Streamyx Streamyx Capping International Connections v2, TM confirms cap will remain
wongpeter
Dec 2 2010, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(Reuben @ Dec 2 2010, 10:07 PM) Can you try their own speedometer? speedtest.streamyx.com.my Added on December 2, 2010, 10:09 pmI have a feeling that some users are now experiencing a LOCAL cap as well T_T Seems to be still alright for me on the 1mb pkg.  Uploaded with ImageShack.usThis post has been edited by wongpeter: Dec 2 2010, 10:44 PM
Peculator
Dec 2 2010, 10:43 PM

No wonder my download speed seems slow.
LeePakHeng
Dec 2 2010, 10:43 PM

i grabbed a new ip, i think they have uncapped us now, probably stage by stage? was 20kbs from hotfile b4 that, now 150kbs, 1mb line
TSReuben
Dec 2 2010, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(wongpeter @ Dec 2 2010, 10:42 PM) Seems to be still alright for me on the 1mb pkg.  Uploaded with ImageShack.usEven after completion? I noticed the speedometer shows a high speed first then drops later.
wongpeter
Dec 2 2010, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(Reuben @ Dec 2 2010, 10:44 PM) Even after completion? I noticed the speedometer shows a high speed first then drops later. yes, even after completion. the speed stays high throughout the initial test. but when I do the restart speed test it shows the capped speed. funny. This post has been edited by wongpeter: Dec 2 2010, 10:47 PM
LeePakHeng
Dec 2 2010, 10:47 PM

speedtest to singapore 1.31mb, was 0.15 before new ip
ice666
Dec 2 2010, 10:48 PM

err., super noob question here.. what is capped?
recently facing slow download at my area (wangsa maju), 180mb download time is more than 3hours. what happend?
wongpeter
Dec 2 2010, 10:50 PM
test at 10:49pm on speedtest.streamyx.com.my
Download Speed:1554 kbps (194 KB/sec transfer rate) Upload Speed:230 kbps (29 KB/sec transfer rate)
relaxjack
Dec 2 2010, 10:51 PM
"Fair Usage means that all our paying customers means they should be treated fairly. Heavy users tend to hog the network at the expense of the non-heavy users. The challenge is how we can implement this best we can and so that it is truly fair for the customer."
Define fair usage. Do you give rebates for light users? ie. subscribers who generally use their broadband for emails, Facebook, MSN, etc? When subscribers use less of your bandwidth, you kept quiet. When subscribers use more, you resort to capping. This certainly does not sound FAIR to me.
Why advertise with big word "UNLIMITED" when you can't tolerate heavy users? When i buy an unlimited tickets to an amusement park, i expect to be able to take as many round of rides as i like. If the queue gets too long due to people like me, well either you limit the numbers of people entering the park or simply build more rides! If the queue gets too long just because the operator wanted to make more profits by selling more tickets, knowing that the park has overstretched its capacity, then the operator should be blamed for their unscrupulous way of doing business. not the customers. Similarly, When i pay 80 bucks for a buffet dinner, i expect to be allowed to eat to my heart's content. You have no rights to stop me from eating more just because i have eaten more than RM80 worth of food. That is the risk you have to take.
Chromax8
Dec 2 2010, 10:53 PM

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Dec 2 2010, 09:39 PM) i want my speed back please streamyx...what did i do to deserve this??? :cries: For being a TM Streamyx Customer!
mochachoke
Dec 2 2010, 10:58 PM
Yeah.... malaysian ADSL internet no longer Unlimited....so if limited, why should i get streamyx, better i subscibe mobile broadband.... at least mobile is an advantage...
iipohbee
Dec 2 2010, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Reuben @ Dec 2 2010, 10:07 PM) Yours look like it has loss though. None of us are getting loss so it shows an intentional cap. There wasn't any loss. When I first started complaining around early September, I experienced the same 300kbps cap during the day and by midnight my speed would automatically be reset back to around 3500kbps. It's confirmed that these system was already implemented since then(~end of August)
hasyir
Dec 2 2010, 11:00 PM

mine is d 2mb package...if d speed is bloody damn slow like this, no point of subscribing to this package anymore...better downgrade to 384kb package..
harryfoo
QUOTE(wongpeter @ Dec 2 2010, 10:42 PM) Seems to be still alright for me on the 1mb pkg.  Uploaded with ImageShack.usWth? 1mbps gets 1.6mbps!
iipohbee
QUOTE(mochachoke @ Dec 2 2010, 10:58 PM) Yeah.... malaysian ADSL internet no longer Unlimited....so if limited, why should i get streamyx, better i subscibe mobile broadband.... at least mobile is an advantage... People advance forward we go backward.  Australia, Thailand, South Africa were all far behind us during early 2000. But look at them now. How much they have overtaken us today.
ahpek26
Dec 2 2010, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(harryfoo @ Dec 2 2010, 11:00 PM) Wth? 1mbps gets 1.6mbps!  Local only what to  about Ping Cyberjaya also tak lepas
ice666
Dec 2 2010, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(relaxjack @ Dec 2 2010, 10:51 PM) "Fair Usage means that all our paying customers means they should be treated fairly. Heavy users tend to hog the network at the expense of the non-heavy users. The challenge is how we can implement this best we can and so that it is truly fair for the customer."Define fair usage. Do you give rebates for light users? ie. subscribers who generally use their broadband for emails, Facebook, MSN, etc? When subscribers use less of your bandwidth, you kept quiet. When subscribers use more, you resort to capping. This certainly does not sound FAIR to me. Why advertise with big word "UNLIMITED" when you can't tolerate heavy users? When i buy an unlimited tickets to an amusement park, i expect to be able to take as many round of rides as i like. If the queue gets too long due to people like me, well either you limit the numbers of people entering the park or simply build more rides! If the queue gets too long just because the operator wanted to make more profits by selling more tickets, knowing that the park has overstretched its capacity, then the operator should be blamed for their unscrupulous way of doing business. not the customers. Similarly, When i pay 80 bucks for a buffet dinner, i expect to be allowed to eat to my heart's content. You have no rights to stop me from eating more just because i have eaten more than RM80 worth of food. That is the risk you have to take. :: AGREED :: AGREED :: AGREED :: (but i still have no clue what 'capped' is..i only experience super slow download this few days.)
jimfoa
Dec 2 2010, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(iipohbee @ Dec 2 2010, 10:04 PM) I started complaining about this hard throttling implementation since September! Read this post of mine: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=36648269Same here 1.5Mbps capped to 512K (local) and 0.15Mbps (international) at end of August, told need to upgrade to 1MB Blockbuster deal. After upgrade still capped to 512kbps(sometimes 296kbps) for local connection and international speed still the same. After 2 months and numerous complaints local speed "upgraded" to 880kbps and international speed back to "normal". After one week international speed capped back to 0.20/0.25Mbps as it is now. Now even things appear to be getting worse, various sites timing out and slow web surfing.
TubeNRibbon
Dec 2 2010, 11:04 PM

The local STIMX isp really stupid and they only think we use internet to surf local website only.
They think we surf streamyx site only!! idiot