Canon EOS thread V31, The White Knights

AlexLee277
post Nov 10 2010, 01:16 AM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Nov 9 2010, 09:11 PM)
err sorry to be blunt ... i guess it's better to advise your friend/relative to get a pro .. please don't screw up other ppl's once in a life time mia wedding smile.gif

I did some shots before on my friends and cousins wedding dinner, although i'm not the official photog. To be frank with you, I had a hard time getting fast enough shutter speed to freeze movement while trying to preserve as much ambient light as possible on my 5DmarkII+430EXII. I also found that I am using ISO 1000 and above throughout the function. smile.gif

just my noob 2 junk cent. Perhaps other sifu may give you more pointer.
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 9 2010, 09:23 PM)
Remember that, even though your equipment are poor... try to see the schedule and maybe have a visit a day before the wedding begins and sync it with the timing on the schedule. Visualize the wedding of how it is going to be....

Like my fav photographer always say "Expression beats perfection any day" so yeah... try to visualize the shot you wanted and try to compose in your mind. It is all about doing your homework ... while all this will sounds like a troublesome... just do it. It will benefit you.

My sifu also said this... "You all take pictures like a fool. Try to pre-visualize the shot you wanted and list down the style shots you wanted then you can execute it nicely." Practically speaking that, you don't go war in blind, you must be prepared for all the consequences that may or may not happen.
My own motto is that "Why everyone can do that and I can't? We are all human"

My own picture and no... this is not a strobist shot or whatever you called it... I pre-visualize it and he happens to be right spot at the right amount of light and walla~ snapped it
QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 10 2010, 12:20 AM)
I'm still a newb in photography and I tested wedding photography last week at my cousin wedding...my exp is that the light won't b enough due to the ceiling is very high and I guess all wedding dinner hv diff kinda light that will affect ur shot..so it's very hard to get the right setting at tht time on the spot...plus u nd to follow both the bride n groom everywhere to shoot which is another hard task...
sorry guys, but it is not a wedding, it is a Charity dinner for my organization. so everything is volunteer.

btw, thanks for the experience. gonna digest this few post 1st. thanks! notworthy.gif smile.gif
post Nov 10 2010, 01:21 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

why the butthurt in this thread is so strong aye ?
any problem ? doh.gif
ColourBoo
post Nov 10 2010, 01:21 AM

199 posts

For something like a charity dinner like alex, where it is indoor and ceiling is high, should use direct flash or bounce using foamboard better ? or Stofen diffusers? 450D max iso is at 1600, so nid to count on flash.
LegendLee
post Nov 10 2010, 01:36 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(ColourBoo @ Nov 10 2010, 01:21 AM)
For something like a charity dinner like alex, where it is indoor and ceiling is high, should use direct flash or bounce using foamboard better ? or Stofen diffusers? 450D max iso is at 1600, so nid to count on flash.
My n00b 2 cents : Direct flash straight towards the high ceiling. Light bounced should be diffused enough.
Unless ceiling is too high (more than 8 meters), it should work.
It's should overpower any bad lighting over a wide radius too, if not just increase shutter speed ,flash power and larger aperture.

The Nissin Di622 would manage although a 580EXII would probably do the job far better.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Nov 10 2010, 01:40 AM
victorr
post Nov 10 2010, 01:47 AM

431 posts

Food pic spam tongue.gif

-kytz-
post Nov 10 2010, 01:56 AM

12,573 posts

Too warm i guess? Go process RAW la biggrin.gif

I think we all should ask Goldfries to conduct a special food photography class for us tongue.gif But hopefully free la! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Nov 10 2010, 01:57 AM
powerfox
post Nov 10 2010, 01:56 AM

427 posts

Post some photo for my former canon 1000D ~

This post has been edited by powerfox: Nov 10 2010, 02:31 AM
Hwoarang45
post Nov 10 2010, 02:20 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 8 2010, 10:55 PM)
No money. blush.gif
Yes, Tammy 1750VC+Speedlite.

Hey, just noticed we are having the same Chinese surname! rclxms.gif
rclxms.gif yay hurray for 冯~~ haha i hardly got friend same surname hahah nice meeting u ..onegaishimas! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 8 2010, 10:57 PM)
When you need some inspiring food shots can also visit http://www.vkeong.com/ nod.gif apart from goldfries' blog la

Goldfries can comment on my pic ma?  tongue.gif Still noobie in food stuff, need to learn from you  rclxms.gif

Taken with LX3, the lighting was quite bad, so i shot with RAW + PP quite a bit

whoaa!! sedap satey!! yummy soo hungry hahaa
victorr
post Nov 10 2010, 02:20 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 10 2010, 01:56 AM)
Too warm i guess? Go process RAW la biggrin.gif

I think we all should ask Goldfries to conduct a special food photography class for us tongue.gif But hopefully free la! biggrin.gif
now that u mentioned, really it looks warm nod.gif
yeah free class please tongue.gif
goldfries
post Nov 10 2010, 03:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 10 2010, 01:56 AM)
i'm on LYN / Facebook / Twitter. i'm always around if people want to ask.

just that Canon thread go so fast, only reply when I can.

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 10 2010, 12:20 AM)
I'm still a newb in photography and I tested wedding photography last week at my cousin wedding...my exp is that the light won't b enough due to the ceiling is very high and I guess all wedding dinner hv diff kinda light that will affect ur shot..so it's very hard to get the right setting at tht time on the spot...plus u nd to follow both the bride n groom everywhere to shoot which is another hard task...
every event is different, that's why you need to get your basics right, and at least know how to adapt.

bounce can be tricky.

simple way is just shoot direct with a stofen / demb diffuser. use TTL.

in Malaysia wedding very long process. pre-wedding. wedding day itself, then at night dinner some more. in places like UK - 1 shot finish the whole thing wan la. smile.gif

so when you say shoot wedding here, i believe you're referring to wedding dinner. wedding dinner usually dim lights and yeah, have to follow around. depends on how IDEA-FUL is the couple la, some of them want to do walk in in grand manner with music boom bam away. then got game show some more. you need to know how to go about.

don't worry, we all make mistakes. mistakes on paid assignments do happen, happened to me before but it's part and parcel of learning.

QUOTE(FirstOne @ Nov 10 2010, 01:11 AM)
He is saying about owning that 3 lenses making the wedding photography easy, well, what i means was skill are more important. and i dono why u go reply with 1 lens bla bla  rclxub.gif
Nvm forget it ba.  smile.gif
sorry, maybe got conversation flow that i missed. smile.gif

Added on November 10, 2010, 3:29 am
QUOTE(victorr @ Nov 10 2010, 01:47 AM)
Food pic spam  tongue.gif
ahh good try but you have a long way to go in composition.

one thing for sure - # of people on the table DOES affect your photos. biggrin.gif a bunch of hungry friends pressure you to finish taking photo, make sure you can focus. sometimes they affect the shadow and such in the background or even the sources of light to the food.

Added on November 10, 2010, 3:29 amof forgot to say, even their dress /shirt color CAN actually affect your photos. don't play play man.
tellmewhy
post Nov 10 2010, 04:07 AM

L²
893 posts

my 1st picture by 50mm 1.4 sigma
why the picture not sharp gehhh cry.gif
any advice please?
killroy8204
post Nov 10 2010, 08:13 AM

23 posts

hi and gd morning to all sifu here...
juz bought a eos 60d AF18-200mm lense..
im kinda new to this dslr stuff
so...may i join the club?..
lol...
cctw
post Nov 10 2010, 08:41 AM

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Nov 10 2010, 04:07 AM)

why the picture not sharp gehhh  cry.gif
any advice please?
Maybe it's because you set the aperture to 1.4. Most lens aren't the sharpest at the largest aperture.
Another factor could be because with a larger aperture, the depth of field is reduced so only a small portion of the photo is sharp which makes the overall picture seem unsharp.

Correct me if I'm wrong... whistling.gif

Try setting the aperture smaller and comparing.
enriquelee
post Nov 10 2010, 08:54 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(killroy8204 @ Nov 10 2010, 08:13 AM)
lol...
How much you bought it?
I am trying to get 60D for my friend now.
ckdenion
post Nov 10 2010, 09:29 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

lol...
of cz u may join!nothing to do wif whether u r newbie or not...as long as u wan ask canon EOS stuff...ask here!
more ppl getting 60d already hmm.gif
xLegato
post Nov 10 2010, 09:40 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(victorr @ Nov 10 2010, 01:47 AM)
Food pic spam  tongue.gif

Did you use a wide angle lens? The perspective looks distorted.
KIntos
post Nov 10 2010, 09:55 AM

1,132 posts

Added on November 10, 2010, 12:03 am

next time just put the IMG here rather than link.

for better feedback, best you put in gallery rather than asking here. the spam level is insane and you are not likely to get any feedback when that happens.

good attempt but try having a wider depth of field, if you're shooting food at f1.8 or whatever widest aperture with your prime lens - you're not heading the right direction.

might need some work on the exposure too.

ok thx to ckdenion and goldfries sifu. Still much more to learn. just 2 week old with the 550D. Actually i did read goldfries blog b4 but some of them still new to me. Cant understand some of it. Therefore i will go learn all the setting and menu available at my 550D 1st. Probably will join some Tamron/Canon workshop later on.

This post has been edited by KIntos: Nov 10 2010, 09:58 AM
ComradeZ
post Nov 10 2010, 10:12 AM

Feelwayoveryourhead
1,460 posts

QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Nov 10 2010, 04:07 AM)

why the picture not sharp gehhh  cry.gif
any advice please?
ahhhhh.... soooooo poison.....sooooo creammyyyyyy.....how much?
saru88
post Nov 10 2010, 10:28 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

lol...
we r kaki!!! haha...
Redcross
post Nov 10 2010, 10:43 AM

1,680 posts

When tru back my old picture archives.......man I do really shoooooooot loads of crap 2 years back sweat.gif

Dennis Lau & Jimmy Sax with their Prelude in F Minor~
Anybody listen that? Damn nice emo song! wub.gif

PS: ah yes this pics was shot with 18-55mm kitty lens smile.gif

This post has been edited by Redcross: Nov 10 2010, 10:50 AM

125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:15 PM