124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

HW-Racer
post Oct 26 2010, 12:00 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Oct 25 2010, 11:29 PM)
Correct me if i wrong...cant remember so much

Current MBA 13" 120GB sata at RM3.2k  compared with 11" MBA with 64GB flash both boot up.. of course MBA 11" had faster start-up.

But in term of bus speed MBA 13" is 1066MHZ 6mb L2 cache and MBA 11" is 800 mhz and only 2-3mb L2 cache.

then old MBA got backlit keyboard...newer version of MBA = NONE sad.gif

OLD MBA 1 X usb, old grahics board ,old touch pad , Newer version MBA 2 x USB ,New graphics card and new large touch pad and lastly of course..13" VS 11"  thumbup.gif
so your conclusion ?? cool2.gif
prazole
post Oct 26 2010, 01:13 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

after installing most stuff that i need to work on the go
iwork suite, photoshop lightroom vlc, transmission, facetime, 1.0gb of mp3s, some videos..
i have 45gb left
its not so bad la..
if i really want to load all my junk into it.. my 250 gb on my imac also not enuff
so i opted for external storange.. lacie 1.0 tb HDD as storage at home - where i store my massive amount of iphoto images & movies..
and 500gb ex hdd 2.5" on the go..

really how much space do you need?

This post has been edited by prazole: Oct 26 2010, 01:14 AM
tishaban
post Oct 26 2010, 03:37 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(prazole @ Oct 26 2010, 01:13 AM)
really how much space do you need?
Very true. I have close to 3TB across a few external drives at home, will probably pickup another 2TB external drive. The question is how much do you need at any one time. I made a conscious choice of not putting everything on internal drive.

Edoras
post Oct 26 2010, 07:30 AM

1,134 posts

But if we place our photos on the external drive, its hard to to do anything with iPhoto app when you want to see those photos, right?
Jing-leBelle
post Oct 26 2010, 08:17 AM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Oct 26 2010, 07:30 AM)
But if we place our photos on the external drive, its hard to to do anything with iPhoto app when you want to see those photos, right?
You can always plug in ur hdd whenever u switch on your MBA? Hehe..
chizzu
post Oct 26 2010, 11:08 AM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

is there any place where i can have a physical lookup on 11.6" Macbook Air? Can't convince myself unless i see the real thing. I miss the days where I can just pop into Apple store the day after keynote to have the look and feel of the new devices
cRazYee
post Oct 26 2010, 11:14 AM

2,642 posts

just tried new macbook air on Apple Store covent garden!
my heart is more into 11.6"
really lovely unit!
just read about performance benchmark scores, it seem 11.6" would be probably is wise choice!

DADDY! MY BIRTHDAY IS NEAR!

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 26 2010, 11:19 AM
rx330
post Oct 26 2010, 11:18 AM

11,808 posts

later go raba raba, but i think most of us with other apple products, sure keen on the 11" one...
prazole
post Oct 26 2010, 11:34 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

now accessories is a little slow..
haih need a proper case/bag..
marcus20125
post Oct 26 2010, 12:00 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Oct 26 2010, 11:08 AM)
is there any place where i can have a physical lookup on 11.6" Macbook Air? Can't convince myself unless i see the real thing. I miss the days where I can just pop into Apple store the day after keynote to have the look and feel of the new devices
Mac Studio should have ready stock

This post has been edited by marcus20125: Oct 26 2010, 12:01 PM
rx330
post Oct 26 2010, 03:34 PM

11,808 posts

those transparent type of sticker out for mba yet? wats tat brand liao ar?
Edoras
post Oct 26 2010, 03:39 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Oct 26 2010, 08:17 AM)
You can always plug in ur hdd whenever u switch on your MBA? Hehe..
Aiyo...don't you think its a hassle everytime need to plug into your MBA? hmm.gif
warlockimran
post Oct 26 2010, 03:49 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Oct 26 2010, 03:39 PM)
Aiyo...don't you think its a hassle everytime need to plug into your MBA? hmm.gif
In my opinion, 11.6 inch with 128GB is the best option. 64GB, even with moderate usage can be used up really easily, unless its really used for just surfing, emails etc.

If choosing the 11.6, my recommendation would be to go for the higher spec.

What I am wondering is, when the time comes, would it be possible to switch out the storage to say a 256GB assuming it becomes available, or are we permanently stuck with what the MBA comes with?

This post has been edited by warlockimran: Oct 26 2010, 03:51 PM
dvlzplayground
post Oct 26 2010, 03:59 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(warlockimran @ Oct 26 2010, 03:49 PM)
In my opinion, 11.6 inch with 128GB is the best option. 64GB, even with moderate usage can be used up really easily, unless its really used for just surfing, emails etc.

If choosing the 11.6, my recommendation would be to go for the higher spec.

What I am wondering is, when the time comes, would it be possible to switch out the storage to say a 256GB assuming it becomes available, or are we permanently stuck with what the MBA comes with?
permanently stuck, exactly like how u're stuck with the the memory of n ipod/ipad/iphone
tzxsean
post Oct 26 2010, 04:12 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 26 2010, 03:59 PM)
permanently stuck, exactly like how u're stuck with the the memory of n ipod/ipad/iphone
it seems still some ppl against 64GB even we can pair it up with external HDD...
my laptop almost dead this evening and I thought I can buy a new one
but I dun have the guys to ask my parents to sponsor some money laugh.gif
stringfellow
post Oct 26 2010, 04:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

There are reports from Macrumors forum members residing in San Francisco and New York stating that they've got what-is-supposed-to-be-custom-to-order 4GB RAM MBAs purchased in physical Apple Stores.

Times like these, I miss having Apple Stores nearby.

Here's the link:-http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1037003&page=2
JasonSky
post Oct 26 2010, 05:08 PM

Spectre
757 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 26 2010, 03:59 PM)
The teardown of the MBA on ifixit makes it look very easy to remove and replace the flash storage but the main problem is; will Apple sell larger flash storage separately.
xaw5126
post Oct 26 2010, 05:54 PM

3,488 posts

@JasonSky its not trivial to take apart, much less re-assemble a 2010 MBA, and Apple usually doesn't sell the CTO parts separately.

the MBA 2010 SSD is a custom engineered board, so off-the-shelf SSD will not only not fit, they also probably will not work.

anyone feel like spending RM5K to prove me wrong? biggrin.gif
wei
post Oct 26 2010, 06:02 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

I won't be surprise if the price to order the drive separately might cost half of a MBA. I got a quote for 2.5" 160GB SATA drive for RM900+.
marcus20125
post Oct 26 2010, 06:33 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 26 2010, 04:56 PM)
There are reports from Macrumors forum members residing in San Francisco and New York stating that they've got  what-is-supposed-to-be-custom-to-order 4GB RAM MBAs purchased in physical Apple Stores.

Times like these, I miss having Apple Stores nearby.

Here's the link:-http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1037003&page=2
i dont think it will be available for local retail shop

124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:36 PM