post Mar 10 2011, 11:36 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(alieamin @ Mar 10 2011, 10:34 AM)
Thinking to grab 1 hdmi cable.

direct from GPU to my u2311h.

what brand is good ya... hmm.gif
why not just use the given DVI?
For HDMI cables,just pick the cheapest.Don't be conned paying hundreds for a Monster HDMI cable or some shit.
They make no difference.
alieamin
post Mar 10 2011, 11:47 AM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Mar 10 2011, 11:36 AM)
why not just use the given DVI?
For HDMI cables,just pick the cheapest.Don't be conned paying hundreds for a Monster HDMI cable or some shit.
They make no difference.
i read review hdmi is better than dvi...so i thought hdmi better than dvi.
Ya i almost bought hdmi cable been sell at 1 sony shop for rm259 doh.gif

so better stick with dvi? hmm.gif
Racerx
post Mar 10 2011, 11:56 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Yes,it's the exact same thing.Good thing you didn't buy the RM259 HDMI cable.
barry80
post Mar 10 2011, 02:53 PM

490 posts

my 4 years old lg 22wtq is gettin old...need a ips panel real soon...

i wonder when the LG IPS236V will on sale in malaysia?

only in Hong Kong ?

This post has been edited by barry80: Mar 10 2011, 02:58 PM
z3r0717
post Mar 10 2011, 04:23 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

Woohoo... look what i got today!
My dell U2311H, thanks to you guys for recommended it

I know HDMI > DVI > VGA
I got a question, my laptop supports HDMI port and VGA..
So my best option is using hdmi and convert to DVI to the monitor since the monitor does not have hdmi port...
I am still unfamiliar with the Display port, what kind of devices(new type of monitors?) support it as i've not seen this port before...

This post has been edited by z3r0717: Mar 10 2011, 04:25 PM
wildwestgoh
post Mar 10 2011, 04:30 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Mar 10 2011, 04:23 PM)
So my best option is using hdmi and convert to DVI to the monitor since the monitor does not have hdmi port...
I am still unfamiliar with the Display port, what kind of devices(new type of monitors?) support it as i've not seen this port before...
Some of the graphics card like ATI and NVidia Quadro already has Display Port, it's a revolution of DVI and the age and still strong VGA, read here to know more about this revolution.
And it's not the same as HDMI, neither will it replace but come along with HDMI. According to Wiki, major manufacturer will totally abandon DVI and VGA from 2015 so expect future graphics card with mostly HDMI and DP.
z3r0717
post Mar 10 2011, 04:34 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Mar 10 2011, 04:30 PM)
Some of the graphics card like ATI and NVidia Quadro already has Display Port, it's a revolution of DVI and the age and still strong VGA, read here to know more about this revolution.
And it's not the same as HDMI, neither will it replace but come along with HDMI. According to Wiki, major manufacturer will totally abandon DVI and VGA from 2015 so expect future graphics card with mostly HDMI and DP.
ok cool... Thanks a lot... now i get it...
phyzoul
post Mar 12 2011, 11:15 AM

351 posts

if i buy dell U2311H..izzit posible connect to Full HD media player?since the LCD dont have HDMI port...

sorry for noob question...
jeopardise
post Mar 12 2011, 11:35 AM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

QUOTE(phyzoul @ Mar 12 2011, 11:15 AM)
if i buy dell U2311H..izzit posible connect to Full HD media player?since the LCD dont have HDMI port...

sorry for noob question...
You can use a HDMI -> DVI convertor. It'll work
phyzoul
post Mar 12 2011, 06:26 PM

351 posts

U2311H

Contrast Ratio
1000:1 (typical )
10,000:1 (dynamic)

Response Time
8ms (gray to gray) Typical

---------------------------
some said it not so good...but i think that is enuf..hurm...

This post has been edited by phyzoul: Mar 12 2011, 06:29 PM
Langiler
post Mar 12 2011, 08:16 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(alieamin @ Mar 10 2011, 11:47 AM)
i read review hdmi is better than dvi...so i thought hdmi better than dvi.
Ya i almost bought hdmi cable been sell at 1 sony shop for rm259 doh.gif

so better stick with dvi? hmm.gif
._. hdmi cable for rm 259? i have Panasonic Hdmi cable, will sell to you rm 100 if u want... haha
damm bloodsucker, u almost ripped off lol, glad u didnt buy the cable..
go to jusco or tesco, last time i saw in tesco melaka, hdmi cable, 3 meter i think? for rm 19.90 only..brows.gif

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Mar 10 2011, 04:23 PM)
Woohoo... look what i got today!
My dell U2311H, thanks to you guys for recommended it

I know HDMI > DVI > VGA
Wohaa... drool.gif drool.gif , congrats, nice monitor, wanna trade with my ST2320L? brows.gif just joking brows.gif
but come to think about it, why dell make a good monitor with ugly design? i mean, look at it, the Ultrasharp, all rectangle,90 degree sharp edges, remind me about my crappy 17inch lcd bought 5 years before..
and take a look to ST series.. nicely design.. perfect to cover up all these monitor flaw...

BTW, back to your question, HDMI and DVI qualiti is almost the same for me, hook up my xbox via hdmi, and dvi.. cant spot the difference beside the HDMI come with audio.... but if u ask me about VGA, uh well.. make sure ur laptop graphic driver is ok, for me, i having some backlight flicking issue with VGA...
everling
post Mar 12 2011, 08:47 PM

3,591 posts

The ST series has a nice design? Eww... I very much prefer the industrial look for the UltraSharp series. Dull, simple and forgettable look. Makes your eyes focus more on the content than drooling on all the smooth curves of your LCD's bezel and stand. Good for keeping you alive on a FPS game.

This post has been edited by everling: Mar 12 2011, 08:48 PM
Langiler
post Mar 12 2011, 08:58 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 12 2011, 08:47 PM)
The ST series has a nice design? Eww... I very much prefer the industrial look for the UltraSharp series. Dull, simple and forgettable look. Makes your eyes focus more on the content than drooling on all the smooth curves of your LCD's bezel and stand. Good for keeping you alive on a FPS game.
._. drooling on smooth curve of LCD bezel and stand...
*epic*

No lah, i wont stare on my lcd just for that lol, i prefer the lcd performance than it look.
One thing i like about the ultrasharp, the illuminated power button..
i hate all the new trend in lcd monitor.. touch sensitive button... JUST GIVE ME BACK THE MECHANICAL BUTTON!

This post has been edited by Langiler: Mar 12 2011, 09:02 PM
z3r0717
post Mar 12 2011, 09:05 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Mar 12 2011, 08:16 PM)

Wohaa...  drool.gif  drool.gif , congrats, nice monitor, wanna trade with my ST2320L?  brows.gif  just joking  brows.gif
but come to think about it, why dell make a good monitor with ugly design? i mean, look at it, the Ultrasharp, all rectangle,90 degree sharp edges, remind me about my crappy 17inch lcd bought 5 years before..
and take a look to ST series.. nicely design.. perfect to cover up all these monitor flaw...

BTW, back to your question, HDMI and DVI qualiti is almost the same for me, hook up my xbox via hdmi, and dvi.. cant spot the difference beside the HDMI come with audio.... but if u ask me about VGA, uh well.. make sure ur laptop graphic driver is ok, for me, i having some backlight flicking issue with VGA...
lol... yes, this design is old school but i actually prefer this one... but i like samsung's LED monitors, those design are nice and modern...

About the cables... Since no difference, it's good news for me.. i'll just get a hdmi convert to DVI. nod.gif
everling
post Mar 12 2011, 09:48 PM

3,591 posts

DisplayPort > HDMI > DVI

If your GPU supports it and the cable prices are similar, I'd recommend getting the DisplayPort cable instead.
Langiler
post Mar 12 2011, 10:14 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 12 2011, 09:48 PM)
DisplayPort > HDMI > DVI

If your GPU supports it and the cable prices are similar, I'd recommend getting the DisplayPort cable instead.
eh? care to explain why DP is superior than HDMI..
im noob in these stuff
sai86
post Mar 12 2011, 10:32 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Mar 12 2011, 09:48 PM)
DisplayPort > HDMI > DVI

mind share wit me y u said so? not really understand d DP>DVI hmm.gif
everling
post Mar 13 2011, 08:51 AM

3,591 posts

Published in September 2008, an interesting and rather technical article:
“As an engineer, I think that DisplayPort is a well-constructed display standard, and, if it were available three to four years ago, we’d all be using it. But HDMI is already here, and it will provide significant headwinds for market penetration of DisplayPort.”

http://www.edn.com/article/472679-DisplayP..._standards_.php

Optional reading links:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DisplayPort
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thunderbolt_%28interface%29

alieamin
post Mar 13 2011, 06:50 PM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

im really satisfied with u2311h rclxm9.gif never let me down....my eyess cant hold it anymore. laugh.gif got to wear sunglasses soon laugh.gif

Ya the design quite dissappointed,but this monitor has adjustable viewing which is good.

pics i took abit blur coz using cheapo 9700

p/s pls ignore those pictures on the side laugh.gif temporary table, gonna hunt new table soon.

This post has been edited by alieamin: Mar 13 2011, 06:52 PM
matrixation
post Mar 13 2011, 07:32 PM

540 posts

is that u? or ur gf? xD

124 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:59 AM