V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

ta5851
post Sep 14 2011, 11:04 AM

57 posts

Hai, i am new in swiftlet keeping, just want to know how often should we clean the bird shit? heard some sifu said we are not suppose to clean the bird shit since bird like their smell very much.....thanks for advice
ta5851
post Sep 15 2011, 02:02 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 14 2011, 11:33 AM)
Do visit a swiftlets cave  and get your answer.

Cleaning is maintain health and better nests cos most BHs are too low and polution @ birdnests.

For those very particular on nests quality, do clean more often
For those very particular on birds increment. do less cleaning

My suggestion

Never clean up when new cos you want the aroma and not willing to pay for the smell and what better than the origin smell.
Clean occasionally when OK cos you don't want to disturb too much but want to have a healthy BH.
Clean often when very successful as then, quality is what you want and volume isn't a topic at all.
Thanks for your advice, bro

Added on September 15, 2011, 2:08 pm
QUOTE(DarKnightRyu @ Sep 14 2011, 01:38 PM)
Hi All Sifus,

This is my first post in this topic n I am new in swiftlets farming. 

I got around 330 nest in 1.5 years and I am surrounded by 6 BH shops in the same row n back row. 
Location in Pahang. 

Right beside my shops has 3 BH in a row and the last one has around 1000 nest where that BH open 1 month earlier than mine. 

Last week, I have done a few modification.
1. install a mist pump in the BH since almost all nest are broken n funny shape. 
2. Took away the partition to make the room bigger. 
3. Changed the so call better internal and external
 sound. 
4. Took away the "tongkat" at the top of the roof.
5. Cover all small holes here n there to make the resting area in total dark if possible. 

Are above modification correct?
Is there anything  else that I can do to increase the birds in my BH shop?

Please help. 

Added on September 14, 2011, 1:52 pmI have just renew my BH shop license yesterday. It's yearly basis.

The lady told me that they are upgrading their system. By early next year, we can renew our swiftlets license on 3 years basis.

Cheers
I am from langkawi, my bird house not yet open sound but just now one officer came and ask me to apply for license, is it hard to get a license?

This post has been edited by ta5851: Sep 15 2011, 02:08 PM
ta5851
post Sep 18 2011, 04:54 PM

57 posts

Hi All Sifu, just have another qusetion.
If I want to convert the upper floor of a shop lot to a bird house, what should I use on the ceiling as insulator. Should I use back the ceiling board ,replace it or just add something on top. Since the board is hold by aluminium frame only, how should I nail the nesting plank to it? Mine is A type roof, not concrete roof.....Thanks for advice...
ta5851
post Sep 19 2011, 11:05 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(xunji @ Sep 18 2011, 11:01 PM)
install a new ceiling using cemboard (4'x 8') 15mm thick under the existing (2'x4') ceiling board.
support of the new ceiling is from the exiting roof frame. punch a small hole from the exiting aluminium ceiling. leave a gap between the old and new ceiling.
above the existing ceiling, install a layer of aluminium sheet both sided , before Rockwell put in place. use a thin type of rock wool but high density.
thin type with higher density will have lesser weight but better insulation.
nesting plank can be install underneath the cemboard.
Thanks for advice....

ta5851
post Sep 27 2011, 11:41 AM

57 posts

Hai, all sifu. Have another question, normally a good sound will last for how long? I ask this because my bird house just open sound for 5 days, first 3 days so many bird come and play. At 3 day, about 10+ bird stay, 4th days, 20+ bird stay, but at the day time no bird come and play for 2 days already. Should I change the sound or just wait and see?

ta5851
post Oct 1 2011, 12:10 PM

57 posts

Hai, all sifu ,Have some question regarding the swiflet song, hopefully someone can help me to clarify the situation.
1) If I have 3 song in pen drive, one hour each. The player will play by sequence or will repeat the first song only?
2) If the timer shut down at 1.5hour, next time when the player start again, it will start with 2nd song or 1st song? Thanks for advice..
ta5851
post Oct 4 2011, 11:25 AM

57 posts

Hai, all sifu ...another question. I have a new bird house just open sound for 9 days. Have about 30++ bird staying. Problems is those bird only stay but never play at day time. They only play for first few days when the birdhouse start. Now hardly see any bird come to play at noon time, only come back at night. have change few pooling sound at UFO speaker but seem like not working. What should I do....
ta5851
post Oct 4 2011, 12:16 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(tigerwui @ Oct 4 2011, 12:09 PM)
Wow, so good 9 days already got 30 birds... I also facing same problem before and this is the answer i get from my Sifu,
1) Our bird house population is still low.
2) Usually only young baby bird just started learn to fly will stay near our BH.
3) Adult birds will not always circling at your BH because they still need to find food.
Pls correct me if I'm wrong, I got those infor from my Sifu.
Thanks for info, brother....Start to worried when every day see no bird come to play...Thanks for reassurance ... sweat.gif
ta5851
post Oct 9 2011, 11:14 AM

57 posts

Dear sifu,
1.what is the correct setting for Low,Mid, and high knob in amp?
2.Is it ok to connect one coil tweeter parallel with one piezo tweeter together,will this cause any problem to amp?
Thanks for advice....

0.0753sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:15 PM