thanks aldosoesilo and chiahau. i`m gonna start hunting d^^
Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher
Dec 15 2010, 03:52 PM
1,371 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Klang |
thanks aldosoesilo and chiahau. i`m gonna start hunting d^^
Dec 15 2010, 04:01 PM
12,573 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE I will say d3100 is better than d5000 in term of feature, therefore try not to go to d5000 unlike you really2 like that filppy2 LCD. (I will give you an impression that you aren't pro QUOTE 60D for canon - This model is a flippy LCD model for canon. I will say don't go for this one since it is prosummer body yet give that flippy LCD thingy. How does a DSLR having a filp LCD screen, make one look "less professional"? And what's with the word professional here? People are asking recommendations on what to buy/what's good and NOT what looks pro or not pro I will only make you not to look professional. QUOTE If you are pro to canon go for 500D instead of 550D. I usually recommend my friend to go for 500D over 550D. What a very shallow thought. I bet you never used a 18mp camera before? Since what I see in the feature the only massive difference is its 'MEGA pixels' well I will say in DSLR photography you wouldn't really need MPx as long as it is more than 10- is enough because you wouldn't stretch the picture taken. Unless you have a studio. and yeahhh studio doesn't use entry level DSLR. Dismissing the advantage of megapixels just like that, is such a sweeping generalization I'm using my 550D which offers 18mp, and i CROP a lot. Even after cropping, i still get so much details due to the 18mp that i can enjoy Let us see what has 550D has install over it's predecessor shall we? -18mp -more superior iFCL metering system - ISO6400 not in expanded mode anymore -Bigger buttons, easier to press and a dedicated live view button -FULL HD video with variable framerates like 24p,25p and 30p -Faster burst rate of 3.7fps -Able to use the latest SDXC memory cards up to 64GB iinm -3:2 LCD screen with 1040 dots QUOTE Canon is always better than Nikon in movie recording. Oh pleaseeeeeee fanboyism again!But Nikon is better than cannon is photography. Don't believe in me? Go for youtube and querry: digitalrev tv D3s vs 1d mark IV You will find the proof. Sorry I can't post the vid because my office block youtube Rules of this forum-------> 1) "Fanboyism" is prohibited. No brand wars here. Quoting one video from youtube, and then concluding that Nikon is better than Canon, is just no different than me saying that "my phone has the copy and paste function which the iphone doesn't have, therefore my phone is better " Also, don't you know that D3s has only 12mp while the 1D4 has 16? And also D3s is a FF while the 1D4 is only APS-H(1.3x crop factor). This is already an unfair advantage towards the Nikon,such comparison should never even take place in the first place. Comparing FF with APS-H? Meh QUOTE well if you doesn't have tight budgeting go for D7000 with the 18-105 is totally out of his budget. Why even mention it?D7000 for nikon - else you can still get d90 (Prosummer body which still working fine) Yeahh.. this one is prosummer body therefore you can use any type of lens even without 'AF-S' unlike that entry level bodies which I mention before (D3000, D3100, D5000) else QUOTE Cheapo body + Pro lens will always works better than Only applies to NEW cheapo bodies vs NEW pro bodiesPro body + Cheapo lens. |
Dec 15 2010, 04:18 PM
1,457 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Dec 15 2010, 03:52 PM) you are welcome.QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 15 2010, 04:01 PM) How does a DSLR having a filp LCD screen, make one look "less professional"? And what's with the word professional here? People are asking recommendations on what to buy/what's good and NOT what looks pro or not pro Well I just giving him a clue there. it's all come back to him whether he want to buy that or no.QUOTE What a very shallow thought. I bet you never used a 18mp camera before? Dismissing the advantage of megapixels just like that, is such a sweeping generalization I'm using my 550D which offers 18mp, and i CROP a lot. Even after cropping, i still get so much details due to the 18mp that i can enjoy Let us see what has 550D has install over it's predecessor shall we? -18mp -more superior iFCL metering system - ISO6400 not in expanded mode anymore -Bigger buttons, easier to press and a dedicated live view button -FULL HD video with variable framerates like 24p,25p and 30p -Faster burst rate of 3.7fps -Able to use the latest SDXC memory cards up to 64GB iinm -3:2 LCD screen with 1040 dots Well. I am not sure about that. However I am pretty sure it is a waste for entry. QUOTE Oh pleaseeeeeee fanboyism again! Rules of this forum-------> 1) "Fanboyism" is prohibited. No brand wars here. Quoting one video from youtube, and then concluding that Nikon is better than Canon, is just no different than me saying that "my phone has the copy and paste function which the iphone doesn't have, therefore my phone is better " Also, don't you know that D3s has only 12mp while the 1D4 has 16? And also D3s is a FF while the 1D4 is only APS-H(1.3x crop factor). This is already an unfair advantage towards the Nikon,such comparison should never even take place in the first place. Comparing FF with APS-H? Meh That's the best cameras they have out there, what to say Moreover, I am just telling in natural perspective. not trying to be fanboy. but I am pretty sure of that. you can see the proof yourself. canon has less noise control over nikon. depends on the model though. QUOTE D7000 with the 18-105 is totally out of his budget. Why even mention it? I am giving him the whole idea about entry up to prosummer camera. and I think that is the purpose of this thread. QUOTE Not really. even the body or the lens is not new it is still applicable. Can't afford the 1st hand lens. why don't go for second hand? |
Dec 15 2010, 04:37 PM
QUOTE Well I just giving him a clue there. it's all come back to him whether he want to buy that or no. What looks good for him might not be for others. A 60D with flippy LCD screen looks "pro" to me, so you're trying to convince me otherwise? for example. QUOTE Well. I am not sure about that. Then don't say anything However I am pretty sure it is a waste for entry. Waste to you might be gold to others. I and tons of other Canon 550D owners just love this camera a lot, for the amazing things it can offer. And now you're calling it a waste? QUOTE That's the best cameras they have out there, what to say Again said, there's an UNFAIR ADVANTAGE when one FF model is competing with another non FF model in terms of ISO performance. No fight reallyMoreover, I am just telling in natural perspective. not trying to be fanboy. but I am pretty sure of that. you can see the proof yourself. canon has less noise control over nikon. depends on the model though. QUOTE I am giving him the whole idea about entry up to prosummer camera. and I think that is the purpose of this thread. Personally i won't even mention that, just for the sake of directly answering his question. And if he wants to know more, then probably yes QUOTE Not really. even the body or the lens is not new it is still applicable. I was talking about the BODY not the lens Can't afford the 1st hand lens. why don't go for second hand? Of course, 2nd hand lenses are still so favourable these days, because the new ones are pretty expensive. Not so much the same for the bodies though, because they tend to depreciate in price much faster |
Dec 15 2010, 04:56 PM
QUOTE What looks good for him might not be for others. A 60D with flippy LCD screen looks "pro" to me, so you're trying to convince me otherwise? for example. ahaiii.. QUOTE Waste to you might be gold to others. I and tons of other Canon 550D owners just love this camera a lot, for the amazing things it can offer. And now you're calling it a waste? Just because you own it QUOTE Again said, there's an UNFAIR ADVANTAGE when one FF model is competing with another non FF model in terms of ISO performance. No fight really Personally i won't even mention that, just for the sake of directly answering his question. And if he wants to know more, then probably yes Well you are such a douche . I said that Canon is better in video recording on the other hand Nikon in photography. as the proof I mention the best out of the best camera out there for each brand. well he will eventually decide himself. anyway I am really sorry if you are offended. I dunno of you are that fanboy. good for you QUOTE I was talking about the BODY not the lens Of course, 2nd hand lenses are still so favourable these days, because the new ones are pretty expensive. Not so much the same for the bodies though, because they tend to depreciate in price much faster at last you agree with this one my friend |
Dec 15 2010, 05:04 PM
Personally, i'm not offended at all bro. It's just that i don't like people saying such blatant sweeping generalization like that.
I could always say Nvidia beats ATI *quotes a video from youtube between GTX460 vs HD4670* Apple is better than HTC *quotes a video showing touch screen responsiveness betweent the two models *<----For example's sake And no, i ain't a fanboy of any brand whatsoever, i know both Nikon and Canon are 2 very good brands and so are others. Each has their OWN advantages and disadvantages, so it's not very WISE to make such sweeping statements right? I don't say things like that and neither do other forumers here. Just to make what i feel clear ? This post has been edited by -kytz-: Dec 15 2010, 05:25 PM |
Dec 16 2010, 03:11 AM
40 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Malaysia, Selangor |
Sony DSCW320S vs Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX1
Hi there! I'm getting a free camera and I'm offered either of the above. Any suggestions which should i pick? Thanks alot!!! :D |
Dec 16 2010, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 15 2010, 05:04 PM) Personally, i'm not offended at all bro. It's just that i don't like people saying such blatant sweeping generalization like that. All due respect. brp I didn't say Nvidia is better than ATI or whatever things similar to that.I could always say Nvidia beats ATI *quotes a video from youtube between GTX460 vs HD4670* Apple is better than HTC *quotes a video showing touch screen responsiveness betweent the two models *<----For example's sake And no, i ain't a fanboy of any brand whatsoever, i know both Nikon and Canon are 2 very good brands and so are others. Each has their OWN advantages and disadvantages, so it's not very WISE to make such sweeping statements right? I don't say things like that and neither do other forumers here. Just to make what i feel clear ? This is the thing that I said. QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Dec 15 2010, 11:36 AM) Canon is always better than Nikon in movie recording. It's not like Iphone is better than HTC or Mercides is better than BMW. But Nikon is better than cannon is photography. Don't believe in me? Go for youtube and querry: digitalrev tv D3s vs 1d mark IV You will find the proof. Sorry I can't post the vid because my office block youtube It's like bowl is better to when you use it to eat soup and plate on the other hand for dry food. Walaweee.... it's like if you want to go for speed choose ferari over BMW, else if you want confort go for BMW. anyway this thread suppose give a member a bigger view of camera and photography, therefore I am listing all the option he/she possibly take in the future. I don't know what is your problem with my post and whatsoever. but if you find a problem in my post please not to make mess in the thread itself. This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Dec 16 2010, 09:52 AM |
Dec 16 2010, 11:18 AM
QUOTE All due respect. brp I didn't say Nvidia is better than ATI or whatever things similar to that. Nvidia vs ATI and the HTC vs Iphone thingy were just an example of your style of posting, by conveniently quoting ONE youtube source and then CONCLUDING that A is better than B. That's your STYLE of posting. We don't tolerate anything like that here and also LEARN to read my post carefully This is the thing that I said. QUOTE It's not like Iphone is better than HTC or Mercides is better than BMW. First and foremost, what's with the bowl and plate analogy? Such a weak back up claim It's like bowl is better to when you use it to eat soup and plate on the other hand for dry food. Walaweee.... it's like if you want to go for speed choose ferari over BMW, else if you want confort go for BMW. Again, you DARE conclude that Nikon is BETTER than Canon in photography just by quoting a youtube source, reviewed by Kai Wong?How convinient is that.. And not again, you don't really read well do you? I CLEARLY mentioned, there's no fair comparison really between a Full Frame DSLR against a APS-H DSLR. The Nikon D3s is FF camera while the 1D Mk 4 is a APS-H camera, D3s has 12mp while the 1D4 has 16mp, so this comparison isn't really fair don't you think? It's the same like you don't compare ISO performance between a Nikon D700 against a nice 550D. Obviously the former, will pawn it kao kao And are you now going to call me a fanboy again? READ my posts properly and carefully, neither did i make such BLATANT conclusions which you like to do, and neither did i mention "this is better than that" thingy. QUOTE anyway this thread suppose give a member a bigger view of camera and photography, therefore I am listing all the option he/she possibly take in the future. I don't know what is your problem with my post and whatsoever. Oh great, bigger view of camera and photography? Yout style of posting doesn't show that at all, you quote one source and conclude that "Nikon is better than Canon in Photography" <------- Does this look like "Bigger view" to you. It's SHALLOW for your information.but if you find a problem in my post please not to make mess in the thread itself. You're the FIRST person i've seen here, in fact the last 2 recommendations thread, who POSTS in such a way. You have many flaws in your posts here and there, you're making baseless conclusions all the way, and yes this is NOT the way things go around here. And yes, i'm not going to discuss this further and i hope this will be the last of your STYLE of postings |
Dec 16 2010, 11:24 AM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
This is a recommendation thread lol. Not a brand war thread. We do not need another thread to brand war. There's plenty already.
Just recommend what you think is accurate, but do not make blatant conclusions. Just ignore what he post or just correct his facts without the need to make such a mess. Let the discussion continue, shall we? |
Dec 16 2010, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 16 2010, 11:24 AM) This is a recommendation thread lol. Not a brand war thread. We do not need another thread to brand war. There's plenty already. I was just correcting the way he's posting, the stuff he's spewing around, the things he's misleading others. And no, there's wasn't any Brand war at all. It's just me correcting him Just recommend what you think is accurate, but do not make blatant conclusions. Just ignore what he post or just correct his facts without the need to make such a mess. Let the discussion continue, shall we? And yes, discussions should continue. Nikon vs Canon will always continue, that's why most of us here would recommend them a few models in mind and ask them to test it out in the shops. At the end of the day, most likely it's what feels/works best for them , is what they're going to bring home.Hence, the recommendations on what's good and whatnot Anyway, not going to pursue this anymore, and sorry for making it look like a mess |
Dec 16 2010, 01:01 PM
2 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
D90 or 60D????
Dec 16 2010, 01:03 PM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
Dec 16 2010, 05:24 PM
2,402 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
hi fellow sifus,
i'm shopping around for a compact P&S digital camera for my gf... budget is less than RM1k and main criteria is that it's super compact and easy to carry around. currently i've narrowed down to two: panasonic lumix dmc-fp3 sony cybershot dsc-t99 any users of these two models? which one would u recommend? or do u guys hv other recommendations? much appreciated |
Dec 16 2010, 10:40 PM
71 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Seremban |
can i know what is the standard price for nikon D90 right now? because tomorrow i want to survey at ipoh
Dec 16 2010, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(zero12 @ Dec 16 2010, 10:40 PM) can i know what is the standard price for nikon D90 right now? because tomorrow i want to survey at ipoh As far as I know, it's around RM2.4k for body only and around RM3.4k for body+18-105 kit lens I was quoting prices around KL iinm, so it might differ in Ipoh. This post has been edited by -kytz-: Dec 17 2010, 01:23 AM |
Dec 17 2010, 02:42 AM
1,333 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: secret |
Hi All, I'm trying to venture into photography using DSLR and I'm looking at the following options.
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Budget: Max RM3.3-3.4k? (max for me is nikon D90) Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Anything as of now, no specific ones. Any specific models in mind? : D90 or D5000 Any specific features u want? : no specific ones Looking at the specs, both D90 and D5000 look similar. D5000 is more beginner friendly and D90 is more forward looking (i.e. can offer more controls when I get used to it etc?). I have hold both of my friends' D90 and D5000, I find the weight okay for D90 and D5000 is probably just a bit too small but unnoticable for me. I really dont know which to pick and if there are any differences that I should know but I dont yet. So should I spend more on D90 or buy D5000+lens/extra battery etc? Is the picture quality the same (if used by the same person)? Additional info: I have been playing with my P&S camera for 2 years which has manual controls on iso, aperture and shutter. So I'm a little exposed to what are these about. Thanks guys! |
Dec 17 2010, 04:24 AM
1,883 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(hikari @ Dec 17 2010, 02:42 AM) Hi All, I'm trying to venture into photography using DSLR and I'm looking at the following options. im not sure wether i got this fact right onot, but a fren of mine (who lives next door to me Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Budget: Max RM3.3-3.4k? (max for me is nikon D90) Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Anything as of now, no specific ones. Any specific models in mind? : D90 or D5000 Any specific features u want? : no specific ones Looking at the specs, both D90 and D5000 look similar. D5000 is more beginner friendly and D90 is more forward looking (i.e. can offer more controls when I get used to it etc?). I have hold both of my friends' D90 and D5000, I find the weight okay for D90 and D5000 is probably just a bit too small but unnoticable for me. I really dont know which to pick and if there are any differences that I should know but I dont yet. So should I spend more on D90 or buy D5000+lens/extra battery etc? Is the picture quality the same (if used by the same person)? Additional info: I have been playing with my P&S camera for 2 years which has manual controls on iso, aperture and shutter. So I'm a little exposed to what are these about. Thanks guys! p/s- if i said anything wrong about these 2 cameras, pls do correct me. the fact is i only read about these stuffs. i dont own any This post has been edited by Tony Stark: Dec 17 2010, 04:30 AM |
Dec 17 2010, 01:01 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Dec 17 2010, 04:24 AM) im not sure wether i got this fact right onot, but a fren of mine (who lives next door to me it won't make it any easier though. the live view auto focus is very slow and not that accurate. in the end you might have to resort to manual focus.p/s- if i said anything wrong about these 2 cameras, pls do correct me. the fact is i only read about these stuffs. i dont own any |
Dec 17 2010, 01:34 PM
1,180 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: *awaiting GPS accuracy* |
QUOTE(hikari @ Dec 17 2010, 02:42 AM) Hi All, I'm trying to venture into photography using DSLR and I'm looking at the following options. One of the difference is that the D5000 does not have a built in AF motor within the body but D90 has it. So, some cheaper primes like 50mm f/1.8D if used with D5000 you won't be able to use Autofocus thus manually focusing it, so you need to get a more expensive 50mm (which usually costs 2x more) like a 50mm G lens which has a built in AF motor within the lens itself to have autofocus in D5000.Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Budget: Max RM3.3-3.4k? (max for me is nikon D90) Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Anything as of now, no specific ones. Any specific models in mind? : D90 or D5000 Any specific features u want? : no specific ones Looking at the specs, both D90 and D5000 look similar. D5000 is more beginner friendly and D90 is more forward looking (i.e. can offer more controls when I get used to it etc?). I have hold both of my friends' D90 and D5000, I find the weight okay for D90 and D5000 is probably just a bit too small but unnoticable for me. I really dont know which to pick and if there are any differences that I should know but I dont yet. So should I spend more on D90 or buy D5000+lens/extra battery etc? Is the picture quality the same (if used by the same person)? Additional info: I have been playing with my P&S camera for 2 years which has manual controls on iso, aperture and shutter. So I'm a little exposed to what are these about. Thanks guys! It again, boils down to how you plan to upgrade your glasses in the future. If you don't mind spending more for G-type lenses and then later on upgrade to a more high end body, there's no harm doing it, because it is still compatible with higher end bodies, anyway. This post has been edited by geekster129: Dec 17 2010, 02:52 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
5 queries
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:23 PM |