21 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

PC Audio Edifier Speaker/Headphone Fan Club V5, The Passion of Sound

Cosef
post Jul 1 2010, 04:51 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Long time no access here already, become V5 liao.
Was planning to mod my M3300 satelite cable, anyone had idea how to dismantle the satelite?
Cosef
post Jul 1 2010, 10:27 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jul 1 2010, 09:26 PM)
I think carefully remove the front grille is the way icon_rolleyes.gif

Like here
Wow thank you for the source, i had tried to remove the front grill it real hard. Maybe i should have another try on it.
Cosef
post Jul 2 2010, 06:22 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jul 2 2010, 01:20 PM)
heat it up with hairdryer
it should help a little
Sounds good, but to bad now not with my speaker.... sad.gif
will try it after going back....
Cosef
post Aug 11 2010, 11:10 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Planning to rewiring all my M3300 this few days. Had modded my satelite cable by cut and crimp to a connector instead of taking off the grill because i don't plan to spoil it. Indeed very good improvement, next will be interconnector.
Cosef
post Aug 13 2010, 03:14 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

I done all my mod on my M3300, sound does real alot improvement...sorry i don't have camera with me so can't share out the pictures.

What i done is:
- Rewired satelite cable to cat5e
- Rewired interconnect cable cat5e
- Changed mid and high opamp to OPA2107, bass to LME49720.

the stock op-amp was 4558C from ST Electronics, lack of details and grinding treble i can said....

found a small problem is that i always got abit of buzzing noise, was that called oscillation?
Cosef
post Aug 13 2010, 04:25 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

happen sometimes, i got no idea....suspecting my volume control causes it because sometimes i touch on the circuit board there the humming gone....hmmm
Cosef
post Aug 13 2010, 09:52 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Aug 13 2010, 08:57 PM)
if volume control causes the buzzing problem,a drop of WD-40 in the variable resistor will solve the problem

if circuit board,then must be the bad soldering tongue.gif (no offense yo... I know it's not easy to do soldering)

hmm... Imma guessing something also comes from your modded satellites
is your satellite connection tight and stable? Because loose wires can cause cracking and buzzing sound.
do try checking that too
Soldering seems good to me, all the cables are tight fitted, sometimes when i had the buzzing sound, i turn off the whole power and on again can solve the prob, sometimes moving the cable away from power cord helps. Now i try remove some of the messy glue work on the circuit..on testing now so far work good.

This post has been edited by Cosef: Aug 13 2010, 10:05 PM
Cosef
post Aug 13 2010, 10:53 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

I was planning to change the cap after i holiday.

And how is your hum like? very loud? and how your cap died?
I never had a died cap before except i connected wrong polarity for explosion.
Cosef
post Aug 14 2010, 01:55 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Aug 13 2010, 11:13 PM)
yours explodsion??!! haha lololol happy.gif
after i changed to elna the sound goes back to 'wooonmg wooomh woomh'
just normal usage lahh, died an old age of less than 2 months =)
my deadying cap sounds under powered make 'brrr brrrtt brrruug bruggg' no hum yet
That was a big mistake made when i just new into it.
Now i found out what actually happens, my amp easily get inteferene, just hang on top of network cable, i'll hear some interferece noise. So i assume that humming noise was interfere with power cable, should move far from it.

Need to get another Op-Amp for testing biggrin.gif
Cosef
post Aug 15 2010, 03:59 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Good things found, i search around and reach about humming noise and i found this FAQ
http://www.edifier.com/eng2005/support/sup_faq.htm

so inside faq i found a way to solve the problem is replug the cable by turning it 180 degree. So far now it work great without humming for few hours of listening.... blink.gif i learn something new. rclxms.gif

the humming is back again, but the period was not long...hmm...

This post has been edited by Cosef: Aug 15 2010, 02:30 PM
Cosef
post Aug 15 2010, 08:58 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Aug 15 2010, 02:39 PM)

i'm thinking there is not shortcuts to broken equipment =)

it is a confirmation before taking next move... biggrin.gif
Cosef
post Aug 15 2010, 10:39 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

should be more than half a kilometer sad.gif

studio audio equipments were very good.

Not to worry, mods and burn in can squeeze out of edifier speaker's juice. rclxms.gif
Cosef
post Aug 16 2010, 12:10 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Aug 16 2010, 12:06 AM)
Thats a good diy~
but why not get a real one, it does look good when put in your place right?
Cosef
post Aug 17 2010, 12:26 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Good there, but the spoiled speaker doesn't sound good. If the amp conditions were good you can try compile it yourself the amp into a box.
Cosef
post Aug 17 2010, 11:27 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

amp won't be murdered by old working pot, if you short the pot's pin, yes....old pot will make some buzzing sound when you turn the volume, worst case is loud clicking noise. It is because the internal of the pot had oxidized. Imbalance channel also cause by oxidized pot....now most edifier speaker volume pot had grease inside prevent oxidation and smooth turning feel.
Cosef
post Aug 19 2010, 02:32 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Reliase that the cable i made easily pick up interference...twisted pair are not powerful enough to reject interference. Need to find a STP cable to mod it....
Cosef
post Aug 20 2010, 01:34 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Aug 19 2010, 09:59 PM)
i went to cash converters in pj at lunch break today, i saw edifire c3 selling there 2nd,3rd,? ? ? hand for rm169?? condition looks okayla

looking at the parts inside on the other thread here, it looks like its a low down version of al**c's 21** model. the construction and materials looks 'less'
and it is housed in a separate housing instead of inside the sub?
i do not think it is worth buying for mod... maybe i should wait and see if there is better models there later. i kind of prefer the 2.0s
C3 rewiring is the easiest to mod..... biggrin.gif
Same goes to the Op-Amp mod too....
Cosef
post Aug 20 2010, 09:24 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Er...why not get R1900T3 and mod it? since you're 2.0 lover.... smile.gif
C3 almost the same price as R1900T3.

Correct me if i'm wrong...
Cosef
post Aug 20 2010, 09:33 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Thats a good one....
C3 offer good stuff because the amp using digital volume control, normally wins out all budget potentiometer volume control.

Sometimes can't imagine what it sounds like when you mod. I had mine modded and i was amazed with the improvements biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Cosef: Aug 20 2010, 09:33 PM
Cosef
post Aug 20 2010, 09:37 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

i own m3300....it sounds a lot better than my friend unmodded c3 brows.gif

This post has been edited by Cosef: Aug 20 2010, 09:38 PM

21 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:11 AM