138 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

ahtiven
post Jun 8 2010, 08:54 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 8 2010, 08:35 AM)
iPhone 4 aleady been been announced.Now we have to anwer whether N900 or iPhone4 better
the design is compelling and the hype is at the max atm. i wont lie. i like iphone4.

i am AMAZED on how reliable apple's support/marketing strategy is, they announced it 10mins later it's on their official website, iOS4, iphone4 promised date.

here we have delayed 1.2, dropped out official meego support etc. let's hope the upcoming meego device will be as sleek as iphone

QUOTE(Spetre @ Jun 8 2010, 08:35 AM)
i wanna ask something about phone lock ... wat is the ori password ?
try "12345" without quotes.

This post has been edited by ahtiven: Jun 8 2010, 08:58 AM
Spetre
post Jun 8 2010, 09:00 AM

890 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Jun 8 2010, 08:54 AM)
the design is compelling and the hype is at the max atm. i wont lie. i like iphone4.

i am AMAZED on how reliable apple's support/marketing strategy is, they announced it 10mins later it's on their official website, iOS4, iphone4 promised date.

here we have delayed 1.2, dropped out official meego support etc. let's hope the upcoming meego device will be as sleek as iphone
try "12345" without quotes.
o . thx ...

TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 8 2010, 09:00 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Even the screen DPI beats Nokia N900
The size beats Nokia N900

But 1 thing iphone cant beat nokia N900 is the flexibility but today as long as your phone looks cool it doesnt matter
eluna
post Jun 8 2010, 09:02 AM

645 posts

apple 4g look good, yet using A4 processor 1Gb with L1L2 cache
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 8 2010, 09:07 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Furthermore that size omg. So small sigh yet so powerful
jananan
post Jun 8 2010, 10:53 AM

Android
1,513 posts

hey TS, add me to the members list...

Added on June 8, 2010, 11:02 amproblem :

i've found a solution to the flimsy micro usb port on our n900. there has been reports from everywhere about the micro-usb ports on the phones falling out, breaking away from the circuit board.

on a phone that needs to be charged almost every single day, apart from connecting for data transfers, the port will not last the phone's entire lifetime.

solution :

i filed off the two tiny hooks on the "B" micro-usb connector on the cable and the charger.

now the cables slip in easily, and comes out easily too, hence not putting much stress on the micro usb port.

PS : i used one of those old school dual sided stones used for knives sharpening. use the finer side of the stone, its like fine-grade sandpaper.
hold the connector firmly and evenly with your fingers, parallel to the surface and just file away.

just dont get too excited and scrape away the plastics / your fingers.

i will post pictures of it soon.

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 8 2010, 11:04 AM
blackrobin
post Jun 8 2010, 01:35 PM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

USB Host Mode

the hacking goes on..
Cannibal
post Jun 8 2010, 07:18 PM

287 posts

current unhappy list:

sygic closed by itself while navigating.
internal error in contacts and conversation.
desktop shortcut, widget, apps sometimes no response.
sygic m'sia map only covers 76% of streets.
ovi map doesn't support offline search.
no chinese input.

i am losing patience
kfthoo
post Jun 8 2010, 07:45 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Cannibal @ Jun 8 2010, 07:18 PM)
current unhappy list:

no chinese input.

i am losing patience
mine is pretty ok....sometime i was wondering why some user encounter such problems but others seems ok....may be n900 is too customizable...

for chinese input, i use emacs...very useful and it wouldn't mess up the system...

This post has been edited by kfthoo: Jun 8 2010, 07:46 PM
Josh_M
post Jun 8 2010, 07:45 PM

1,604 posts

current unhappy list:

no chinese input.

i am losing patience
reflashing would help. you can try that.
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 8 2010, 07:46 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

sygic closed by itself while navigating. (Never happen to me before just dislike the map not up to date)
internal error in contacts and conversation. (Never happen to me before )
desktop shortcut, widget, apps sometimes no response. (Never happen to me before )
sygic m'sia map only covers 76% of streets.(Yeah sygic made me get lost because it took me the wrong route lucky got my 5800XM garmin to save my a** )
ovi map doesn't support offline search. (NO navigation so its actually useless then )
no chinese input. (I cant read chinese or write )

What firmware are u using? Reflash your firmware and internal memory

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 8 2010, 07:48 PM
dasonyeoh
post Jun 8 2010, 07:47 PM

282 posts

I'm also not satisfied with the sygic Malaysia, as there is not much community that could help to update the map..

But overall is better than nothing
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 8 2010, 08:04 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(dasonyeoh @ Jun 8 2010, 07:47 PM)
I'm also not satisfied with the sygic Malaysia, as there is not much community that could help to update the map..

But overall is better than nothing
A lesson to remember if u are going to place u never know exist do not use sygic it will make things even worse why 2 years ago there a roundabout after 2 years it becomes a fly over and when at busy traffic it make u get lost even faster
wcshin
post Jun 8 2010, 08:35 PM

243 posts

current unhappy list:

no chinese input.

i am losing patience
the beauty of n900 is 2 explore, trial & error...
if u r really looking 4 sumting stable...usable n not buggy...tis fone really not 4 u...
yup u might pay 2k+ 4 tis fone, expecting it 2 work but...de potential is super huge...
dun loose ur patience, take it as it come...flash it, reflash it...hopefully it might work tongue.gif

there r quite a no. of tings i hv been wondering y on earth nokia nv bother 2 hv these apps install or available...
e.g mms, video call, etc...

but wic fone allows u 2 OC, UC, run windows apps, run emulators...???
my guess is only n900...
unless u r super geek, can hack iphone 2 run android...

tis fone hv very marginal interest...
u either hate it or u luv it...n wont mind those shortcoming...

well...ur probs hv yet 2 happen 2 me...but i faced black out, auto restart, hang...bla bla bla...
gone thru de patience period...
now still my most beloved fone...
probably until meego of coz...
iphone 4...those restriction n itune...make me sick...

flash ur fone n...
gd luck bro...

Added on June 8, 2010, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 8 2010, 08:04 PM)
A lesson to remember if u are going to place u never know exist do not use sygic it will make things even worse why 2 years ago there a roundabout after 2 years it becomes a fly over and when at busy traffic it make u get lost even faster
hahaha...i've tried it n nv bother 2 use it again...i keep it js 4 de sake of having it only...
i hv been 2 a road when sygic ask me 2 turn left n there is no more left turning...already change 2 one way...
if i turn...hahaha...mayb now in hospital or lock-up liao...

This post has been edited by wcshin: Jun 8 2010, 08:39 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 8 2010, 08:46 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(wcshin @ Jun 8 2010, 08:35 PM)
the beauty of n900 is 2 explore, trial & error...
if u r really looking 4 sumting stable...usable n not buggy...tis fone really not 4 u...
yup u might pay 2k+ 4 tis fone, expecting it 2 work but...de potential is super huge...
dun loose ur patience, take it as it come...flash it, reflash it...hopefully it might work  tongue.gif

there r quite a no. of tings i hv been wondering y on earth nokia nv bother 2 hv these apps install or available...
e.g mms, video call, etc...

but wic fone allows u 2 OC, UC, run windows apps, run emulators...???
my guess is only n900...
unless u r super geek, can hack iphone 2 run android...

tis fone hv very marginal interest...
u either hate it or u luv it...n wont mind those shortcoming...

well...ur probs hv yet 2 happen 2 me...but i faced black out, auto restart, hang...bla bla bla...
gone thru de patience period...
now still my most beloved fone...
probably until meego of coz...
iphone 4...those restriction n itune...make me sick...

flash ur fone n...
gd luck bro...
What u said is true. I love this phone too. Maybe he need get iphone 4G
fai79ruz
post Jun 8 2010, 09:02 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 8 2010, 08:46 PM)
What u said is true. I love this phone too. Maybe he need get iphone 4G
no commet on the sygic because so far used it got no problem, yeah its true it not up to date (hopefully somebody can provide the updated msia map soon) other than that all good. 1 question why there is no updated msia map?? sygic app already died? no contract open for company in msia??. i like the sygic more because the app is very detail especially wen u save the place in history so u never get lost or try to search the place again by typing the address, for ppl like me 99.9% never successfully find the place by keyin the address.What i do is to find the nearest place POI when using garmin with my N71.
wcshin
post Jun 8 2010, 09:08 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(fai79ruz @ Jun 8 2010, 09:02 PM)
no commet on the sygic because so  far used it got no problem, yeah its true it not up to date (hopefully somebody can provide the updated msia map soon) other than that all good. 1 question why there is no updated msia map?? sygic app already died? no contract open for company in msia??. i like the sygic more because the app is very detail especially wen u save the place in history so u never get lost or try to search the place again by typing the address, for ppl like me 99.9% never successfully find the place by keyin the address.What i do is to find the nearest place POI when using garmin with my N71.
u cant really compare garmin n sygic...
development is based on demand...
probably sygic company dun c de potential in m'sia...
cant blame them...it's a company direction...

garmin wont b tat great without malsing or malfree as well...
it actually rely on community...

i mus admit maemo community in m'sia cant compare 2 symbian...
i dun c how garmin wil invest time n $ 2 support maemo...since it's a dead end...
meego is de future...
tat's our handicap when it comes 2 inviting developers...

acks2257
post Jun 8 2010, 09:33 PM

263 posts

each phone have its up n down.. no phone is perfect.. and of cos the developer wont create a perfect phone with everything inside.. cos technology improves day by day.. and for them to release the new technology in a new model which make them improve and make a fortune out of it..

so at the end of the day.. its up to your self how u wan ur phone to work like..

some like it simple.. some like it to be complicated..

as for me.. im not a very expert techie.. but i like to learn more and play around with it rather than being spoon-fed (install & play)..

i like the feeling of accomplishment where i download the apps/program, get it install, configure it, and finally get it running..

its like ur hardwork is being rewarded.. the feeling.. priceless.. lol..
Cannibal
post Jun 8 2010, 09:34 PM

287 posts

i shall reflash again when i get frustrated.

after much delay and pr1.2 finally released, and apparently buggy. it start to make me curious about nokia's direction. as a follower of nokia for 10 years, i start to feel upset about nokia. whatever phone it released, it get replaced with another in less than 1 year.

i worry about the future of maemo 5. as wcchin say, no one would invest time and money to maemo5. i really like this phone when firefox say they going to support, when meego will be available, when a promising firmware update pr1.2.

however, microB and firefox is keeping me happy. capability of multi-tasking is beyond my expectation. i shall give maemo more time.
wcshin
post Jun 8 2010, 09:47 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(acks2257 @ Jun 8 2010, 09:33 PM)
each phone have its up n down.. no phone is perfect.. and of cos the developer wont create a perfect phone with everything inside.. cos technology improves day by day.. and for them to release the new technology in a new model which make them improve and make a fortune out of it..

so at the end of the day.. its up to your self how u wan ur phone to work like..

some like it simple.. some like it to be complicated..

as for me.. im not a very expert techie.. but i like to learn more and play around with it rather than being spoon-fed (install & play)..

i like the feeling of accomplishment where i download the apps/program, get it install, configure it, and finally get it running..

its like ur hardwork is being rewarded.. the feeling.. priceless.. lol..
sharing same sentiment here... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 8, 2010, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(Cannibal @ Jun 8 2010, 09:34 PM)
i shall reflash again when i get frustrated.

after much delay and pr1.2 finally released, and apparently buggy. it start to make me curious about nokia's direction. as a follower of nokia for 10 years, i start to feel upset about nokia. whatever phone it released, it get replaced with another in less than 1 year.

i worry about the future of maemo 5. as wcchin say, no one would invest time and money to maemo5. i really like this phone when firefox say they going to support, when meego will be available, when a promising firmware update pr1.2.

however, microB and firefox is keeping me happy. capability of multi-tasking is beyond my expectation. i shall give maemo more time.
developers wont support...but our community will...
http://maemo.org/community/

rest asure our maemo5 wil stil get support...priority wil b lower fr nokia but they wil surely support it no matter how slow they might b...
we wil c pr1.3, 1.4, 1.5...mayb even pr2.0 (hah...i mus b dreaming)
how could they advertise saying they r pioneer in mobile fone computing if de 1st mobile computer wit fone capability they created lack support fr themself? it's like knocking ur head wit ur tail...

sumtimes it's sad 2 noe tat our community is doin more den nokia...
but wat de hack...as long as we stil get support we shud b glad...
i foresee tis wil b the trend in future 4 meego n android...mayb even webOS
community based support...
fone manufacturer 2 reduce software n apps support...focus more on platform n hardware...
tat way...community will grow faster n free apps wil b everywhere...
even paid apps wil b cheaper...
fone wil cost cheaper as well...
shame on u apple... hahaha... rclxm9.gif

wait til opera get it's browse works really well...it wil den b even better...
mini opera n mobile opera r de best browser in symbian...
hopefully in maemo5 as well...
i stil prefer microb 2 firefox...de fox seems 2 buggy at times...

This post has been edited by wcshin: Jun 8 2010, 09:58 PM

138 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:03 PM