126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V4 (More than 100 owners), Where tablet meets mobile phone

arcalius_7
post Jul 28 2010, 10:36 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(snxstudio @ Jul 28 2010, 09:41 PM)
i like this phone...need advice...buy or not to buy
depends bro. if you interested @ have experience in linux(ie Ubuntu) at PC, then no problem for you. plus, if you afford to lose some phone feature like video call or garmin feel, I can say go ahead. But prepare with googling skills and patients as this phone really need abit depth understanding before you start screwing and selling back after a month. just my 2cent.

By the way, I saw this phone starts gain attention from everyone despite nokia dropped its support. dropped price maybe? biggrin.gif
But I wonder and afraid suddenly v4 thread got alot of ppl having problem with their phone..Maybe I have to opt for Zitron set later.

cloud8318
post Jul 28 2010, 10:37 PM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 28 2010, 09:53 PM)
@chicaman: aspire is correct, the N900 DOES NOT have a magnetometer, hence the wierd spinning around when stopped issue in Ovi Maps. Also, no REAL AR programs will work sans external orientation markers.

So, a week into my goreng goreng episode, anybody else fried their motherboards yet (or more specifically, the eMMC).

Shame I trauma edi to run Starving after this, maybe just XLV 500-850 lol.

@KKLOO: if you're using Titan's kernel, that's just the normal "crash recovery" settings. Another reboot and you'll be OCed again.

And do you know what I strangely miss the most about the N900 guys? It's the ability to ctrl+z and undo anywhere. Very handy, trust me.
looking for member join the Goreng stuff....sorry lah....maybe later laugh.gif btw what the cost changing the motherboard? hmm.gif

maybe didn't warm up ur thumb laugh.gif
arsaa
post Jul 28 2010, 10:43 PM

234 posts

i just want to check with you guys on the backend running aps on my N900 which i see via conky..

there are two items that i want to know..what is:
1. xOrg
2. browserd

tq!
ShrugsLova
post Jul 28 2010, 11:22 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 28 2010, 10:20 PM)
depends try asking this to an iphone fanboy. This phone sux big time because they dunno how to use the phone.
To make u simple

Simplicity - Not suitable
Intermediate - Suitable
Advanced - Suitable
That's a good answer, buy Iphone if you want simplicity (in a good way) or be prototype. Many Iphone people buy Iphone because many are using it.
Some girls dunno shit bout their phone, but claim their phone the best.

Pathetically look at Iphone 4.

Just my 2cent.

;D
arcalius_7
post Jul 28 2010, 11:36 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Jul 28 2010, 10:43 PM)
i just want to check with you guys on the backend running aps on my N900 which i see via conky..

there are two items that i want to know..what is:
1. xOrg
2. browserd

tq!
xOrg will be your phone UI process. Dun kill it as it may hang ur UI or more.
browserd - browser daemon?. try google and share with us.
Gouki
post Jul 28 2010, 11:47 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

i got problem installing fAPN. it says application packages missing: python (=2.5.2-3maemo3). blink.gif
KKLOO
post Jul 28 2010, 11:48 PM

184 posts

can you guys use zoutube?

edited

never mind i found out that zoutube doesnt work on the new firmware

This post has been edited by KKLOO: Jul 28 2010, 11:57 PM
wankajang
post Jul 29 2010, 12:11 AM

Guys, i'm so happy today. my VK working..and the best part is....i can watch movie with 'subtitle'...
KKLOO
post Jul 29 2010, 12:19 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(wankajang @ Jul 29 2010, 12:11 AM)
Guys, i'm so happy today. my VK working..and the best part is....i can watch movie with 'subtitle'...
what is vk?
chicaman
post Jul 29 2010, 12:20 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

VK?

What is that, btw avi movie cant fast forward sad.gif
Patent
post Jul 29 2010, 12:21 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 28 2010, 11:47 PM)
i got problem installing fAPN. it says application packages missing: python (=2.5.2-3maemo3). blink.gif
i think you are missing a package, try this

http://maemo.org/packages/package_instance.../2.5.2-3maemo3/
wankajang
post Jul 29 2010, 12:21 AM

QUOTE(KKLOO @ Jul 29 2010, 12:19 AM)
what is vk?
virtual keyboard
Gouki
post Jul 29 2010, 12:26 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 29 2010, 12:21 AM)

thx mate~ notworthy.gif
KKLOO
post Jul 29 2010, 12:31 AM

184 posts

edited never mind what i said

This post has been edited by KKLOO: Jul 29 2010, 02:06 AM
Gouki
post Jul 29 2010, 12:38 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jul 29 2010, 12:21 AM)

eh~ how to install? unsure.gif
cloud8318
post Jul 29 2010, 12:48 AM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

V. keyboard working with or without chinese(pinyin) apps install?? hmm.gif
cwl_ykh
post Jul 29 2010, 01:31 AM

5,114 posts

QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Jul 28 2010, 11:22 PM)
That's a good answer, buy Iphone if you want simplicity (in a good way) or be prototype. Many Iphone people buy Iphone because many are using it.
Some girls dunno shit bout their phone, but claim their phone the best.

Pathetically look at Iphone 4.

Just my 2cent.

;D
haha i really agree on this 1... icon_rolleyes.gif
gavinchong
post Jul 29 2010, 04:39 AM

65 posts

What sofware is it for the chinese input?? Anyone available to help??
Need it for texting friends... Thanks!
darkfaerytales
post Jul 29 2010, 05:45 AM

127 posts

movie with subs?thats very nice.are you using standard player or 3rd party apps?
jananan
post Jul 29 2010, 07:42 AM

Android
1,513 posts

i have reflashed and stayed off the titan's OC kernel because i wanted FCam and i don't want to install multiboot.

since i am not using n900 as a phone,

the GSM/3G power usage factor is out of the equation.

Bluetooth/gps/wifi all are turned off.

only FasterAppMan / Leafpad / FCam and FCam drivers are installed.

ambient light sensor and keyboard lights turned off.

no widgets loaded, only shortcuts on desktop.

leaving the n900 on standby with no background apps it discharges at a very slow rate, very very slow infact.

i checked battery with "hal-device bme" since i have no battery level widgets installed.

timeline
---------

tuesday 9pm - fully charged, re-flashed

tuesday 10pm - some wifi surfing - 20 minutes

wednesday 8am - battery 80%

wednesday 6pm - some wifi surfing - 20 minutes

wednesday 10pm - some wifi surfing - 20 minutes

wednesday night 10pm - 50%

thursday 7am - 49% and still going.

either battery reporting is way off or the n900 is actually sleeping at 0 voltage. (like its supposed to)

standby battery life is actually better with original kernel, in fact better than running XLV or near IDEAL profile voltages.

i could never get these figures using kernel-power and even when underclocking to 250Mhz - 500Mhz and under exact same conditions as above.

seems the n900 is only able to sleep @ 0 Volt using the original kernel, unless titan comes out with a newer kernel (v38 ?) that can sleep @ 0 voltage and run on lower voltage.

Added on July 29, 2010, 7:43 am
QUOTE(darkfaerytales @ Jul 29 2010, 05:45 AM)
movie with subs?thats very nice.are you using standard player or 3rd party apps?
you can get subtitles support with standard player. need to install extra codecs and subtitles support from extras.

This post has been edited by jananan: Jul 29 2010, 07:43 AM

126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:17 AM