9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

aldosoesilo
post Dec 2 2010, 09:29 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(faizfatin @ Dec 2 2010, 07:55 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM2000 include kitlens
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography: Landscape or Portrait(both)
Any specific models in mind? : 400D,D80
I would say nikon D3100 tongue.gif
aldosoesilo
post Dec 9 2010, 10:46 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 9 2010, 08:38 AM)
Why not look into A33 by Sony? It performs better than D3100 anyways lol.
I don't think he mention Sony as his preferable brand. so Please stop with your sony-ian thingy.
I doesn't help him at all..
don't you know people might have difference preference? doh.gif
aldosoesilo
post Dec 15 2010, 11:36 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Dec 14 2010, 10:42 PM)
oh sorry guys i got one more request, can list me the best model for brands like panasonic, canon, nikon, olympus etc in beginner dslr category?
I am not sure about sony.
but for canon and nikon I do understand.
go for 1000D if you do mind spending your patty on entry level dslr. I will say it's a value buy for entry. since all you need is to learn the usage of DSLR.

if you are nikon go for D3000.
it is cheap, it is nice, but as cited Nikon entry level Dslr doesn't have AF-S therefore you need to go for AF-S lens. In addition this body doesn't give you movie recording feature as well.

One step ahead. you will have
D3100/D5000 and 500D/550D

It's quite comparable. even I am nikonian I will say in this model canon give more agronomic body (it's all depends on the person).
however D3100 give you more logical button positioning.

In term of feature, they are not so difference, however d3100 doesn't have build in body AF-S again! Damn for GOD sake it is Entry level DSLR doh.gif
The other, I will say overall good thing come out from d3100. Not to mention it's body is very very very small 'd3000 alike'

One more thing D3100 is the only and the first Nikon DSLR which support real HD movie recording (but no microphone plug though doh.gif )

I will say d3100 is better than d5000 in term of feature, therefore try not to go to d5000 unlike you really2 like that filppy2 LCD.
(I will give you an impression that you aren't pro brows.gif )

If you are pro to canon go for 500D instead of 550D. I usually recommend my friend to go for 500D over 550D.
Since what I see in the feature the only massive difference is its 'MEGA pixels' well I will say in DSLR photography you wouldn't really need MPx as long as it is more than 10- is enough because you wouldn't stretch the picture taken. Unless you have a studio. and yeahhh studio doesn't use entry level DSLR. cool2.gif

They use 1D Mark III/IV or D3S/D3X notworthy.gif
However that MEGA thingy will always workout to catch up newbie attention. cool2.gif

Canon is always better than Nikon in movie recording.
But Nikon is better than cannon is photography. Don't believe in me?
Go for youtube and querry:
digitalrev tv D3s vs 1d mark IV
You will find the proof. Sorry I can't post the vid because my office block youtube rclxub.gif

well if you doesn't have tight budgeting go for
D7000 for nikon - else you can still get d90 (Prosummer body which still working fine) Yeahh.. this one is prosummer body therefore you can use any type of lens even without 'AF-S' unlike that entry level bodies which I mention before (D3000, D3100, D5000)
else
60D for canon - This model is a flippy LCD model for canon. I will say don't go for this one since it is prosummer body yet give that flippy LCD thingy.
I will only make you not to look professional.

lastly go for 7D if you are damn rich to spend that much money for your 1st DSLR camera and you want to spend years with your body. I see quite a good review of it.

However for beginner remember one thing.

Cheapo body + Pro lens will always works better than

Pro body + Cheapo lens.

Therefore my suggestion is go for normal body which you can afford. Not too bad yet giving you feature to learn. like D3100/D3000 or 1000D/500D
Do not try to force your money on body. instead on lens.

Don't believe in me again?
Go to youtube query:
Cheapo body + pro lens vs pro body + cheapo lens
Again sorry. my youtube is blocked by the company. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Dec 15 2010, 01:16 PM
aldosoesilo
post Dec 15 2010, 04:18 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Dec 15 2010, 03:52 PM)
thanks aldosoesilo and chiahau. i`m gonna start hunting d^^
you are welcome.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 15 2010, 04:01 PM)
How does a DSLR having a filp LCD screen, make one look "less professional"? And what's with the word professional here? People are asking recommendations on what to buy/what's good and NOT what looks pro or not pro doh.gif
Well I just giving him a clue there. it's all come back to him whether he want to buy that or no.

What a very shallow thought. I bet you never used a 18mp camera before? smile.gif Either that or you're seriously lacking the knowledge of such products rolleyes.gif

Dismissing the advantage of megapixels just like that, is such a sweeping generalization doh.gif

I'm using my 550D which offers 18mp, and i CROP a lot. Even after cropping, i still get so much details due to the 18mp that i can enjoy smile.gif And still the 18mp is one of the BIGGEST things, i've enjoyed since buying it.

Let us see what has 550D has install over it's predecessor shall we?

-18mp
-more superior iFCL metering system
- ISO6400 not in expanded mode anymore
-Bigger buttons, easier to press and a dedicated live view button
-FULL HD video with variable framerates like 24p,25p and 30p
-Faster burst rate of 3.7fps
-Able to use the latest SDXC memory cards up to 64GB iinm
-3:2 LCD screen with 1040 dots

Well. I am not sure about that.
However I am pretty sure it is a waste for entry.

Oh pleaseeeeeee fanboyism again!

Rules of this forum-------> 1) "Fanboyism" is prohibited. No brand wars here.

Quoting one video from youtube, and then concluding that Nikon is better than Canon, is just no different than me saying that "my phone has the copy and paste function which the iphone doesn't have, therefore my phone is better " doh.gif .

Also, don't you know that  D3s has only 12mp while the 1D4 has 16? And also D3s is a FF while the 1D4 is only APS-H(1.3x crop factor). This is already an unfair advantage towards the Nikon,such comparison should never even take place in the first place.

Comparing FF with APS-H? Meh sweat.gif

That's the best cameras they have out there, what to say whistling.gif
Moreover, I am just telling in natural perspective. not trying to be fanboy. but I am pretty sure of that. you can see the proof yourself.
canon has less noise control over nikon.
depends on the model though.

D7000 with the 18-105 is totally out of his budget. Why even mention it?

I am giving him the whole idea about entry up to prosummer camera. and I think that is the purpose of this thread.

Only applies to NEW cheapo bodies vs NEW pro bodies
Not really. even the body or the lens is not new it is still applicable. icon_rolleyes.gif
Can't afford the 1st hand lens. why don't go for second hand? whistling.gif
aldosoesilo
post Dec 15 2010, 04:56 PM

1,457 posts

What looks good for him might not be for others. A 60D with flippy LCD screen looks "pro" to me, so you're trying to convince me otherwise? for example.  smile.gif

ahaiii..

Waste to you might be gold to others. I and tons of other Canon 550D owners just love this camera a lot, for the amazing things it can offer. And now you're calling it a waste?

Just because you own it whistling.gif

Again said, there's an UNFAIR ADVANTAGE when one FF model is competing with another non FF model in terms of ISO performance. No fight really
Personally i won't even mention that, just for the sake of directly answering his question. And if he wants to know more, then probably yes smile.gif

Well you are such a douche . I said that Canon is better in video recording on the other hand Nikon in photography. as the proof I mention the best out of the best camera out there for each brand.
well he will eventually decide himself.
anyway I am really sorry if you are offended. icon_rolleyes.gif
I dunno of you are that fanboy. good for you thumbup.gif

I was talking about the BODY not the lens smile.gif
Of course, 2nd hand lenses are still so favourable these days, because the new ones are pretty expensive. Not so much the same for the bodies though, because they tend to depreciate in price much faster

at last you agree with this one my friend icon_idea.gif
aldosoesilo
post Dec 16 2010, 09:15 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 15 2010, 05:04 PM)
Personally, i'm not offended at all bro. It's just that i don't like people saying such blatant sweeping generalization like that.

I could always say Nvidia beats ATI *quotes a video from youtube between GTX460 vs HD4670* Apple is better than HTC *quotes a video showing touch screen responsiveness betweent the two models *<----For example's sake

And no, i ain't a fanboy of any brand whatsoever, i know both Nikon and Canon are 2 very good brands and so are others. Each has their OWN advantages and disadvantages, so it's not very WISE to make such sweeping statements right? smile.gif

I don't say things like that and neither do other forumers here. Just to make what i feel clear ? smile.gif
All due respect. brp I didn't say Nvidia is better than ATI or whatever things similar to that.
This is the thing that I said.
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Dec 15 2010, 11:36 AM)
Canon is always better than Nikon in movie recording.
But Nikon is better than cannon is photography.
Don't believe in me?
Go for youtube and querry:
digitalrev tv D3s vs 1d mark IV
You will find the proof. Sorry I can't post the vid because my office block youtube  rclxub.gif
It's not like Iphone is better than HTC or Mercides is better than BMW.

It's like bowl is better to when you use it to eat soup and plate on the other hand for dry food.
Walaweee....
it's like if you want to go for speed choose ferari over BMW, else if you want confort go for BMW.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
anyway this thread suppose give a member a bigger view of camera and photography, therefore I am listing all the option he/she possibly take in the future. I don't know what is your problem with my post and whatsoever.
but if you find a problem in my post please not to make mess in the thread itself. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Dec 16 2010, 09:52 AM
aldosoesilo
post Dec 21 2010, 09:10 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(kinomoto91 @ Dec 21 2010, 12:22 AM)
is it ok??
others than dat??
my fren suggest me 2 bu 1000d.
is it xpnsive??
1000d is a good value of money if I would say. In my personal opinion though

QUOTE(nwwy @ Dec 21 2010, 12:36 AM)
60D,7D,D7000...
any suggestion guys ?
If I were you I will go fod d7000 as it is new technology. but I heard from my friend 7D is very good as well.

QUOTE(noway1166 @ Dec 21 2010, 03:20 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: Below 2.5k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Canon / Nikon
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon 550 Nikon 3100

Not familiar with the difference with it. This is my friend ask for and i helped to research for it.

Any comment will be appreciate smile.gif
take a look at these link. hopefully it is useful.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGZwk9YgeKg

http://digitalcamsreviews.com/2010/08/19/n...550d-rebel-ti2/

http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/35054/niko...0-vs-canon-550d

I think they did quite a fair review.
I used my friend 550d. and I have mine d3100

I quote this from the 2nd link I gave it to you.

to be fair. I will say d3100 LCD resolution is far than better compared to 550d.

lastly they both good value of money. depends when you want to focus of investing your money.

Added on December 21, 2010, 9:12 pmanyway consider this as well.

Added on December 21, 2010, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(bananalow @ Dec 19 2010, 10:05 AM)
My friend is a blogger and he is not satisfy with the normal camera , he would like to buy a new DSLR , among D3000, D3100 and D5000 , which suit him most?
I will say d3100 own a best technology out of those 3.

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Dec 19 2010, 05:12 PM)
i want to ask about the zoom. usually the normal kit how long can it go for the zoom?

btw, i would like to find any brand.. budget 1.5k-2.5k.

love to take any picture that I want. so it must perfect for anything. wink.gif

how about nikon d5000 and canon eos 500d? which is better?

why less people use sony dslr? not good?
sony? no idea. but maybe it's because canon and Nikon is the pioneer? CMIIW

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Dec 21 2010, 09:15 PM
aldosoesilo
post Dec 23 2010, 01:42 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Dec 23 2010, 01:40 PM)
Dual lens kit means two lens?
means you will get two lenses in one package.
aldosoesilo
post Dec 24 2010, 02:40 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing24 @ Dec 24 2010, 01:26 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: <RM5k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : Canon / Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Wildlife and Landscape 
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon EOS 60D
Any specific features u want? :  User friendly

p/s : I am a beginner and have no basic skills whatsoever. Finding for a decent DSLR so that I can learn with. Rather buy a good one than learning with a cheap one and having to switch later on.
if that is your consideration why don't you go for entry level dslr rather than buy prosummer level?
consider 550D, 500D, d3100 as well. good for learn.
aldosoesilo
post Dec 25 2010, 04:02 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(hunter4774 @ Dec 24 2010, 10:44 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM4000 include kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : D90
Any specific features u want? : wondering for 17-50 tamron f2.8
consider about 60d it has a better feature IMO, unless you go for d7000
aldosoesilo
post Dec 27 2010, 03:22 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(syncomp @ Dec 25 2010, 02:25 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR / compact
Budget : RM 2000 and below
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography: Portrait and (landscape if possible)
Any specific models in mind? S95, G12, G11

I am asking for opinions from the pros here in lowyat. I want to create a blog about any restaurant that I've visit (I like to try new food and I guess that's my hobby, wondering around Malaysia and searching for any restaurant and hunting for mouth joyful) The problems is I dont know what type of camera that suitable for my needs. I mean, to capture the picture of food, the environment of the restaurant its require a good camera to capture a good picture to enlighten the ppl read abt my review for the restaurant. I only know the basic thing about camera which tekan butang and u got the picture, I dont even know what the ISO things mean.

I have several camera in my mind but dunno they are good enough. I hope all of the forumers can help me because I'm very200x noob in camera thingy THANKS!! smile.gif
consider 1000D,450D and D3000
aldosoesilo
post Dec 28 2010, 01:14 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 28 2010, 12:35 AM)
Bro, top up abit to RM3K to get the 550D instead of the 500D. It's a damn good camera.
The diff between these 2 cams are worthwhile.
Or u might get the Nikon D3100, it's oso around RM2,400.
revision D3100 is Rm 1950-2100 <= pretty tempting price tag isn't it? hahahaha

QUOTE(syncomp @ Dec 28 2010, 12:36 AM)
in the end i bought a nex-3 camera... the reason why i dont prefer DSLR is bcoz of the bulky in size. I dont want to look like a tourist moving around here & there.  laugh.gif
I believe nex series got the both of the DSLR and compact advantages.
Thanks for all the suggestion by all of the members.  rclxms.gif
I really appreciate all of your opinion but in the end I have to choose one..  thumbup.gif
Broo.. good luck on your photography journey. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
aldosoesilo
post Dec 28 2010, 01:41 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Dec 28 2010, 01:35 PM)
Type of camera: Any!
Budget: RM1.5k
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand: Any!
Criteria: convenient, mostly used for travelling pics.
thx!
you might want to consider d3000, 450d, 1000d.
they all good for travelling. light and small
aldosoesilo
post Dec 28 2010, 02:22 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Dec 28 2010, 02:00 PM)
those cameras need bags right? any compact ones? and i believe DSLRs are quite heavy..  hmm.gif
check on d3000, I don't think you will say that heavy, unless you are using BAZOKA lens.
aldosoesilo
post Dec 28 2010, 04:35 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 28 2010, 04:08 PM)
Want to buy external flash for my Canon DSLR

Type of flash: External Flash
Budget: RM800
Your Location: KL (does this matter BTW?)
Preferable brand: Any
Criteria: Versatile, able to take good flash photos which eliminates shadows smile.gif
how about nissin di622 or di866? it's working pretty fine w/ mine.
aldosoesilo
post Dec 28 2010, 06:16 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(darkevilzzz @ Dec 28 2010, 06:07 PM)
oic.....but the quality of the d3100 almost same as 500d..even cha a bit rite???
thx
http://www.camera-catalog.com/compares/pop..._canon_eos_500d
it might give you better idea.
aldosoesilo
post Dec 29 2010, 03:31 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing24 @ Dec 29 2010, 10:41 AM)

I'm a noob in photography and want 2 buy a DSLR(have posted earlier) I am thinking between the Nikon D7000 and the Canon 60D.
So can anyone like recommend me which is the better one in terms of functions and user friendly as I will use it to learn the basics and all.
My interest is to photograph wildlife and landscapes.

Thanks... biggrin.gif
I would say d7000 is better than 60d. IMO.
I don't want to sult the brand fight *again* blush.gif blush.gif

Added on December 29, 2010, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Dec 29 2010, 03:31 PM)
I would say d7000 is better than 60d. IMO.
I don't want to sult the brand fight *again*  blush.gif  blush.gif
or you cna go for 7D it is good.
yeahh comparable to d7000

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Dec 29 2010, 03:34 PM
aldosoesilo
post Dec 29 2010, 04:42 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 29 2010, 04:06 PM)
For the price of D7000, Rm 4.5k, why not top up and get a FF instead  laugh.gif

If not, 60D has stronger video functions compared to D7000. Otherwise no issues.

On a sidenote - A few D7000 recently is defective due to unknown reasons. Might as well TEST KAW KAW b3fore purchase.
which FF you are talking about?? model?

QUOTE(sharksuke @ Dec 29 2010, 04:30 PM)
my budget limited only for this dlsr.
RM1500-RM1800
Canon 1000D...Sony a290..
Which both are the best?
go for canon 450D or nikon d3000
the price will be around your budget
aldosoesilo
post Dec 29 2010, 04:46 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 29 2010, 04:43 PM)
A850 lol. Was merely jesting la >">

He wants either 60D or D7000 wad.  smile.gif
hahaha
because I am curious which FF model you can get with 4.5 including kit lens of course since he is new.
aldosoesilo
post Dec 29 2010, 05:47 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(ChickenWing24 @ Dec 29 2010, 05:36 PM)
I don't think i want to get the 7d coz i'm still to this...
since 7d is oredi a pro camera, i don't think i can learn easily with it....
that's why i'm considering either 60D or D7000
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif if that so go for entry level camera.
550D is good, d5000 is good, d3100 is good. 500D is good as well.
even 1000D for learning purpose.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:41 PM