Working Life in Singapore V5

seantang
post Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 3 2010, 11:12 AM)
SG Canteen Operator who stay in JB?
Umm, you reckon NEA or AVA will let a licensed canteen operator do that?

crapp0
post Dec 3 2010, 01:00 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM)
It isnt a problem if your an illegal canteen operator.
Mackiddo
post Dec 3 2010, 01:05 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 1 2010, 12:22 PM)
its actually V5 instead since we got V3a previously. So Anyone wanna car pool with me from KL-SG on 2nd Jan 2011?? I will be driving, looking for some passengers to ease the travel expenses biggrin.gif
I'm going back on 3rd Jan smile.gif , expected heavy traffic on Plus highway and also very bad traffic jam at causeway on the 2nd.
L7Awesome
post Dec 3 2010, 01:10 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 3 2010, 01:05 PM)
I'm going back on 3rd Jan smile.gif , expected heavy traffic on Plus highway and also very bad traffic jam at causeway on the 2nd.
I think 3rd Jan early part of the day will have a very heavy traffic too.

Mackiddo
post Dec 3 2010, 01:14 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 3 2010, 01:10 PM)
I think 3rd Jan early part of the day will have a very heavy traffic too.
yeah, but main concern still the causeway smile.gif
L7Awesome
post Dec 3 2010, 01:17 PM

418 posts

Yeah I think it will be crowded too. Cos some of them might work for 1/2 a day and going home back to JB in droves, SG-poreans going to JB for last minute shopping. I am also worry that day on how to get through the causeway in 2 or 3 hours! Hope that I am wrong.
Lester1987
post Dec 3 2010, 01:22 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 3 2010, 01:05 PM)
i think i will be arriving at the Causeway around 1am 2nd Jan, still got jam meh?? 1am wor... those people no nid sleep?
L7Awesome
post Dec 3 2010, 01:36 PM

418 posts

Hopefully. Most likely I will have to do that when getting out to JB and subsequently back to KL.
nicvoo
post Dec 3 2010, 01:37 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

from wat i heard since the 2 casinos open its jammed even during the wee hours of the morning lol
Lester1987
post Dec 3 2010, 01:41 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Dec 3 2010, 01:37 PM)
from wat i heard since the 2 casinos open its jammed even during the wee hours of the morning lol
no la, in the morning around 6:40am, causeway no jam 1 la. every morning i am traveling there now. so i know. only motorcycle will be queuing to pass the causeway.
crapp0
post Dec 3 2010, 01:46 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:41 PM)
no la, in the morning around 6:40am, causeway no jam 1 la. every morning i am traveling there now. so i know. only motorcycle will be queuing to pass the causeway.
As far as the eye can see right?

Plus if its raining, all of you have to slowly push yer motors in the rain.
r1v3r
post Dec 3 2010, 02:24 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM)
many canteen food are import from Malaysia, maybe not those in orchard road.

NEA and AVA only care if they prepare the food in clean and safe way. Where you buy or how much you pay for that packet of rice, sugar etc is not so easy to monitor.
Lester1987
post Dec 3 2010, 02:24 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:46 PM)
As far as the eye can see right?

Plus if its raining, all of you have to slowly push yer motors in the rain.
its not eyes can see la, i am experiencing it everyday now. under certain reason, today the immigration is very smooth. even there is a lot of people, but i queue less than 20 mins can pass already (normally around 30-40mins). so i reach my office in 1 hour time. really nice. regarding raining, you can also see that everyone has their own rain coat la. i even put a pair of slippers in my bike for rain. It actually quite nice. when we are queuing under the rain, the queue will be shorter and also normally the road will be a bit flooded, so can play with the water a little bit while queuing tongue.gif.
seantang
post Dec 3 2010, 02:25 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:00 PM)
It isnt a problem if your an illegal canteen operator.
I think intelligent illegal canteen operators will not put themselves in a position where they subject the inventory for their illegal activity to daily customs scrutiny.

r1v3r
post Dec 3 2010, 02:29 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 3 2010, 02:25 PM)
I think intelligent illegal canteen operators will not put themselves in a position where they subject the inventory for their illegal activity to daily customs scrutiny.
not all canteen are like MNC and have to be audit. They are not so rich to avoid some risk. You are thinking too much.

seantang
post Dec 3 2010, 02:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 3 2010, 02:24 PM)
many canteen food are import from Malaysia, maybe not those in orchard road.
You are correct. Most foodstuffs in Singapore are imported from Malaysia. But by licensed and registered importers.

There's a difference between importing commercial quantities and bringing in food for personal consumption. There's a ceiling weight & value specified for personal consumption, if I'm not mistaken.

QUOTE(r1v3r)
NEA and AVA only care if they prepare the food in clean and safe way. Where you buy or how much you pay for that packet of rice, sugar etc is not so easy to monitor.
As above. Imports of food like meat, vegetables etc are regulated. The distinction between import & personal consumption applies.

So, it's not just how food is prepared, but also what food is being prepared.

Added on December 3, 2010, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 3 2010, 02:29 PM)
not all canteen are like MNC and have to be audit. They are not so rich to avoid some risk. You are thinking too much.
Ask your canteen operator. Do they go to JB every morning to buy a couple bakuls of veges or do they buy from the wholesale importer? Perhaps you're simplifying things too much?

Anyway... see the 2 following websites:

AVA - Bringing Food into Singapore... the key seems to be <5kg.

Importing food products into Singapore

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 3 2010, 03:30 PM
L7Awesome
post Dec 3 2010, 02:54 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 3 2010, 02:24 PM)
its not eyes can see la, i am experiencing it everyday now. under certain reason, today the immigration is very smooth. even there is a lot of people, but i queue less than 20 mins can pass already (normally around 30-40mins). so i reach my office in 1 hour time. really nice. regarding raining, you can also see that everyone has their own rain coat la. i even put a pair of slippers in my bike for rain. It actually quite nice. when we are queuing under the rain, the queue will be shorter and also normally the road will be a bit flooded, so can play with the water a little bit while queuing tongue.gif.
Actually even for me who take bus, the traffic now is smoother. Used to take longer time to get across the crossway. However, the traffic jam in BKE and PIE is unbearable. I am pondering of taking the MRT to Marseling and walk to Woodlands only then take a bus. Anyone walked before? Just curious.
Joshua_0718
post Dec 3 2010, 03:25 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

Any suggestion on venue to have company D&D that able to cater for about 20 people? Spacious space to play games too.

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Dec 3 2010, 03:25 PM
toughnut
post Dec 3 2010, 03:45 PM

3,239 posts

Do i need to provide any documentation when going Sg? Just passport and IC enough?
r1v3r
post Dec 3 2010, 04:05 PM

1,305 posts

you are thinking too much and too high from the ground.

Today is friday, have a nice weekend.

Added on December 3, 2010, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(toughnut @ Dec 3 2010, 03:45 PM)
Do i need to provide any documentation when going Sg? Just passport and IC enough?
Bring your Original Cert if your company need to verify it.

Are you going to apply any social visit Pass(for family member) or PR? If yes then visit the ICA website to see the list of document to bring.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Dec 3 2010, 04:15 PM

126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:19 PM