controled by the owner (LogmeIn style)... And despite the app "Theft Aware" able to Turn on the GPS and make it hidden when a command is sent, i felt that this app is possible to be develope. Besides that, if the app is made non-removable (cannot be uninstall even if Being factory reseted) Tracking down the phone would be easy* <-- Which is possible as shown in the "Theft Aware" app. *The most common thing a thief would do is Factory Reset it and Swap Sim Card. |
Feb 9 2011, 08:54 PM
2,644 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Akatsuki |
QUOTE(Piccolo @ Feb 9 2011, 03:03 PM) Anyone on CM7 test? I need a guinea pig here before attempting this Guys, actually what is Cyanogenmod??? After read thru i still not understand what is it...![]() http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/15275-g...rsion-20110203/ Also on XDA here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=940095 It is a ROM or a kernal?? |
Feb 9 2011, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(mstr583 @ Feb 9 2011, 06:24 PM) Guys, actually what is Cyanogenmod??? After read thru i still not understand what is it... It is a an extremely popular whole ROM replacement, made by cyanogen and the team. It is available now for a lot of different phones.It is a ROM or a kernal?? What made it special is that they made the android ROM wholly from open source software called AOSP (android open source project). This means, the rom is 100% android, no touchwiz, sense, blur component at all. It is popular because it is extremely configurable. With frequent update, you can get the latest android like android 2.3 gingerbread rather quickly rather than waiting for samsung to release an update. There's still alot of work to be done to make the rom compatible with galaxy s. So please don't flash it if you don't know how to find and fix the bugs. |
Feb 9 2011, 09:51 PM
4,777 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Feb 9 2011, 08:59 PM) There's still alot of work to be done to make the rom compatible with galaxy s. So please don't flash it if you don't know how to find and fix the bugs. Avoid it even more if you did read the stuff on the CM pages and still don't understand what it is.. Very bleeding edge / experimental stuff for the SGS, in my opinion. |
Feb 9 2011, 09:55 PM
1,279 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Feb 9 2011, 10:13 PM
85 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Thanks to All Sifus, I think I will try upgrade to 2.2.1, before try the customized kernel. You all are really helpful......
| Change to: | 0.0310sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:19 AM |