125 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

The Zerg Strategy v1.0, Cheer for the overmind!

max_cavalera
post Nov 7 2011, 07:25 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhoo @ Nov 7 2011, 07:40 PM)
haha.. okay.. thank you
positioning of ur army is key. always get hold of xel naga tower. when they started push out don't defend just outside ur base, by then the tanks already sieged and they soft contained you.....they r quite vulnerable when tanks unsiege and on the way to ur base. try to engaged in the middle of the map. spreading ur creep is key to vision. if possible don't overcommit ur lings outside creep. see how stephano defend his early macro built. create good choke point at ur ramp(evo chamber) with queens nearby or roach guarding so its hard for hellions to runby. place strategic spine crawler, extra queens for banshee posibilties. as long as can defend early timing push from terran. zerg will get ahead.
yuvster
post Nov 7 2011, 08:25 PM

377 posts

Watch replays.. or Day9.. helps a lot
alvinkhoo
post Nov 8 2011, 09:32 AM

Will try hard and thanks guy..
xcen
post Nov 8 2011, 09:46 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(yuvster @ Nov 6 2011, 04:34 PM)
I don't think that's fully true.. Apparently to create the Viper you must have a Spire down, and the spire actually takes some time to finish, so if I get DT rushed, I'll still have to go out of my way to build a Spire, then create a Viper to be my detector (or make one of my units a detector). Also, the Viper is not cheap at 100/200. All in all though, the Viper is gonna create some effing awesome combo plays. Fungal+Cloud=Uber fun.
Viper needs spire? Then Zerg practically cannot do any early timing push already if protoss gets a good scout, they can put down the dark shrine immediately and a few DTs will be able to fend off aggression.

Plus, toss timing push with stalkers + DTs can be deadly. They can snipe the spores with the stalkers and DTs can handle the rest.
yuvster
post Nov 8 2011, 04:35 PM

377 posts

At least thats what I remember from watching the video from Blizzcon but I could be wrong. Either way, DT rush against Z will become a norm.. I don't like DTs.. Kill my lings with 1 hit.. Retarded..
evofantasy
post Nov 8 2011, 04:53 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yuvster @ Nov 8 2011, 04:35 PM)
At least thats what I remember from watching the video from Blizzcon but I could be wrong. Either way, DT rush against Z will become a norm.. I don't like DTs.. Kill my lings with 1 hit.. Retarded..
u need lair only, dun need spire
and it comes from larvae

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Nov 8 2011, 04:54 PM
yuvster
post Nov 8 2011, 11:13 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 8 2011, 04:53 PM)
u need lair only, dun need spire
and it comes from larvae
Thanks for the info, it seems you're right but still, a mobile detector which costs 200 gas is still quite hardcore, don't you think? Either way, I feel like discussing right now would be somewhat pointless unless we try our hands at it.. Oh, has anyone tried out the custom maps for HotS yet? Any feedback?
evofantasy
post Nov 9 2011, 01:49 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yuvster @ Nov 8 2011, 11:13 PM)
Thanks for the info, it seems you're right but still, a mobile detector which costs 200 gas is still quite hardcore, don't you think? Either way, I feel like discussing right now would be somewhat pointless unless we try our hands at it.. Oh, has anyone tried out the custom maps for HotS yet? Any feedback?
basically it is not just a detector...
it can inject a unit and turn tat unit into a detector (which is really good)...
remember the bisu build? with the introduction of tempest, overseers aint gonna survive and DTs will jz rape ur ground...
thus u can inject any ground unit and make it a detector...
work the same for the infamous 2 port banshee/viking TvZ...

and dun forget about the OPcloud tat it has...
tat skill alone is worth getting since it negate all rage attacks and silence as well =p
xcen
post Nov 9 2011, 09:44 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Ah, if it's Lair only then it's reasonable. 200 gas is a serious price at start, before you're able to macro up an army, but I think it's reasonable considering its late-game potential.
keretapir
post Nov 9 2011, 10:44 AM

rampant public indecency
1,143 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 9 2011, 01:49 AM)
basically it is not just a detector...
it can inject a unit and turn tat unit into a detector (which is really good)...
remember the bisu build? with the introduction of tempest, overseers aint gonna survive and DTs will jz rape ur ground...
thus u can inject any ground unit and make it a detector...
work the same for the infamous 2 port banshee/viking TvZ...

and dun forget about the OPcloud tat it has...
tat skill alone is worth getting since it negate all rage attacks and silence as well =p
i thought this skill is only 1 use? like those spider mines for vultures in brood war.3 mines,& thats it.
yuvster
post Nov 9 2011, 11:53 AM

377 posts

Yeah, though if you think about it, the ideal force of Vipers and Infestors will be a somewhat impossible task to achieve considering the number of vespene geysers you'll need to have.. I reckon anything below 3 bases will be impossible to Fungal+Cloud..

Does the cloud affect flying units as well?
evofantasy
post Nov 9 2011, 01:39 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(keretapir @ Nov 9 2011, 10:44 AM)
i thought this skill is only 1 use? like those spider mines for vultures in brood war.3 mines,& thats it.
yeah it is once only but think about it - using it on burrowed units etc...
basically it is a better detector than the overseer...

QUOTE(yuvster @ Nov 9 2011, 11:53 AM)
Yeah, though if you think about it, the ideal force of Vipers and Infestors will be a somewhat impossible task to achieve considering the number of vespene geysers you'll need to have.. I reckon anything below 3 bases will be impossible to Fungal+Cloud..

Does the cloud affect flying units as well?
should affect if i am nt mistaken
keretapir
post Nov 9 2011, 02:11 PM

rampant public indecency
1,143 posts

oh,how i would love to have the overlords as detectors just like in BW...
100 minerals well-spent ... biggrin.gif
nagflar
post Nov 9 2011, 03:16 PM

1,813 posts

I've got a TvZ build that will easily autowin even agaisnt Z high diamonds like 90% of the time:

- 10 depot 11 rax (block bottom)
- 13 gas, pump 2 marines then make reactor then pump more marines
- make CC as soon as you have 400 minerals.
- double factories as soon as you have 300/200, make second gas.
- pump 4-6 hellions, slowly float your CC to natural with marines and bunkers, hellions go out and harass.
- make two more factories and armory.
- around 10 minutes, make 2-3 turrets behind each mineral line.
- pump as many thors and hellions as you can, research blue flame.
- once you reach around 13 - 14 minutes, group all your thors and hellions and marines with 12 SCVs autorepairing and attack zerg base.
- win

any one got counter for this . ?

terran claim they got 80% win rate against Zerg.

sigh . easy but strong built .
badtooth
post Nov 9 2011, 03:20 PM

http://www.twitch.tv/badtooth

Streaming Zerg play for those who are interested.
SiewKaiz
post Nov 9 2011, 03:29 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Nov 9 2011, 03:16 PM)

i though 90%?
evofantasy
post Nov 9 2011, 03:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

u gotta be aware there is no such thing as a perfect build in starcraft 2 and likewise there is no 'hard counters'...
that's the beauty of sc2...
the first mistake in his build is forcing the build right from the start of the game...
and that build isn't really optimal for the style he is going...

assuming u are opening a 14pool 15hatch you should have a really easy time to drone up while scouting...
i dun think u can do the 1 depot 1 rax block at the btm of ramp nowadays anymore...
even if he did, tat is quite a big risk having a reactor at the btm of map which is pretty much free scouting for u...

so what do u respond when u see a reactor rax?
depending on map, u can drone up and get a bling nest to prepare...
with good creep spread, u can usually hold off such aggression (and scouting of course)...

by now u should have a OL flying into his base looking at the gasses as well as his tech (suicide 1-2 OLs to scout) since all u see is marines...
judging from his quicker expo (u should have lings at the natural) u can say that his gas is delayed thus he wont have siege tech so fast...
this is sufficient time for u to tech to lair and get bling speed...

always sim city ur natural (evo chamber) with 1 spine to prevent hellions (which is a possibility)...
by now u should be at least 1 melee, 1 armor upgrade...
upgrades are really good (especially if u follow stephano's style)

usually most players will get a spire by now and grab a 3rd...
the mutas will allow u to scout, harass and get map control (against hellion)...
this will in fact delay his push if u micro ur mutas well enuff picking off weak spots in the base and reinforcements/ addons/ depot...

if he move out with that army, jz be prepare to flank it with upgraded lings and speed blings on creep...
magic box ur mutas as well to pick up the little number of thors...
based on what he posted, he do nt have tanks and upgrades on his marines which upgraded ling/blings should handle wit ease...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Nov 9 2011, 03:37 PM
yuvster
post Nov 9 2011, 04:48 PM

377 posts

Well it always depends on the map you're playing and the thing is that most veteran Zerg players will always place some lings around the map to scout out the timing for the unit push/harass and without siege, I think going Infestors will also help.. You can just fungal marines and send in banes to brush of the marines.. What evofantasy said also works very well..
TruthHurts
post Nov 9 2011, 08:38 PM

653 posts

Best way to kill the terrens is get your speedlings and spread 1 lings to each patch, this is to make sure they do not expand... make sure you build a lot of lings they cos just 50 minerals which is cheap for 2 lings and zerg is heavy usage on gas. so save the gas on corruptor and brood lords .. I try it and even the terren army cant withstand the broodlord attacks even thor lose to broodlords. A few corruptor to protect brrodlord. Their vikings is weak as hell against corruptors. BattleCruiser is weak if corrupter already cast corrupt to them .. you will see BC fall like flies when cast with corrupt = 20% extra dmg.. weeeeeeeeeeee focus fire on one BC to the other.
Mineral gathering is faster than gas so its better to go mass lings for harrass.. speedling can kill helions fast and even faster in greater number.. but in case air raid just get AA by 4 or a few hydra .. make sure spend on a few overseer for detection against cloak units.
Best way to know what the terren are doing is to get overseer and use a "spy". you will know if he is massing marines or go air mass. But terren are easy mass marines and medics. so mass roach and infestor is the best way to go and a few banelings.
evofantasy
post Nov 9 2011, 09:03 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Nov 9 2011, 08:38 PM)
Best way to kill the terrens is get your speedlings and spread 1 lings to each patch, this is to make sure they do not expand... make sure you build a lot of lings they cos just 50 minerals which is cheap for 2 lings and zerg is heavy usage on gas. so save the gas on corruptor and brood lords .. I try it and even the terren army cant withstand the broodlord attacks even thor lose to broodlords. A few corruptor to protect brrodlord. Their vikings is weak as hell against corruptors. BattleCruiser is weak if corrupter already cast corrupt to them .. you will see BC fall like flies when cast with corrupt = 20% extra dmg.. weeeeeeeeeeee focus fire on one BC to the other. 
Mineral gathering is faster than gas so its better to go mass lings for harrass.. speedling can kill helions fast and even faster in greater number.. but in case air raid just get AA by 4 or a few hydra .. make sure spend on a few overseer for detection against cloak units. 
Best way to know what the terren are doing is to get overseer and use a "spy". you will know if he is massing marines or go air mass. But terren are easy mass marines and medics. so mass roach and infestor is the best way to go and a few banelings.
1. u wont see BCs in ZvT
2. ghosts are the biggest problem late game, not BCs... see BLs? pew pew pew wit snipe... see ultras? pew pew pew wit snipe...

u dun use lings for vision at expansions >.<
those are a waste of larvae and food supply...
u do that with overlords especially when u get lair tech, u will creep on it...
overlords are basically ur map vision unit so spread them all over the map (and dun give me the i dun want them to get sniped by enemy units =.= if u are worrying about that, u are playing the wrong race)...

and dun ever ever ever rush to corruptor broodlords...
the timing window is so huge that any decent terran can punish u for it...
basically sc2 is nt a game about unit composition...
there is no 1 strategy win all but rather scouting and reacting the right way...

125 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0350sec    1.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:55 PM