154 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

PC Audio Edifier Speaker/Headphone Fan Club V5, The Passion of Sound

SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 19 2010, 10:08 AM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Sep 18 2010, 07:52 PM)
Who know that cable might not anything for a DIYer ? whistling.gif
heh, give it up. they hardcore stubs =)
Najmods
post Sep 19 2010, 10:17 AM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Sep 18 2010, 06:34 PM)
If normal user, cable is the last thing.
For DIYer, cable can be 1st thing.

Xonar DX is a good sound card,but i greed on STX swappable Op-Amps ready feature laugh.gif
It depends. Some people prefer the cheapest method, some would rather wait. For me cable is just to finetune the taste after everything else is done.

About swappable opamp, some might dig it, some don't want the hassle rolling them. For stock sound, the DX is good, if he want cheap soundcard that have swappable opamp take Xonar DS
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 19 2010, 10:37 AM

1,254 posts

see, stubs... saving for a godlike cable to use for a mere multimedia set lol
count cost to performance ratio and you'll just be a poser
then poke it into 'garbage' end lol
rxy
post Sep 19 2010, 02:13 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

Speaker cable and interconnect can play a role too.
Soundcard or DAC is important but we can't neglect the role of speaker cable and interconnect too.
Cosef
post Sep 19 2010, 09:51 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 19 2010, 10:17 AM)
It depends. Some people prefer the cheapest method, some would rather wait. For me cable is just to finetune the taste after everything else is done.

About swappable opamp, some might dig it, some don't want the hassle rolling them. For stock sound, the DX is good, if he want cheap soundcard that have swappable opamp take Xonar DS
Now i found Xonar DS exists~ a good budget sound card and has swappable op amp features.

I'm bad at sourcing sad.gif
TSEdifier
post Sep 19 2010, 10:25 PM

Store Representative
9,147 posts

Edifier participate Hong Kong Computer Fair 2010

Edifier in HK

This post has been edited by Edifier: Sep 19 2010, 10:26 PM
nismo91
post Sep 19 2010, 11:28 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Sep 16 2010, 06:39 PM)
Edifier M3300 mod.

It begins with the fault of the wired controller at first. Since getting it outside my is not easy, and I've already paired the satellites with the other better subwoofer, i am now left with M3300 subwoofer without controller nor satellites. On the other hand, I have a decent satellites (from truck stereo i guess) which do not have a great enclosure. I tested it with a/d/s PQ8 amp.

With the help of Cosef pinout, I have tested the M3300 thru the pinout and verified that it's still working. So I am going to:
- Replace satellites with 4" mid and 2" tweeter
- Remove reflex port -> sealed
- Put on/off switch inside the M3300, so it's on all time, and at max volume too.
- Swap RCA output to input, so i just plug any source there.
- Integrate satellite into subwoofer.

So far I have dismantled all the parts, just waiting for sawing assistance.  laugh.gif  Will post here if the speakers is finished.
finally finished it. to get rid of the leak, I used some blu-tacks as the 'washer' of the speakers, it actually works. Also use blue marker to make the speakers color a bit lively (purple). Removed on/off switch so it's basically on forever.

Sound-wise well it's not disappointing. only complaint would the M3300 amp seems to drive it too bright. Good thing is I successfully replace the RCA out become RCA in, so there is no need to use the serial port anymore. Bad thing is I think I messed up the soldering or cabling when I last paste the blu-tack because shortly after that, when I knocked the system will give some ground loop problem. Next part would be fixing all the solder job and paint the hole black. Currently use blue marker to estimate how it will look after paint.

Now my Edifier M3300 is back to life, become a one-piece system, and it also actually gain alot of weight laugh.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Cosef
post Sep 20 2010, 12:36 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Sep 19 2010, 11:28 PM)
finally finished it. to get rid of the leak, I used some blu-tacks as the 'washer' of the speakers, it actually works. Also use blue marker to make the speakers color a bit lively (purple). Removed on/off switch so it's basically on forever.

Sound-wise well it's not disappointing. only complaint would the M3300 amp seems to drive it too bright. Good thing is I successfully replace the RCA out become RCA in, so there is no need to use the serial port anymore. Bad thing is I think I messed up the soldering or cabling when I last paste the blu-tack because shortly after that, when I knocked the system will give some ground loop problem. Next part would be fixing all the solder job and paint the hole black. Currently use blue marker to estimate how it will look after paint.

Now my Edifier M3300 is back to life, become a one-piece system, and it also actually gain alot of weight  laugh.gif
Thats a nice one~ thumbup.gif
But you need to construct another one for another channel?
nismo91
post Sep 20 2010, 03:10 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

thanks, nope, the satellites are from left and right channel. although not exactly stereo, it still sound better than laptop speaker. haha but the brightness is a bit disturbing.
Cosef
post Sep 20 2010, 04:14 PM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

Maybe it can be a center channel with top firing woofer? laugh.gif

PS: edited typo.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Cosef: Sep 20 2010, 06:58 PM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 20 2010, 04:23 PM

1,254 posts

haha good job nismo91! =)
i love hack n slash
power911
post Sep 20 2010, 06:38 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

nice smile.gif
nismo91
post Sep 20 2010, 07:14 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Sep 20 2010, 04:14 PM)
Maybe it can be a center channel with top firing woofer? laugh.gif

PS: edited typo.... sweat.gif
QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Sep 20 2010, 04:23 PM)
haha good job nismo91! =)
i love hack n slash
QUOTE(power911 @ Sep 20 2010, 06:38 PM)
nice smile.gif
thanks all. lol, since the speaker are too-bright, i temporarily place it behind my laptop screen (down-firing woofer position). sure the sound is muffled, but for gaming it's funny because the sound appears from inside the screen which reminds me to the EAX in battlefield 2 laugh.gif i will probably try to 'semi' the tweeter and midrange instead of 'parallel' to add impedance (therefore softer sound). not sure it helps or not.
choobee
post Sep 21 2010, 01:57 PM

69 posts

Hi proud owner of c3 here... more clarity than my existing S2.1D smile.gif

need some help - can't seem to save the settings of the SW or the TRE...
read thru the manual but still can't find.

is it possible?

tks!
andrekua
post Sep 22 2010, 12:17 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Edifier,

Phil still working there? Are we going to see successor to S2000? It's been few years and the wear n tear start coming liao.
rxy
post Sep 22 2010, 12:22 AM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

I head S3000 is on its way..
Cosef
post Sep 22 2010, 02:12 AM

Kampung Style
2,293 posts

No camera after i went back and mod my M3300 sad.gif
Only can show out part of my modding plan before i go back.

This post has been edited by Cosef: Sep 22 2010, 02:13 AM
power911
post Sep 24 2010, 06:14 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

here's a video to give you an idea of how much bass these 3 inch drivers can produce from the Edifier if360 review unit
it's obviously sounded much better in real life icon_idea.gif
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Sep 24 2010, 12:07 PM

1,254 posts

thanks for video =)
i feel dizzy now hahaha turn on the lights and steady cam mar

you should use CD to fully get juice
i think the price tag is a major turn off

power911
post Sep 24 2010, 01:15 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Sep 24 2010, 12:07 PM)
thanks for video =)
i feel dizzy now hahaha turn on the lights and steady cam mar

you should use CD to fully get juice
i think the price tag is a major turn off
tried cd's... not very kick lol
maybe because my cd isn't original tongue.gif

ori cd's songs that I have not nice lol

plus my camera doesn't have antishake function... even with steady hands also will shake =.=
unless I use tripod but then I need to show around oso

This post has been edited by power911: Sep 24 2010, 01:21 PM

154 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:47 PM