The Zerg Strategy v1.0, Cheer for the overmind!
yuvster
Nov 6 2011, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(kding2 @ Oct 22 2011, 12:55 PM) now protoss has harder time to use DT against them...Damn it. I don't think that's fully true.. Apparently to create the Viper you must have a Spire down, and the spire actually takes some time to finish, so if I get DT rushed, I'll still have to go out of my way to build a Spire, then create a Viper to be my detector (or make one of my units a detector). Also, the Viper is not cheap at 100/200. All in all though, the Viper is gonna create some effing awesome combo plays. Fungal+Cloud=Uber fun.
yuvster
Nov 7 2011, 08:25 PM
Watch replays.. or Day9.. helps a lot
yuvster
Nov 8 2011, 04:35 PM
At least thats what I remember from watching the video from Blizzcon but I could be wrong. Either way, DT rush against Z will become a norm.. I don't like DTs.. Kill my lings with 1 hit.. Retarded..
yuvster
Nov 8 2011, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 8 2011, 04:53 PM) u need lair only, dun need spire and it comes from larvae Thanks for the info, it seems you're right but still, a mobile detector which costs 200 gas is still quite hardcore, don't you think? Either way, I feel like discussing right now would be somewhat pointless unless we try our hands at it.. Oh, has anyone tried out the custom maps for HotS yet? Any feedback?
yuvster
Nov 9 2011, 11:53 AM
Yeah, though if you think about it, the ideal force of Vipers and Infestors will be a somewhat impossible task to achieve considering the number of vespene geysers you'll need to have.. I reckon anything below 3 bases will be impossible to Fungal+Cloud..
Does the cloud affect flying units as well?
yuvster
Nov 9 2011, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(nagflar @ Nov 9 2011, 03:16 PM) any one got counter for this . ? terran claim they got 80% win rate against Zerg. sigh . easy but strong built . Well it always depends on the map you're playing and the thing is that most veteran Zerg players will always place some lings around the map to scout out the timing for the unit push/harass and without siege, I think going Infestors will also help.. You can just fungal marines and send in banes to brush of the marines.. What evofantasy said also works very well..
yuvster
Nov 10 2011, 02:51 AM
What evofantasy said about reacting is correct.. If there was such a thing as a perfect build then that race would automatically be the most played race in SC2 and that is the only strategy that will be used.. If you can find it, go look for Leenock VS Clide in one of their TvZ match ups.. See how the players react to the different builds/tech the opponent is going and try to counter.. It's a bit long but that game is an example of how Zerg is meant to be played.. Also, I have no idea what's your infatuation with BCs but they're almost never used in 1v1 high level matches..
Btw, the mass overseer idea is good and all but by God they're pointless to mass cause I honestly feel that there's a lot of other better things that can be done with the than massing overseers...
yuvster
Nov 10 2011, 11:19 AM
gimme back my 9 range on festors..
yuvster
Nov 10 2011, 09:36 PM
Banelings FTW. Nuff said.
yuvster
Nov 11 2011, 02:47 AM
You sound like you've never watched marine micro before.. Even more so with the marine's magical ability to shoot and stop and stim and got medivacs..
yuvster
Nov 12 2011, 03:06 AM
yuvster
Nov 13 2011, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(debiru-man13 @ Nov 13 2011, 12:43 AM) Lately I see more muta/ling/bling in ZvZ. I always go RH/Infestor then kene sapu with banelings... T_T maybe I just go roach/infestor? Most of the replays I watch I see when ZvZ, the best build which I feel to go for is Roach+Hydra+Infestor  (Correct me if I'm wrong).. Roaches more often than not can clear off lings and their damage is also very good.. Hydralisk need to plant a lot of creep tumors so that they can move around the map quickly.. Key winning (at least from what I've watched is micro and upgrades combo-ed with Fungal Growth and containing your opponent so they don't take any expo is also very important.. Change your unit composition to counter that which your opponent is going for..
yuvster
Nov 13 2011, 05:58 AM
Yeah, it's just not cost effective to try to pump out significantly enough banelings to hit the roaches to death and you'll need like 3 or 4 banelings to kill one roach.. The number of hydras will always be lower than the roaches (costs high) but even then if you let your opponent go out and get a big enough muta ball to kill your 15-20 hydralisks, then you've done something wrong somewhere.. Roach timing push also can be very effective against ling heavy players..
Scout, scout, scout..
yuvster
Nov 13 2011, 05:50 PM
I think harassing and whatnot always very dependent on the build your opponent is going for as well as getting the counter, as well as the map you're playing in..
yuvster
Nov 14 2011, 02:02 AM
If it means cutting down their army by a significant amount, a few overlords is a price I'm more than willing to pay.. Besides, the fact about the carpet bombing is that you must not just move in without support.. The purpose of it is to be a dual pronged attack so that the ground forces which you have can deal enough damage.. Combo with Infestors is how most of the pro players used to do (Fungal Growth used to freeze units for 8 seconds) which is why not so popular to do that..
yuvster
Nov 15 2011, 03:21 AM
olddd..... I learning how to play toss now..
yuvster
Nov 15 2011, 07:13 PM
anything 10 and above is not cheese.. it's just their fault for not scouting.. that is all
yuvster
Nov 16 2011, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Nov 15 2011, 08:13 PM) The saying "Ask and ye shall receive" comes to mind..
yuvster
Nov 16 2011, 03:26 AM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 16 2011, 02:33 AM) wrong, aim for ez targets like pylons, tech labs or tech... u wont be able to take down the main building before reinforcements arrive... Hey, not aim to win ah?  *trolling*
yuvster
Nov 21 2011, 11:13 AM
Usually when I play against Terran, I try to get some early units first to avoid the Marine push and then deny their expo for as long as possible while taking expos. Tech up and get upgrades (I keep forgetting to get upgrades).