Renovations Lighting, You Light Up My Life

ozak
post Jul 8 2010, 01:14 PM

17,013 posts

If you carefully place the downlight in your room, you can save alot in term of electricity, bulb and quantity.

I use 4pcs 6" downlight and 18w saving bulb to enough light my master bedroom. And it quite bright. The bulb last for 7-8yrs before each change.
ozak
post Jul 12 2010, 10:51 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(kathlynn @ Jul 11 2010, 10:31 PM)
wow. ok, there's a long checklist of things i need to be weary of... thanks ya!~ smile.gif will keep that in mind when i go light shoppin again...

btw, jus to share, i went to Old Klang Road & notice that they price is wayyyy cheaper than the one i check in SS2 ytd... but in terms of quality wise, im am not so sure. however, for the hanging pendant light (similiar to the photo attached earlier), the one in SS2 "workmanship" more "fine".... maybe i will get the downlights from OKR & the hanging lights from ss2 wink.gif

Added on July 11, 2010, 10:32 pmbtw- i have two conflicting opinions from two diff light vendors. some say use the one with choker - longer life span for the bulb. another one mention that no diff usin choker or non-choker, in fact choker more costly & inconvinient to maintain for homes..

anyone to share their experience? wink.gif
Try check around in puchong. Than you know where is the cheapest.

Yes, choke type more longer lifespan. Mind last 7-8yrs. Most of the saving bulb spoil cause by electronic parts. Which cause by the heat.
ozak
post Jul 27 2010, 01:06 PM

17,013 posts

Your ELCB trip if there is a shortcircuit.

TNB power shortcircuit? hmm.gif
ozak
post Jul 28 2010, 08:52 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Jul 27 2010, 10:53 PM)
ic...my house running 4hp....thinking of putting 1 more hp.......
got once fuse exploded due to 4hp + 2 water heater...

Added on July 27, 2010, 10:53 pmat the same time...
Did you upgrade your house electrical board to 60Amp circuit that need to apply to TNB?

A std house is just 30Amp circuit which not enough to take heavy load. If all your electrical run a the same time, it will blow the fuse or trip your circuit. The worst is melt your wire and caught fire.

Normally a new house will have an option to upgrade to 60Amp from 30Amp. Or already provided if the house is expensive type. If an old house, you got to check it out.
ozak
post Dec 17 2010, 10:33 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(Arkadeuz @ Dec 16 2010, 10:42 AM)
3. ...and lastly how much exactly an LED bulb cost? Because I read it from somewhere it can cut the letricity bill by 70%.. If that is the case..Won't installing LED light fixture save you more $$ in a long run?

LED bulb is not really save or efficient. Many will get con or confuse with the always compare the watt bulb with the LED bulb.

The true comparison is the watt/lumens of the bulb output. LED till now is not higher lumen than energy saving bulb.

The last I saw 5.5watt LED bulb cost RM115. Not china brand but toshiba japan.

Added on December 17, 2010, 10:39 am
QUOTE(cnystore @ Dec 17 2010, 12:39 AM)
put the surface downlight ... no need plaster ceiling ......
How does this thing look?

This post has been edited by ozak: Dec 17 2010, 10:39 AM
ozak
post Feb 9 2011, 10:00 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(cliffang83 @ Feb 8 2011, 11:06 PM)
Anyone used wireless switch for light?
There is few company doing this locally. 1 of the famous brand is X10 if not mistaken. But you can search around some lighting shop or ACE hardware.

I have 1 lastime but spoil after 10yrs use. Quite reliable. Unfortunately can't find anymore that remote control switch.

Added on February 9, 2011, 10:02 am
QUOTE(koled_anie @ Feb 9 2011, 09:36 AM)
using remote control?  laugh.gif
Haven't see before?

Very good use when you are lazy at the bed. Or when you don't want disturb your activity at your bed with your wife. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ozak: Feb 9 2011, 10:02 AM
ozak
post Mar 22 2011, 06:16 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Mar 22 2011, 03:26 PM)
got some normal square 4" downlight today... RM7.90 each... nice deal?
the promoter told me spiral type is brighter... guess i'll try my luck by installing 1 single spiral bulb... if not ok then only use 2 normal bulb.

Hitachi brand bulb ok or not? RM8.5 if not mistaken, comes with 1 year warranty.
What is the watt of this Hitachi bulb? I brought for rm22 for 23w. So far using hitachi last quite long compare philip and cap ayam. Now all the bulb I change to hitachi. But not that cheap.
ozak
post Dec 27 2011, 08:48 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Dec 27 2011, 01:21 AM)
Have the praying session for house moving in hence required turn ON all light day before and after...
Guess what... within the 3 days, it alread runned more than 50kWh only on Light

8 x 15Watt LED downlight
42 vertical downlight
Fews Deco light
17 x 4F T5
3 x 3F

Can't imaging if after moving all the electrical appliances in...
* Exiting house only using fluorescent
This is normal for new house buyer. After that you will try to control. And guess what, you will find some of the light is not neccessary and waste.
ozak
post Dec 27 2011, 12:02 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 27 2011, 11:38 AM)
I still don't know how the Gov subsidy people use less than <= RM 20.

Crazy, all the tax we pay, all the loan we give to TNB we should be getting FOC.
Don't rant. That subsidy not for you. It is for poor people. A few light, fan. pc and a TV.

But true. My friend stay alone enjoying this subsidy even he is not poor. His electrical appliacance as mention above.
ozak
post Dec 27 2011, 01:47 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 27 2011, 12:06 PM)
TNB is used to be government, and now go private all RED, used up so much our tax money.  Just like MAS, they use lots of EPF money we should be getting free MAS ticket!!!

They have problem with managing the money, and want to charge the citizen. Why IPP get to charge TNB so high?
All the while GLC co. don't make money but ask money. In our eye, look like private co.. But actual is still gov control thru own people. Manage by a bunch of monkey money sucker.

Blame mahatir for the IPP deal. Because of power shortage and want fast and short solution, just give all sweat deal to IPP. Now we surfer. He wash hand goyang kaki.

1 day, TNB no money pay and IPP switch of their supply. All of us go dark. Man, got to start my solar project now. sweat.gif

Added on December 27, 2011, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ Dec 27 2011, 12:37 PM)
Got all needed lights for whole house at house of lighting.
Only RM1.5k, included change to energy saving bulks.
The most expensive light is rm129.
Btw, all my lights are celling type lights.
Better calculate your lights Watt usage and plan wisely. Otherwise endup like Jo_da48. Unless you don't mind your bill.

This post has been edited by ozak: Dec 27 2011, 01:49 PM
ozak
post Dec 27 2011, 04:41 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Dec 27 2011, 04:35 PM)
i got two big lights can hold 9 bulbs each

can anyone calculate what is the month usage for these two lights

say average 8 hours a day

18 bulbs x 15watt = 270watt
270w x 8hr x 365/12 = 66kwh/mth x 0.218 = $14.4

ozak
post Dec 27 2011, 05:05 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Dec 27 2011, 04:46 PM)
thanks...not that costly..hehehe
For me, this is very costly. My whole house light cost about RM5 permonth. I m poor man. sad.gif
ozak
post Dec 27 2011, 06:16 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Dec 27 2011, 05:07 PM)
i see i see..

then i need to cut the 15watt bulbs to 10 watt...LOL
That would reduce your house brightness.
ozak
post Dec 27 2011, 07:17 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 27 2011, 06:49 PM)
Aiyoo ... so high ah?  blink.gif
Better "adjust the meter" liao.. tongue.gif
When the meter spin fast, I use the hammer bang it. It work. tongue.gif
ozak
post Dec 28 2011, 10:09 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Dec 28 2011, 09:59 AM)
So exepnsive???  whistling.gif
Yeah, Thinking of go solar for my light to reduce the bill. Put a panel and some cheap battery. I just have to makesure light off before 10pm. If not blackout. tongue.gif
ozak
post Dec 28 2011, 11:24 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Dec 28 2011, 11:10 AM)
Friend...what house are you staying? Only RM5 per month???
Very small small DSL only.

My calculation is

1) hall - 3x23w ccfl = 69w x 6hr x 365/12 = 13kwh x 0.218 = rm3/mth
2) car porch - 1 x 23w ccfl = 23w x 8hr x 365/12 =5.6kwh x 0.218 = rm1.3/mth

So total rm4.3. Others ON/OFF and no more than 1hr. Total should be around rm5 kua?
ozak
post Dec 28 2011, 06:50 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 28 2011, 05:52 PM)
weikee calculated my FS LED light only , already RM8/month  blink.gif
TNB must think that I am their premium customer  tongue.gif
Must use hammer oredi  rclxub.gif
The led brightness can't match the ccfl. End up, put more led light. How to save.

TNB must have some VIP customer program or promotion to encourage . tongue.gif
ozak
post Jan 11 2012, 04:23 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(manemaren @ Jan 11 2012, 03:48 PM)
what can I do with 1000V DC ? all appliances run in AC...

Added on January 11, 2012, 3:57 pmIf I put in a Solar Panel 50w. Can it power all outdoor light? I have 4 florescent light..
Where you get the 1000V DC?

50w solar panel is not enough run your 4 flurosent light.
ozak
post Jan 12 2012, 08:47 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(manemaren @ Jan 11 2012, 11:08 PM)
The 1000V DC is in the solar panel brocure. I am not sure how it is all works.
Solar system come in 12VDC, 24VDC or 48VDC. But at the panel the VDC rating is slighty higher. eg. for 12VDC system, the panel is 18VDC.

12VDC is most common voltage for small setup till 1kw.

Nobody setup a 1000VDC as it is very dangerous voltage. This kind of DC voltage is only apply to heavy industries.
ozak
post Jan 16 2012, 10:40 PM

17,013 posts

FS bad sign?

Better take back for warranty and know what is the problem.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:41 AM