Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy
Aura
Nov 29 2010, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Nov 29 2010, 05:27 PM) u need to buy time with harrassment till ur mech play can kick in (u definitely need 4 gas) MMM is still all good. mech play against mutaling shud be, when u have a critical mass or thor to kill their muta force, just 1A to their base with all your thors with you....to force enemy to engage you str8 on. and they will lose. they can only choose to base trade where mech can pick up buildings faster. Yeap.... I think smartleader din buy enuf time.... which is why I stated that hellions + thors is a high risk build.... For me, I'll still go for MmM strat and transition to anything which counters Zerg tech..... I think it is much safer to do this than to go for mech build unless u hav good micro skills....
smartleader
Nov 29 2010, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 29 2010, 05:31 PM) Yeap.... I think smartleader din buy enuf time.... which is why I stated that hellions + thors is a high risk build.... For me, I'll still go for MmM strat and transition to anything which counters Zerg tech..... I think it is much safer to do this than to go for mech build unless u hav good micro skills.... Seriously, did you encounter any good Zerg player before? I just lose 3 matchups with Zerg and meh, nothing works again them, magic box just kill your Thor like a piece of cake.
ROTiJOHN
Nov 29 2010, 05:48 PM
pressure them with your rines, then try go fast banshee/ thor
evofantasy
Nov 29 2010, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 29 2010, 05:42 PM) Seriously, did you encounter any good Zerg player before? I just lose 3 matchups with Zerg and meh, nothing works again them, magic box just kill your Thor like a piece of cake. that's y u need marines... marines > magic box
smartleader
Nov 29 2010, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Nov 29 2010, 05:48 PM) pressure them with your rines, then try go fast banshee/ thor I did that in 1 of the matchup, not really effective, even though I did the damage before all my rines get killed. Every match up against Z, you probably don't need to scout anymore, the answer is always Muta+Bane+Speedling, end of story.
Aura
Nov 29 2010, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 29 2010, 05:42 PM) Seriously, did you encounter any good Zerg player before? I just lose 3 matchups with Zerg and meh, nothing works again them, magic box just kill your Thor like a piece of cake. I play with a very good Zerg player every time.... He also told me that hellions + thors are very deadly to Zerg.... As I've said, this build is very risky.... If u fail, u will be over-run by the ur opponent unless ur opponent took a very deadly blow as u, then nvm.... And yes, u still need marines earlier on to buy u some time.... Added on November 29, 2010, 5:51 pmQUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Nov 29 2010, 05:48 PM) pressure them with your rines, then try go fast banshee/ thor Aiyo... Ur style always like that one la.... HAHAHA!!! This post has been edited by Aura: Nov 29 2010, 05:52 PM
smartleader
Nov 29 2010, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 29 2010, 05:51 PM) I play with a very good Zerg player every time.... He also told me that hellions + thors are very deadly to Zerg.... As I've said, this build is very risky.... If u fail, u will be over-run by the ur opponent unless ur opponent took a very deadly blow as u, then nvm.... And yes, u still need marines earlier on to buy u some time.... Added on November 29, 2010, 5:51 pmAiyo... Ur style always like that one la.... HAHAHA!!!  Speedlings deny rines in early game? No? Considering how fast they can get the speed upgrade.
ROTiJOHN
Nov 29 2010, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 29 2010, 05:51 PM) I play with a very good Zerg player every time.... He also told me that hellions + thors are very deadly to Zerg.... As I've said, this build is very risky.... If u fail, u will be over-run by the ur opponent unless ur opponent took a very deadly blow as u, then nvm.... And yes, u still need marines earlier on to buy u some time.... Added on November 29, 2010, 5:51 pmAiyo... Ur style always like that one la.... HAHAHA!!!  yalo, but effective le, just micro the marines. if he go mass lings to prevent ur rines, that means he gets muta slower, by that time u can harass with ur banshee or push with thor already. kekeke Added on November 29, 2010, 5:59 pmQUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 29 2010, 05:55 PM) Speedlings deny rines in early game? No? Considering how fast they can get the speed upgrade. micro ur rines, pull the front rines backward. This post has been edited by ROTiJOHN: Nov 29 2010, 05:59 PM
Aura
Nov 29 2010, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 29 2010, 05:55 PM) Speedlings deny rines in early game? No? Considering how fast they can get the speed upgrade. QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Nov 29 2010, 05:57 PM) micro ur rines, pull the front rines backward. @smartleader: Ur answer is as above.... Micro ur marines.... Kite the zerglings and prevent them from surrounding u.....
smartleader
Nov 29 2010, 06:55 PM
Will try it out, thanks guys. Damn it lose a TvT, the opponent is like pumping Viking non-stop, crazy enough.
gladfly
Nov 29 2010, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 29 2010, 06:55 PM) Will try it out, thanks guys. Damn it lose a TvT, the opponent is like pumping Viking non-stop, crazy enough. Huh? Vikings only? How can win..unless the dreaded vikings and tanks? hehehe.. If vikings and tanks... you go vikings and BC la...sapu the tanks
smartleader
Nov 29 2010, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(gladfly @ Nov 29 2010, 07:03 PM) Huh? Vikings only? How can win..unless the dreaded vikings and tanks? hehehe.. If vikings and tanks... you go vikings and BC la...sapu the tanks Haha, ya, with the tanks of course, if not why TvT is all about Air Advantage? BC is kinda hard really, Viking can kite them pretty easy.
ROTiJOHN
Nov 29 2010, 09:38 PM
thats why i don like long game vs terran, surely go for viking and tanks, then camp at base. we really need something different hahaha
quest_5692
Nov 29 2010, 09:51 PM
well, how do u define good zerg, from ur sig ranking, i shud be somewhere near you and my best match up is tvp, then tvz and worst is tvt. mutaling is quite easy to coutner no matter you go mech route or pure marine route...if he got more than 15 muta, its your fault then. if not, normally 1st wave of muta is <5 by 8-9 minute mark. that can be handle easily....even by 1 rax constantly producing rine could have 20rines by then.
owh ya......i hate tvt cuz i hate tank and vikings....i used to play defaulto tank vikings and now i hate it so much i tell myself not to do it. i just stim push my enemy and if i lose i just tap out the game cuz u cant play catch u pgame wif tank and viking counts. its just so annoying...and dragginggggggggggg btr play wif zerg or protoss.
smartleader
Nov 29 2010, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Nov 29 2010, 09:51 PM) well, how do u define good zerg, from ur sig ranking, i shud be somewhere near you and my best match up is tvp, then tvz and worst is tvt. mutaling is quite easy to coutner no matter you go mech route or pure marine route...if he got more than 15 muta, its your fault then. if not, normally 1st wave of muta is <5 by 8-9 minute mark. that can be handle easily....even by 1 rax constantly producing rine could have 20rines by then. owh ya......i hate tvt cuz i hate tank and vikings....i used to play defaulto tank vikings and now i hate it so much i tell myself not to do it. i just stim push my enemy and if i lose i just tap out the game cuz u cant play catch u pgame wif tank and viking counts. its just so annoying...and dragginggggggggggg btr play wif zerg or protoss. Same, here TvP is my best matchup, while TvT and TvZ is somewhere between. True, TvT is really all about tanks and vikings now.
ROTiJOHN
Nov 30 2010, 09:45 AM
TVZ is ok for me, TVT is kinda tricky, u have to do a fake teclab for your starport, and make him waste money on antiair.
gladfly
Nov 30 2010, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 29 2010, 07:25 PM) Haha, ya, with the tanks of course, if not why TvT is all about Air Advantage? BC is kinda hard really, Viking can kite them pretty easy. Not that hard actually...you also go vikings ma..somemore u got advantage as you only upgrade air armour and attack. Once you have like 6 BC..slowly go out..kill viking + turrets+ marines first and slowly pick up the undefended tanks lo.. that what I'll do when faced with vikings +tanks
thejols
Nov 30 2010, 01:12 PM

observing a lot of current trend nowadays, and i can say Foxer style is the most time/cost effective. dual rax rush with scv meatshield, its not all-in. slow down zerg economy, or even lucky deny fast expo. and around that time enable urself to expo, build more rax, starport, factory to continue the traditional MMM-tank. Bling not really a big deal (unless its hit! lol) with marauder tanking and marine micro. yeah minimize the loss of marine.
against hi lvl zerg i just manage to some little dmg with mech. very less marine, slow build/movement thor, not soo effective hellion, late expansion and weak defense against mutalisk.
jeffvip
Nov 30 2010, 04:33 PM

Any idea how to effectively use this baby in sc2? During the times of SC:BW, ppl will almost will type down 'gg' when they saw this emperor of the sky. In SC2, ppl will just laugh at you when u produce BattleCruiser. Marine and Vikings will simply pawn this unit with no sweat. Heart brake to saw this ultimate Terran unit reduce to ashes (same things applied to Protoss's Carrier)
Soul-X
Nov 30 2010, 04:37 PM

Well maybe they need a slight buff? who knows?