V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus
DarKnightRyu
Sep 14 2011, 01:38 PM
Hi All Sifus,
This is my first post in this topic n I am new in swiftlets farming.
I got around 330 nest in 1.5 years and I am surrounded by 6 BH shops in the same row n back row. Location in Pahang.
Right beside my shops has 3 BH in a row and the last one has around 1000 nest where that BH open 1 month earlier than mine.
Last week, I have done a few modification. 1. install a mist pump in the BH since almost all nest are broken n funny shape. 2. Took away the partition to make the room bigger. 3. Changed the so call better internal and external sound. 4. Took away the "tongkat" at the top of the roof. 5. Cover all small holes here n there to make the resting area in total dark if possible.
Are above modification correct? Is there anything else that I can do to increase the birds in my BH shop?
Please help.
Added on September 14, 2011, 1:52 pmI have just renew my BH shop license yesterday. It's yearly basis.
The lady told me that they are upgrading their system. By early next year, we can renew our swiftlets license on 3 years basis.
Cheers
This post has been edited by DarKnightRyu: Sep 14 2011, 01:52 PM
DarKnightRyu
Sep 14 2011, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(northface @ Sep 14 2011, 04:27 PM) @Ryu, just my suggestion 1. Sounds like your BH is too dry so humudifier is a good idea. 2. This can be good too. 3. Should replace faulty tweeter and external sound, not sure abt changing sound. 4. no comment 5. Can't be total dark as well. BTW 330 nest in a shop lot with other BHs around can be considered very successful already, just do modifications step by step and look at the results. Don't change everything 180 in 1 day then all your birds fly to neighbor's BH. Thank you for your comment Northface. I think u r right on step by step changes since I notice reduction of swiftlets ; ( Other Sifu please comments if possible.. Arigato..
DarKnightRyu
Sep 15 2011, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(ta5851 @ Sep 15 2011, 02:02 PM) Thanks for your advice, bro Added on September 15, 2011, 2:08 pmI am from langkawi, my bird house not yet open sound but just now one officer came and ask me to apply for license, is it hard to get a license? Is good if the officer ask u to get a license. Not every place can get license. Even my place have stop issuing license. Not sure about langkawi..
DarKnightRyu
Sep 19 2011, 10:25 AM
Any Sifu here is from pahang? Mentakab, Jerantut or Termerloh? If your are free, we can have a cup of coffee to "bird" talk. I have just modified my double story shop BH after some studies here n there. I realise we will get addicted n very exciting when we talk about swiftlets ; )