V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Sep 14 2011, 11:33 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(ta5851 @ Sep 14 2011, 11:04 AM)
Hai, i am new in swiftlet keeping, just want to know how often should we clean the bird shit? heard some sifu said we are not suppose to clean the bird shit since bird like their smell very much.....thanks for advice
Do visit a swiftlets cave and get your answer.

Cleaning is maintain health and better nests cos most BHs are too low and polution @ birdnests.

For those very particular on nests quality, do clean more often
For those very particular on birds increment. do less cleaning

My suggestion

Never clean up when new cos you want the aroma and not willing to pay for the smell and what better than the origin smell.
Clean occasionally when OK cos you don't want to disturb too much but want to have a healthy BH.
Clean often when very successful as then, quality is what you want and volume isn't a topic at all.
rakyat
post Sep 14 2011, 01:09 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(sfchung @ Sep 13 2011, 11:22 PM)
In case you don't have the bird call song, you can get it here:

http://www.4shared.com/audio/cMzEdGH7/cek_...niawalet_ar.htm

If you have a very loud mobile phone, you can play it with your phone when you visit the site. Else get a portable mp3 player. Good luck!
Wow really thank u very much. Actually though of asking around for the bird call but abit shy
DarKnightRyu
post Sep 14 2011, 01:38 PM

36 posts

Hi All Sifus,

This is my first post in this topic n I am new in swiftlets farming. 

I got around 330 nest in 1.5 years and I am surrounded by 6 BH shops in the same row n back row. 
Location in Pahang. 

Right beside my shops has 3 BH in a row and the last one has around 1000 nest where that BH open 1 month earlier than mine. 

Last week, I have done a few modification.
1. install a mist pump in the BH since almost all nest are broken n funny shape. 
2. Took away the partition to make the room bigger. 
3. Changed the so call better internal and external
 sound. 
4. Took away the "tongkat" at the top of the roof.
5. Cover all small holes here n there to make the resting area in total dark if possible. 

Are above modification correct?
Is there anything  else that I can do to increase the birds in my BH shop?

Please help. 

Added on September 14, 2011, 1:52 pmI have just renew my BH shop license yesterday. It's yearly basis.

The lady told me that they are upgrading their system. By early next year, we can renew our swiftlets license on 3 years basis.

Cheers

This post has been edited by DarKnightRyu: Sep 14 2011, 01:52 PM
northface
post Sep 14 2011, 04:27 PM

359 posts

@Ryu, just my suggestion

1. Sounds like your BH is too dry so humudifier is a good idea.
2. This can be good too.
3. Should replace faulty tweeter and external sound, not sure abt changing sound.
4. no comment
5. Can't be total dark as well.

BTW 330 nest in a shop lot with other BHs around can be considered very successful already, just do modifications step by step and look at the results.

Don't change everything 180 in 1 day then all your birds fly to neighbor's BH.
DarKnightRyu
post Sep 14 2011, 07:49 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Sep 14 2011, 04:27 PM)
@Ryu, just my suggestion

1. Sounds like your BH is too dry so humudifier is a good idea.
2. This can be good too.
3. Should replace faulty tweeter and external sound, not sure abt changing sound.
4. no comment
5. Can't be total dark as well.

BTW 330 nest in a shop lot with other BHs around can be considered very successful already, just do modifications step by step and look at the results.

Don't change everything 180 in 1 day then all your birds fly to neighbor's BH.
Thank you for your comment Northface. I think u r right on step by step changes since I notice reduction of swiftlets ; (

Other Sifu please comments if possible..
Arigato..
TinkleBell
post Sep 15 2011, 12:46 PM

37 posts

Hi WW.

<Cleaning is maintain health and better nests cos most BHs are too low and polution @ birdnests.>

When you do the cleaning, do you clean up everything or have to leave some
behind for the smell?

<For those very particular on nests quality, do clean more often>

I heard that after some time, they will be mites built up in the birds' poop. The mite will bite and suck the blood of baby birds and will also left one's skin itchy. How to deal with this mite. Using chemical will leave a strong smell which might drive the birds away?

<Never clean up when new cos you want the aroma and not willing to pay for the smell and what better than the origin smell.>

I heard one guy recommended that for new BH,for first 2 years do not do any harvesting as this method will speed up the population in the building.

I do not understand as once the fledging left the nest, the nest will not be recycle again. Birds will build new nest for fresh lay. If so, how does not harvesting helps in the multiplication of birds???

<Clean occasionally when OK cos you don't want to disturb too much but want to have a healthy BH.
Clean often when very successful as then, quality is what you want and volume isn't a topic at all.>

Very good advice. My appreciation. flex.gif rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

WW, have you heard of a big project for BH in Jerangau, somewhere near the polo club. News or rumours that 40% harvest there is blood nest!!! I thought West Malaysia do not have blood nest, very confuse rclxub.gif

Thank you in advance for your time and effort in here.

Have a good day.
thumbup.gif
ta5851
post Sep 15 2011, 02:02 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 14 2011, 11:33 AM)
Do visit a swiftlets cave  and get your answer.

Cleaning is maintain health and better nests cos most BHs are too low and polution @ birdnests.

For those very particular on nests quality, do clean more often
For those very particular on birds increment. do less cleaning

My suggestion

Never clean up when new cos you want the aroma and not willing to pay for the smell and what better than the origin smell.
Clean occasionally when OK cos you don't want to disturb too much but want to have a healthy BH.
Clean often when very successful as then, quality is what you want and volume isn't a topic at all.
Thanks for your advice, bro

Added on September 15, 2011, 2:08 pm
QUOTE(DarKnightRyu @ Sep 14 2011, 01:38 PM)
Hi All Sifus,

This is my first post in this topic n I am new in swiftlets farming. 

I got around 330 nest in 1.5 years and I am surrounded by 6 BH shops in the same row n back row. 
Location in Pahang. 

Right beside my shops has 3 BH in a row and the last one has around 1000 nest where that BH open 1 month earlier than mine. 

Last week, I have done a few modification.
1. install a mist pump in the BH since almost all nest are broken n funny shape. 
2. Took away the partition to make the room bigger. 
3. Changed the so call better internal and external
 sound. 
4. Took away the "tongkat" at the top of the roof.
5. Cover all small holes here n there to make the resting area in total dark if possible. 

Are above modification correct?
Is there anything  else that I can do to increase the birds in my BH shop?

Please help. 

Added on September 14, 2011, 1:52 pmI have just renew my BH shop license yesterday. It's yearly basis.

The lady told me that they are upgrading their system. By early next year, we can renew our swiftlets license on 3 years basis.

Cheers
I am from langkawi, my bird house not yet open sound but just now one officer came and ask me to apply for license, is it hard to get a license?

This post has been edited by ta5851: Sep 15 2011, 02:08 PM
ChanK
post Sep 15 2011, 04:15 PM

451 posts

hai....it is rainy days everyday in malaysia.........

storms are building up too....hopefully not tsunami......wipe out the whole industry...

Rumours are plenty....that group want monopoly of the whole industry...

another group act as representatives of farmers but have another bigger plan to monopoly too...

then another group said they are the robin hood and just in case if those group gets what they want to monopoly, they can come n rescue us woh as they have enough power to grab a slice of that monopoly cake woh...

while the birds population in major towns in peninsular are dropping or stagnant, worst...bird's nests prices are dropping liked coconut.....coconut drop u can still hear sounds.....but this one no sound at all...

heard that they are implementing RFID where each time u enter the farm, u need to accompany by an officer to enter the farm, and when harvest finish u placed the harvesting in boxes n seal with the RFID sticker then send to approved factory (10 factories that already get their licences fr VET), sell to them at market price. and this is to ensure the quality of bird's nest woh...

rclxub.gif

mois
post Sep 15 2011, 05:13 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Sep 15 2011, 04:15 PM)
hai....it is rainy days everyday in malaysia.........

storms are building up too....hopefully not tsunami......wipe out the whole industry...

Rumours are plenty....that group want monopoly of the whole industry...

another group act as representatives of farmers but have another bigger plan to monopoly too...

then another group said they are the robin hood and just in case if those group gets what they want to monopoly, they can come n rescue us woh as they have enough power to grab a slice of that monopoly cake woh...
while the birds population in major towns in peninsular are dropping or stagnant, worst...bird's nests prices are dropping liked coconut.....coconut drop u can still hear sounds.....but this one no sound at all...
heard that they are implementing RFID where each time u enter the farm, u need to accompany by an officer to enter the farm, and when harvest finish u placed the harvesting in boxes n seal with the RFID sticker then send to approved factory (10 factories that already get their licences fr VET), sell to them at market price. and this is to ensure the quality of bird's nest woh...
rclxub.gif
You are thinking too much bro. I need an officer to accompany me to enter my property?? Even polices cant do that.
DarKnightRyu
post Sep 15 2011, 06:27 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(ta5851 @ Sep 15 2011, 02:02 PM)
Thanks for your advice, bro

Added on September 15, 2011, 2:08 pm
I am from langkawi, my bird house not yet open sound but just now one officer came and ask me to apply for license, is it hard to get a license?
Is good if the officer ask u to get a license. Not every place can get license. Even my place have stop issuing license.

Not sure about langkawi..
West Wing
post Sep 15 2011, 06:35 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(TinkleBell @ Sep 15 2011, 12:46 PM)
Hi WW.

<Cleaning is maintain health and better nests cos most BHs are too low and polution @ birdnests.>

When you do the cleaning, do you clean up everything or have to leave some
behind for the smell?
Ans: I don't need to leave any behind cos tomorrow, there will be plentiful.

<For those very particular on nests quality, do clean more often>

I heard that after some time, they will be mites built up in the birds' poop.  The mite will bite and suck the blood of baby birds and will also left one's skin itchy.  How to deal with this mite. Using chemical will leave a strong smell which might drive the birds away?
Ans: When you need chemical spray....you are already there and no problem with the birds; just you with the chemical. Although, we really don't know the prolong usage of chemical in the BH but then, to control pest and mites, one need to use the chemical spray but I only use it when I find that I need it but not on regular basis like many others cos I believe a bite here and there is less dangerous than the chemical inhale into our lung. Maybe, once every 6 months for successful BHs will just do.

<Never clean up when new cos you want the aroma and not willing to pay for the smell and what better than the origin smell.>

I heard one guy recommended that for new BH,for first 2 years do not do any harvesting as this method will speed up the population in the building.
Ans: As for me, it's all depend on the performance of that particular BH but never harvest all but leave some nests to tempt other new birds to build nest near confidently. That's why you use fake nests, don't you?

I do not understand as once the fledging left the nest, the nest will not be recycle again.  Birds will build new nest for fresh lay.  If so, how does not harvesting helps in the multiplication of birds???
Ans: once used, the bird will reuse the nest if not harvested but will build it thicker and so you got thicker nest which will fetch lower price but you gain on time.

<Clean occasionally when OK cos you don't want to disturb too much but want to have a healthy BH.
Clean often when very successful as then, quality is what you want andnvolume isn't a topic at all.>

Very good advice.  My appreciation. flex.gif  rclxms.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

WW, have you heard of a big project for BH in Jerangau, somewhere near the polo club.  News or rumours that 40% harvest there is blood nest!!!  I thought West Malaysia do not have blood nest, very confuse  rclxub.gif

Ans: Don't want to talk too much on the matter but just say that you can produce a square watermelon so why cannot red nest but not the purest form of nests that I can say.

Thank you in advance for your time and effort in here.

Have a good day.
thumbup.gif

Hope I answered you well.

coolandy
post Sep 15 2011, 07:30 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(TinkleBell @ Sep 15 2011, 12:46 PM)
Hi WW.

<.....WW, have you heard of a big project for BH in Jerangau, somewhere near the polo club. News or rumours that 40% harvest there is blood nest!!! I thought West Malaysia do not have blood nest, very confuse  ..............
No need confuselah. Think logically and you will find the answer.
rakyat
post Sep 16 2011, 01:00 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

Sifus,

Point of discussion for those stand alone BH - what do you do with the remaining idle land?

For those who build their BH in estate or plantation, would you plant cash crop to supplement income or fruit trees to encourage swiftlets or clear the land for easy access?

IMO a cashcrop of fruit trees will 'kill 2 birds w 1 stone' - attract insects food for the swiftlets & can be harvested

This post has been edited by rakyat: Sep 16 2011, 01:04 AM
Cergau
post Sep 16 2011, 11:40 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Sep 15 2011, 04:15 PM)

rclxub.gif
they never fail to amaze me with their infantile ideas....did they pick them up at their kid's kindergarten?
reminds one of the fish-box fiasco doesn't it?

All that they had to try doing was to sniff out the 'blood-nest' operators.
what has that got to do with BH operators?
is vet dept now saying that the BH operators are spiking the EBN?
Any evidence? If so they would have arrested the problem!!!

If Fortune 500 companies have a shaky sustainability-index tracking what makes vet dept superior?
Granted that the index is more diverse, it's the same tracking game.
Does vet dept have the resources that these cos have at their disposal?
And lastly..does product purity comes under vet's jurisdiction?
IMHO it doesn't...

AND...if they implement the RFID thingy and there are still blood-nest in the market...does someone in the ministry get sacked???
there's is NEVER any accountability in their actions.
They are making the innocent majority pay for the evils of the guilty few and still missing the target at the same time.

When bad tires are found, one doesn't track the latex from individual trees!!!!!
Trees don't make tires...the factories do... specifically in our case... the cleaning plants!!!!
swift4ever
post Sep 16 2011, 10:54 PM

263 posts

Yes, just shoot the bad guys out! Stop blanket rule like China authority to unload all the nests from market shelves. It's not fair to the majority who has no business in blood nest whatsoever. Go tell China authority to put good nests back on the shelves as soon as possible if our govt is truly helping us. Do a search on youtube, you will be surprised to see even branded name processes blood nests for a good while....tell us why no actions taken from their authority?

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Sep 16 2011, 10:55 PM
ChanK
post Sep 17 2011, 09:28 AM

451 posts

hai...if you have the ability n muscle to monopoly...why not share some of your muscles to help to stop the rare earth plant in kuantan?

really don't want to see another scares of radioactive nests in future...

"The problems they detail include structural cracks, air pockets and leaks in many of the concrete shells for 70 containment tanks, some of which are larger than double-decker buses. Ore mined deep in the Australian desert and shipped to Malaysia would be mixed with powerful acids to make a slightly radioactive slurry that would be pumped through the tanks, with operating temperatures of about 200 degrees Fahrenheit.

The engineers also say that almost all of the steel piping ordered for the plant is made from standard steel, which they describe as not suited for the corrosive, abrasive slurry. Rare earth refineries in other countries make heavy use of costlier stainless steel or steel piping with ceramic or rubber liners.

The engineers also say that the concrete tanks were built using conventional concrete, not the much costlier polymer concrete mixed with plastic that is widely used in refineries in the West to reduce the chance of cracks. "

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/06/30/business...?pagewanted=all

that place is situated in swamp land.....imagine the contamination....worst how about those who stay there....

officer need to follow u enter the farm as they need to scan the gps tracker installed (u have to buy from them loh) in your farm n to record the date n place those nests harvested from which farm... then only they have records woh..

Lng
post Sep 17 2011, 09:59 AM

105 posts

Put RFID on the officer to know whether they are working or not, want to register bh also kena tendang like football.

How do i join industry association?
Cergau
post Sep 17 2011, 10:55 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Sep 17 2011, 09:28 AM)

officer need to follow u enter the farm as they need to scan the gps tracker installed (u have to buy from them loh)  in your farm n to record the date n place those nests harvested from which farm... then only they have records woh..
What have the associations to say about all this silliness?

I think they mean an RFID strip in the BH to be scanned with an RFID scanner so they will know the details of the operator.
in conjunction with Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission?...arent they a regulator body?

Tracking efforts of late....
1)security marking on cigarette packs...FAILED...tons of smuggled cigs in the market..hundreds of millions on lost tax revenue
2)security additives in our fuel....FAILED...the big time smugglers get away scot free and fat...the rakyat is made to bear the brunt of full market price and hundreds of million of rakyat money to the 'untouchable few'.

Non value adding bureaucracy (an oxy-moron) just drive activities underground AND most importantly....
UNNECESSARY REGULATIONS AND LAWS MAKE CRIMINALS OF ORDINARY FOLKS

Please go ask your association what they are going to do about all these silliness.

mois
post Sep 17 2011, 12:06 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

Any idea when the price will back to rm4k? What is the reasonable price to sell?
Ng69
post Sep 18 2011, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(mois @ Sep 17 2011, 12:06 PM)
Any idea when the price will back to rm4k? What is the reasonable price to sell?
Hi All Sifu,
I am new in this industry, beside the nest price, I have a few question that someone can help to clear the doubt here :

a) in particular month, can see many birds playing at entrance, which factor that dictate this scenario ?

b) whatever good sound tested, see no bird response at particular month, anyone face the same situation ? Why ?

c) Northern west Malaysia, which month in a year will be a good timing to attract bird/more cloud play at entrance ?

Appreciate the comment

126 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0361sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:43 PM