107 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Bottom

Investment SUMMER SUITES AND SUMMER V.O.S. [OWNERS' THREAD], From RM328k off Jalan Sultan Ismail

journeyoflife
post Feb 18 2016, 08:55 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Feb 18 2016, 12:41 AM)
Please la, what is illegal? As far as I know there is no law that prohibits people from staying overnight. Technically, hotel is also a commercial prop and not a residential one, also lots of people staying. Same with most shophouses. By the way, the whole of Malaysia full of the SOVOs and whatnots now...nobody really cares what its called, as long as it serves the investors intended purpose. No point arguing and picking on SS, btw I never see other similar props receive such comments.
yep.. i don't see the harm...
i also don't think the authorities will put out the time / effort to go through every single unit.
kochin
post Feb 18 2016, 09:28 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

Please la, what is illegal? As far as I know there is no law that prohibits people from staying overnight. Technically, hotel is also a commercial prop and not a residential one, also lots of people staying. Same with most shophouses. By the way, the whole of Malaysia full of the SOVOs and whatnots now...nobody really cares what its called, as long as it serves the investors intended purpose. No point arguing and picking on SS, btw I never see other similar props receive such comments.
QUOTE(journeyoflife @ Feb 18 2016, 08:55 AM)
yep.. i don't see the harm...
i also don't think the authorities will put out the time / effort to go through every single unit.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=78431608

so long one knows what they are doing with eyes wide open.
it's a conscious decision.

as saying goes, eat salted fish, must be able to withstand thirst.
if they are ready, why not. kekeke.
journeyoflife
post Feb 18 2016, 09:34 AM

277 posts

actually does this mean that all soho, sovo, or other types of small office cannot be used for residential?
kochin
post Feb 18 2016, 09:36 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(journeyoflife @ Feb 18 2016, 09:34 AM)
actually does this mean that all soho, sovo, or other types of small office cannot be used for residential?
read your spa and domc.
consult your lawyer.
eXTaTine
post Feb 18 2016, 09:44 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Read this:

http://www.propertymalaysiainvestment.com/...al-development/

Basically, there won't be authorities coming in and making trouble? Why? It isn't illegal. Only downside is paying utilities and assessment at commercial rates. Other than that you can do what you want. If it was illegal then shophouses and whatnot would be raided for breaking the law since eons ago.

I hope we can move on from here on because its very tiring to see the same topic harped on again and again.
nookie188
post Feb 18 2016, 09:50 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Feb 18 2016, 09:44 AM)
Read this:

Basically, there won't be authorities coming in and making trouble? Why? It isn't illegal. Only downside is paying utilities and assessment at commercial rates. Other than that you can do what you want. If it was illegal then shophouses and whatnot would be raided for breaking the law since eons ago.

I hope we can move on from here on because its very tiring to see the same topic harped on again and again.
ever asked the developer whether its "illegal" or not? guess they are the best people to advise since they applied
for the permission to build the building..

we can say all we want whether illegal or not but at the end of the day, we don't have the authority to state either way so better to check with the right entity..

I don't really think people will harp on this matter if it is not an important matter -am sure buyers would want to know ..shall I say most buyers? brows.gif

if I am in the market to buy I would definitely call the developer to get a confirmation on this issue...

This post has been edited by nookie188: Feb 18 2016, 09:51 AM
kochin
post Feb 18 2016, 09:52 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Feb 18 2016, 09:44 AM)
Read this:

lol.
you really geng chau.

article shared lagi geng chau. tried searching for the author and found nothing.
search and search and finally see who they are:
http://www.propertymalaysiainvestment.com/about-us/

if it's not a concern, why do you think the developer issue the notice?

as said, you have decided, good for you. stay your course.
eXTaTine
post Feb 18 2016, 10:01 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Those naysayers, please go disturb other threads with SOVOs then if you think it is illegal, why pick on SS? Like half the 97 pages is harping on this. I think you can comment on other threads as those have a lot of less comments.

As for the developer, of course they will say it is office as that is what is designated as, and issue out the circular. Doesn't mean it is illegal or anything.

Don't like the link I just posted, well a quick Google search will reveal more info. Here are a few:

http://www.iproperty.com.my/news/7982/gett...o-sofo-and-sovo

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/278343

Note that there never is a mention that it is illegal. Nobody is going to raid your unit or anything. It's just that you don't get HDA coverage, and you pay a bit more like what I mentioned in previous post.

This post has been edited by eXTaTine: Feb 18 2016, 10:09 AM
nookie188
post Feb 18 2016, 10:04 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Feb 18 2016, 09:52 AM)
lol.
you really geng chau.

article shared lagi geng chau. tried searching for the author and found nothing.
search and search and finally see who they are:
http://www.propertymalaysiainvestment.com/about-us/

if it's not a concern, why do you think the developer issue the notice?

as said, you have decided, good for you. stay your course.
adui...good digging kochin boss... thumbup.gif

just go to the developer and find out the implications of office being used as residential
and if they intend to do anything moving forward..better to know then not to know..if can lari cepat lari..
if cannot or dun want to lari, just hope for the best..

ManutdGiggs
post Feb 18 2016, 10:20 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Feb 18 2016, 10:04 AM)
adui...good digging kochin boss... thumbup.gif

just go to the developer and find out the implications of office being used as residential
and if they intend to do anything moving forward..better to know then not to know..if can lari cepat lari..
if cannot or dun want to lari, just hope for the best..
Dun mess with sexpert fei mao. He knows ethg laugh.gif

Everyone has a choice. Enjoy the fruits first n sell it to suiyu b4 gov step in. rclxms.gif
BEANCOUNTER
post Feb 18 2016, 10:37 AM

20,146 posts

This shows how igmoranxe you are.
To operate a public hotel, u need special license and approval from authority.

Do you have special licence and authority letter to enablr you to run your so called opis as full residential?

What overnight? Most units are used as full residential each night and every nite.

eXTaTine
post Feb 18 2016, 11:23 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Feb 18 2016, 10:37 AM)
This shows how igmoranxe you are.
To operate a public hotel, u need special license and approval from authority.

Do you have special licence and authority letter to enablr you to run your so called opis as full residential?

What overnight? Most units are used as full residential each night and every nite.
They need license because they are operating a business. But anyway, I mentioned it as an example, I am aware of the need for the license. If you want examples of residences in commercial title, what about shoplots? Those mostly are still commercial title, people live in them no problem. And before 2007, service residence also commercial, means they were illegal before 2007?

Anyway I think I said my piece so I'll stop here. I can't stop people from harping on the issue, even though its unfortunate SS got singled out from all of the same category props. I will not be responding on this topic from here on out.
R o Y
post Feb 18 2016, 11:42 AM

930 posts

I recall long long long time ago, this similar issue was brought up for Serviced Apartments. Back then, Serviced Apartments were considered commercial properties and not under HDA. Many developers used this loophole to develop units meant for residential on commercial land while circumventing many of the restrictions under the HDA.

Many people were also worried that they were not protected under HDA when purchasing Serviced Apartments and choose to stay away from them.

Fast forward a few years, after there were so many Serviced Apartments being launched and being used as residential, the Government just decided to recognize it as residential and brought it under the HDA.

Its likely all the current "Hybrid" units will go thru this something similar sometime in the future.

Because there are already so many that have been built, and even more in the process of being built, eventually the Government will probably just recognize them and move on.

nookie188
post Feb 18 2016, 01:34 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(R o Y @ Feb 18 2016, 11:42 AM)
I recall long long long time ago, this similar issue was brought up for Serviced Apartments. Back then, Serviced Apartments were considered commercial properties and not under HDA. Many developers used this loophole to develop units meant for residential on commercial land while circumventing many of the restrictions under the HDA.

Many people were also worried that they were not protected under HDA when purchasing Serviced Apartments and choose to stay away from them.

Fast forward a few years, after there were so many Serviced Apartments being launched and being used as residential, the Government just decided to recognize it as residential and brought it under the HDA.

Its likely all the current "Hybrid" units will go thru this something similar sometime in the future.

Because there are already so many that have been built, and even more in the process of being built, eventually the Government will probably just recognize them and move on.
SS was built as an office development - ie not as serviced apartment nor does it falls under those hybrid types ie sovo, sofo and what not..so I think your argument is a bit off the mark..

the developer has reconfirmed that SS are offices ..so there is really no grey area as its clearly stipulated in the SPA.

anyway, for the owners, they rather have it used as residential rather than offices as the rentability is higher..

SS could set the precedent for other office developments to be used as residential? time will tell..

R o Y
post Feb 18 2016, 03:58 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Feb 18 2016, 01:34 PM)
SS was built as an office development - ie not as serviced apartment nor does it falls under those hybrid types ie sovo, sofo and what not..so I think your argument is a bit off the mark..

the developer has reconfirmed that SS are offices ..so there is really no grey area as its clearly stipulated in the SPA.

anyway, for the owners, they rather have it used as residential rather than offices as the rentability is higher..

SS could set the precedent for other office developments to be used as residential? time will tell..
For SOVO, SOFO and all other incarnations, the "O" is Office. If you ask any other developers for an "official" answer, they will also have to say their products are offices

Happyman
post Feb 18 2016, 04:06 PM

163 posts

Very easy, make a phone call and ask the authority to go to raid summer suites, if they go then it is illegal, if they said cannot raid then owners can rent out lo.

What's the phone number and which authority? I call now.
R o Y
post Feb 18 2016, 04:19 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(Happyman @ Feb 18 2016, 04:06 PM)
Very easy, make a phone call and ask the authority to go to raid summer suites, if they go then it is illegal, if they said cannot raid then owners can rent out lo. 

What's the phone number and which authority?  I call now.
Menara DBKL 1, Jalan Raja Laut

50350 Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA

General Line: 03 2617 9000

Call Centre: 1 800 88 3255
yck1987
post Feb 18 2016, 04:46 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(Happyman @ Feb 18 2016, 04:06 PM)

What's the phone number and which authority?  I call now.
what did the authority say?
nookie188
post Feb 18 2016, 04:53 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(R o Y @ Feb 18 2016, 03:58 PM)
For SOVO, SOFO and all other incarnations, the "O" is Office. If you ask any other developers for an "official" answer, they will also have to say their products are offices
unofficially it can be anything kah? hybrid so anything goes ..

so when is an office block an office in the real sense of the word? PETRONAS twin towers , maxis - offices for sure so
if someone wants to turn into residential, then no problem also if we based it on SS case?

JamesPond
post Feb 18 2016, 05:00 PM

4,526 posts

Can you sleep on an agriculture land?
I guess you have the answer.

107 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:30 AM