121 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

Traveler
post Aug 15 2010, 01:33 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Aug 15 2010, 05:39 AM)
yup same here.. it's been going on for the past 2 weeks or so
Lucky you.. mine peaks at around 17-18 Mbps whenever I do a speed test. My network monitor is showing my NIC is receiving around 20Mbps (up to 24Mbps) but that would also include my LAN overhead traffic. My upload seems maxed out around 5-6Mbps only.
richard912
post Aug 15 2010, 01:38 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(d60x @ Aug 15 2010, 01:33 PM)
Well, my failing dlink has been replaced by TM this morning. Called them last Friday complaining about the unstable dlink, this morning 2 nice chap from TM turn up,  and quickly replace the dlink. According to them they are  many issues with this router and TM is seeking a quick solution. After 2 hours of heavy used, seems ok so far. I must commend the friendly and helpful attitude of their technicians, its not their fault but TM as a corp.
Indeed! I must agree that their service level has improved since the days of the 56k dial up on 1515. Still awaiting for a call from their field team to fix an appointment for them to come by my place to look into my problem DIR 615 unit. Considering that I am not a heavy user and this problem existed even for me, I think TM needs to find a solution/replacement for this quickly or they will be losing $$$ from having to service similar complaints
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 15 2010, 01:47 PM

4,465 posts

It's a crap router. Just replace it. My replacement only cost 270 and that is shiping included. The router spec way better then dir-615 and home consumer router except pfsense of course.
pr0di9y
post Aug 15 2010, 01:51 PM

Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned
2,404 posts

@klseet

Don't think you're able to set the IPTV to work with the routers you're using. Seeing that you don't have VLANs tab under the Setup tab. Or maybe you have to use OpenWRT.

What I did this morning, I've setup a WAN profile for PPPOE and route one of the port in the HUAWEI fiber modem to host the internet connection. In which I manage to did it and use another router to host the internet via Static IP under the WAN Connection Type. This also can be done by isolation on Layer 3 to the LAN ports available on the modem via LAN1-4 if unchecked it will act as per-normal packet connection to the TM exchange but of course VLAN tagging is required i.e. 500/600.

So right now my setup would be

BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN1* => HUB/SWITCH@LAN8
HUB/SWITCH@LAN7 => DIR615(Stock FW) => IPTV STB
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN2** => WRT54GL@WAN
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN3*
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN4*

Legends :-
*No routing to PPPOE WAN connection
*With routing to PPPOE WAN connection.

This post has been edited by pr0di9y: Aug 15 2010, 02:18 PM
klseet
post Aug 15 2010, 02:56 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 15 2010, 01:47 PM)
It's a crap router. Just replace it. My replacement only cost 270 and that is shiping included. The router spec way better then dir-615 and home consumer router except pfsense of course.
May I know what replacement you bought? Is it easy to setup?
Please share more details, thx!

QUOTE(pr0di9y @ Aug 15 2010, 01:51 PM)
@klseet

Don't think you're able to set the IPTV to work with the routers you're using. Seeing that you don't have  VLANs tab under the Setup tab. Or maybe you have to use OpenWRT.

What I did this morning, I've setup a WAN profile for PPPOE and route one of the port in the HUAWEI fiber modem to host the internet connection. In which I manage to did it and use another router to host the internet via Static IP under the WAN Connection Type. This also can be done by isolation on Layer 3 to the LAN ports available on the modem via LAN1-4 if unchecked it will act as per-normal packet connection to the TM exchange but of course VLAN tagging is required i.e. 500/600.

So right now my setup would be

BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN1*  => HUB/SWITCH@LAN8
HUB/SWITCH@LAN7 => DIR615(Stock FW) => IPTV STB
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN2** => WRT54GL@WAN
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN3*
BTU (HUAWEI)@LAN4*

Legends :-
*No routing to PPPOE WAN connection
*With routing to PPPOE WAN connection.
Ok, I try to understand but I have few questions:

1. You mean we have to do something on that Huawei device?

2. May I know how to "route one of the port in the HUAWEI fiber modem to host the internet connection"?

3. For the "HUB/SWITCH@LAN7 => DIR615(Stock FW) => IPTV STB" connection:
- is it connect to the DIR-615 WAN port?
- can the DIR-615 still runs in Bridge Mode [as per Rizvanrp's custom router setup] or must be the original setting as per TM?

Thanks in advance! notworthy.gif

pr0di9y
post Aug 15 2010, 03:19 PM

2,404 posts

Yeah need to do some setup to the HUAWEI fiber optic modem. Just a simple WAN connection settings.

As on the DIR-615, the port connected was indeed into the WAN port, I didn't even bother to configure the PPPOE on it. The purpose of the DIR-615 on my setup is just to host the IPTV data distribution.

What I did on the DIR-615 was to just restore to factory default, disable the WiFi on it and just use the existing LAN port forwarding already on it in which the LAN 4 on the device is configured for IPTV data connection.

So far there are no lag / data distortion with my current setup. I think what I'm going to do next is just remove the HUB/SWITCH from my setup. Since my WRT54GL somehow can't support the VLAN tagging of 500.
auronthas
post Aug 15 2010, 03:37 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(pr0di9y @ Aug 15 2010, 03:19 PM)
Yeah need to do some setup to the HUAWEI fiber optic modem. Just a simple WAN connection settings.

As on the DIR-615, the port connected was indeed into the WAN port, I didn't even bother to configure the PPPOE on it. The purpose of the DIR-615 on my setup is just to host the IPTV data distribution.

What I did on the DIR-615 was to just restore to factory default, disable the WiFi on it and just use the existing LAN port forwarding already on it in which the LAN 4 on the device is configured for IPTV data connection.

So far there are no lag / data distortion with my current setup. I think what I'm going to do next is just remove the HUB/SWITCH from my setup. Since my WRT54GL somehow can't support the VLAN tagging of 500.
I think I will do the similar setup as I intend to locate BTU in the living room, side-by-side with DIR-615 ; disable the WIFI at DIR-615, one of 4 LAN ports of DIR-615 will be connected to 'future' IPTV, the other will bridge over my existing modem router WAG120N, disable DHCP, transmit WLAN to my PC/MAC.

As many said, the culprit or the weakest link is the DIR-615 !
pr0di9y
post Aug 15 2010, 03:55 PM

2,404 posts

Is a good router actually, and it serves it purpose well to help tag the VLAN for IPTV. But if used together with the Internet connection that is where I see the problem arise on the IPTV connectivity part.

If you guys need any help on the HUAWEI setup just drop me a PM. But I'm sure you guys should be able to do it yourself as well. Don't forget to use the backup option available on the modem, just in case you accidentally screw up the VOIP setup in there tongue.gif in which you shouldn't even need to play with it in the 1st place.
rizvanrp
post Aug 15 2010, 04:15 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 15 2010, 01:32 PM)
Alamak, sound negative news on Broadcom chipset  doh.gif
It's strange, some LYN dd-wrt forumer did recommend Broadcom base, but no response on how to do it:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry35317179
What about Ralink or Atheros?
I have both WHR-G300N and WHR-HP-G300N, now able to connect internet through:
WHR-G300N Ralink on VLAN2.500
WHR-HP-G300N Atheros on eth0.500

May I know how to setup or "hardcode" command to make vlan2.600 [Ralink] & eth0.600 [Anthros] and map to LAN4?

I'm willing to do any testing even risk of bricking it, I really just want to replace that DIR-615, with such low quality & unreliable product, I can't imagine what will happen after 1 year .... sad.gif

Appreciate your further advise/guidance here! notworthy.gif
Ralink and Atheros can support PPPoE over VLAN interface fine but Broadcom doesn't. Port mapping (or port based VLANs) depends on whether your router can support it in the first place. It's two different issues and it's very hard to find a single router model that can do both of these things at once with dd-wrt. If you really need IPTV, just go with a VLAN switch.

Last night, pr0di9y and I were testing out possible BTU bridging for the Huawei Echolife 850 but in the end I gave up because it simply will not support it. I managed to extract all the passwords from the unit + get full console access (priv exec mode) but no dice sad.gif At most, the Huawei can start and handle a PPPoE connection for you but it doesn't seem to be able to bridge the VLAN with a physical port as far as I can tell.

QUOTE(d60x @ Aug 15 2010, 01:33 PM)
Well, my failing dlink has been replaced by TM this morning. Called them last Friday complaining about the unstable dlink, this morning 2 nice chap from TM turn up,  and quickly replace the dlink. According to them they are  many issues with this router and TM is seeking a quick solution. After 2 hours of heavy used, seems ok so far. I must commend the friendly and helpful attitude of their technicians, its not their fault but TM as a corp.
The moment Unifi launched and we realized they 'locked' us in with this router, everyone already knew this was going to happen :/ I personally blame TM for not giving a damn about functionality and focusing on profitability. BTUs are totally unlocked, anyone can just log in and grab your SIP user/pass through the VOIP network. Same case with the DIR-615. Not to mention the build quality of the hardware which seems to be dropping to the point that even they have to acknowledge that it's a problem.

And now they want to get a new router model to fix this? Just give out new BTUs which strip off all the VLAN tagging once the data is out of the VDSL/Fiber. Let us use our own damn hardware with the service we're paying for.
princeXdevil
post Aug 15 2010, 04:49 PM

33 posts

sorry...noob here .
so now unifi got bandwidth or not?
using VIP 20 here.
#Fly
post Aug 15 2010, 05:01 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 14 2010, 02:35 PM)
unifi ready

Ohh.. but then the green thingy has been there since I moved in to my new home (in June..) until now, just last week I e-mailed their customer service and it said my area not available yet.. it's a new area, but other people shifted in to the neighborhood as early as April..

Btw, what are they doing to the green box in the video?
pr0di9y
post Aug 15 2010, 05:10 PM

2,404 posts

QUOTE(princeXdevil @ Aug 15 2010, 04:49 PM)
sorry...noob here .
so now unifi got bandwidth or not?
using VIP 20 here.
You mean bandwidth cap? I don't think so.

If you're referring to the monthly download cap, that is temporary disable until further notice.

@#Fly
I think they are doing some line testing, signal noise ratio.
klseet
post Aug 15 2010, 05:17 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(pr0di9y @ Aug 15 2010, 03:55 PM)
If you guys need any help on the HUAWEI setup just drop me a PM. ...
UGPM !! nod.gif

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Aug 15 2010, 04:15 PM)
Ralink and Atheros can support PPPoE over VLAN interface fine but Broadcom doesn't. Port mapping (or port based VLANs) depends on whether your router can support it in the first place. It's two different issues and it's very hard to find a single router model that can do both of these things at once with dd-wrt. If you really need IPTV, just go with a VLAN switch.
Guess I really have to put the ASUS RT-N12 into store room liao .... unsure.gif

So is this "Mikrotik RouterBoard RB250G/RB250GS" you mentioned can tag it nicely? Is it difficult to setup? Any recommendation where to get one?
If confirm it works, then I'll get one to solve all the headace....
princeXdevil
post Aug 15 2010, 05:38 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(pr0di9y @ Aug 15 2010, 06:10 PM)
You mean bandwidth cap? I don't think so.

If you're referring to the monthly download cap, that is temporary disable until further notice.

@#Fly
I think they are doing some line testing, signal noise ratio.
yeah . bandwidth cap .
dont have ar?
okay then . thanks (:
Wan
post Aug 15 2010, 06:02 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 15 2010, 01:47 PM)
What router is that?
Isx
post Aug 15 2010, 06:09 PM

190 posts

I need a fix for my ps3 and unifi . psn keeps getting dced.
a13solut3
post Aug 15 2010, 07:00 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

One question.

I'm currently using DIR-615 as my modem, and Linksys WRT54GL with Tomato firmware as router.

So far, I am very satisfied with everything, no problem.

But is it advisable for me to flash DIR-615 to DD-WRT or just leave it as it is if I only intended to use it as modem?

My DIR615 have been running for 12 days straight without resting, and there's no problem with it, actually it's pretty cool itself. I have put the DIR-615 and BTU on RM10 notepad cooler to cool it down since DIR-615 have one USB port lol.

This post has been edited by a13solut3: Aug 15 2010, 07:07 PM
rizvanrp
post Aug 15 2010, 07:09 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Aug 15 2010, 07:00 PM)
One question.

I'm currently using DIR-615 as my modem, and Linksys WRT54GL with Tomato firmware as router.

So far, I am very satisfied with everything, no problem.

But is it advisable for me to flash DIR-615 to DD-WRT or just leave it as it is if I only intended to use it as modem?
If you've done the bridge configuration on the DIR-615 to be used with your WRT54GL, leave it that way. If you flash the DIR-615 to dd-wrt you will lose IPTV and be unable to use your wrt54gl in the same configuration :3
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 15 2010, 07:41 PM

4,465 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Aug 15 2010, 02:56 PM)
May I know what replacement you bought? Is it easy to setup?
Please share more details, thx!
ESR-9850 which has 700 mbps total throughput which is excellent.

I bought from Linkecomputer from Hongkong e-seller which does international shipping. Total cost only RM270 which is cheap when compared to buying locally for highend routers which cost like 600+ in Malaysia.

And the ESR-9850 out performs them which is why i highly recommend them.

The only downside is no third party support yet for other firmwares. But the basic firmware is pretty good if you ask me, but lacks client mode for wireless.

bobbobagan
post Aug 15 2010, 08:23 PM

20 posts

I just signed up to Unifi 5 mbps package in Lowyat today biggrin.gif Looking forward to getting it in 3-4 weeks biggrin.gif

Cyberjaya is location.

I just recently brought a TP-Link TD-W8960N. Can I use it with Unifi? I don't want to use the TM net one since I read here they put a backdoor in the router. Is that true?

This post has been edited by bobbobagan: Aug 15 2010, 08:28 PM

121 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0528sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:32 PM