168 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

cheeyt
post Jul 13 2010, 04:33 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Jul 13 2010, 09:16 AM)
what kind of job u r looking?
I am looking for accounting job.
cheeyt
post Jul 13 2010, 04:34 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Jul 13 2010, 03:04 PM)
I agree.  Use all three ways + friends.  Nevertheless, coming to search job in Singapore without one would be costly.  Unless you are in an industry that is in great demand, it will take some time.
Already try (a) and (b), but still no news. tat's why was considering will it be faster if use ©
L7Awesome
post Jul 13 2010, 04:54 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(cheeyt @ Jul 13 2010, 04:33 PM)
I am looking for accounting job.
Maybe what I can suggest for you to do as well. Go to all the accounting firm website in SG. Deposit your resume there as well. Other than that, put your resume up for headhunter to search as well. That might get you moving. Do join Linked too and it might help.

If you are coming down here, you will need to stay in a hotel room. That might cost you money too unless u have friends or relatives staying here. Alternatively, you can stay in Johor but it will be the same result as staying in KL (assuming you are). So before you decide to quit your job and come down here to search, do make sure you have a budget for it. Also, find out how much is it to rent a hotel room and then see how long you can last before u get a job. If you got the job beginning of the month, you will have to wait for another 3 to 4 weeks before your pay comes in.
Lester1987
post Jul 13 2010, 05:15 PM

2,017 posts

I update my resume to a Singapore address and Singapore phone number. I receive a all from a head hunter almost once a week. dam irritating and i didn't even browse the job site or anything like that.
crapp0
post Jul 13 2010, 05:24 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 12 2010, 11:13 PM)
Hi crapp0, you seems to be in marine industry..
are you equipment supplier or someone in the yard ?
I do surveys and inspection, not just for ships, i also do oil rigs, drilling platforms, FPSO's and military vessels (mainly US SOC).

But i tend not to take on yard jobs since shipyards are now getting too much being an arsehole, delaying payment and constant request for discounts by delyaing payment until you have little choice but to take their offer. So far sembawang is still not so bad, keppel is getting worse every year and i refuse to goto jurong since thats ground zero for management and attitude problem for all of the staff over there.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jul 13 2010, 05:29 PM
maloa
post Jul 13 2010, 06:01 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(cheeyt @ Jul 12 2010, 11:29 PM)
Wan to ask, which will be a faster way to get job in Spore

a) via headhunter; or
b) find job online; or
c) directly come to spore to find job?
d) Find a company that has a subsidiary in Singapore,do an internal transfer to Singapore.. tongue.gif (provided you are very good in what you do)

For my case, its an internal transfer from kl office to singapore.. so getting all the application done was slightly easier *phew*

For all the proccess and all, i see that there are alot of pro-sifu's around here, by the way i find that there is alot of cantonese speaking ppl in singapore, especially in bugis/ albert food court
magiclover
post Jul 13 2010, 07:43 PM

285 posts

If you are a good performer, your office would want you to stay
If you are a poor performer, Singapore office would not want you.
You are caught in either situation, not that easy also...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2010, 10:18 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

got a problem... my company is getting listed and we have a subsidary in a unwanted country... now to disconnect the shareholders to this subsidary they want to use my name as the shareholder... i wonder what kind of liability can be expected?
seantang
post Jul 13 2010, 10:32 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2010, 10:18 PM)
got a problem... my company is getting listed and we have a subsidary in a unwanted country... now to disconnect the shareholders to this subsidary they want to use my name as the shareholder... i wonder what kind of liability can be expected?

Why cannot use your boss' name?

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2010, 11:26 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 13 2010, 10:32 PM)
Why cannot use your boss' name?
my bosses are directors... now the problem is, if any company is in business with my company and any shareholder or top management has a relationship in that company then we have to declare to sgx...

both of them are usually the ones who are the proxy shareholders for subsidaries... but those other subsidaries are in reputable countries... now the problem arises when one of the upcoming subsidary will be in a us sanctioned country and we dont want people to know that as it might affect the main company... so i might be the goat that they will use as a proxy shareholder... i wonder whether there will be any liability on my part... this subsidary is making lots of profit and it is a limited liability company... so all liability is up to the share/capital only...
seantang
post Jul 14 2010, 12:16 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2010, 11:26 PM)
both of them are usually the ones who are the proxy shareholders for subsidaries... but those other subsidaries are in reputable countries... now the problem arises when one of the upcoming subsidary will be in a us sanctioned country and we dont want people to know that as it might affect the main company.

If you're the shareholder, who else are shareholder(s)? And who are the directors?

If all the current directors and material shareholders of the company being listed are not going to hold any shares or directorships in the US sanctioned company in order to avoid SGX and listing prospectus disclosure, then how is the company being listed going to control the new company? What's stopping you, as the shareholder, from winding up the company and taking out all the net assets and retained profit?

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 14 2010, 01:03 AM
SUSkockroach
post Jul 14 2010, 12:50 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

my bosses are directors... now the problem is, if any company is in business with my company and any shareholder or top management has a relationship in that company then we have to declare to sgx...

both of them are usually the ones who are the proxy shareholders for subsidaries... but those other subsidaries are in reputable countries... now the problem arises when one of the upcoming subsidary will be in a us sanctioned country and we dont want people to know that as it might affect the main company... so i might be the goat that they will use as a proxy shareholder... i wonder whether there will be any liability on my part... this subsidary is making lots of profit and it is a limited liability company... so all liability is up to the share/capital only...
Isn't this some insider info that might affect your company reputation?
toda6866
post Jul 14 2010, 09:44 AM

303 posts

fellow malaysians,

anybody working around thompson area? where do u choose to stay n is it convenient?

normally what will we need to pay when renting a room in SG? (found no info on 1st page)

if i'm renting room with my gf, is it better to get a master room?
Aloong
post Jul 14 2010, 10:22 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 13 2010, 05:15 PM)
I update my resume to a Singapore address and Singapore phone number. I receive a all from a head hunter almost once a week. dam irritating and i didn't even browse the job site or anything like that.
Isit really that effective?
Were u really in SG that time or in M'sia?

Added on July 14, 2010, 10:36 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 13 2010, 10:18 PM)
Depend on which country lar.
But in SG/M'sia, pure shareholder no liability, unless u director/give guarantee/etc/no management responsibility.
shareholder just like investor. whether u 100% or 1% shareholding.

But then i presume it's not in develop country, since u've said unwanted. so got to get expert's opinion.

Added on July 14, 2010, 10:45 am

how small is the inter transactions?
not big enuf to disclose in the prospectus?
Also " by rite" inter transaction with companies of proxy or nominee shareholding also need to disclose. i.e. u proxy to ur directors. in a way u are abetting with ur directors to avoid disclosure. u can get caught also by SGX, if they can prove it. why the risk?

anyway, if in US sanctioned company better bkful lor.
mana tau if the company got terrorist funding etc, and US CIA will link u to it. (a bit dramatic eg lar, but never know).

at the end of the day, cost benefit analysis, only u know lar.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jul 14 2010, 10:45 AM
Lester1987
post Jul 14 2010, 11:16 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jul 14 2010, 10:22 AM)
Isit really that effective?
Were u really in SG that time or in M'sia?

Of course i am in SG la. just updated it because my Malaysia number become in-active and can't receive call when i am in SG. I mean after i get my job in SG, i went to the job site to update my new address in SG and also phone number, then those head hunter keep calling when i am working.
TSdokidoki
post Jul 14 2010, 11:16 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:44 AM)
fellow malaysians,

anybody working around thompson area? where do u choose to stay n is it convenient?

normally what will we need to pay when renting a room in SG? (found no info on 1st page)

if i'm renting room with my gf, is it better to get a master room?
1st page didnt update as normally it all depend on the landlord or agent....so it's case to case.

some pay 2+1 for the 1st month when pay to landlord or agent..some pay 2.5..
pet_pas
post Jul 14 2010, 11:33 AM

55 posts

Hi..

I just want to ask...if working in IT line and plan looking for job at Singapore, it's possible stay at JB, coz there are no relative in Singapore.

Anyone forumer here did like this?

Need advise
siberfriend
post Jul 14 2010, 01:07 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(pet_pas @ Jul 14 2010, 11:33 AM)
Hi..

I just want to ask...if working in IT line and plan looking for job at Singapore, it's possible stay at JB, coz there are no relative in Singapore.

Need advise
let's assume ur office is at CBD area, and ur official working hours is from 9 am ~ 6 pm... travel from CBD to Woodland requires around 1 hr or more... by the time u reach, it should be around 8 pm... then sleep at 11 pm, wake up at 6 am, and reach office before 9 am...

Normally, you are required to OT esp rushing project(s) or production support.. let's say u OT till 10 pm, then bla bla bla.... hmm... would u be able to accommodate for that.. physically and mentally?!...

*It would be better if ur office location is at Ang mo Kio, Woodland, Yishun or etc. smile.gif
TSdokidoki
post Jul 14 2010, 01:51 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

Hi..

Need advise
see u in which line of IT...some need to standby support..unless u got a motorbike to travel JB and SG.
bloggerblue
post Jul 14 2010, 04:20 PM

285 posts

Hi..

Need advise
am working in Singapore... Ang Mo Kio... staying in Gelang Patah

Travel Time : 1 hour 30 minutes

btw, it's kinda exhausting... mentally and sometimes physically... smile.gif most of the time just sleep in the train, bus tongue.gif

depend on where u stay and work..

if u go through woodland... i tried... 4 hours to reach gelang patah.. lol..

168 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:02 PM