Nokia N900 V4 (More than 100 owners), Where tablet meets mobile phone
cloud8318
Jul 28 2010, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 28 2010, 02:49 PM) dun recall but i m sure no apps crash..but dun u think is weird? it only happen on night..day time all work normally that's why i suspect something wrong at the clock apps.... did u try to adjust the clock from AM to PM....see the crazy reaction appear at daytime?
Andy214
Jul 28 2010, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 28 2010, 02:49 PM) dun recall but i m sure no apps crash..but dun u think is weird? it only happen on night..day time all work normally Added on July 28, 2010, 2:50 pmactually i tested on 1st day without any apps..d prob still there Did you read my previous reply? Try to check the swap usage, which usually will cause these lagging problem. As for why happen on night, probably there's some app or process that triggered to run at this time. Did you install any time-activated profile or something? Try to monitor in htop which process is running with high memory/cpu usage.
jloi
Jul 28 2010, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 28 2010, 04:24 PM) Did you read my previous reply? Try to check the swap usage, which usually will cause these lagging problem. As for why happen on night, probably there's some app or process that triggered to run at this time. Did you install any time-activated profile or something? Try to monitor in htop which process is running with high memory/cpu usage. sorry juz saw ur previous msg..i open b4 and everything work normally as shown in conky i dun have any time activated stuff..i seldom install apps LOL Added on July 28, 2010, 4:55 pmQUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 28 2010, 04:01 PM) that's why i suspect something wrong at the clock apps.... did u try to adjust the clock from AM to PM....see the crazy reaction appear at daytime? LOL din try tat, haha..mayb i'll test tat someday This post has been edited by jloi: Jul 28 2010, 04:55 PM
Andy214
Jul 28 2010, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 28 2010, 04:55 PM) sorry juz saw ur previous msg..i open b4 and everything work normally as shown in conky i dun have any time activated stuff..i seldom install apps LOL Added on July 28, 2010, 4:55 pmLOL din try tat, haha..mayb i'll test tat someday When it happen again,try to see your swap usage, how much is it and post it up here. If possible take a screen capture of it.
wankajang
Jul 28 2010, 05:21 PM
anyone here already buy all full level of Angry Birds? how much in RM?
chicaman
Jul 28 2010, 05:24 PM
how to know n900 compass is working?
ShrugsLova
Jul 28 2010, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 28 2010, 03:55 PM) sad part is mine already send for warranty.... when the time i bought N900, i can't find shop at ipoh selling it, after found one.....the price different is RM110 compare to KL..... about the seller....so far no complain....he didn't ask much question when i want to send the phone for warranty but one thing u need to know is this seller don't have shop at ipoh(his shop at KL)....anything happen to the phone, he come to ipoh collect the phone from us and take it back to KL and send it to AP service center for us.....phone will return to us minimum 1 week time....that's the bad part so nice of you to let me know this, I think i need to recheck the price in greentown 1st
jloi
Jul 28 2010, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 28 2010, 05:08 PM) When it happen again,try to see your swap usage, how much is it and post it up here. If possible take a screen capture of it. wookie..it gonna pain in ass to press it..i need like keep scrolling it thousands times for it to work as normally
cloud8318
Jul 28 2010, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Jul 28 2010, 05:33 PM) so nice of you to let me know this, I think i need to recheck the price in greentown 1st to be honest...if ipoh shop selling price different from KL >RM50+/-....i suggest get it at ipoh, save alot of trouble when the phone have problem....
Josh_M
Jul 28 2010, 08:33 PM
circular motion on the touchscreen will zoom in & out while browsing
KKLOO
Jul 28 2010, 08:39 PM

To restore back to original speed Step 1 In your nokia n900 Menu go to More... > X Terminal Step 2 Type Root > Enter Step 3 Type apt-get --reinstall install kernel kernel-flasher > Enter Step 4 That is all ok for step 2 i type in sudo gainroot after i type in step 3. i got this message. After this operation, 0B of additional disk space will be used. Do you want to continue [Y/n]? so what do i do? anyone pls help This post has been edited by KKLOO: Jul 28 2010, 09:04 PM
TSaspire2oo6
Jul 28 2010, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(chicaman @ Jul 28 2010, 05:24 PM) how to know n900 compass is working? from wat i remember nokia n900 do not have compass like n97
ShrugsLova
Jul 28 2010, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 28 2010, 09:11 PM) from wat i remember nokia n900 do not have compass like n97 Perhaps software?
TSaspire2oo6
Jul 28 2010, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Jul 28 2010, 09:24 PM) wont work. Your phone cant detect where is north where is south or west except if u use GPS its possibile
KKLOO
Jul 28 2010, 09:40 PM

alright i somehow manage to restore the clock speed. the first try i dunno why i get that message. after reboot and try again then only worked. restored back to 600MHZ
snxstudio
Jul 28 2010, 09:41 PM
i like this phone...need advice...buy or not to buy
Eiraku
Jul 28 2010, 09:53 PM
@chicaman: aspire is correct, the N900 DOES NOT have a magnetometer, hence the wierd spinning around when stopped issue in Ovi Maps. Also, no REAL AR programs will work sans external orientation markers.
So, a week into my goreng goreng episode, anybody else fried their motherboards yet (or more specifically, the eMMC).
Shame I trauma edi to run Starving after this, maybe just XLV 500-850 lol.
@KKLOO: if you're using Titan's kernel, that's just the normal "crash recovery" settings. Another reboot and you'll be OCed again.
And do you know what I strangely miss the most about the N900 guys? It's the ability to ctrl+z and undo anywhere. Very handy, trust me.
This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 28 2010, 09:58 PM
cloud8318
Jul 28 2010, 09:54 PM
@snxstudio what kind of advise?
This post has been edited by cloud8318: Jul 28 2010, 09:56 PM
Josh_M
Jul 28 2010, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(snxstudio @ Jul 28 2010, 09:41 PM) i like this phone...need advice...buy or not to buy One peice advice....you wont regret buying this phone...
TSaspire2oo6
Jul 28 2010, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(Josh_M @ Jul 28 2010, 10:17 PM) One peice advice....you wont regret buying this phone... depends try asking this to an iphone fanboy. This phone sux big time because they dunno how to use the phone. To make u simple Simplicity - Not suitable Intermediate - Suitable Advanced - Suitable