14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

chiahau
post Dec 5 2010, 12:08 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(sha10 @ Dec 4 2010, 07:54 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM3500 include kit lens
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography: Landscape,portrait and travel
Any specific models in mind? : 550D and 60D
60D would be better than 550D.

The screen that can rotate and move is the main plus point for me, at least.
chiahau
post Dec 5 2010, 08:24 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(doctorpopcorn @ Dec 5 2010, 07:16 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Prosumer
Budget : RM2500
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Sony NEX 3
Any specific features u want? : user friendly for noob user, 720p video
Why not take A55 with kit? It has better ability, and its worth your money.
chiahau
post Dec 6 2010, 09:18 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(merv87 @ Dec 6 2010, 09:05 AM)

I am a beginner in photography. Handled a few point and shoot camera and dslr before but all belongs to friends. I am planning to get a dslr to kickstart my hobby in photography. Hence, would appreciate it if you could recommend me a good dslr for a beginner like me.

Budget : RM2500 - RM3000 include kitlens
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait, event i.e. wedding dinner, decoration  i.e. xmas, landscape and building.
Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 550D, Canon 1000D, Nikon D3100 or Nikon D90
Any specific features u want? : Please recommend

In addition, I would like to get a flashgun and a telephoto lense as well. Kindly recommend. Thanks
With 3k, I doubt you can get everything LOL~

A flashgun cost bout 1k+, decent quality one like 580ExII or sb900. Unless you intend 2 get Nissin, which is cheaper, there is still no way to squeeze everything into your budget.

Try Sony A33/A55 twin kit. It comes with kit n telephoto lens around around 2.5k for A33, 2.7k for A55. 500 bucks is decent enough to get a flash from sony, though not the top end one.

It took bout 5k+ from me last time go get everything for my photography hobby. Therefore, limited budget can get you limited things only. Save up more to get better things later.
chiahau
post Dec 6 2010, 10:42 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(merv87 @ Dec 6 2010, 09:47 AM)
Thanks. But I still prefer either a nikon or canon coz i m not a fan of sony  smile.gif  Haha.. m a little bit choosy. The flashgun n telephoto lense can come later, for now a dslr will do. appreciate if you could let me have some advice.
Well, if you insist so, 60D would be better but its outta your budget.
550D is around your budget though.

If you don't mind me saying, a dslr is a tool 4 the photographer 2 use. Choose the one you think you will like.
But I believe that Sony is better 4 your budget range.
laugh.gif laugh.gif
chiahau
post Dec 6 2010, 11:09 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nerdie @ Dec 6 2010, 10:59 AM)
Type of camera : DSLR camera
Budget  : RM2500 include kitlens
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Macro
<Any specific models in mind? : 1000D, D3100, D3000,A390
Any specific features u want? : Low light shooting

Newbie here..thx 4 ur help..

A33 with twin kit or A55 with kit lens.
Those are slightly better than the alternatives.
chiahau
post Dec 6 2010, 12:12 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(merv87 @ Dec 6 2010, 11:55 AM)
Thanks. A friend of mine suggested Sony A580. Any advice?
Same with A55. Same specs, only it use optical viewfinder instead of the newer EVF used in A55.

Both perform rather decently for their price, but A55 kinda tempts me more because of the specs sheet.

Used both A580 n A55 b4. Like both of em pretty fairly.

A55 has GPS also btw.
chiahau
post Dec 6 2010, 12:28 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nerdie @ Dec 6 2010, 12:24 PM)
i thnk of getting d3100/a33..
can u list pro & con of both??
thx 4 ur help&time.. smile.gif
D3100 no AF motor. Means auto-focus relies on lens alone. Lens with AF built-in is not cheap lol.
Its decent, but not worth the $$ for me. If nikon, I'm recommending D90 and above only cause they have built in AF-motor.

A33 has AF motor + image stabilization inside body.

Hard to say which is good and which is bad. But for me, I rather go A33 than D3100.
chiahau
post Dec 6 2010, 01:58 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nerdie @ Dec 6 2010, 12:51 PM)
reason i wan 2 buy d3100 for the guide mode as i'm still a newbie..
if i go for a33..should i buy d telephoto lens?seldom take landscape pic..
Lol~
You wont need it de la bro.
Trust me. 1 month, and you will be thankful you got a slightly more advance camera compared to D3100.
Telephoto?
A33 with kit is around 2.5k.
I reco you take kit and find the suitable lens for you before spending more.

QUOTE(zeusag @ Dec 6 2010, 12:52 PM)
Kinda. Saw 1000D in Mines, about RM1699. Is it the market price now?
BTW, comparing Nikon D60 and Canon 1000D, which would be more compatible?
Thankx.
I think can get lower around 100 more, if i recalled correctly.
chiahau
post Dec 6 2010, 03:13 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(merv87 @ Dec 6 2010, 03:07 PM)
Any guide for the price of a Sony a55 with standard kitlens?
Around 2.3k I got last time.
chiahau
post Dec 7 2010, 12:08 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nerdie @ Dec 6 2010, 06:25 PM)
is electronic viewfinder in a33 any good??
do u noe the best price for d3100 n a33 with kitlens?
Decent enough for the 1st generation DSLT lol.
D3100?
Around 2k

QUOTE(arul94 @ Dec 6 2010, 08:09 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: 2000++
Your Location: Currently in Selangor . Going to langkawi , is it much more cheaper there ?
Preferable brand : Nikon / Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Various
Any specific models in mind? :  Now in mind either D90 or Canon 550 D
Any specific features u want? : 1080 HD video recorder , Nice picture quality , Less noise etc.

Thanks man , hope u guys could help smile.gif
2000+ can get D90 meh?
If you can, spend more and get 60D.
Unless you prefer Sony, A55 or A580 can give your 550D or D90 a great run.

QUOTE(tmtmnut @ Dec 6 2010, 11:18 PM)
beginner here,not sure which dslr to choose..
i dont really need the video function and i dun think i will use it,so which brand and modal should i choose?
Type of camera : DSLR camera
Budget  : RM 2000-3000
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon or sony
Type of photography u want to do : not sure.. sry,i'm a noob
Any specific models in mind? : -
Any specific features u want? :-
A580 from Sony. Decent all rounder than can pawn some of the more expensive camera in its range.
chiahau
post Dec 7 2010, 09:48 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tmtmnut @ Dec 7 2010, 08:19 AM)
@chiahau

thx for ur reply,may i know wht is the pros and cons for the a580 compare to the other modal like (D3100,550D)?

does a580 beat all >Canon EOS 500D,550D,Nikon D3100,Nikon D5000,Sony A33,A55?

p.s : i dont need the video function. Thx (:
A580 can match up 2 all the model stated.
But loses out to A55's video la.

QUOTE(dakulala @ Dec 7 2010, 08:27 AM)
check this site... http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare_post.asp
so the a55 n a33 is not in ur list already. this 2 SLT model are more to video.

IMHO, a580! cheapest among dslr at  their level.compare site
Not reli. Go to the alpha thread and see some shots posted by sifu albnok using A55 lol.. Though it is paired with Zeiss laugh.gif
chiahau
post Dec 7 2010, 11:59 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 7 2010, 11:29 AM)
If it's between Canon EOS 550D, Nikon D90 and Sony a580, which 1 would you guys recommend.
Someone told me to get EOS 550D with 18-200mm EFS lens.
My budget would be max at 4k
A580 with kit lens, and F58am flash.
It will cost below 4k and you will get an awesome flash.

QUOTE(dakulala @ Dec 7 2010, 11:42 AM)
due to <3 minolta lens, i'll go for sony..hihihi...

but then, got some problem when seeking for 3rd party item especially flash..
its hard to play strobe...huhuhu...
any suggestion for cheap2 strobe setup? hehehee
Sony's flash is already cheaper compared to others lol >">
chiahau
post Dec 8 2010, 12:31 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tmtmnut @ Dec 7 2010, 11:44 PM)
Thx for ur reply...ok,so i think i will go for a580..so do i need to know anything b4 buying the camera? like check anything? incase i got scam?? and wht does the shop usually give when sell the dslr?example: beg?,memory card? etc

Wht memory card does a dslr need i rmb there is smtg like class 10 or smtg?
wht lens do i need? is 18-55m ok? (i'm a beginner)

And i saw this post from The sony alpha lowyat forum
does this price usualy come wif memory card or beg ? or it just the camera body+ the lens that all?
Erm, i got mine with kit 2.55k

The rest, i already get myself so hard to say.

But I reco you drop all those bags and mem card and get em yourself for a cheaper price.

I got a cheap SanDisk 8gb class 4 and a memory stick lol. They cost around 100+ both combined.

For bag, I got myself a Crumpler 7MDH lol. With industry disgrace as strap.

LOL.

Creative Damansara offers 2.6k stg for kit, Studio Zaloon, 2.7k kit with everything.. Try your luck at lowyat plaza also. I saw many people selling DSLR now.
chiahau
post Dec 8 2010, 09:52 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(thn @ Dec 8 2010, 09:33 AM)
Hey , understand from some photographic maniac that the Pentax camera is a better and cheaper camera than Nikon , Canon or Sony . Furthermore , it has better print quality . Any comments.
As I always has stated, each brands has their pros n cons. Therefore, if you like pentax, then go get it.
Its the skills of the photographers that determimes the quality of the pic, nothing more.
Camera are just tools 4 you to use lol.
chiahau
post Dec 8 2010, 10:56 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tmtmnut @ Dec 8 2010, 10:45 AM)
dslr with kit mean ? does it mean dslr camera + 18-55m lens?
so does that mean the market price is around 2.6 k for camera+lens?
err,y do u need 2 memory card? u swap it when it is out of space?? or the camera can put 2 memory card?
which memory card is cheaper(memory stick or SD)?,if both have the same performance and space?
class 4 SD card is enuf for dslr?

lastly,i would like to know y did u recommend me a580 and not other modal(example:550d,d3100)? is it because is out of my budget or is it because is not as good as a580? (i would like to know because my bro ask me,and i cant answer it)
Yeap with 18-55.
I use 2 memory card so I can swap em anything I need just in case lol. Sony has 2 card slots, 1 for SD, another for Memory Stick.
Market price around 2.7k++ lol.
Memory card is cheaper compared to memory stick. And memory card class 4 is ok for me already. Try class 6 if you need it lol.

D3100 confirm loses out to A580 in terms of specs and feature
D3100 is already without AF motor in body, which annoys me. Lens that have built in stabalisation ish expensive when compared with normal lens.

A550 is an older version of A580 lol. Why get a lesser version?

550D from Canon? I think just because it has 18 mpx, it attracts many newbies due to the megapixel thingy.
chiahau
post Dec 8 2010, 11:45 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tmtmnut @ Dec 8 2010, 11:31 AM)
so does that mean class 4 is a minimum requirement for a580? and wht the max? do i need class 10? cause i dun wan to spend on smtg that does't need to.
And wht brand of SD memory card brand i need to avoid buying or is there any brand of sd card u wan to recommend or all of them r the same as long they r in same class?

thx for ur reply (:
I did not say that. I said I'm satisfied about the speed that a class 4 can provide for me. If you got the budget, then might as well get a original Sony memory stick lol. There is nothing wrong bout buying high speed cards, just kinda wasting if you do not use em much lol.

I got transcend, kingston and sandisk. All of em are 8gb class 4 and all work perfectly without any trace of problem so far lol.
chiahau
post Dec 8 2010, 06:29 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tmtmnut @ Dec 8 2010, 04:56 PM)
err wht the difference of original sony memory stick and other brand?
when do i need to use the high speed cards? for wht mode?
may i know y will be lonely if other play canon or nikon And i play Sony?
doesn't all dslr kaki will be in same group?

p.s: i'm a beginner..dunno alot things
You will need high speed card when you are bursting shots. If not, the camera will slow down as the writing speed to the card is slower. Normal 3 fps burst will certainly not cause this. What i meant was continuous burst.

You wont be lonely, trust me. My pals all Nikon and Canon user. SO?
chiahau
post Dec 8 2010, 09:22 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tmtmnut @ Dec 8 2010, 08:40 PM)
@chiahau

is this the a580 u refering to ? http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores...552921666266164
This is the A580 I'm referring too lol.

chiahau
post Dec 9 2010, 08:38 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Dec 9 2010, 02:21 AM)
Budget : RM2000
Type of photography u want to do : anything as long nice!
Any specific models in mind? : D3100
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Why not look into A33 by Sony? It performs better than D3100 anyways lol.
chiahau
post Dec 11 2010, 12:49 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(amiezam @ Dec 10 2010, 11:39 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  canon dslr 60d
Budget: ask price
Your Location:   kl
Type of photography u want to do :  potrait panorama landscape
Any specific features u want? : kits lens 135mm
60D around 3k++ like that for kit, i think. Try asking skydrake at garage sales. I remember his price was quite nice.

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Dec 10 2010, 01:05 PM)
nikon d90 or canon 60d?
i need advice...thanks
D7000 if you can push your budget, if not 60D would do fine.

QUOTE(VeRn3 @ Dec 11 2010, 02:21 AM)
Type of camera : DSLR
[B]Budget: around RM2000
[B]Your Location: KL
[B]Preferable brand : Nikon or Canon or Sony
[B]Type of photography u want to do : Snap buildings and normal landscape photography
[B]Any specific models in mind? : D3100 or SLT A33
[B]Any specific features u want? : I need some opinions on which to choose for the choices above. Anyone can give me suggestions? Thanks
Try go PC Expo and try. A33 would be a much better choice in my opinion. Used D3100 b4, dont like it too much lol.
But both are decent camera.

QUOTE(azrull nazreen @ Dec 11 2010, 10:26 AM)
need opinion for a55 and canon 60d?
which one produce better image?
anD is it true a55 ave ghosting image..?
60D is a class higher than A55. But it cost 1k+ more than A55 too. In terms of pricing, A55 is nicer. In terms of picture, A55 can compare with 60D at its best. Furthermore, A55 has 10 fps burst. Lol.

60D and A55 have the swivel LCD, which I love ALOT XD
If you want to try Sony, A55 is quite decent. other than the EVF, there is nothing much different about it. Oh did i mentioned AF during video? biggrin.gif

60D has a great body instead. Like the semi solid kinda feeling lol.

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:51 PM