Working Life in Singapore V5

L7Awesome
post Dec 3 2010, 04:29 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Dec 3 2010, 03:45 PM)
Do i need to provide any documentation when going Sg? Just passport and IC enough?
You do not need your IC to go into SG. What you need is your passport and to fill in the Singapore Custom Whitecard.
seantang
post Dec 3 2010, 05:06 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 3 2010, 04:05 PM)
you are thinking too much and too high from the ground.
I might be. But it's usually great to rationalise until you run into someone who goes 100% by the book.

QUOTE(r1v3r)
Today is friday, have a nice weekend.
It is indeed. This weekend will be nice... shopping for a HDTV and a tablet. You have a good weekend too.

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 3 2010, 05:07 PM
wlcling
post Dec 3 2010, 06:07 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

hey peeps.. enjoy your weekends! biggrin.gif
Currylaksa
post Dec 3 2010, 06:24 PM

1,616 posts

If I were to move to SG to work as a programmer, what average monthly expense (including rent, transport) is needed to survive?

edit:
Found answer in previous thread liao, sorry for spam!

Around SGD1500 hmm also can survive meh hmm...

This post has been edited by Currylaksa: Dec 3 2010, 07:07 PM
TSwashabushi
post Dec 3 2010, 06:57 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Dec 3 2010, 03:25 PM)
Any suggestion on venue to have company D&D that able to cater for about 20 people? Spacious space to play games too.
mcdonald?

Added on December 3, 2010, 6:58 pm
QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Dec 3 2010, 06:24 PM)
If I were to move to SG to work as a programmer, what average monthly expense (including rent, transport) is needed to survive?
I tried surviving the whole month less then 200 dollar

the 1st time i come from malaysia i didnt bring enough money sweat.gif

by the way, my company hiring customer service exec...
salary should be around SGD2k
my boss ask me to look around for suitable candidates
requirements u may call me...coz i'm working same role...

This post has been edited by washabushi: Dec 3 2010, 07:01 PM
starriebaby88
post Dec 3 2010, 07:07 PM

45 posts

Any1 here looking for a roommate?

Btw which is the best transport to commute to n fro between Msia n Sg?
Pls specify the company n price. Thanks!
Aloong
post Dec 3 2010, 07:16 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Dec 2 2010, 08:56 PM)
Any sabahans here? i'm going back this weekend =)
I am, but not going bk there since age of 4.
TSwashabushi
post Dec 3 2010, 07:23 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Dec 3 2010, 10:55 AM)
Yup, now I working in serangoon north, stay at yew tee. Almost 1 hour for travelling to work vmad.gif  also. Already move in since March.
Aiyo, cannot ask u get cheaper samsung galaxy tab liao? tongue.gif
cannot la...
Korean company not good...pay not much work too much vmad.gif
Aloong
post Dec 3 2010, 07:34 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Dec 3 2010, 06:24 PM)

It will be the same amount of average monthly expenses to survive if u more to SG to work as a non-programmerr...hahaha gotcha..just kidding man...
Lester1987
post Dec 3 2010, 08:14 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 3 2010, 06:57 PM)
mcdonald?

Added on December 3, 2010, 6:58 pm

I tried surviving the whole month less then 200 dollar

the 1st time i come from malaysia i didnt bring enough money  sweat.gif

by the way, my company hiring customer service exec...
salary should be around SGD2k
my boss ask me to look around for suitable candidates
requirements u may call me...coz i'm working same role...

can let me know the requirement and also what product are you supporting? i got 2 friend looking for job in Singapore. got around 2-3 years exp in Customer service line.
tsm
post Dec 3 2010, 09:17 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Dec 2 2010, 10:21 PM)
Haha but my room is just normal room in a 2+1 hdb.
me too HDB 2+1. no cooking

Added on December 3, 2010, 9:24 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 2 2010, 10:23 PM)
$$$$$? How much tuna, biscuits, detergent powder do you eat?
every week, I eat 1 can of tuna (from malaysia), 3 eggs (bough in singapore), 3 cucumbers (in singapore), multigrain bread (singapore), zespri kiwi (singapore). Everymonth, 1.5kg of milk powder from malaysia. Every 2 months, Jocob biscuit from malaysia, uncle tobby cereal bar (singapore). tongue.gif

Actually, expenses in Singapore not really high except if you want to buy a house. personal expenses include rent about $1000 or less. Last time, when I stay in Australia, every month at least $1500+++ (if I cook most of my meals). additional, cannot bring things from malaysia to there.

This post has been edited by tsm: Dec 3 2010, 09:24 PM
r1v3r
post Dec 3 2010, 10:35 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 3 2010, 05:06 PM)
I might be. But it's usually great to rationalise until you run into someone who goes 100% by the book.

QUOTE(r1v3r)
Today is friday, have a nice weekend.
It is indeed. This weekend will be nice... shopping for a HDTV and a tablet. You have a good weekend too.
sweat.gif I have to work on friday night. Just finished and about to lock the place before going home.

Added on December 3, 2010, 10:49 pmanyone of you doing >12 hour shift work?
How do you recharge your "battery" other than drinking chicken escence?

I have OT on almost every Mon, Wed, Fri night + my full time day jobs for ~2 months. I am almost "flat" after friday night.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Dec 3 2010, 10:49 PM
Mackiddo
post Dec 3 2010, 11:01 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(starriebaby88 @ Dec 3 2010, 07:07 PM)
Btw which is the best transport to commute to n fro between Msia n Sg?
car of coz. train also ok

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 3 2010, 11:01 PM
rickysim84
post Dec 3 2010, 11:03 PM

1,106 posts

i am doing shift work in 3M. 2 days work and 2 days off, sometimes 3 days work and 3 days off. I seldom OT.
crapp0
post Dec 4 2010, 12:08 AM

4,414 posts

[quote=r1v3r,Dec 3 2010, 10:35 PM]

[/quote]

sweat.gif I have to work on friday night. Just finished and about to lock the place before going home.

Added on December 3, 2010, 10:49 pmanyone of you doing >12 hour shift work?
How do you recharge your "battery" other than drinking chicken escence?

I have OT on almost every Mon, Wed, Fri night + my full time day jobs for ~2 months. I am almost "flat" after friday night.

[/quote]

I once did a job onboard a drilling ship and was told by the captain and superintendent that since their pressed for time, i had to do my survey of the necessary components within 2 days. Normally it would take around 4 days to do the job so i had to work around the clock for 42 hours without sleep.

I did have micro naps in between the 42 hours and luckily the galley is open 18 hours a day with free flow of red bull. After finish i kena sugar crash and slept for half a day.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 4 2010, 12:10 AM
toughnut
post Dec 4 2010, 01:19 AM

3,239 posts

Thanks for the earlier feedback. Currently will only have Employee Pass after pass my med checkup.

Hopefully tomorrow can secure a room located near Jurong Point. Anyone have any idea how much the average rental there? Found a room for sgd500 with internet+heater+aircon+util bill, staying with singaporean landlord
TSwashabushi
post Dec 4 2010, 01:28 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

after i took one flight...i'm addicted to it smile.gif

i'm working 2 weekdays@8hrs
and 2 weekends@12hrs
Nokia convert
post Dec 4 2010, 02:10 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Dec 4 2010, 01:19 AM)
Thanks for the earlier feedback. Currently will only have Employee Pass after pass my med checkup.

Hopefully tomorrow can secure a room located near Jurong Point. Anyone have any idea how much the average rental there? Found a room for sgd500 with internet+heater+aircon+util bill, staying with singaporean landlord
I am staying near jurong point too.....working in tuas. As for rental, 500sgd inclusive of internet, heater, aircon and PUB is a steal. I only managed to find an equivalent room last month for sgd550.

If they landlord looks ok, I suggest you rent the place asap.

Btw, pls check whether the landlord really owns the unit. You have to be sure that this offer is not a scam.
crapp0
post Dec 4 2010, 08:12 AM

4,414 posts

Does anybody if there is a code singtel prepaid cards to get cheaper calls to malaysian numbers? and does this code apply to hot 100 credit?

toughnut
post Dec 4 2010, 08:45 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Dec 4 2010, 02:10 AM)
I am staying near jurong point too.....working in tuas. As for rental, 500sgd inclusive of internet, heater, aircon and PUB is a steal. I only managed to find an equivalent room last month for sgd550.

If they landlord looks ok, I suggest you rent the place asap.

Btw, pls check whether the landlord really owns the unit. You have to be sure that this offer is not a scam.
I search around by myself, mostly 450-500sgd exclusive of aircon or PUB. This room was found by an agent (relative of my relative laugh.gif ) but need to pay agent fee, of course. My relative will visit the place today and if everything ok, will rent it.

Mind telling which company you working at, in Tuas? PM if dont want to disclose in public blush.gif

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.5213sec    1.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:46 AM