Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

toda6866
post Jun 25 2010, 02:48 PM

303 posts

Hi all, this is my 1st time posting here, im glad to see that there's an active community of u guys n gals here, no need to post a new topic

It's my 1st time working in SG, what should i b prepared? its not the 1st time i go SG la, but i think u all hav the life experience that i dont hav in SG, i dont want to get into trouble later. btw, wat my employer should provide? so far, they hire me like a local only. help me get employment pass n thats it, i will find own room n place to rent but they can get agent to help.

can share share some of ur personal tips? pm me also can thx alot

hope everything goes smoothly...

This post has been edited by toda6866: Jun 25 2010, 02:57 PM
toda6866
post Jun 25 2010, 02:58 PM

303 posts

thx for fast reply,

wow dat means 400-600SGD bo liao every mth?

thats quite high cost
toda6866
post Jun 25 2010, 03:02 PM

303 posts

im in managerial role, but new employer dont provide >.<
toda6866
post Jun 25 2010, 03:10 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 25 2010, 03:03 PM)

Does your title start with a C?
C? wat C? no C in my title wor
toda6866
post Jun 25 2010, 03:23 PM

303 posts

ohic... how much is a marketing mgr's basic salary in SG?
toda6866
post Jun 29 2010, 08:45 AM

303 posts

sifus,

is there any way i can find a 1 room hdb for rent <SGD1k /mth?

btw, where is a good place for newbies like me to stay? in terms of security, neighbourhood, convenience...etc
toda6866
post Jun 29 2010, 09:14 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jun 29 2010, 09:09 AM)
Staying in JB can be another viable solution to finding a place to stay. At the very least, a temporary place before finding an ideal place in singapore. Only thing is, you'd have to bear with the daily transit.
no, i dont think thats wat i'm looking for.... looking for a place in SG, if can get 1+1room hdb <SGD 1k would be good
toda6866
post Jun 29 2010, 04:40 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 29 2010, 10:42 AM)
1+1 HDBs have not been built for many years. Most of the ones in existence now are owned by HDB and rented to needy Singaporeans.

Lots of 1+1 condos for rent... but nothing below S$1K though.

HDB rentals now are around 1.3-1.5K for 2+1. Either you spend the additional few hundred bucks, or you share with someone to keep your individual spending below 1K.

Otherwise, you have to go for a room, instead of a flat.
ok, the price is too steep for me so drop the idea of getting a flat then... mayb i'll jz aim for a master room

but will hav to wear clothes walking around the flat, no choice doh.gif

thx for the heads up! notworthy.gif

can u recommend a few places i should chk out to rent a decent room? my workplace is around the industrial area near thompson rd
toda6866
post Jul 1 2010, 02:07 PM

303 posts

how does SG gov decide whether or not to approve or reject a PR application?

is it a guessing game or they have a formula?

im guessing some of criterias:
- education level?
- job level?
- income level/cash in bank??
- any relatives in SG has PR?
- been staying in SG for a period of time?
toda6866
post Jul 14 2010, 09:44 AM

303 posts

fellow malaysians,

anybody working around thompson area? where do u choose to stay n is it convenient?

normally what will we need to pay when renting a room in SG? (found no info on 1st page)

if i'm renting room with my gf, is it better to get a master room?
toda6866
post Jul 15 2010, 02:08 PM

303 posts

any master/common room for rent within walking distance to bishan MRT?
toda6866
post Jul 16 2010, 02:44 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 16 2010, 12:02 AM)
true.. if no benefits then i think it is not a good idea...
good choice.. find those behind the carpark or next to the library side
is Bishan a good place for couple? ie. convenient? safe? y behind carpark or next to library?

QUOTE(siaukia @ Jul 16 2010, 09:34 AM)
i got 1 agent msged me yesterday on this place, you want i pm u? (i have nothing to do with the agent)
yes pls, tq. any idea how much is it?
toda6866
post Jul 22 2010, 01:49 PM

303 posts

im starting work in aug 2010 so <183 days, haih....15% tax right? suffer man...

feeling the pain even b4 i start work

Added on July 22, 2010, 2:16 pm
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 16 2010, 02:59 PM)
how you determine a place is good for couple?
- Cinema? Do you really like to keep going to the cinema across the street?

because it is nearer to the center. Other HBD have to cross the busy road.
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 16 2010, 03:33 PM)
is Bishan a good place for couple?
depends on where both of you work

ie. convenient? safe?
Bishan is the interchange between CC and NS line, quite convenient. safety i believe Singapore don't have much issue on that.

y behind carpark or next to library?
mayb cheaper rental?
Bishan is 1 of the most expensive place as far as i know. My aunty's neighbour rent 1 common room out for $600. and that is a 2+1 HDB's common room. And u need to take a bus to reach. freaking expensive.
oic, thx!

any food court, supermarket, market within walking distance?

my workplace is going to be near Thompson Rd (near 3M) who else works around that area n where do u choose to stay?

Added on July 22, 2010, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jul 21 2010, 02:11 PM)
Today i just went to the 3M company and sign the contract, and i heard from the HR tat some previous employer also face these kinda problem where their EP application was rejected and the only way to solve is to appeal and wait D:
hey there, mind telling where do u stay n is it convenient for u to go work at 3M?

This post has been edited by toda6866: Jul 22 2010, 02:17 PM
toda6866
post Jul 30 2010, 10:24 AM

303 posts

guys n gals,

where do u all go on wkends? i mean any nice place to hangout with gf?

still newbie in lion city...only mah 1st wk....
toda6866
post Jul 30 2010, 05:01 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Jul 30 2010, 04:41 PM)
Yup, indeed true. I am ok with my current neighbors. All pak cik mak cik
1 month. If still can't, she is so 'friendly' that giving us 1 more week. Yup,  1 more week is so long  shakehead.gif
1 week?? WTF... how r u going to get a nice place or a reasonable price if so rush?

if i were u, no matter how also lodge a report against the landlord, give them problem since they created it for u - eye for an eye mad.gif
toda6866
post Aug 2 2010, 03:46 PM

303 posts

if i wanna get a notebook, is it cheaper to get it in SG or MY? is Sim Lim Sq a good place for bargain?

p/s: im looking for a budget entry level notebook with 14" screen (less than SGD900)
toda6866
post Aug 2 2010, 04:20 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Aug 2 2010, 04:06 PM)
That reminds me of the balding bus driver whom i stayed in the same apartment.

Added on August 2, 2010, 4:11 pm

Relatively the same, if you buy in malaysia and theres and issue with the laptop, you gotta go back to my just to claim warranty.

You can offset the cheaper price in malaysia when you pay for transport just to send it back for warranty.
QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 2 2010, 04:16 PM)
MY definitely cheaper after taking into account the conversion.
thanks a bunch!

thumbup.gif
toda6866
post Aug 3 2010, 12:40 PM

303 posts

wanna ask, if my fren wanna claim back GST at changi, wat r the documents u need besides the product, receipt, passport?

will it take a long time? must estimate more time at the airport?
toda6866
post Aug 4 2010, 01:01 PM

303 posts

guys, is it better that i stick with M1 superpac prepaid or upgrade to postpaid?

i only use my phone to receive call n sms, right now still got $29.50 from $30 value (2 wks already)

the only advantage i see is i get to choose free phone or top up n get new phone right?
toda6866
post Aug 5 2010, 05:01 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 4 2010, 03:00 PM)
Continue with the Prepaid if you really dun want to tie down yourself for two years.
im thinking of converting to postpaid once my job passes probation, is M1 good enough?

btw, i read from M1 website, i have to return to exchange the 'free' phone after 21mths?? i tot they give u free phone but now it seems like they still hold the phone n let u use only, so weird... pls correct me if im wrong, i read it 3 times edi

Added on August 5, 2010, 5:04 pm
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Aug 5 2010, 04:53 PM)
It also depends on your convenience. Some companies may even have a certain Bank's ATM in their building.  Of course, due to this, it is the most convenient to open an account with that bank.
im getting DBS krisflyer n POSB everyday card, is there other 'bonuslink' kind of card that ppl usually get?

This post has been edited by toda6866: Aug 5 2010, 05:04 PM

0.0523sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:32 PM