and aspire, you still have the screen proctetor and case combo? I'm interested.
pm me.
TY
Nokia N900 V4 (More than 100 owners), Where tablet meets mobile phone
Jul 25 2010, 11:09 PM
568 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
and aspire, you still have the screen proctetor and case combo? I'm interested.
pm me. TY |
Jul 26 2010, 01:11 AM
I have read all about N900, from aspire N900 Thread V1-V4, and I finally know that GPS is not a selling-element in N900. Even with Sygic it's still with out-dated maps *sigh*. Yet I'm still very curious bout their OviMap, can it run offline? (i guess not?)
I'm getting my N900 this Saturday, hopefully if our COD success. Looking forward to that day very much, eagerly and excitedly. I'm an avid blogger too, that's why N900 is one of my choice for more comforting surfing experience. Maemo platform is another attraction (althought I'm not a big fan of Linux type OS). But suprisingly Nokia is abandoning Maemo for Meego, no wonder the price of N900 drops so much; that it don't sound like a joke to me. Yet I still hope there's alternative, maybe to update Maemo to Meego or Androids (with no risk) or betterstill Nokia keep the Maemo alive. I would say open source like Maemo, Meego and Androids would be the most wanted element in future phone, rather than *cough* Iphone *cough* where we need jailbreak to run apps. I would say "What a trouble!". Nonetheless I heard the Ovistore is in beta mode, any different from the normal Ovistore? One more thing I don't really understand is N900 has a FM transmitter but it require a 3rd party software to run it. That's a pain in the ass not? Where can I find it? Still I think I gonna pick N900 over Milestone now. Nothing come near to N900 in term of Internet browsing, I guess. Correct me if I'm wrong. Cheers guy! ;D |
Jul 26 2010, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 22 2010, 03:19 PM) So far, no good GPS app for Malaysia. There's Sygic but the mao is very dated. Since this is your 2nd phone, I think the GPS may not be one of the important thing for you since you can have alternatives on your 1st phone? Andy say no good GPS apps, how come your GPS working fine?Fir standalone MSN app, there's aMSN which is Desktop version, but it takes up a lot of resources. There's other 3rd party app which allows you to connect to other IM accounts. I can tell you straight that you might be better off forget about 3rd party app. Just use the Conversations, it's so much easier, no need to purposely open the program, then click sign in. Then need to switch around, etc. With the built-in conversations, when you're online, all your accounts can be online and you can see your friend's status in your contact book, it's a lot better really. Besides, you can place Contacts on your desktop, then you can see their IM status as well. No need to purposely start an app, sign in, and check through one by one. You can also read the review from ShaolinTiger, very well written, as below he posted: QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 26 2010, 01:27 AM) Nope it doesnt require 3rd party to work i always do that while driving the quality is better than N97 transmitter. Gps is one of th selling- element but just lack of software support. How you do that? Just plug in headset and you're ready to go with FM? No internet connection? No 3rd party software?My n900 gps is the only phone that works in my car with V-cool and lock time without a-gps in 1-3mins when all my other nokia/ iphone cant even work. |
Jul 26 2010, 01:48 AM
Jul 26 2010, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 26 2010, 01:48 AM) Andy is right no good GPS apps but GPS is a hardware . The hardware is great just no good software. So the GPS still render useless, not? crappy software=crappy GPS=crappy navigation, or do you have something better? I think u mess up all the information FM Radio - requires headset to listen to our local radio ( yes requires 3rd party) can get from apps manager for FREE FM Transmitter - Transmit audio from your device to any FM receiver like car radio , Radio player. ( Do not require 3rd party but certain region like HK law do not allow them to use FM transmitter for privacy reason) Ya I messed up BIG TIME. I was referring to FM Radio but since you answered my question, thanks! aspire you're my N900 guru! |
Jul 26 2010, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(jananan @ Jul 26 2010, 02:24 PM) don't know hows the quality on this one... It looks so business type.http://europe.nokia.com/find-products/acce...ing-case-cp-408 How much? Added on July 26, 2010, 2:49 pmHey guys I'm going to get my phone this week, a second hand one, any advise during COD? Beside checking IMEI, WARRANTY, PHONE BASIC USAGE, CAMERA and SOFT KEYBOARD? Also what software should a begineer have in his N900? Most useful software, anyone? This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Jul 26 2010, 02:50 PM |
Jul 26 2010, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 26 2010, 05:03 PM) I think the price will still drop if Nokia releases their Meego. When Nokia really abandon maemo and go full strength for Meego, what will you forumers do? 1) Abandon maemo too and go for Meego/Winmo7/Androids? OR 2) Stick with maemo with outdated software/firmware? OR 3) Flash and install available compatible platform? Despite knowing, Nokia will abandon maemo, I still purchase a N900 this week. Is it a suicidal purchase? Added on July 26, 2010, 6:30 pm QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 26 2010, 05:39 PM) The GPS is not render useless. Just the map not up to date. So aspire, you're using Sygric 9 now? Working like charm? On par with Garmin XT? Or just another crappy software?Example - If the area exist in 2009 - GPS software should be ok in navigating If the area only exist after 2009 - Then maybe wont appear on the map thats all This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Jul 26 2010, 06:30 PM |
Jul 26 2010, 07:08 PM
Jul 27 2010, 12:37 AM
DARN!!! I kena FFK by the seller even before the COD. Darn! Having N900 dream just put to waste now!
But still I'm planning to get a new one; most probably an AP set. (thanks to aspire and you guys' poison). Then again, there's another offer for Motorola Milestone; it's Android. (Sorry to put other brand phone in this topic, but I have to :| ) Any suggestion over here, Milestone or N900? (I can predict most of you will ask me to get N900) ;D |
Jul 28 2010, 12:27 AM
Jul 28 2010, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 27 2010, 11:29 PM) Are u sure its not china set? STOLEN PHONE!When walking on street u notice a weird fella standing there then suddenly he take out E72, N900, N95 8GB like want to offer. But i ask myself i got so lucky meh suddenly one guy appear out of no where offer me so good deal |
Jul 28 2010, 12:34 AM
It amazed me that there're still many who continue buying N900 despite Nokia might abandon Maemo soon.
What a spirit! Way to go! |
Jul 28 2010, 12:37 AM
AP got problem one meh?
My previous AP set used for 5 years without a problem (not including the numerous time to reflash my phone) But my Zitron set only used for 1 years already gimme crap! just my 2cent though. ;D |
Jul 28 2010, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(chicaman @ Jul 28 2010, 12:39 AM) I can't agree no moreAdded on July 28, 2010, 12:43 amJust wondering is there any other seller who has price lower than x132775? RM1,340? Ipoh here selling at RM 1.4k or so. This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Jul 28 2010, 12:43 AM |
Jul 28 2010, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 28 2010, 12:45 AM) huh u from ipoh meh????? same same 2 week back check the price at ipoh at 1480 ng hai kuar? last month i check it was 1470, now raised back ;D lolz QUOTE Added on July 28, 2010, 12:49 am if the price only different RM200+- sure support ORI.....the time i bought is different RM600+- anyone know the after sales service of x132755? This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Jul 28 2010, 12:54 AM |
Jul 28 2010, 01:00 AM
Jul 28 2010, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 28 2010, 01:07 AM) i bought on 16/7/10 at RM1390, not sure what is the price now.....if u want try PM him. he back to ipoh every friday....if u are fast enough....can get the phone this friday....else have to wait till next friday pm-ed that fella, hopefully it's cheaper than yours.I check the price at Greentown Mall last month, it was rm 1470. Anyway if he can offer a hell cheaper price than Greentown Mall, if not gonna buy it there, less troublesome. Added on July 28, 2010, 1:18 am QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 28 2010, 01:02 AM) nope.....two week back i check the price at Big World....know what...that the only shop can give me the price of N900....other shop all said: sorry we don't have it yet....this N900 isn't launch in malaysia yet...WTF Those seller at Ipoh act pandai, tot they know everything bout phone. Last time my N-gage, the fella give me MicroSD card and 'die die' say can fit one.This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Jul 28 2010, 01:18 AM |
Jul 28 2010, 12:56 PM
Best offer from Angel_Mi2K for N900 rm 1330, take it?
Jul 28 2010, 03:09 PM
Jul 28 2010, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 28 2010, 03:55 PM) sad part is mine already send for warranty.... so nice of you to let me know this, I think i need to recheck the price in greentown 1stwhen the time i bought N900, i can't find shop at ipoh selling it, after found one.....the price different is RM110 compare to KL..... about the seller....so far no complain....he didn't ask much question when i want to send the phone for warranty but one thing u need to know is this seller don't have shop at ipoh(his shop at KL)....anything happen to the phone, he come to ipoh collect the phone from us and take it back to KL and send it to AP service center for us.....phone will return to us minimum 1 week time....that's the bad part |
| Change to: | 0.0213sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:16 PM |