Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 9 2010, 12:40 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(acks2257 @ Jun 8 2010, 11:54 PM)
totally agreed.. just came back yum cha with a fren who owns a blackberry, he is showing me all the business related apps like live stock market, currency exchange.. etc etc.. bcos he work in a bank and he feels tat those apps are useful to him..

but when i showed him n900, he also quite impressed but he doesnt need all those fancy or geeky apps..

so its up to individual on how he prefer to use his phone..
blackberry advantage is u receive everything like smses near instance like email, IM, stock update without draining battery flat like our phones

Most photos taken on the net is from far. Here a closeup of how the phone looks

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 9 2010, 12:54 AM
acks2257
post Jun 9 2010, 12:45 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 9 2010, 12:40 AM)
blackberry advantage is u receive everything like smses near instance like email, IM, stock update without draining battery flat like our phones
Most photos taken on the net is from far. Here a closeup of how the phone looks
yup.. all thier update is consuming less battery usage then n900.. but still.. one of the down side of n900 is battery.. either get a portable charger dc11 or an extra battery.. sad.gif

wat camera u use to take the pic? thumbup.gif
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 9 2010, 12:50 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

yea battery is one of the biggest down side.

Ordinary point and shoot camera hehe. Even with naked eyes its very hard to see it so close
dasonyeoh
post Jun 9 2010, 12:51 AM

282 posts

I Have been nokia for almost 10 Years, i still Love using Nokia despite the iphone Popularity..though i cannot compare the iphone since i do not own any apple product,

but what i could say is that, Nokia symbian phone has many great apps with huge community. Thats really great.. However, it is still a bit disappointing due to its lagging issue and browsing comfortability.

When ppl comparing N900 with Iphone, i will jus call them to try 1 thing. Which is the Micro B browser. after trying it, they can closed their mouth real tight..lolx...

Sometimes, i also do hook my N900 to projector using the video out cable.. 1 thing to impress others, other thing is to educate ppl what this phone is capable of...Lolx...

This post has been edited by dasonyeoh: Jun 9 2010, 12:52 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 9 2010, 12:55 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(acks2257 @ Jun 9 2010, 12:45 AM)
yup.. all thier update is consuming less battery usage then n900.. but still.. one of the down side of n900 is battery.. either get a portable charger dc11 or an extra battery..  sad.gif

wat camera u use to take the pic?  thumbup.gif
Here another one. Its very hard to see with naked eyes. There is minor like leakage

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 9 2010, 12:56 AM
acks2257
post Jun 9 2010, 01:25 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 9 2010, 12:55 AM)
Here another one. Its very hard to see with naked eyes. There is minor like leakage

walao.. can see the dust and micro-organism inside.. laugh.gif
dasonyeoh
post Jun 9 2010, 01:36 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(acks2257 @ Jun 9 2010, 01:25 AM)
walao.. can see the dust and micro-organism inside.. laugh.gif
the way u describe micro-organism inside... is like so wrong...duno what aspire did to his phone at night...lolx tongue.gif tongue.gif
Andy214
post Jun 9 2010, 01:37 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jun 8 2010, 11:24 PM)
well said mate. well i would like to share my fair views on iphone/apple. let's look at the newly announced iphone4g that rocked the internet, i think you missed one important point though.. which IS the main key selling point that drives the overwhelming sales all over the world for the past few years until now.

it's the ability to show off. iphone, or rather Apple, carries a premium price tag for their products, and it is common thinking for people to associate premium price = showing off. certainly not all, though. personally i think we can categorize them into several different categories of buyers; early tech enthusiast adopters, fanboys, or even rich people who just want to get everything latest; from their latest season LV belt, luxury sports car to iphone4g.

there are also people who don't care what it can do or what it can't do, plus the avant-garde designs of Apple products which mostly attract people especially from creative industry; where most beautiful women and men ranging from models, advertisement firms to fashion designers can be found in this industry; they need the iphone4g to compliment them; (cant deny the exterior design is really superb.. glass, aluminium, ips tft etc) they certainly do not want to be labeled as geeky carrying n900 and android around, do they? just like how people categorize blackberry users as boring businessmen.

and you can't just generalize all uncle and aunties as technology illiterate lah lol.
Agreed! The branding and ability to show off is another Major key point. Its like the IN thing or must have famous device.

Anyway, I didn't generalize la, where can generalize, what I mean is those uncles, construction workers I know and met during the prayers are not technology literate.

QUOTE(eluna @ Jun 8 2010, 11:28 PM)
apple could get alot app because apple sdk very userfriendly and easy to apply compare to maemo5. my company do wrote for iphone, andriod will be second (for fun/marketing purpose).
Not entirely true. Its probably your company acquire the right resources, libraries and stuffs. iPhone has strict control and checking compared with others and the good thing is they ensure that the apps is built properly according to their specifications, there's no extras devel or testing app for end users, the app mus be stable and properly built. The reason Apple got lotsa app is because there're man users, and when you own an Apple, and when you register iTunes, everything involes $$$. Purchasig app is so very the easy, just a touch of a button it can charge directly to your credit card with no delays as they acquired your security code as well. Now tell me, who doesn't want to develop app for iPhone? I would love to develop for iPhone if you ask me to choose which platform I would choose to develop.

For symbian, windows mobile, its also very easy, for Symbian Nokia provided SDK for it since long ago. Plus Symbian OS is not strict as iPhone OS.
As for Maemo, its even better, there're so many language to choose from, and Qt is supported from the very start. Better yet, many Linux app can be ported, as example aMSN, Chromium, OpenDune, Stratagus, Theme Hospital, etc.

Anyway, the app/fame market is leaning more towards iPhone due to there is more market, users which pays for it, etc. Many games developed can actually be ported/rebuilt/etc for another platform if they want to.

fai79ruz
post Jun 9 2010, 02:57 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 8 2010, 10:47 PM)
thats your assumption from what you think is true. Nobody is right or wrong only have different prespective most important what you think. For me i love the phone tongue.gif
yeah u rite, but sometime assumptions its true ans the rumour show this phone will go to dat direction where its no longer nokia priority. so maybe there is 3rd party will continue the adopted the phone for the geeks. maybe the name still nokia but the software and aevery think come from that's company. who knowns rite? but there can do better job that nokia whys not? ..btw aspire hv u receive pm from me? p!s update my order yeah? thank you.
acks2257
post Jun 9 2010, 04:49 AM

263 posts

Shake To Control your N900′s music player buttons! Awesome accelerometer app for Maemo 5. Fantastic alternative to dedicated music keys.

Dunno if the apps have been downloaded by you guys or not but i search the previous 2 version and find no one sharing it..

I have downloaded from app manager and tried it.. work like charm.. cool.gif

More info at mynokiablog.com

Added on June 9, 2010, 5:08 amA good read.. what Nokia should LEARN from Apple (non technology wise)

http://mynokiablog.com/2010/06/08/what-nok...4-announcement/

And..

This is just a very light hearted pics i found at the same website.

No offense to Apple users.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by acks2257: Jun 9 2010, 05:08 AM
wcshin
post Jun 9 2010, 05:08 AM

243 posts

QUOTE(acks2257 @ Jun 9 2010, 04:49 AM)
Shake To Control your N900′s music player buttons! Awesome accelerometer app for Maemo 5. Fantastic alternative to dedicated music keys.

Dunno if the apps have been downloaded by you guys or not but i search the previous 2 version and find no one sharing it..

I have downloaded from app manager and tried it.. work like charm..  cool.gif

Added on June 9, 2010, 5:08 amA good read.. what Nokia should LEARN from Apple (non technology wise)

And..

cool apps...thanks...
acks2257
post Jun 9 2010, 06:16 AM

263 posts

MaeNotify shows last missed calls and SMS on the screen when it is locked, without requiring to unlock it.

More Info Here
porselinaheart
post Jun 9 2010, 07:09 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

And..

hmmmmmm, one of the first apps i dl'ed when i was pr 1.1, but couldn't get it to work. Will try again cool2.gif

Edit: Works fine now, biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Jun 9 2010, 07:35 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 9 2010, 07:34 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

And..

hehe apple make it sound like its totally something new

super_evil_alien
post Jun 9 2010, 08:14 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

http://mynokiablog.com/2010/05/29/video-me...-at-openmobile/

Key points:
MeeGo phone being announced this year
MeeGo phone will push the boudaries of processing power
MeeGo phone will be a very high end product
MeeGo is an opportunity to create something well beyond what others are doing
MeeGo phone is step 5 of 5 and intended for mass market
MeeGo phone will be something everyone wants to own
MeeGo phone will try to satisfy all needs into one plate
MeeGo phone will be capacitive, more stylish and more beautiful with simpler UI that average users will find as equally compelling as tech leaders.
MeeGo has potential to be something deeper than typical smartphone
Maemo apps not directly backwards compatible with MeeGo
Nokia N8 will be Nokia’s flagship in a few months
All future flagships will be built on MeeGo
MeeGo phone will be on Nseries (not rumoured Sseries)
MeeGo will have higher experience level than Symbian
Symbian^3 and MeeGo will have certain minimum base level specification to ensure apps created on one device works in another.
N8 is first step in reclaiming momentum at high end.
MeeGo is the next step.

Read the bold part.Has Nokia finally realize the problem with symbian & going to favour MeeGo more?
The next MeeGo phone gonna be lot more user friendly which will attract more average user.
jordan86
post Jun 9 2010, 09:01 AM

631 posts

What about maemo?
Not going to be improved? Or N900 users can upgrade to meego?
jloi
post Jun 9 2010, 09:07 AM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

how to put 2 sim card to Nokia N900

http://www.nokian900applications.com/how-t...-in-nokia-n900/
narutokun83
post Jun 9 2010, 09:07 AM

2,108 posts

Hi there, new N900 user here. Just got my phone yesterday and wow, everything is quite heady... might take a while to get used to it, afterall i was an iPhone user.
blabla987
post Jun 9 2010, 09:26 AM

749 posts

Which should i buy ori or ap..? Which u guys think is better?
BRY7
post Jun 9 2010, 09:27 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

just wanna ask, what happened to maemo?
how come i read wikipedia the other day, it says N900 will be the last maemo5 fone?

138 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:02 PM