15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Zerg Strategy v1.0, Cheer for the overmind!

evofantasy
post Aug 2 2010, 11:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 2 2010, 10:43 PM)
So like hi guys, zerg player as well lol. Typically thirteen pool mutalisk with zerg lings.and still gets rolled by meech lol
go all out baneling bust rclxms.gif
evofantasy
post Aug 4 2010, 02:29 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 4 2010, 02:28 PM)
@Soul-x
Not that frequent compared to other spell casters, and most of them are not that active until main engagement of armies.

@hazairi
Yea there's always a debate between early hatch or early queen benefits. And queens are decent against early air harassment as well
and queens are superb late game for their healing
evofantasy
post Aug 9 2010, 09:08 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 9 2010, 08:58 AM)
How essential is baneling given that they are mass marine marauders? Find it hard to counter MM when they are being mass.. ling just dies like crap

btw, early upgrade are essential for zerg? since they are not too pricey
banelings could deal a truckload of damage if u have the micro...
they explode when the die so its important to place them at the right position through moving and not attacking...

if they go for MM, just infestor fungal growth em over n over again...
evofantasy
post Aug 9 2010, 11:45 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 9 2010, 11:07 AM)
How soon do u get overseer usually? they have new skill as contaminate and spawn changeling which I think it will be very interesting to be use
when u get ur hive (is it hive? dun remember the name lol)...
its the t2 for ur hatch...

then u can upgrade ur overlords to overseers
evofantasy
post Aug 12 2010, 02:46 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Aug 11 2010, 01:00 AM)
Ur playing US server, surely la easy.. tongue.gif
from my beta experience and SEA i would say: US > SEA...
my ladder (was gold as i lost my last placement so some diamond guy wit 22 games) have so far been paired up to plat/diamond and seriously, all i lost was him and another diamond guy (8-2 atm)....
i was jz promoted to plat on my 10th ladder match after beating another plat guy which could only 2 gate cheese me outside my ramp to be out-microed and out-tech before my counter push...
to be honest, i was depressed to be at gold after my placement as i am definitely better than gold in SEA server rclxms.gif

back in beta, i was gold/ plat but i been like 6-4 (was even in silver for some time in phase 2 LOL)...
and my opponents was only gold/plat, no diamonds...

i have frens that are pretty new to sc2 at gold/ plat level LOL...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Aug 12 2010, 02:51 AM
evofantasy
post Aug 22 2010, 11:48 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 22 2010, 11:10 PM)
I'm exactly the opposite of you. The longer the game the higher chances for me to win.
i think this will change...
after today's IEM of 5 rax reaper 2hrs practice to micro it vs idra, zerg tears gonna flow (even djwheat shed zerg tears LOL)

QUOTE(Chobits @ Aug 22 2010, 11:32 PM)
why no more lurkers ??

zerg somehow very hard to play without the anti air of hydralisks....why hydra are lv2 units ?
instead of letting u being reactive to ur opponent, u can be the aggressor wit ur early lings then tech to t2 comfortably...
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 12:00 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Aug 22 2010, 11:57 PM)
i'm pretty good with the zergling rush, just that when it fails...i have no idea what to build.
Normally i get wasted by MMs of terran or just protoss void rays, too late to get out hydras, gas 100!!! @@

lurkers and hydra were the staple strategy for me during sc1, so when they nerfed and removed....needless to say i was very sad.
u need to have a sound transition from ur zergling opening...
and of course u need to scout...
if he go MMM, u can go baneling...
VRs? jz get an extra queen =p
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 12:06 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 23 2010, 12:02 AM)
a lot of things changed oh, if not mistaken last time overlord immediately can detect cloaked units. now totally cannot, need to upgrade to overseer.

about zergling rush, i think the key is

a) need to know when to stop
b) need to also know when to start massing up the tech tree, for this move VESPENE is super damn important!

drones harvest unbelievably fast compared to SCV / Probes, so I always find the minerals go up really fast so I'll expand to a new hatchery asap but expansion location (next to existing, or go new spot) depends on whether i'm spamming units or wanting more resources.
zergs always get a fast gas so they can start speed research for speedlings when pool finishes...
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 12:17 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Aug 23 2010, 12:13 AM)
is massing hydras a good idea ?
it depends on wut race is ur opponent and what is he doing as well...
hydras have good dps but kinda squishy...
try to watch some replays or day9daily..
it'll give u some idea...
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 01:57 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 23 2010, 11:11 AM)
I see IrDa doing quite well in lategame vs terran of zerg, but not much of us are being IrDA... He is emo but he does have some skill...

I am always not in favour to use ultralisk but after seeing how IrDa abuse their opponent I think I am changing my view towards broodlord and ultralisk (in the lategame)

p/s in late game zerg are in disadvantage in air i felt, it's hard for mass corrupter vs mass viking
watch IEM 2010 finals last nite and tell me how well can he do vs a terran...
morrow using a build taught by dimaga with only 2 hrs practice > idra who practice 12hrs per day...

the 5 rax reaper build contain the zerg in his base without allowing him to reach even t2 usually wut more t3...
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 02:26 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Aug 23 2010, 02:13 PM)
that's what i was talking about.. the dilemma of early expansion or not..
for me, if playing againts terran players who like to do an early harass, just play with 1 hatchery.. and make an early rush to the opponent such as bannels..
1 hatch play would never give u enuff units against terran...
the good thing bout the reaper opening is that u can transition into MMM or tanks without much trouble...
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 02:56 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Aug 23 2010, 02:40 PM)
but for an early game, it's enuff to do an early rush such as lings+roach rush or banels+lings rush..

And also quite risky. If the early rush fails.. u die.. smile.gif
the reaper build would wipe ur rush clean as it provide fast early reapers...
u gotta remember that u no longer have the creep advantage when u put while he would be kiting u forever with reapers...

wut IEM2010 tell us?
TvZ is screwed when u are a zerg LOL...

as a fellow toss, i'm glade nt to meet reapers but i still get screwed by marauder openings doh.gif
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 02:58 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 23 2010, 02:57 PM)
Many people say zerg race is suppose to mass and conquer. But how are you going to mass when an equivalent unit cost just as much as humans/protoss and the Zerg tier2 units are just equivalent to human/protoss tier 1 units?
by having more base?
btw hydras have much higher DPS than stalkers...
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 03:03 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Aug 23 2010, 03:00 PM)
speedlings can easily wipe the reapers i guess..
gotta micro on it..
on creep speedling > reaper
off creep reaper > speedling

the reaper build involved the nitro packs for reapers...
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 03:10 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 23 2010, 03:07 PM)
yah and  the reaper will just jump out from the cliff unharm. Without the creep it's slower for lings.
And when you're slower, they'll just use the "hit and run" technique. A group of 3 reaper can kill a group of 6 lings without getting hit. At that early game it's a big hit to your army.
even morrow said that the reaper build is imba (post game interview with djwheat on djwheat's show)...
evofantasy
post Aug 23 2010, 04:08 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 23 2010, 03:07 PM)
yah and  the reaper will just jump out from the cliff unharm. Without the creep it's slower for lings.
And when you're slower, they'll just use the "hit and run" technique. A group of 3 reaper can kill a group of 6 lings without getting hit. At that early game it's a big hit to your army.

Added on August 23, 2010, 3:10 pm

You're limited by the amount of minerals and especially gas. So even if you got 20-30 larvae on standby, what's the point if you can't convert all of them to army units. You will just have as many units as the terran/protoss.
more base also mean more income
evofantasy
post Aug 24 2010, 03:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 24 2010, 03:41 PM)
putting on first page, and no, terran mech would still be devastating against any zerg
this only work if the terran does not have any support for thors or poor thor placement (tarson in the IEM semis vs idra)...
koreans have long discovered this and korean terrans usually support their thors with tonnes of marine (marine/thor compo)...
so u gotta go the mutaling strategy or like wut dimaga does, baneling/zergling -> infestors -> ultras and using all 3 of em...

the recent reaper opening wont even give u time to tech to mutas usually lol...
evofantasy
post Aug 24 2010, 04:11 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Aug 24 2010, 03:57 PM)
i crush terran mech with ling/bling mutas after discovering the magic box. the ones that turtle in 2 bases and just mass mech usually don't stand a chance now. the part where the zerg is still weak against terran is the early mid-ish game if they push hard, but if you survive that with your econ intact and transition to mutas you're in good shape. another problem i'm seeing alot more lately is the pure reaper build, everyone trying the gay strat morrow used at IEM and it's really hard to deal with if they have good micro cause they can even kill your roaches which is supposed to counter reapers.
u need roach speed/ good creep spread
evofantasy
post Aug 24 2010, 08:19 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Aug 24 2010, 06:56 PM)
No more sunken colonies, only spine crawlers =)

These are also considered cheese and can only be done in a base with large area so enemy won't notice you. I've tried queen+spine rush before, not bad.
if u are bold, u can sneak a drone into his mineral line and morph into a spine crawler! LOL
evofantasy
post Aug 24 2010, 10:02 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Aug 24 2010, 08:50 PM)
Doesn't that need creep? blink.gif
well use his creep =p

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0353sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:06 AM