Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi
vergas
Jun 17 2012, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(kenneth686 @ Jun 16 2012, 05:25 PM) Dear All, After discussed with Asus Team again, They have provide another newer firmware. (RT-N13U.RB_9.1.2.5I) kindly refer below link of the new firmware, for those user still have facing disconnect issues. https://hotfile.com/dl/160084539/705be92/RT...1.2.5I.rar.htmlThank You for Asus Team Support!!!!  Testing it now, 9 hours ok.
janccf
Jun 18 2012, 11:54 AM
IS Asus RT-N66U support UNIFI ?
toh2020
Jun 18 2012, 12:58 PM
i am asking the same question for RT-66U cause there are 2 version in the market. one got unifi sticker has f/w 3.0.0.3.90. one without unifi sticker has latest firmware 3.0.0.3.112 and AVR supplier label. Asus RT-66U Router
fat cat
Jun 18 2012, 01:29 PM
hi bro's. just got my rt n16, but havent install yet. is it easy to install?
toh2020
Jun 18 2012, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Jun 16 2012, 04:50 PM) just bought a N66u today at 11am (first time replaced DIR default modem by TM after 1yr + using) setup successful by 3pm after two hours up including calling Unifi for PPPoE (forgotten), testing out IPTV (lan4), trying out 5.0ghz. happy user now this rather solid router is serving two semi-dees (three storey) without signal issue  just check with you which f/w ver your N66u runs on? thx
fat cat
Jun 18 2012, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(fat cat @ Jun 18 2012, 01:29 PM) hi bro's. just got my rt n16, but havent install yet. is it easy to install? just followed this guys step, and my router is working great. far better than the crappy tm net dir 615. http://klseet.com/index.php?view=article&c...tent&Itemid=116 :  klseet
toh2020
Jun 19 2012, 06:38 PM
i successfully configure a new Asus RT-N66U. it works damn perfectly well. iptv runs smoothly. speedtest lesser jerk when packet launch starts. unlike the dir-615 it pauses time after time in between. use back ori antenna for wifi card. with N66U signal reception for my deskstop upstairs is perfect 100%  . if compare with dir-615 is 48% - 55% one notable thing i found out when i set Idle Disconnect Time in seconds: Disconnect after time of inactivity (in seconds): 900. the internet cannot connects. set back value to 0 it works. well something new to ponder about anyhow.. This post has been edited by toh2020: Jun 19 2012, 06:42 PM
jin666
Jun 19 2012, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 18 2012, 12:58 PM) i am asking the same question for RT-66U cause there are 2 version in the market. one got unifi sticker has f/w 3.0.0.3.90. one without unifi sticker has latest firmware 3.0.0.3.112 and AVR supplier label. Asus RT-66U RouterI'm using 3.0.0.3.108 version..works flawlessly for unifi
toh2020
Jun 19 2012, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(jin666 @ Jun 19 2012, 09:42 PM) I'm using 3.0.0.3.108 version..works flawlessly for unifi when i go to lowyat. i noted the same model with different firmware.. one comes with 3.0.0.3.90 & the other with 3.0.0.3.112. but manufacturer date & h/w rev is same. i buy the one with 3.0.0.3.90 & upgraded to 3.0.0.3.108. that what i do. how about 112? anyone tried out... btw 144 just came out.
digicube
Jun 21 2012, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(kenneth686 @ Jun 16 2012, 05:25 PM) Dear All, After discussed with Asus Team again, They have provide another newer firmware. (RT-N13U.RB_9.1.2.5I) kindly refer below link of the new firmware, for those user still have facing disconnect issues. https://hotfile.com/dl/160084539/705be92/RT...1.2.5I.rar.htmlThank You for Asus Team Support!!!!  Thanks Kenneth, Just saw the reply today. Will test it out for a few days and post my feeback. Added on June 21, 2012, 12:09 pmQUOTE(vergas @ Jun 14 2012, 03:08 PM) The best firmware for my usage based on my experience is still the oldest firmware for unifi (Last line in klseet website. http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=74&Itemid=70The one that said: 2011 Jun 06 Beta Firmware version RT-N13U.RB_2.0.2.0_0531w (with WAN online check) Btw, using this firmware for a almost a week now, so far so good, no disconnection but BT not moving. This post has been edited by digicube: Jun 21 2012, 12:09 PM
vergas
Jun 21 2012, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(digicube @ Jun 21 2012, 12:04 PM) Btw, using this firmware for a almost a week now, so far so good, no disconnection but BT not moving. You mean BT by not switching on the computer (i.e. Download Master), or normal BT e.g. µTorrent?
digicube
Jun 21 2012, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(vergas @ Jun 21 2012, 12:25 PM) You mean BT by not switching on the computer (i.e. Download Master), or normal BT e.g. µTorrent? BT with Download Master. uTorrent is fine, no prob, downloaded around 20GB so far, no disconnection with old firmware RT-N13U.RB_2.0.2.0_0531w
earlofclarendon
Jun 21 2012, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 18 2012, 10:49 PM) just check with you which f/w ver your N66u runs on? thx i am using 112  one week in the go, everything smooth, but download manager sometimes cannot access 192.168.1.1:8081, maybe because my western digital harddisk is bit corrupted. do you have any problems using so far? share share
toh2020
Jun 21 2012, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Jun 21 2012, 02:31 PM) i am using 112  one week in the go, everything smooth, but download manager sometimes cannot access 192.168.1.1:8081, maybe because my western digital harddisk is bit corrupted. do you have any problems using so far? share share i am using 108 ;-) tested to stream internet radio 24 hrs non stop. so far so good. it's warm but not hot like dir-615. internet experience was excellent with it's wifi. full coverage 100% receivig signal strength from living room to bedroom. as for dir-615 a very dissapointing experience with less 50% signal strength. my co. VPN gets disconnected from my co. notebook. wonder how frust that can be. with the new router it solved my major prob. one guy from srikom at networking says the router cannot work at 112 & other revision. he told me has to downgrade firmware & retries many times to work?????? sound like he has skill problems. i ask him about 90 he dunno.. lolss. i configure at home with ease upgrade fw from ori 90 to 108. plug to unifi & iptv tada it works perfectly. This post has been edited by toh2020: Jun 21 2012, 02:59 PM
earlofclarendon
Jun 21 2012, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 21 2012, 02:55 PM) i am using 108 ;-) tested to stream internet radio 24 hrs non stop. so far so good. it's warm but not hot like dir-615. internet experience was excellent with it's wifi. full coverage 100% receivig signal strength from living room to bedroom. as for dir-615 a very dissapointing experience with less 50% signal strength. my co. VPN gets disconnected from my co. notebook. wonder how frust that can be. with the new router it solved my major prob. one guy from srikom at networking says the router cannot work. he has to downgrade firmware & retries many times to work?????? sound like he has skill problems. i configure at home with ease upgrade fw from ori 90 to 108. plug to unifi tada it works perfectly. ya i think the main strength of this router is its signal these two days have been streaming 5gb mkv file to my TV at 2.4 ghz (130mbps), less than 20 seconds of lag in whole encounter throughout the whole movie (wraith of the titan) have you tried out mounting USB disks? any connection lost? download master started using?
toh2020
Jun 21 2012, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Jun 21 2012, 03:00 PM) ya i think the main strength of this router is its signal these two days have been streaming 5gb mkv file to my TV at 2.4 ghz (130mbps), less than 20 seconds of lag in whole encounter throughout the whole movie (wraith of the titan) have you tried out mounting USB disks? any connection lost? download master started using?  never had plans to tried yet.. unless i plan own wireless network someday. u can try the 5G wifi channel for that. see how it goes. cause i read the manual it was meant for video streaming.
jin666
Jun 21 2012, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Jun 21 2012, 02:31 PM) i am using 112  one week in the go, everything smooth, but download manager sometimes cannot access 192.168.1.1:8081, maybe because my western digital harddisk is bit corrupted. do you have any problems using so far? share share My Asus RT-N66U have been on 24\7 non stop for two months now..never experience any DC as yet..I think I'll stick to .108 since I find it very stable. I place the unit with its's stand attached..can see the Lan cable but I can live with it, not so bad actually
digicube
Jun 22 2012, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(kenneth686 @ Jun 16 2012, 05:25 PM) Dear All, After discussed with Asus Team again, They have provide another newer firmware. (RT-N13U.RB_9.1.2.5I) kindly refer below link of the new firmware, for those user still have facing disconnect issues. https://hotfile.com/dl/160084539/705be92/RT...1.2.5I.rar.htmlThank You for Asus Team Support!!!!  Using new firmware. Thanks for the link. Just realised that download master no longer works because it's outdated. Like I said earlier, I bought this router primarily because of it's BT downloading capabilities. Going to write to ASUS to ask them if there is a compatible version of download master or a workaround. If not, it's not going to be any different from my old trusty el cheapo TP-Link 841ND.
vergas
Jun 22 2012, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(kenneth686 @ Jun 16 2012, 05:25 PM) Dear All, After discussed with Asus Team again, They have provide another newer firmware. (RT-N13U.RB_9.1.2.5I) kindly refer below link of the new firmware, for those user still have facing disconnect issues. https://hotfile.com/dl/160084539/705be92/RT...1.2.5I.rar.htmlThank You for Asus Team Support!!!!  Hang after around 4 days.  No IPTV and can't access router. Have to switch off and on router.
kenneth686
Jun 22 2012, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(vergas @ Jun 22 2012, 08:44 PM) Hang after around 4 days.  No IPTV and can't access router. Have to switch off and on router. Hi Can provide for any Log File, Maybe i can send to Asus Team for Finetune.