QUOTE(saturn85 @ May 5 2011, 12:24 AM)
Bit worried about the performance, FX-8 good old CPU is like 2600K only,A8 APU also much uncompatitive?
Hope to see more
AMD Bulldozer & Bobcat
May 5 2011, 12:58 AM
14,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(saturn85 @ May 5 2011, 12:24 AM) Bit worried about the performance, FX-8 good old CPU is like 2600K only,A8 APU also much uncompatitive? Hope to see more |
May 5 2011, 01:33 AM
8,461 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kota Bharu,Kelantan |
QUOTE(mitodna @ May 4 2011, 11:58 PM) Bit worried about the performance, FX-8 good old CPU is like 2600K only, Take such leaks with a spoon of salt. A8 APU also much uncompatitive? Hope to see more Added on May 5, 2011, 1:35 am QUOTE(mitodna @ May 4 2011, 11:58 PM) Bit worried about the performance, FX-8 good old CPU is like 2600K only, Take such leaks with a spoon of salt. A8 APU also much uncompatitive? Hope to see more This post has been edited by Racerx: May 5 2011, 01:35 AM |
May 5 2011, 01:38 AM
8,686 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(dma0991 @ May 5 2011, 12:56 AM) ^ That is not an accurate indicator of performance as PCMark Vantage is capped at 4 cores or threads. That is why you can see that Core i3 2100 2C/4T and Core i5 2300 4C/4T has a very close score against the Core i7 2600K 4C/8T. So that means that actually the score for the AMD FX 8 core is using only 4 cores to produce that score which matches the Core i7 2600K with 4 physical cores running but HT off due to the 4 core or thread limitation of PCMark Vantage. i see, pcmark vantage has this type of limitation. |
May 5 2011, 01:17 PM
990 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Bolehland |
The A8 APU is expected to be uncompetitive from the processor's point of view, it should only return scores similar to Athlon X4. You won't be looking at it at all unless you plan to buy entry/mid range laptops or HTPCs that need more performance than Brazos/Ontario APUs.
May 7 2011, 02:59 PM
15,694 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Source : www.inpai.com.cn
Translated : By me Recently, we already saw the engineering sample of Llano APU from AMD. Let's understand it. ![]() Because of Llano APU uses socket FM1 (which is not like E-350, soldered with motherboard), it is same with current desktop processor, able to be assembled to and disassembled from the motherboard. The following motherboard is with socket FM1. ![]() Because of this motherboard is used for testing, so you can see a lot of custom soldering. There are a lot of testing point on the motherboard too, mainly is for the engineers to test the status of the system. This testing motherboard is powered by FCH A75 chipset. This chipset provides native USB 3.0 support, and does not need third party chip to support that. It provides a front USB 3.0 connector, 4 DDR3 slots and 5 SATA ports. For power, this motherboard uses 3+2 phase power design. Due to APU got a good GPU integrated, we predict the actual product will provide even better. In the expansion side, it provides 1 PCI-E x16 slot, 2 PCI-E x4 slots, 1 PCI slot and 1 Mini PCI-E slot. For I/O interface, the motherboard provides HDMI, DisplayPort and D-Sub. Due to the picture is not clear, so we guess it also has a gigabit ethernet LAN, 4 USB 2.0, 6 channel audio card and 1 E-SATA socket. AMD A-Series desktop APU will have 4 K10.5+(or known as Husky) x86 cores, Radeon HD6000 class "BeaverCreek" GPU(either 300 or 400 stream processors). For 2 cores variants, it will have "WinterPark" GPU (160 stream processors). The related products will support dual channel DDR3, with highest 4MB cache support. Part of the products will support Turbo Core (Dynamic clock boosting), and special multi-GPU support. The first batch of A-series APU will be available at 2011 Q3, including 2 cores and 4 cores. The TDU of them is 100W/65W(Quad Core) and 65W. In 2011 Q4, AMD will renew the processors, making brand news A8, A6 and A4 series APUs. AMD and it's partners give high expectation to the graphic performance of APU, as the integrated GPU has 400 stream processors, will far faster than the GPU in Sandy Bridge processors, attracting the multimedia gamers. And also, AMD pointed out, the calculating ability and usage of HD6000 series GPU will increase the performance of non-gaming performance greatly. Added on May 11, 2011, 1:38 pmI read some really impressive marks. FX-8100 on stock is as fast as i7 2600K (OC-ed to 5GHz) in single threaded workload. A beast is coming. This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: May 11 2011, 01:38 PM |
May 16 2011, 01:08 PM
990 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Bolehland |
http://twitter.com/#!/ilucasmr
This guy claims to have a FX-4110 and posted superpi results. Translate from Portuguese to English. QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 7 2011, 02:59 PM) I read some really impressive marks. sos?FX-8100 on stock is as fast as i7 2600K (OC-ed to 5GHz) in single threaded workload. A beast is coming. This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: May 16 2011, 01:09 PM |
May 16 2011, 01:12 PM
2,514 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: [Confidential] |
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ May 16 2011, 01:08 PM) http://twitter.com/#!/ilucasmr Really.... This guy claims to have a FX-4110 and posted superpi results. Translate from Portuguese to English. sos? |
May 16 2011, 04:37 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mordor, Middle Earth. |
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 7 2011, 02:59 PM) I read some really impressive marks. I will not be impress if it is taking 8 core to reach this kind of speed. Unless it is a 4 core vs 4 core battle then it is a different story.FX-8100 on stock is as fast as i7 2600K (OC-ed to 5GHz) in single threaded workload. A beast is coming. |
May 16 2011, 08:56 PM
3,591 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
The words single threaded was used, suggesting it was a single core vs single core. If a single stock BD core was as fast as an OCed Sandy core, that is good news.
May 16 2011, 09:52 PM
8,686 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
May 16 2011, 10:25 PM
14,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 17 2011, 01:58 PM
3,333 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
May 17 2011, 04:06 PM
557 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: PhotoJournalist |
nowadays none of the processor in the world can beat intel Sandy bridge..
May 17 2011, 05:53 PM
15,694 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ May 16 2011, 01:08 PM) http://twitter.com/#!/ilucasmr www.inpai.com.cn, CPU section. This guy claims to have a FX-4110 and posted superpi results. Translate from Portuguese to English. sos? Anyway. Latest news : A8-3530MX - Fastest Llano mobile processor. Core - Quad Clock Speed - 1.6GHz Turbo Boost - 2.6GHz GPU Model - HD6620G Clock - 444MHz Stream Processors : 400 TDP - 45W This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: May 17 2011, 05:58 PM |
May 17 2011, 11:36 PM
3,532 posts Joined: May 2008 |
i tot 1.9ghz! turbo to 2.6!
May 18 2011, 02:14 AM
3,333 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
A series AMD Llano motherboards coming out soon. Good for those who wants a PC without having to fork out extra money for a discrete level GPU.
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Media/New...=1408&MenuID=45 The first pictured Llano compatible Socket FM1 motherboard, ECS A75F-A » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Asus Sabertooth 990X Socket AM3+ motherboard » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by dma0991: May 19 2011, 03:55 PM |
May 22 2011, 09:13 AM
4,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mordor, Middle Earth. |
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 21 2011, 02:13 PM) the question is if this "1.5 core" AMD claimed "8core" CPU is able to go head to head with Intel Sandy bridge quad core using 4 threaded application. (not 8 thread) then I am impressed. Otherwise it is rather pointless. besides I still prefer performance per core, we have been stucking @ ~3Ghz for a while and Performance per Ghz is only growing slowly. +10% from nehelem to Sandy bridge? Meh. |
May 22 2011, 10:06 AM
53 posts Joined: May 2011 From: perak |
hi guys,im wanna setup new rig..my plan to build intel sandy bridge system,im wanna ask better wait for review new amd proc or what..
May 22 2011, 10:42 AM
14,673 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
May 22 2011, 12:42 PM
319 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(bahrin @ May 22 2011, 10:06 AM) hi guys,im wanna setup new rig..my plan to build intel sandy bridge system,im wanna ask better wait for review new amd proc or what.. i think it is depending to yourself. what do you want. what do you need. is your budget enough? are you on rush? if you want to wait for a thing which is still not launch yet, then wait. if you want to get a thing which already sell, then grab it. you don't need to ask people's opinion for this. it is your money, you decide it is like you want to choose a car, or girlfriend. too many beautiful, nice looking, performance whatsoever. too many comparison cause headache, and after you choose you will feel some disappointed because it is still not satisfying you. |
| Change to: | 0.0325sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:36 AM |