124 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

stringfellow
post Oct 26 2010, 06:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Oct 26 2010, 06:33 PM)
i dont think it will be available for local retail shop
Read:Physical Apple Store. As in stores operated and owned by Apple themselves. I think it's a given that wouldn't happen here since Apple don't have a physical retail presence here other than APRs.
warlockimran
post Oct 26 2010, 07:01 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 26 2010, 03:59 PM)
permanently stuck, exactly like how u're stuck with the the memory of n ipod/ipad/iphone
Thanks for the answer. Damn, a bit sad at that fact, but strengthens my opinion that 128GB is the better option.

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Oct 26 2010, 04:12 PM)
it seems still some ppl against 64GB even we can pair it up with external HDD...
my laptop almost dead this evening and I thought I can buy a new one
but I dun have the guys to ask my parents to sponsor some money  laugh.gif
Yup I'm one of those. I believe in lean computing (put most stuff on external HDD), just that 64GB I feel is a bit low these days for basic computing. Unless you are very very diligent, applications and files can add up. Not to mention the OS itself eating up part of the storage. You end up always having to clean up and constantly monitor your usage, which can be a drag sometimes. Which is why I think 128GB paired with external HDD suits me nicely.

One thing we do have in common tho, my parents also not gonna sponsor me money lol

tzxsean
post Oct 26 2010, 07:23 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(warlockimran @ Oct 26 2010, 07:01 PM)
Thanks for the answer. Damn, a bit sad at that fact, but strengthens my opinion that 128GB is the better option.
Yup I'm one of those. I believe in lean computing (put most stuff on external HDD), just that 64GB I feel is a bit low these days for basic computing. Unless you are very very diligent, applications and files can add up. Not to mention the OS itself eating up part of the storage. You end up always having to clean up and constantly monitor your usage, which can be a drag sometimes. Which is why I think 128GB paired with external HDD suits me nicely.

One thing we do have in common tho, my parents also not gonna sponsor me money lol
well...im gonna sell out the iPod Touch i won in a contest when shipped to me.... lets say i can self contribute around 800-1000 ...i still need 3000 to buy 128gb MBA or MBP ... but 64GB MBA require lesser money therefore mayb easier to convince my parents...
warlockimran
post Oct 26 2010, 07:40 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Oct 26 2010, 07:23 PM)
well...im gonna sell out the iPod Touch i won in a contest when shipped to me.... lets say i can self contribute around 800-1000 ...i still need 3000 to buy 128gb MBA or MBP ... but 64GB MBA require lesser money therefore mayb easier to convince my parents...
You won iPod Touch in a contest? Awesome!

Sounds like a good plan. Enjoy your MBA man. Need a plan for myself now heh heh.
tzxsean
post Oct 26 2010, 07:45 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(warlockimran @ Oct 26 2010, 07:40 PM)
You won iPod Touch in a contest? Awesome!

Sounds like a good plan. Enjoy your MBA man. Need a plan for myself now heh heh.
well...got ppl won MBP!

err ..seriously my head is aching on finding out best plan for me. 3299 for 64gb mba or 3899 for 128gb mba/mbp doh.gif
Jing-leBelle
post Oct 26 2010, 07:49 PM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Oct 26 2010, 07:23 PM)
What about macbook white?
tzxsean
post Oct 26 2010, 07:54 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Oct 26 2010, 07:49 PM)
What about macbook white?
MBW currently is not under my consideration...some1 might need to convince me...lolx
if 64gb mba problem can be solved by external hdd then im more than happy
Goonerforever
post Oct 26 2010, 08:18 PM

141 posts

Gosh the mba here in uk are expensive compare to malaysia. Its 849 pounds for the base model. smile.gif smile.gif
warlockimran
post Oct 26 2010, 08:56 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Oct 26 2010, 07:54 PM)
MBW currently is not under my consideration...some1 might need to convince me...lolx
if 64gb mba problem can be solved by external hdd then im more than happy
I would still go for the MacBook Air over the MacBook White, such an awesome device and people will marvel at its thinness well until the next model comes out. You won't regret it.

I don't see problems with 64GB since you are aware of how you want to use it. Very usable when combined with external HDD.

1. One of the storage hogs will be iPhoto, so make sure your iPhoto library resides on the external HDD. Link below tells you how, although if you google it, there are plenty of threads on this:

http://basics4mac.com/article.php/move_iphoto_lib

2. Second, I think you are able to do the same with your music etc. You can keep your iTunes library on a hard drive as well.

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-12519_7-10242259-49.html

stringfellow
post Oct 26 2010, 09:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I've been living the MBA/Ext.HDD life since the first-gen MBA already. Since then my portable USB HDD have burgeoned up from 320GB-500GB-1TB now. Since my own media library had past the 4TB margin, I've since then adopted the "selective picking" of what should go where when it cones to my Macs/iPhone/iPad. It's even more critical on non-expandable storage devices like iPad and iPhone.

End result? Music and games/apps on iPhone, HD versions of the apps and latest episodes of TV shows and latest movies(HD or otherwise) and on the MBA, since Im not saddled with storage restriction(1TB USB HDD) I can go crazy with whatever I want to put in it.

Even better now that I've purchased the new AppleTV, that I can not only stream content to it, I can stream my media stored in my iTunes library on the 1TB USB HDD plugged to the MBA, to hotel HDTVs where I travel. All the while remaining extremely portable! (11.6" MBA, 1TB HDD powered by USB the size of a passport, AppleTV the size of a hockey puck, cables etc.) All fits inside the cabin luggage, for that matter! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 26 2010, 10:22 PM
shanecross
post Oct 26 2010, 09:33 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Has anyone ever tried to put more than 4gb ram in your MBW (Late 2009 model)

I just came across this. Anyone tried?

http://www.everymac.com/systems/by_capabil...ty-of-macs.html
NgYanFei
post Oct 26 2010, 09:53 PM

82 posts

Guys..I am not a heavy gamer.. I need a mac that I can play Warcraft and watching movies with it..Can MBA handle games? Or I should go for MP?
jianwei87
post Oct 26 2010, 10:03 PM

481 posts

Does anyone know how to run/burn and bin/cue?
mfitri77
post Oct 26 2010, 11:07 PM

1,167 posts

I wanted to get an Ipod Touch. I walked away with a Macbook Air. Bought it here, in Malaysia, just the one with the low end spec.

I don't think I'd go really crazy with the space, so just got myself the 64GB version. Testing it right now, while charging.

Hakkinen
post Oct 27 2010, 12:32 AM

83 posts

Macbook Air 11.6", Windows 7 via bootcamp

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
yujin86
post Oct 27 2010, 12:43 AM

1,736 posts

QUOTE(Hakkinen @ Oct 27 2010, 12:32 AM)
wad is ur win 7 score bro?
tzxsean
post Oct 27 2010, 01:07 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Hakkinen @ Oct 27 2010, 12:32 AM)

i assume urs is 128 gb?
Edoras
post Oct 27 2010, 07:50 AM

1,134 posts

Anyone here who have ordered their CTO MBA via Apple Store Malaysia and have their MBA shipped or delivered?
digilife
post Oct 27 2010, 09:07 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 26 2010, 09:14 PM)
I've been living the MBA/Ext.HDD life since the first-gen MBA already. Since then my portable USB HDD have burgeoned up from 320GB-500GB-1TB now. Since my own media library had past the 4TB margin, I've since then adopted the "selective picking" of what should go where when it cones to my Macs/iPhone/iPad. It's even more critical on non-expandable storage devices like iPad and iPhone.

End result? Music and games/apps on iPhone, HD versions of the apps and latest episodes of TV shows and latest movies(HD or otherwise) and on the MBA, since Im not saddled with storage restriction(1TB USB HDD) I can go crazy with whatever I want to put in it.

Even better now that I've purchased the new AppleTV, that I can not only stream content to it, I can stream my media stored in my iTunes library on the 1TB USB HDD plugged to the MBA, to hotel HDTVs where I travel. All the while remaining extremely portable! (11.6" MBA, 1TB HDD powered by USB the size of a passport, AppleTV the size of a hockey puck, cables etc.) All fits inside the cabin luggage, for that matter! biggrin.gif
care to elaborate how you set it up?

is the older version of Apple TV able too?

benny888
post Oct 27 2010, 09:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The folks over at Macworld might just have what you’ve been looking for — benchmark scores. The website has published benchmark results for all four variants of the new Air and as it turns out, all four outperformed previous generation models. The new 11.6-inch MacBook Air, even with its 1.4GHz processor, managed to outperform the older 2.13GHz Core 2 Duo models thanks to its speedy flash storage. The new 13.3-inch 1.86GHz model even managed to marginally outperform the current 13-inch MacBook Pro.

http://www.macworld.com/article/154596/201...benchmarks.html

124 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:54 AM