Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy

dlct87
post Dec 6 2010, 02:52 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Dec 6 2010, 02:45 PM)
I am a terran player, recently i play a tournament for gold below, my 2nd opponent just went 4 gate and sent observer in my base.

When i go 1/1/1 and drop my 2 tanks on his cliff, he push all his armies to my base. Cause the observer tells him all i have though i walled.

It is worth to spend a raven just to fence off that observer? Raven is so costly.
What is effective counter to 4 gate in a big map?
tanks is not working well cause by that time his zealot will have speed upgraded, taking my marines down together on splash damage.
I cant do a good timing attack considering a big map travel distance.
Any tips?
Raven is good in your army mix for the pdd against stalkers

my play is always move my army out, then station them at the watch tower, then scout, and push further forward until i met his defense line (usually i push out at 12-14 mins mark), while continuously produce units, and contain him (i've started to put banshee in the army mix as well, work out quite good so far)
mules
post Dec 6 2010, 03:07 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Dec 6 2010, 03:52 PM)
Raven is good in your army mix for the pdd against stalkers

my play is always move my army out, then station them at the watch tower, then scout, and push further forward until i met his defense line (usually i push out at 12-14 mins mark), while continuously produce units, and contain him (i've started to put banshee in the army mix as well, work out quite good so far)
You doing polt timing attack ? He is making 4 gate, he should be able to wipe u clean cause he didnt go colossus and furthermore he can warp in units while your units have to travel all the way in a big map.

I own him with just 4 barrack stim marine rush in game 2 but in big map i just cant do that.
With that observer he knows what you have and even if you FE he will know and thus he can attack at that perfect timing. If i do make raven, i felt i wasted too much just to kill that tiny bee observer.

Meh, i guess MMM turtle expand mode is the only way
gladfly
post Dec 6 2010, 03:11 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Dec 6 2010, 03:07 PM)
You doing polt timing attack ?  He is making 4 gate, he should be able to wipe u clean cause he didnt go colossus and furthermore he can warp in units while your units have to travel all the way in a big map. 

I own him with just 4 barrack stim marine rush in game 2 but in big map i just cant do that. 
With that observer he knows what you have and even if you FE he will know and thus he can attack at that perfect timing.  If i do make raven, i felt i wasted too much just to kill that tiny bee observer.

Turret right in the middle of your base..? basically just 2 startegic turrets is ideal but..then..200mins for static build is not worth it ..go raven its better. And yes raven..is essential for TVP.. 4 gate...if he Dts..you are practically at his mercy..

You can see the obs..juts place rines and scan..pow..
westley0214
post Dec 6 2010, 03:13 PM

860 posts

You doing polt timing attack ?  He is making 4 gate, he should be able to wipe u clean cause he didnt go colossus and furthermore he can warp in units while your units have to travel all the way in a big map. 

With that observer he knows what you have and even if you FE he will know and thus he can attack at that perfect timing.  If i do make raven, i felt i wasted too much just to kill that tiny bee observer.

just put two bunkers and you'll be fine against 4 gates and freely tech-up to whatever you want.
dlct87
post Dec 6 2010, 03:21 PM

474 posts

well which is why i move out, then camp at mid way between his attack route and mine (unless he did a detour , but usually the watch tower will cover most of the viable route), for me the first wave is most crucial (since both will clash on full force), if you looses, fall back to your base, and rebuild, if you manage to hold on the first wave, then continue moving towards his base

as for the early pressure, wall in + bunkers will be enough, and his obs usually will be placed on your unit production structures, and yah, mobile detector is more useful than static one (plus raven can cast pdd and turrets)

and intel on what he is building is important as it will give you time to prepare for it rather than surprise you during the skirmishes
smartleader
post Dec 6 2010, 04:24 PM

317 posts

Guys, any solid build to stop DT rush? I just can't find one that can actually works well for me.
westley0214
post Dec 6 2010, 04:53 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(smartleader @ Dec 6 2010, 04:24 PM)
Guys, any solid build to stop DT rush? I just can't find one that can actually works well for me.
1-1-1 build, and make a Raven if you sense that it's coming. Even if opponent is not going for DT, your Raven is still useful for it's PDD.
quest_5692
post Dec 6 2010, 05:25 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

-mule, get raven. raven is just as good as ghost in tvp....its essential....observer is like maphack...and if u kill one, its 100 gas 100 mineral gone for him, 2 observers and you earn urself back the cost of raven. not to mention PDD = no stalker. not to mention you can play mass cloak banshee because they have no observer. not to mention you can deny DT.

omg, i mentioned too much....raven is the coconut of tvp. 101 usages.

and.......u need 1 only. 1-1-1, 1st unit raven, then continuous banshee production =)
jeffvip
post Dec 7 2010, 10:59 PM

134 posts

Life is gonna more difficult for Terran player as both Toss and Zerg getting buff every patch... Observer is so cost effective in 1.2, and every scan of Terran cost 300 mineral, U bet Terran will be the one who suffer the most after patch 1.2
mules
post Dec 8 2010, 09:25 PM

104 posts

time to join the swarm....
ff7yta
post Dec 11 2010, 12:33 AM

Rookie
1,091 posts

QUOTE(jeffvip @ Dec 7 2010, 10:59 PM)
Life is gonna more difficult for Terran player as both Toss and Zerg getting buff every patch... Observer is so cost effective in 1.2, and every scan of Terran cost 300 mineral, U bet Terran will be the one who suffer the most after patch 1.2
Every scan of Terran costs 300 minerals? I havent seen this before wo
westley0214
post Dec 11 2010, 12:35 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Dec 11 2010, 12:33 AM)
Every scan of Terran costs 300 minerals? I havent seen this before wo
More exact way to put it would be 280 minerals over 90 secs. If you can save the scan you can call down a Mule.

This post has been edited by westley0214: Dec 11 2010, 12:36 AM
quest_5692
post Dec 12 2010, 12:07 AM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

but it actually cost alot because Terran build scv slower than probe and drone....by ALOT, i mean build time. so terran is at a natural disadvantage without mule, u need mule to even out with other race....
Pakcik_Abu
post Dec 12 2010, 01:39 PM

Ni pakcik nak tanya ni. Yang complain pasal mule ni, "300" sana "300" sini, scv tu buat non-stop sampai cukup tak? Late game, duit tu bawah 1000 tak? Pakcik tengok la kan, low diamond pun ada yg float lepas midgame. Ni yang complain ni ada yang diamond pun tak sampai lagi.

Sorry la kalau pakcik tak cakap omputih, pakcik sekolah sampai tingkatan 5 je.
ricardoizecson
post Dec 12 2010, 02:50 PM

83 posts

but it actually cost alot because Terran build scv slower than probe and drone....by ALOT, i mean build time. so terran is at a natural disadvantage without mule, u need mule to even out with other race....

dude get ur facts straight b4 posting non-sense.

This post has been edited by ricardoizecson: Dec 12 2010, 02:56 PM
quest_5692
post Dec 12 2010, 09:36 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

QUOTE(ricardoizecson @ Dec 12 2010, 02:50 PM)
dude get ur facts straight b4 posting non-sense.
with chronoboost and stockpile larvae, why not.
smartleader
post Dec 12 2010, 10:18 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Dec 12 2010, 09:36 PM)
with chronoboost and stockpile larvae, why not.
MULEs are kinda imba, check the Team Liquid forum, there's a thread that 4 mules on a base would potentially on par or better than a saturated mining base. But still, there is other usefulness of the energy like Scanning and Extra Supply.

IMO, MULE should be nerf a little bit. If by normal producing, for sure Terran is far behind the other 2 races for sure, Chrono and Spawn Larva is imba if there is no MULE.
gladfly
post Dec 13 2010, 01:00 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(smartleader @ Dec 12 2010, 10:18 PM)
MULEs are kinda imba, check the Team Liquid forum, there's a thread that 4 mules on a base would potentially on par or better than a saturated mining base. But still, there is other usefulness of the energy like Scanning and Extra Supply.

IMO, MULE should be nerf a little bit. If by normal producing, for sure Terran is far behind the other 2 races for sure, Chrono and Spawn Larva is imba if there is no MULE.
I dont think mule is imba. Cause without mule as your correctly pointed out, chrono probes and inject larvea would steam other races ahead if T dont have mule. But we forget that T have to sacrifice early mins for mule. 150 mins to convert CC to OC. That already sets T behind. So mule is to catch up. I think its fair. Stockpile larvae doesnt cost anything. Chrono boost cost 25, much cheaper than 150 mins.

Yes 4 mules is IMBA. But if you allow you opponent to 4 mule..who is at fault? Same goes if you let zerg stockpile drones...if let Zerg drone whoring they will swarm you sooner or later..

T has been continously nerfed from day 1. If Mule is nerfed...then SCV build time should decrease a little to balance it out.

This post has been edited by gladfly: Dec 13 2010, 01:01 PM
westley0214
post Dec 13 2010, 01:06 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 13 2010, 01:00 PM)
I dont think mule is imba. Cause without mule as your correctly pointed out, chrono probes and inject larvea would steam other races ahead if T dont have mule. But we forget that T have to sacrifice early mins for mule. 150 mins to convert CC to OC. That already sets T behind. So mule is to catch up. I think its fair. Stockpile larvae doesnt cost anything. Chrono boost cost 25, much cheaper than 150 mins.

Yes 4 mules is IMBA. But if you allow you opponent to 4 mule..who is at fault? Same goes if you let zerg stockpile drones...if let Zerg drone whoring they will swarm you sooner or later..

T has been continously nerfed from day 1. If Mule is nerfed...then SCV build time should decrease a little to balance it out.
Honestly, nobody is at fault. With just two OCs you can easily call down 4 mules while each OC is at 100 energy. How's your opponent going to stop you from getting 4 mules? Use a Ghost to continuously cloak in and EMP Round both your OCs?
gladfly
post Dec 13 2010, 01:19 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Dec 13 2010, 01:06 PM)
Honestly, nobody is at fault. With just two OCs you can easily call down 4 mules while each OC is at 100 energy. How's your opponent going to stop you from getting 4 mules? Use a Ghost to continuously cloak in and EMP Round both your OCs?
Hahaha...but if you can deny T additional OC, then how to 4 mule? Force T to make PF rather than OC. Not true?

If u just let T happily mine the exp with OC..then who is at fault? Keep harrasing and deny the OC exp. Unless T makes a few OC and turtle 1 base, then its not your fault. T is hardest to exp, and to do so safely..they have to sacrifice a lot, cost and force. So muleing lets the T earn back the investment for exp.

eg- safe exp =PF but no mule. If want OC, T have to set up D. No warp gates or instant larvea= force for T. So its quite expansive investment for T. So mule would allow T to recoup some of the investment back.

I think thats fair.
nod.gif

124 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:05 PM