your not supposed to dim normal energy saving bulb..
Renovations Lighting, You Light Up My Life
May 14 2012, 05:51 PM
336 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: mêlߤú®ñê |
your not supposed to dim normal energy saving bulb..
May 14 2012, 06:24 PM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 15 2012, 10:07 AM
17,013 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
May 15 2012, 10:23 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 15 2012, 09:25 PM
558 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(eastern @ May 14 2012, 03:38 PM) Thanks for the replies... i only found out that there is a dimmer connected to the energy saving lights. I suspect without me knowing it may cause the voltage not being stable... and causes flickering that i did not notice. That's why the light bulb goes off fast. What type of energy saving lights? PLC or PLC-E? Might want to consider getting your replacement from other shop.By the way, if i'm not mistaken the bulbs are only 2-3months old that's why it is a bit odd. Need to remove the dimmer connection... and monitor this senario. Thanks again. QUOTE(weikee @ May 14 2012, 06:24 PM) There are dimmable eletronic ballast in the market for PLC tube, but have to change to 4-pin PLC tube as well. |
May 15 2012, 11:00 PM
96 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
I just completed my lighting installation with AVALON.
VERY DISAPPOINTED. Firstly they delivered and installed the wrong light. Secondly the installer done a shoddy job. All lights were installed with only 1 screw to the concrete ceiling. Even after I complained the installer refused to put in the second or third screw. He say it how they installed it and it is safe enough. The problem is I have paid all the dues during the promotion time and have nothing to force them to do it. No more AVALON lighting for me. Really hopeless. |
May 18 2012, 09:36 AM
1,529 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: PJ |
QUOTE(manemaren @ May 15 2012, 11:00 PM) I just completed my lighting installation with AVALON. WHich branch you go? Have you complain to they manager or supervisor?VERY DISAPPOINTED. Firstly they delivered and installed the wrong light. Secondly the installer done a shoddy job. All lights were installed with only 1 screw to the concrete ceiling. Even after I complained the installer refused to put in the second or third screw. He say it how they installed it and it is safe enough. The problem is I have paid all the dues during the promotion time and have nothing to force them to do it. No more AVALON lighting for me. Really hopeless. |
May 18 2012, 10:41 AM
I went to Nilai3 branch but the installer is from Pandan Indah...
I reported and a manager came to check things out... how he check the installation is a laughing matter... He did not dismantle a single bulb or climb up to the attic to see if a wood is placed for the plaster ceiling ... he just go around the house and see the lights from down... later, he mentioned that the lights are properly installed... I "taruk" him kaw kaw... and later he left... hopeless fellow... |
May 18 2012, 05:51 PM
My LED downlight CREE LR6 come already after many week wait. This model famous in western side and very reliable. Cost around RM120.
Spec is equavalent to 65w bulb, 10.5w, 575Lumens, 3yrs warranty, 35k life hr, 2700k and 120V. It is not suitable for here since our voltage is 240V. ![]() Use a step down transformer 240V-110V to fire up the downlight. ![]() This downlight is not really efficiency and not run exactly wattage as it claim 10.5W. Using kill a watt meter to check, actual run is 11.6W or almost 12W. Probably PF0.9. ![]() After sastified the brightness and confirm it working, start to open up inside and see what is inside there. So a AC-DC powersupply(driver) and inside is some LED. Check the voltage supply to the LED is 17VDC. ![]() Than takeout the powersupply and direct joint to a laptop adaptor which is a 16VDC. Now I can use 240V adaptor and direct joint to the CREE downlight. Running no problem with actual volatge is 16.36VDC. ![]() This post has been edited by ozak: Dec 18 2018, 09:24 AM |
May 19 2012, 09:44 PM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
My watt Meter's user manual stated that the meter itseft will consume 0.5w but not sure it was included or excluded in the display.
May 19 2012, 10:17 PM
May 20 2012, 10:47 PM
142 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Just to share i bought mostly all main light from this place called One Stop Home Care Lighting at Kajang Perdana. The price is reasonable and there is lot of model to choose for ceiling light, pendant light even chandelier.
I went to top ten and house of lighting at puchong, but they have lesser choices. Try to visit One stop, you will see the difference, if you are the person who like to choose modern and design lighting. |
May 21 2012, 12:39 AM
May 21 2012, 02:25 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 21 2012, 09:59 AM
May 21 2012, 10:24 AM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
QUOTE(ozak @ May 18 2012, 05:51 PM) Than takeout the powersupply and direct joint to a laptop adaptor which is a 16VDC. Now I can use 240V adaptor and direct joint to the CREE downlight. Running no problem with actual volatge is 16.36VDC. what does the watt 0 meter say when u measure from the laptop adaptor ??» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « is it similar to their adaptor ? with the power correction/efficiency of .9 ? This post has been edited by JinXXX: May 21 2012, 10:45 AM |
May 21 2012, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 21 2012, 10:24 AM) what does the watt 0 meter say when u measure from the laptop adaptor ?? I didn't measure the laptop adaptor after modify the light. As that day, the incoming volatge is 250V! I worried the watt meter will spoil. (Spoiled before)is it similar to their adaptor ? with the power correction/efficiency of .9 ? I believe the watt usage will be higher than the original AC-DC board. As the laptop adaptor spec is 80w. Which you can power 7pcs of this downlight. Using the laptop adaptor to power 1pcs of this is overkill. The downlight without the AC-DC board, I believe is 10.5W as it claim. But I would like to confirm again later on. The watt meter can't check the DC voltage to the LED. Got to use another way. |
May 22 2012, 03:27 PM
2,301 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: android#[me@linuxbox me]$ my_location |
led downlight can tahan lama? can last for 2-3years or not?
May 23 2012, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ May 21 2012, 12:26 PM) I didn't measure the laptop adaptor after modify the light. As that day, the incoming volatge is 250V! I worried the watt meter will spoil. (Spoiled before) Today try to check again. So takeout the original driver and direct joint to the laptop adaptor. To my suprise, the running watt from the laptop adaptor is lower than the driver itself. Just 5.8W!I believe the watt usage will be higher than the original AC-DC board. As the laptop adaptor spec is 80w. Which you can power 7pcs of this downlight. Using the laptop adaptor to power 1pcs of this is overkill. The downlight without the AC-DC board, I believe is 10.5W as it claim. But I would like to confirm again later on. The watt meter can't check the DC voltage to the LED. Got to use another way. Measure the LED watt consume. The meter show 0.179A. So the watt is 16.3VDC x 0.18A = 3W! Can't believe it that low. Something wrong with my culculation. ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by ozak: Dec 18 2018, 09:31 AM |
May 28 2012, 11:32 AM
289 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Mars |
Just curious,
1) How do we know the max. allowable wattage for the bulb / light socket prior to purchasing any bulb? (If there is no indication on the socket) 2) What will happen if the bulb we buy exceeds the max allowable wattage? Thanks. This post has been edited by eastern: May 28 2012, 11:34 AM |
| Change to: | 0.5994sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:19 PM |