PC Audio Edifier Speaker/Headphone Fan Club V5, The Passion of Sound

nismo91
post Sep 16 2010, 06:39 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

Edifier M3300 mod.

It begins with the fault of the wired controller at first. Since getting it outside my is not easy, and I've already paired the satellites with the other better subwoofer, i am now left with M3300 subwoofer without controller nor satellites. On the other hand, I have a decent satellites (from truck stereo i guess) which do not have a great enclosure. I tested it with a/d/s PQ8 amp.

With the help of Cosef pinout, I have tested the M3300 thru the pinout and verified that it's still working. So I am going to:
- Replace satellites with 4" mid and 2" tweeter
- Remove reflex port -> sealed
- Put on/off switch inside the M3300, so it's on all time, and at max volume too.
- Swap RCA output to input, so i just plug any source there.
- Integrate satellite into subwoofer.

So far I have dismantled all the parts, just waiting for sawing assistance. laugh.gif Will post here if the speakers is finished.

This post has been edited by nismo91: Sep 16 2010, 06:55 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
power911
post Sep 16 2010, 09:01 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

WOW!!! new edifier speaker and new m3300 mods thumbup.gif
andrew9292
post Sep 16 2010, 09:25 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Sep 16 2010, 04:22 PM)
Specification:
Total power output:  RMS – 2W x 2 + 4.5W x 1 (THD=10%)
Signal-to-Noise: ≥ 80dBA
Input sensitivity:  R/L: 300mV (± 50mV)
      SW: 200mV (±20mV)
Audio input:  3.5mm line-in
Bass unit:  4”, 6 Ohm (Magnetically Shielded)
Satellite unit:  50mm x 90mm, 4 Ohm (Magnetically Shielded)
4.5W ?! lololol
Angel of Deth
post Sep 16 2010, 10:19 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Sep 16 2010, 09:25 PM)
4.5W ?! lololol
pretty low end spec. Price must be around RM100 i guess.
Cosef
post Sep 17 2010, 04:30 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Sep 16 2010, 06:39 PM)
Edifier M3300 mod.

It begins with the fault of the wired controller at first. Since getting it outside my is not easy, and I've already paired the satellites with the other better subwoofer, i am now left with M3300 subwoofer without controller nor satellites. On the other hand, I have a decent satellites (from truck stereo i guess) which do not have a great enclosure. I tested it with a/d/s PQ8 amp.

With the help of Cosef pinout, I have tested the M3300 thru the pinout and verified that it's still working. So I am going to:
- Replace satellites with 4" mid and 2" tweeter
- Remove reflex port -> sealed
- Put on/off switch inside the M3300, so it's on all time, and at max volume too.
- Swap RCA output to input, so i just plug any source there.
- Integrate satellite into subwoofer.

So far I have dismantled all the parts, just waiting for sawing assistance.  laugh.gif  Will post here if the speakers is finished.
OMG~ sweat.gif
yuka
post Sep 17 2010, 07:33 AM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

Currently on

Edifier C3 + Creative SB046A XtremeGamer Fatal1ty

could i gain some improvement if change SC to Asus Xonar Essense STX?

mainly for music listening and slight gaming.

still using cheap cables. <-- or do i need to change this first?
TSEdifier
post Sep 17 2010, 10:42 AM

Store Representative
9,140 posts

The Structure of a speaker driver

Structure
power911
post Sep 18 2010, 03:32 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

Received the review unit today on 18th September 2010
stay tuned
Cosef
post Sep 18 2010, 04:07 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Sep 17 2010, 07:33 AM)
Currently on

Edifier C3 + Creative SB046A XtremeGamer Fatal1ty

could i gain some improvement if change SC to Asus Xonar Essense STX?

mainly for music listening and slight gaming.

still using cheap cables. <-- or do i need to change this first?
Both of your choice can gain improvement.
Changing to Asus Xonar Essense STX is good because the op amps are swappable.

You can change the cable 1st if you have tight budget.
Najmods
post Sep 18 2010, 04:20 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

Cables should be the last thing you should upgrade in any system. You should save up rather than buy cables. Buying Xonar DX also will improve sound quality as it have a better DAC, same one as Elite Pro
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 18 2010, 04:27 PM

1,254 posts

i disagree...it should be the first, cheapest and best mod
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1544544
what is the use of modding here and there but not have good source transfer?
always start from 1....unless you like to start drive your car with 5th gear
power911
post Sep 18 2010, 05:53 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

I think I fell in love with the Edifier Esiena....
oh noes sad.gif
Cosef
post Sep 18 2010, 06:34 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 18 2010, 04:20 PM)
Cables should be the last thing you should upgrade in any system. You should save up rather than buy cables. Buying Xonar DX also will improve sound quality as it have a better DAC, same one as Elite Pro
If normal user, cable is the last thing.
For DIYer, cable can be 1st thing.

Xonar DX is a good sound card,but i greed on STX swappable Op-Amps ready feature laugh.gif
power911
post Sep 18 2010, 06:59 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(naru @ Sep 18 2010, 06:51 PM)
Guys, need some help:

I got an Edifier C3 today but am not at all satisfied with the bass -- way too low. I like the boom boom gut wrenching stomach churning face melting bass.

Ive been told I can exchange it for s530, which is around 30% more expensive, if i want.

Does the s530 have more punch, more bass? Is it worth the extra price?

Unfortunately, audition is out of the question. PLease help

the s530d is WAYYYY much powerful compared to the c3
so the kickin punching kung fu bass will surely causes heart attack
not to mention it's quite gentle to the ears too icon_rolleyes.gif

The C3 can produce serious bass too
all you need is a good soundcard (one of them is Asus Xonar U1)

or you can refer nismo91's technique on how to add extra bass
Cosef
post Sep 18 2010, 07:47 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Put the woofer at corner side to get more bass too....

or be a man, low down the bass laugh.gif
chchyong89
post Sep 18 2010, 07:52 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Sep 18 2010, 06:34 PM)
If normal user, cable is the last thing.
For DIYer, cable can be 1st thing.

Xonar DX is a good sound card,but i greed on STX swappable Op-Amps ready feature laugh.gif
Who know that cable might not anything for a DIYer ? whistling.gif
Cosef
post Sep 18 2010, 08:03 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Sep 18 2010, 07:52 PM)
Who know that cable might not anything for a DIYer ? whistling.gif
I don't actually understand what you mean sad.gif
Casperwinde
post Sep 18 2010, 09:36 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Sep 18 2010, 08:03 PM)
I don't actually understand what you mean  sad.gif
mayb he mean tat he is the DIYers who do not think cable is the 1st important ting... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
Cosef
post Sep 19 2010, 12:40 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(Casperwinde @ Sep 18 2010, 09:36 PM)
mayb he mean tat he is the DIYers who do not think cable is the 1st important ting... icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
Hmm...maybe i get what he mean... sweat.gif

Cable can be 1st thing if the cable upgrade is cheaper than other upgrades. If the DIYer found that cable does not help much then it is up to them....and that make sense cable might not anything to them.
Casperwinde
post Sep 19 2010, 02:44 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Sep 19 2010, 12:40 AM)
Hmm...maybe i get what he mean... sweat.gif

Cable can be 1st thing if the cable upgrade is cheaper than other upgrades. If the DIYer found that cable does not help much then it is up to them....and that make sense cable might not anything to them.
Hahah....yeah.....he is a serious DIYers frm wat i've seen..... brows.gif brows.gif

154 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:33 PM