Terran Strategy discussion V 1.0, The Last Mankind on Galaxy
dlct87
Nov 10 2010, 12:47 AM
finally played the placement matches (1W4L) lol....didn't played SC before and straight into ladder....so the strat just ikut suka hati lol
first 2 placement played with Zerg...bad mistake to choose this race considering i am a totally newbie to SC...then switch to terran now...
sigh still a long way to go to learn and hopefully play some decent game
dlct87
Nov 10 2010, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 10 2010, 03:44 AM) i normally scout ahead. If he my opp has early pool then i would get tht wall up really fast. Rax n depo. If its possible let ur scv stick around n see if he drops a roach warren. So u could prepare a bunker fr tht. Those cockroaches cn actually shoot up d ramp nw. Added on November 10, 2010, 3:46 amToss is actually easy fr beginners to learn d mechanics of the game. Added on November 10, 2010, 3:50 amhmm id rather do a timing attack then to harass mineral line with banshees.. Good players almost always hv 1 observer in base.. really? why you say so then?
dlct87
Nov 10 2010, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 10 2010, 10:31 AM) i would say that terran is the easiest race to pickup due to the similarity of their mechanics with other RTS... Added on November 10, 2010, 10:32 amrevealing ur banshee is asking for more observers as well... of course if u can time ur banshee rite to be in his base when his obs is on the way to ur base u can use it for harassment... or u can harass if u make sure ur banshee doesn't die (only some maps though in fact) sigh its still tough for me to play in the league...always forgetting to execute things like building more structures, SCVs, and harassment....its not that i don't know these stuffs, just that when playing, they tend to slip by me
dlct87
Nov 10 2010, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(tjinn @ Nov 10 2010, 10:54 AM) reapers will go down faster than banshees. N we cnt rax b4 depo nw. Means no fast reapers either. Nt to mention tht the speed upgrade requires a factory. I personally use reapers fr recon. See wt my opponent is teching up to. Added on November 10, 2010, 10:56 amGet a training partner. It will significantly help u improve ur game. none of my friends is playing, and asking others to spend their time just to improve me is not my policy(it feels like i am wasting their time)....
dlct87
Nov 13 2010, 12:16 PM
got 1 question, how to deal with zerg's mass muta ball? quite annoying when they just use it to dance between your base and expansion....and sometimes the ball is just so huge that they will brute force the turrets..
i know early harassment is an option, but i am still very new to this game, and still struggling to master the basic build...
dlct87
Nov 13 2010, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 13 2010, 01:14 PM) jz go attack and kill him... force his muta to go back and def his base (even nada did the same after a while)... while u mass up to a death ball jz get thors + marines with stim (and some medics)... if he doesnt magic box his muta, ur thor would be supreme... if he does, ur marines will pew pew all the mutas... thanks for the advice probably my sense of the timing of my attack is still off (partly also because scare he will attack my base lol) any tips to improve on this?
dlct87
Nov 13 2010, 01:56 PM
so the best way is to move out attacking his base, forcing him to retreat to protect it right? i will try it later...however vikings are still needed i think, if he goes broodlord (or just finish him off before he got the chance)
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 01:40 AM
how to defend against the toss who send his probe to my base basically from the very first second of the game (for cannon rush)? need to run my worker around the base for EVERY match-ups against toss?
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(jeffvip @ Nov 26 2010, 08:33 AM) Basically what I do is put a Supply Depot in front of the ramp. If I saw a probe come inside, follow him with SCV the probe reach my base before the timing of my supply depot (blistering sands)
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(Felix123 @ Nov 26 2010, 09:58 AM) be careful for baneling if u use depot on the ramp.  lol toss don't have banelings i just wanna know how you guys will deal with this kind of situation?
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 01:05 PM
well thanks for the advise guys...i guess my flaw here is too slack in the early game (meaning from the first sec till rax....didn't scout enough IN my base....)
This post has been edited by dlct87: Nov 26 2010, 01:05 PM
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 26 2010, 01:53 PM) Happen to me once, didn't scout my base and learn from that. Get a couple of rax, he would not have much force due to the canon rush, get some Marines and Marauders and get em and your buildings to the toss base, took the toss base and you're good to go again. lol basically that's what i did, only thing is i run my CC to my natural and rebuild from there and have my units defend from his cannon advance and the choke points...then attack when i have enough forces, quite lucky though the opponent isn't that good as well  Added on November 26, 2010, 2:00 pmQUOTE(Felix123 @ Nov 26 2010, 01:56 PM) for ur addition information, if u vs zerg. if i am playing as terran in 1v1, i will replace my walling system by barrack & factory. oh ya, do u know who actually i am?  lol but the early walling definitely needed a depot hmm....in another forum (cari.com.my) there is a user with a similar name, same person? This post has been edited by dlct87: Nov 26 2010, 02:00 PM
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(Felix123 @ Nov 26 2010, 02:02 PM) remember scout for his base too, if u saw a probe is walking in ur base. let a scv go after him, at least u will know if he going to plant canon. or else u may build bunker nearby ur base as wat the frend mentioned in previous post. Added on November 26, 2010, 2:03 pmyaya, i am the felix who same day same month and yr as u in cari forum  ya i have no problem following probes when i saw one, but the one that come from the very first sec, needs extra effort to run around my base (since i am not even starting to build my depot, and the probe already chilling in the corner of my base ==) to spot it...so i guess needs to work on it a bit
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 05:35 PM
hmm i can't seem to win on Scrap Station lol, mostly due to unsure of whenis the correct timing to attack (long walking distance+scared the drop,air harass)....any tips on this?
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(gladfly @ Nov 26 2010, 07:25 PM) haha..I like Scrap station..cause..I'll just "long walking distance+scared the drop,air harass" my opponent. The answer my friend is in your question. Just do what you are scared to face... Toss: 2gate Robo Terran:111 quick drop Zerg: Air harras my 2 cents  thanks, i am terran, so i guess 111 drop is the way then by quick drop, meaning only rax unit? follow by tanks and other stuffs? or there's other composition which is more effective?
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Nov 26 2010, 08:40 PM) scrap station is my worst map against zerg. but u almost must do 1-1-1 with drops. what i like recently is to float my factory to the hidden space at his natural expansion, u will noe wat i mean and mass helions there. then mass drop with infantries. marauder to snipe tech structure and rines to kill drone and queen. till he fed up and deadly push you, a few tank + bunker to guard your ramp. but i always lose to an even zerg on scrap station. something about polt timing is, protoss almost 90% will go gate robo build against terran cuz scared clock banshee. and polt timing rapes gate robo build. and about the early cannon rush, bro, u send your scv to build supply depotĀ at ramp at 9 food right? den ur 10th food run around ur base once. thats more than enuf. and dun tell me u have other better things to do in the 1st 2 minutes of the game. instead of spamming sssssssss go run 1 round den only go scout enemy. yea, which i said i was too slack during those early minutes lol....being running my scv around ever since and thanks for the drop tactics, will try later if got Scrap Stations later again  erm and i assume the drop is also applicable to other race (vs toss/terran) right? This post has been edited by dlct87: Nov 26 2010, 08:59 PM
dlct87
Nov 26 2010, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Nov 26 2010, 09:44 PM) warp gate drop is deadly with emulat HT and DT but they come very late and very rare cuz cost alot of gas to reach there. (warp gate + speed oso very expensive). baneling drops are quite rare...actually i rarely encountered but when they come, its wtfbbq what i mean is if i as terran use the drop tactics on toss/another terran, still will succeed as when use against zerg right?
dlct87
Nov 28 2010, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(smartleader @ Nov 28 2010, 09:12 PM) Don't know how to upload it, lol. Any ideas for that? Oh ya, Baneling as well in the composition, perhaps siege tank is the answer for this? just upload to those hosting websites, megaupload, hotfile etc etc
dlct87
Nov 30 2010, 07:02 PM
damn still can't decide when to expand....
since now all my match-ups are
i make a small force (tank,marine,medivac), then push out...and normally will win from there by just containing +reinforcing....
but its just bronze league...and i know it will almost fail against higher level players
This post has been edited by dlct87: Nov 30 2010, 07:04 PM