WOW...... 5th guitar already.......... you must be one killer dad......
Guitars Cheap guitars & Cheap amps, Bargain 'Em All. Cheap = Rm1500 below
May 26 2006, 07:51 PM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
WOW...... 5th guitar already.......... you must be one killer dad......
May 26 2006, 11:22 PM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
wow....
ure one cool dad. everytime i go to a music store my parents will be complaining like mad. somemore they dont pay for my gear. its all my own savings or earnings |
May 27 2006, 06:58 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ May 26 2006, 11:22 PM) wow.... your parents complaining maybe you overspending in music store ure one cool dad. everytime i go to a music store my parents will be complaining like mad. somemore they dont pay for my gear. its all my own savings or earnings Yesterday went to Custom's website - loudspeakers and Amps are listed as dutiable items. Since there was a telephone number for Custom's KLIA office listed there, i called them up at 9.30pm, the officer on the phone was very polite, he confirmed that electrical loudspeakers and amps are subject to 15% duty tax, 10% sales tax and another 5% tax (can't remember for what) so total 30%. However he said since buying from SG not to sure if there's a different tax rate for ASEAN countries. Anyway prices for VOX AD30/50VT as follows: CK Music AD30VT - RM922.50 & AD50VT RM1237.50 after 10% discount. Citymusic SG AD30VT - SG336 (RM780) & AD50VT SG452 (RM1050) both discounted price. Since this amp not very costly, the price difference not much between SG and here, RM142.50 and RM187.5 for AD30 and AD50 respectively which comes out to be less then 20%. So if kena tax, buy here cheaper. I off to SG soon, thanks for all your opinions and comments and have a good weekend. |
May 27 2006, 07:23 AM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
dont forget the GST tax in singapore which is 5% also.
May 27 2006, 10:11 AM
5,231 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Pea Jay |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 27 2006, 06:58 AM) Ermm for amps I think it would be better to get it herelar, as I've read, the Vox amps have a little reliability issue, so in case *touch wood* of getting a defect unit, you could return the amp without much trouble. Plus, I got my AD50VT for RM1100 during the sale, so you could probably talk the guy into lowering the price?? Just my 0.5cent worth, have fun in SG! Oh, when you son's old enough to work part-time, make him pay for his own gear or most of it. This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: May 27 2006, 10:14 AM |
May 27 2006, 11:28 AM
Everdying: yah did thought of the 5% tax after posting earlier.
lep_zep_freak: agree with u better get amp in kl in case got defects. i posting now near 2nd link with my dopod. crossing to SG now. thanks again guys. |
May 28 2006, 05:55 PM
1,217 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Kuching<-->KL/PJ |
guys, is it worth to buy the ibanez RG320FM for rm1500 or the ESP LTD M-100FM for rm1560? i'm looking for a guitar mostly for metal and hard rock...
my previous guitar was the GIO/GAX, so is it worth the upgrade from that to either one of those above? need opinions from the gurus out there.. |
May 28 2006, 07:04 PM
8,306 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong Melaka Cyberjaya |
QUOTE(asura_86 @ May 28 2006, 05:55 PM) guys, is it worth to buy the ibanez RG320FM for rm1500 or the ESP LTD M-100FM for rm1560? i'm looking for a guitar mostly for metal and hard rock... My opuinion? I nvr compare them but RG320FM is a very good guitar and it is worth my previous guitar was the GIO/GAX, so is it worth the upgrade from that to either one of those above? need opinions from the gurus out there.. |
May 29 2006, 12:24 AM
Hi guys, just got back from SG. Went the Davis Guitar, they had LTD AX-50 (ESP brand on the back of the guitar) and not ESP AX-50 (i thought ESP = LTD). They had only one unit in Matt Black and my son wanted it. The salesman said ESP AX-50 would have better pickup compared to the LTD set). Got the guitar for SG420 including a bag & cable and no GST(?)
Anyway the sale man played it on a Marshall 15W Amp (dont' know model but price SG199) and the amp sounded great. So now need advise to get an Amp. No one here have advise amp besides VOX30VT for RM1K eventho i have posted for opinions. Read many of the threads here and basically noted that Roland Cube 30 and VOX AD30VT good and many members here have it. Summary from other threads Roland Cube30 RM792 Marshall MG30DFX RM805 (Bentley) RM900 (Harmony) VOX AD30VT RM900 Marshall MG50DFX RM1400 (Harmony before discount) VOX AD50VT RM1200 My son mentioned Marshall is used by Metalica (but those must be very expensive series). How is the MG30/50DFX compared to VOX30/50DFX? Which would you recommend? quetion for THEWHACKER: i noted you have a Marshall MG50DFX, would you recommend this amp and your thoughts on VOX AD50VT. How much and where you bought the Marshall amp? question for led_zep_freak: would recommend VOX AD50VT (which you have) and your thoughts on Marshall MG50DFX. This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 29 2006, 12:26 AM |
May 29 2006, 12:45 AM
3,373 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: My House |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 29 2006, 12:24 AM) Hi guys, just got back from SG. Went the Davis Guitar, they had LTD AX-50 (ESP brand on the back of the guitar) and not ESP AX-50 (i thought ESP = LTD). They had only one unit in Matt Black and my son wanted it. The salesman said ESP AX-50 would have better pickup compared to the LTD set). Got the guitar for SG420 including a bag & cable and no GST(?) can I assist? Anyway the sale man played it on a Marshall 15W Amp (dont' know model but price SG199) and the amp sounded great. So now need advise to get an Amp. No one here have advise amp besides VOX30VT for RM1K eventho i have posted for opinions. Read many of the threads here and basically noted that Roland Cube 30 and VOX AD30VT good and many members here have it. Summary from other threads Roland Cube30 RM792 Marshall MG30DFX RM805 (Bentley) RM900 (Harmony) VOX AD30VT RM900 Marshall MG50DFX RM1400 (Harmony before discount) VOX AD50VT RM1200 My son mentioned Marshall is used by Metalica (but those must be very expensive series). How is the MG30/50DFX compared to VOX30/50DFX? Which would you recommend? quetion for THEWHACKER: i noted you have a Marshall MG50DFX, would you recommend this amp and your thoughts on VOX AD50VT. How much and where you bought the Marshall amp? question for led_zep_freak: would recommend VOX AD50VT (which you have) and your thoughts on Marshall MG50DFX. first and foremost, congrats on your son's LTD AX-50 purchase. yes the Roland Cube 30 and Vox AD30VT are both very good amps. in fact even the 15W and 60W are good. but the Vox has a preamp tube in the poweramp section, giving it a "warmer" tone as the Cube is fully solidstate. the Marshall MG50 DFX can't be compared to the Vox as they are in a different class. the Vox is a modelling amp while the MG50 is a solidstate amp coupled with effects. and from what I heard (no offense to TheWhacker) the MG series are Marshall's worst series, though I personally have tested a MG50 DFX and found it to be just decent though, but honestly speaking there are much better amps for that price. i would recommend none other than the Roland Cube series/ Vox AD series because they are great modelling amps in their own respective merits and it has a plethora of amp models for your son to tinker with and find his own tone. ledzepfreak, nick_drake and I myself have come up with reviews on our Vox at the reviews thread. do check it out. oh, and Metallica are not using Marshalls, they are using Mesa Boogies. |
May 29 2006, 12:52 AM
Well, I'm a LOYAL Marshall soldier...... but these days...... I really have to give Vox the nod for a better budget amp. The MG50 really does not have defining character and for that price, I would go for the Vox instead. It has modelling, effects, not to mention that sweet tube sound..... all for a very reasonable price. The Marshall's answer to the Valve series, is the AVT series....... which to me I find is pretty ok, but they do cost more then the Vox. As much as I want to..... I can't recommend the MG series at all..... for the AVT....... mmmmmaaaaaaayyyyyybbbeeeee....
Here are prices for the AVT series directly from Bentley.... AVT20x - RM 1,500 AVT50x - RM 2,650 AVT100x - RM 3,000 AVT150x - RM 3,600 See....... Vox suddenly becomes even MORE attractive. But when it comes to the higher end stuff...... no one does better then Marshalls. NO FREAKIN' ONE...... Mesa/Boogies, Randalls and Vox can try all they might...... NO ONE comes CLOSE to a JCM800 as the perfect Metal amp. Zakk uses it..... Kerry King uses it...... Nuff said. and Nerd is right...... Metallica uses Mesa/Boogies and NOT Marshalls..... And no..... there are no budget Mesa/Boogies...... Stick with the Vox....... This post has been edited by blacktrix: May 29 2006, 12:55 AM |
May 29 2006, 12:54 AM
Marshall amps are the bomb, but this statement only applies to the higher end ones.
As for the MG & AVT series, well put it this way, if Marshall is serious about giving young guitarists good tone to play with, they should remove them from their product range. At low volumes, they sound pretty alright I guess, but when turned up, just terrible. I love the AD50VT mainly because of the vintage amp tones, I'm not sure if your son is into stuff like that, but if he is then look no further. I can't really comment much on the distortion/modern amp models, other than that they sound pretty decent and usable. Perhaps members like Sean, nerd and nick_drake could provide better insights that I could, but if anything, check out sean's clips posted in the fanclub thread, it should give you an idea how the distortion channel sounds like. EDIT : Wow, you guys reply pretty fast LOL! This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: May 29 2006, 12:55 AM |
May 29 2006, 01:10 AM
3,373 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: My House |
yeah coz we LOVE to help forummers.
well I've played with a Marshall AVT100 and cranked it up to near-max.. and I must say that I love the sound, albeit a lil digital sounding and not heavy enough for my tastes, but it has potential. anyway we're not talking about that. well I think his son must be into some metallica stuffs, and I must say that the high end models doesn't disappoint. This post has been edited by nerd: May 29 2006, 01:12 AM |
May 29 2006, 01:12 AM
nerd, blacktrix and lepzed, thanks for the fast replies because taking son go buy amp tomorrow morning as he's using his bass amp now. Considering my budget limited to about RM1K and want an amp 30W or above, guess will get the VOX based on all your posts and especially blacktrix's post considering he's a Marshall's fan.
Oh, my mistake on metallica, it was Gun&Roses that used Marshall he said. He bought a Metallica T-Shirst and a badge while in SG. Took this picture while in SG, Machine gun guitar, didn't ask the price tho. ![]() |
May 29 2006, 08:09 AM
Yeah, I took the same photo awhile back on my trip to SG. I think that was the trip I came back with the ZW-44 overdrive pedal.
Speaking of which..... does your son own any FX pedals or multi-fx units? Another good investment is a solid FX investment..... And yeah...... Slash uses the JCM800 too..... Seriously, it's the most amazing metal amp around. |
May 29 2006, 09:42 AM
2,918 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Deliciously Pointless To: Jaw-Dropping Absurd |
blacktrix... seriously, you say that because you're a fan and you didn't try most metal amps (mesa boogie, laney, randall, VHT, Bogner, Diezel, Brunetti, ENGL, Peavey, Soldano...) that's all
on the french forum i hang around, you can find this page : http://www.guitariste.com/forums/amplifica...gain,73335.html (pictures talk by themselves) This post has been edited by Pix: May 29 2006, 09:45 AM |
May 29 2006, 09:49 AM
3,914 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(nerd @ May 29 2006, 12:45 AM) the Marshall MG50 DFX can't be compared to the Vox as they are in a different class. the Vox is a modelling amp while the MG50 is a solidstate amp coupled with effects. and from what I heard (no offense to TheWhacker) the MG series are Marshall's worst series, though I personally have tested a MG50 DFX and found it to be just decent though, but honestly speaking there are much better amps for that price. No offense taken. Well, it depends on what you want your guitar to sound like. If you're the Metallica fan, then the MG50DFX is not the amp for you. I got the amp for Rm1380 for normal rock, a little bluez and jazz. For me, MG50's gain is enough for me .... i don't quite like very depth, low sounding, heavy mama gains. Coz i'm playing in a church so ... later all the old folks go To make things simple, the MG50DFX is an all rounder amp if you allow me to say. It can play most themes .... but not like 100% perfect amp for rock, or bluez or jazz. I think you're better off getting the AD50VT coz its a vintage amp. Its something like the Mg50DFX but cheapaer. I haven't tried AD50VT yet so i can't give you any comment .... but i know its cheaper then the MG50DFX and both amps are quite same. |
May 29 2006, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ May 29 2006, 08:09 AM) Err seriously, you should take a look at ENGL, Diezel, Cornford or even the MESA MARK IV! Gen-X, what type of music/bands does your son listen to??? |
May 29 2006, 11:34 AM
2,323 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bangi/Serdang/OP Bentley Music |
guyss i fell in love with microcube.. new stocks arrived going for rm 450.. the best thing... its the LIMITED EDITION RED CUBE! with free t -shirt.. i reserved mine already!
![]() |
May 29 2006, 11:42 AM
340 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
My input:
Being a MG series and AD owner, I can say the following: The MG's not as versatile, obviously. It's a one trick pony, essentially. Not that that's a bad thing, some amp builders focus on that one trick and make it amazingly good. Thing is, the MG's trick is its price range, and it shows. With the clean channel, it doesn't have any distinctive voice at all, it's, well, soulless. Clear, yes, but there's no subtlety to it. Dirty, it's thin and weedly and painful to listen to. It's best used as a paperweight. We all know about the AD. Some models are pretty difficult to get a good sound out of. Some models are phenomenally easy. Whatever the case, Vox obviously has got something right here, and this is reflected in their sales and the feedback. BTW I got one of the first few they brought in, and they went for RM1000 back then... Now it's under 4 figures.... There have been good things said about the Roland Cubes. I have yet to put enough time and effort into messing with one to be able to have a solid opinion. But they say it's competition to the AD, which is good enough a reason to check it out. |
| Change to: | 0.0183sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:05 PM |