Home Networking N Router By Asus RTN-66U / Asus RTN-16 / RT-N56U, Asus RT-N Series Supported Unifi

toh2020
post Jun 16 2012, 04:57 PM

493 posts

my DIR-615 wifi signal not stable. using wifi card dlink dwa-547 rangebooster with 3 x 2dbM ori antenna gets me 30% - 45% signal strength. i later replaced with 3 x 8dM omni directional antenna.

i can get 100% wifi reception. but upon monitoring the source DIR-615 seem to fluctuate between 80% to 90% most times. but at times 96%. i m living in double storey.

which router can give solution. i can swap back the ori antenna to my wifi card.
toh2020
post Jun 18 2012, 12:58 PM

493 posts

i am asking the same question for RT-66U cause there are 2 version in the market. one got unifi sticker has f/w 3.0.0.3.90. one without unifi sticker has latest firmware 3.0.0.3.112 and AVR supplier label.

Asus RT-66U Router
toh2020
post Jun 18 2012, 10:49 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Jun 16 2012, 04:50 PM)
just bought a N66u today at 11am (first time replaced DIR default modem by TM after 1yr + using)

setup successful by 3pm after two hours up including calling Unifi for PPPoE (forgotten), testing out IPTV (lan4), trying out 5.0ghz.

happy user now this rather solid router is serving two semi-dees (three storey) without signal issue smile.gif
just check with you which f/w ver your N66u runs on? thx
toh2020
post Jun 19 2012, 06:38 PM

493 posts

i successfully configure a new Asus RT-N66U. it works damn perfectly well. iptv runs smoothly. speedtest lesser jerk when packet launch starts. unlike the dir-615 it pauses time after time in between.

use back ori antenna for wifi card. with N66U signal reception for my deskstop upstairs is perfect 100% cool2.gif . if compare with dir-615 is 48% - 55% cry.gif

one notable thing i found out when i set Idle Disconnect Time in seconds: Disconnect after time of inactivity (in seconds): 900. the internet cannot connects. set back value to 0 it works. well something new to ponder about anyhow..

This post has been edited by toh2020: Jun 19 2012, 06:42 PM
toh2020
post Jun 19 2012, 10:10 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(jin666 @ Jun 19 2012, 09:42 PM)
I'm using 3.0.0.3.108 version..works flawlessly for unifi
when i go to lowyat. i noted the same model with different firmware.. one comes with 3.0.0.3.90 & the other with 3.0.0.3.112. but manufacturer date & h/w rev is same.

i buy the one with 3.0.0.3.90 & upgraded to 3.0.0.3.108. that what i do.

how about 112? anyone tried out... btw 144 just came out.
toh2020
post Jun 21 2012, 02:55 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Jun 21 2012, 02:31 PM)
i am using 112 smile.gif

one week in the go, everything smooth, but download manager sometimes cannot access 192.168.1.1:8081, maybe because my western digital harddisk is bit corrupted.

do you have any problems using so far? share share
i am using 108 ;-)

tested to stream internet radio 24 hrs non stop. so far so good. it's warm but not hot like dir-615. internet experience was excellent with it's wifi. full coverage 100% receivig signal strength from living room to bedroom. as for dir-615 a very dissapointing experience with less 50% signal strength. my co. VPN gets disconnected from my co. notebook. wonder how frust that can be. with the new router it solved my major prob.

one guy from srikom at networking says the router cannot work at 112 & other revision. he told me has to downgrade firmware & retries many times to work?????? sound like he has skill problems. i ask him about 90 he dunno.. lolss.

i configure at home with ease upgrade fw from ori 90 to 108. plug to unifi & iptv tada it works perfectly.

This post has been edited by toh2020: Jun 21 2012, 02:59 PM
toh2020
post Jun 21 2012, 03:04 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(earlofclarendon @ Jun 21 2012, 03:00 PM)
ya i think the main strength of this router is its signal

these two days have been streaming 5gb mkv file to my TV at 2.4 ghz (130mbps), less than 20 seconds of lag in whole encounter throughout the whole movie (wraith of the titan)

have you tried out mounting USB disks? any connection lost? download master started using? smile.gif
never had plans to tried yet.. unless i plan own wireless network someday.

u can try the 5G wifi channel for that. see how it goes. cause i read the manual it was meant for video streaming.
toh2020
post Jun 25 2012, 03:56 PM

493 posts

the RT-N13 is everywhere around all local computer stores. you can never miss the sight of it wherever you go. if you go to lowyat major shops. the prod is easily accessible in mass quantity like mountain. or should i say people's choice? for one good reason because of affordability.
toh2020
post Jun 25 2012, 04:08 PM

493 posts

youc can reuse the rtn56u. where you going to connect the maxis deck phone?
toh2020
post Jun 25 2012, 06:16 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Jun 25 2012, 05:30 PM)
Thank you for responding Toh.

I suspect the maxis deck phone can be connected at the fibre optic btu. (Same as unifi maaa .. tongue.gif)

How do I connect the rtn56u please? Appreciate if you will guide me.

The thomson router is better than the unifi dlink router, but it is definitely not as good as the asus smile.gif

Thank you.
only tm deck phone connects to fiber btu. ownership of btu is tm not maxis. hence why maxis deck connects to thomson.

u can use manual setting on special requirement by ISP instead of unifi. where u key VID for maxis. i m not sure anyone tested this. you can give it try..

as for maxis phone to btu. will hv to acess the btu. most ppl including myself are still figuring out.

but if any issues with btu & tm found out the cause was device tampering. do expect some legal issues per service terms.

toh2020
post Jun 29 2012, 04:25 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Jun 29 2012, 03:03 PM)
Asus RT-N66U the latest firmware 3003112 does not support Unifi. Have to revert to 3003108
some ppl say it work if you use the setup cd to configure. give it a try first.
toh2020
post Jun 29 2012, 10:49 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Jun 29 2012, 10:42 PM)
toh2020, The Asus RT-N66U the latest firmware 3003112, have to run the build-in wizard to configure the Unifi settings. Do not skip the "Wizard Setup"
had you tried operate the f/w 112. so far is it stable compare 108? or is there any improvements made.
toh2020
post Jun 29 2012, 11:32 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Jun 29 2012, 11:12 PM)
2012.04.17  : ASUS RT-N66U B1 Firmware Version 3.0.0.3.112
1. Fixed live update version identification issue.
2. Added FAQ link in firmware.
3. Modified VPN server encryption configuration
4. Fixed some USB compatibility issue when using download master.
5. Fixed download master upgrade issue.

Running the latest firmware starting 12midnight, see how it goes vs the Draytek 2130n
lets see how things goes.. do let us know if any improvements icon_rolleyes.gif

just share with you. i remember when i updated the f/w from 90 to 108. the notable thing i saw the wifi advance signal been increased from 40mW to 80mW. you note any changes?
toh2020
post Jun 30 2012, 01:29 AM

493 posts

Asus RT-NT66U firmware testing.. some ppl manage to make it work. u can check out the thread..

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2390934
toh2020
post Jul 11 2012, 11:10 PM

493 posts

does asus give users alternative to replace the RT-N13 with a different model. which means you return the problematic router as trade in.
toh2020
post Jul 13 2012, 12:22 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jul 13 2012, 09:53 AM)
Hi guys,
It seems like some of you here is facing problem with RT-N13U. I guess it's our responsibility to look into this problem and rectify it at the 'end-user' level at this point of time. We are looking at various possibilities to solve this problem. One of the solution we are considering is replacing it to a different model. We are calculating the cost. At the mean time, i would appreciate those who are facing problem kindly PM me your details as per below. I'll get our Networking Product Manager to contact those who are facing problems with RT-N13U for solution ASAP.

Name:
Lowyat.NET Nickname:
Model: RT-N13U
Date of Purchase:
Reseller: C-Zone/Viewnet
Issue:
Solution tried:
Email Address:
Contact Number:
ASUSmy, just to ask you. do you have ASUS routers with VOIP/phone which can support MAXIS Fiber. it be a good revenue if you do have solution. can support maxis/unifi/time. what you think biz opportunities are here.
toh2020
post Aug 9 2012, 05:51 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 1 2012, 09:03 PM)
Recently over the weekend tested the Dark Knight (RT-N66U-B1) with latest FW3.0.0.3.162 on my UniFi-VIP5:
http://www.klseet.com/index.php/asus/asus-rt-n66u-b1
more than 4 days no problem at all!

Also bridge it (Ethernet mode) to the Pyramid (EA-N66) FW 1.0.1.6d :
http://www.klseet.com/index.php/asus/asus-ea-n66

The RT-N66U + EA-N66 combination result --> easily hit over 22MB/s wireless transfer rate, impressive!  thumbup.gif

However, I still believe it can perform better/faster, I'm wondering whether there is any limitation on my existing laptop/NAS/network setup .....  hmm.gif
do you has this problem with Asus RT-N66U-B1. on usual case leave it on for whole week under normal usage is alright no problems. when you switch it off then go out for 2 days. come back switch on the router cannot start. got ac adaptor power. router blue light on then router all goes off itself. although all connections are ok. sometimes you need to press the power switch on the router off & on few times. then the router boot up with blue LED then no blue led light like auto switch off. you switch off & on using the back switch. light press the top of the router a bit. then the router can power on and boot normally. leave it for days no problem.

does anyone has similar problem like this? anyone from ASUS can help.

i tried with 112 f/w but not allow me to change which since no manual ISP option menu. this also with software cd. it fails autodetecting with correct isp username & password. downgrade back to 108 does work.

practically any improvement on very latest firmware. thx.
toh2020
post Aug 9 2012, 09:40 PM

493 posts

my isp is 10Mbps upload & download. i set the QoS upload & download bandwith to 10Mbps. Automatic Mode.

what this means on event log.

Jan 1 08:00:24 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10002 is big. Consider r2q change.
Jan 1 08:00:24 kernel: HTB: quantum of class 10060 is big. Consider r2q change.

toh2020
post Aug 9 2012, 11:12 PM

493 posts

idragon, i set it to 90%. what happens if quantum class is big. if lesser will i get max speed.
toh2020
post Aug 13 2012, 10:04 AM

493 posts

firmware is 3.0.0.3.112 does not allow u to manual select your ISP. i tried to setup using the provided cd. follow exactly the procedure given. when i setup my isp username & password. click ok, it try to connect and redetect but failed. not even manual setup can help. fyi my wan connection to huawei hg850a. i am not sure for high rise using VDSL it works.

when i revert to 108 it works. i tried the latest firmware 3.0.0.3.162 it works well. now still ok after 1 week+.

Added on August 13, 2012, 10:22 am
QUOTE(zapster @ Aug 13 2012, 12:23 AM)
Gawdddd i soo hate ASUS now.... tot was a gud replacement for my stock Unifi router.... absolutely piece of crap... RT-N13U ver B1.... before i got this router, scoured thru the web n found KLseet, it made tons of praises for it.. after few months it started to hang.. I can surf but at slow pace... n then my other devices cudnt connect to the router.. after awhile connection just died... tried to go into the webgui but it wudnt let me access it.. had to reboot.  At first i thot it was just the routine once in awhile need to reboot... then it started to get frequent from weekly bcome every other day... now its every 12 hours or so... sometimes i had to reboot immediately after reboot cos still cant access the damn webgui... WTF is wrong ?? I kinda surprised myself for being very patient about this hassle hving to reboot on daily basis.. coz i bought tat router jul 2011... kept hoping for ASUS to come out a patch/solution with the firmware... it really unbearable now..

I've flashed sooo many firmwares til i've lost count... i'm currently on 2.0.2.5g... its still the same... i've done EXACT step by step as per KLseet advised on its webpage... If anyone tried asking if i cud replicate the situation.. I CUD!!! Just leave the damn shitty router on... n it'll just hang... for no freaking reason.. even if it doesnt... its just a matter of time...  and i cud tell u it wont take more than a day. Mind you, i've zeroed in the problem... its the ROUTER... coz i nvr had to reboot my unifi modem.

I read tat sometimes its due to the stability of Unifi connection... Now with everything remains the same... router hangs due to unstable unifi connection... n i dont reboot... will the router b back to normal once the fibre optic line bcome stable? I tried this.... router hangs.. didnt reboot.. just leave it as it is to test my theory... left it overnite.. I still cant access the damn webgui.. SERIOUSLY tis piece of crap u call a router... is FLAWED doh.gif .

devices tat connects to the router..

4 androids
1 TV
1 laptop
1 desktop (LAN)
1 ipad
1 PS3

This thread is over 40pages ... yet still no solution..

Anyway... i'm tired of hving to walk up n down my house to reboot tat piece of crap (i live in a 3 storey house.. router n modem is located on 2nd floor n my gaming laptop is on ground floor) my highest nos. of trips to the router was 5x in a row... I cud afford to smash tat router to smitherin' ... but not til i get a replacement... n it wont b A Soo Useless Shit (ASUS).

As for those current ASUS users with problems like mine .. I really hope for your sake.. they solve the problem soon... For those looking for a router.. STAY AWAY from ASUS. PERIOD... shit company with shit programmers tat cant even rectify a problem started a year ago!!!!! 

If any ASUS rep wanna get in touch with me.. pls do so.. but i'm NOT gonna do testing for u... y shud I? U can take back yur piece of CRAP u call router and do all the testing u want.. good effing riddance!!!  PHOOOOOOI!!!! NIAAAAAAMAH!!!! Really pisses me off after reading 40pages of this thread... n why i'm still up at 2.30am??? demmm fking router wifi keeps dropping tats why!!!

BTW.. its my 1st ASUS product.... n soon to b the LAST. Mind u... i might n most probably WILL - tell my frends relatives and acquaintances abt ASUS router.

Good nite.. or rather good morning.  doh.gif

note: I really wished i've kept my receipt in a safe place.. cud hv sent it back to the shop months ago.
i seeing this model RT-N13U everywhere. at large IT stores they stack up like mountains. this router seem to be very very very very very hot selling..

This post has been edited by toh2020: Aug 13 2012, 10:23 AM

0.0473sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:49 PM