71 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL

VeeJay
post Apr 17 2009, 01:00 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(curlyfries @ Apr 17 2009, 12:11 AM)
Just outta curiosity, which of the following is correct in terms of calculation in a CV / Resume ?

Working Experience
=============
Jan 2009 to June 2009 - 6 months

Jan 2009 to June 2009 - 5 months
It would be better is you just state in the CV as Jan 2009 to June 2009 with no indication of months.
geo
post Apr 17 2009, 01:01 AM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

i would like to ask if we should put our pic both on CV and resume ?
or?
then must put CV as the 1st page after that jz follow with resume issit?
b00n
post Apr 17 2009, 01:06 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(geo @ Apr 17 2009, 01:01 AM)
or?

CV short for Curriculum Vitae is another term for resume or to be exact, resume is another term for CV.

Anyway, if it's not requested; why want to attach picture?
geo
post Apr 17 2009, 01:08 AM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

er.. i know~~
i mean.. do i put my CV as the 1st page or resume as the 1st page?
i thgt a photo is always issential?
b00n
post Apr 17 2009, 01:15 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(geo @ Apr 17 2009, 01:08 AM)
er.. i know~~
i mean.. do i put my CV as the 1st page or resume as the 1st page?
i thgt a photo is always issential?

Now you're making me confuse. On one hand you say you know on the other hand, what do you really want to ask?

You put your particular first than followed by job experience and education details.

If you meant Cover letter vs Resume/CV; than obviously Cover Letter is always the first page.

And no, photo is not essential to most company.
One would only request for photo after hiring; for record purposes.

This post has been edited by b00n: Apr 17 2009, 01:17 AM
geo
post Apr 17 2009, 01:17 AM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

If you meant Cover letter vs Resume/CV; than obviously Cover Letter is always the first page

this is wat i wanted to ask~~
sorry for making u confuse
thanks smile.gif
SUSahjames
post Apr 17 2009, 09:09 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

QUOTE(meme00 @ Apr 14 2009, 05:08 PM)
Hi all

Just wanted to ask , is it okay if I do not furnish my payslip unless the company confirm wants to hire me?

And what should I put in my resume about my salary? Do i total up everything including any bonuses (annually) and divide by 12 to get monthly salary?

Hope my question isn't confusing.
Appreciate the reply though.
payslip - up to you. i dont mind showing, the money is mine anyway. HR want to verify u are not lying about ur salary.

expected sal: most ppl put monthly salary excl. bonus as basic.

bonus is up to u to factor in. end of day, wat is the anual pakej u want, then divide by 12 lor.

QUOTE(curlyfries @ Apr 17 2009, 12:11 AM)
Just outta curiosity, which of the following is correct in terms of calculation in a CV / Resume ?

Working Experience
=============
Jan 2009 to June 2009 - 6 months

Jan 2009 to June 2009 - 5 months
Similarly, 2001 - 2009 is 8 or 9 yrs? Not much diff to the hirer, really.

QUOTE(geo @ Apr 17 2009, 01:01 AM)
or?
Right on top, let them see your face.

U be suprise , sometime whether u get interview anot depend on pic also.

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 17 2009, 01:06 AM)
Anyway, if it's not requested; why want to attach picture?
A photo can give a good impression to hirer. u're not anon, are you?
Disciple
post Apr 18 2009, 05:13 PM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

Hello guys, I've just sent a copy of my resume and cover letter via e-mail. The problem is, I forgot to mention my expected salary in both the cover letter and resume as requested in the ad. I only noticed it after I sent my application doh.gif

Will that hurt my chances of getting shortlisted?
SUSahjames
post Apr 20 2009, 08:49 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

QUOTE(Disciple @ Apr 18 2009, 05:13 PM)
Hello guys, I've just sent a copy of my resume and cover letter via e-mail. The problem is, I forgot to mention my expected salary in both the cover letter and resume as requested in the ad. I only noticed it after I sent my application doh.gif

Will that hurt my chances of getting shortlisted?
usually its not a problem when u do not state expected salary, they'd use ur current sal as a gauge, but more importantly,

they'd see if u fit the job description in the first place.
Disciple
post Apr 20 2009, 08:59 AM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

^You mean the requirements? I guess I fit. Now I'm just hoping to secure an interview with them.

Thanks and nice tits.

This post has been edited by Disciple: Apr 20 2009, 08:59 AM
Houlivgan
post Apr 22 2009, 12:26 AM

hey guys i have a question here. If i send out my resume via email, should i attach the cover letter or jus put it as the email content?
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 22 2009, 12:42 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

I'm a student trying to apply into Uni..Going to graduate from Diploma..Am preparing my resume in case I wanna apply for anything..

What Do u guys think I should write in first since I have part time work experience before..Education or Job experience or Co-Cu things..

First time doing resume..Very headache..Thx

Ps..Just realised that there's resume templates from MS Office..Iz it acceptable for me to use the resume templates? Thx..

This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Apr 22 2009, 12:45 AM
SUSahjames
post Apr 22 2009, 09:11 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 22 2009, 12:42 AM)
Am preparing my resume in case I wanna apply for anything..
Just join jobstreet, and fill in your details, then their system got a resume format generate out for you, that would be a good starting point.
BboyDora
post Apr 26 2009, 02:36 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(Houlivgan @ Apr 22 2009, 12:26 AM)
hey guys i have a question here. If i send out  my resume via email, should i attach the cover letter or jus put it as the email content?
Attach it will be better as the HR personnel might need to print it out for references
SUSahjames
post Apr 28 2009, 10:01 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

QUOTE(Houlivgan @ Apr 22 2009, 12:26 AM)
hey guys i have a question here. If i send out  my resume via email, should i attach the cover letter or jus put it as the email content?
i'd put the cover letter as email content, and attach both cover letter and resume.

TIPU
post Apr 28 2009, 06:56 PM

45 posts

Hi

I graduated last year, i have good extra curricular record, but past one year working for good company in an interesting position.

I am wondering do i still needs my extra curricular in my resume?
hans.excel
post May 5 2009, 10:09 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(TIPU @ Apr 28 2009, 06:56 PM)
Hi

I graduated last year,  i have good extra curricular record, but past one year working for good company in an interesting position.

I am wondering do i still needs my extra curricular in my resume?
i believe you should write more on the skills that you have learned and been practicing in your current position.
babysakura
post May 9 2009, 11:27 AM

I'm a fresh grad that graduated in an overseas institution and will be returning to KL next month. I am trying to update my resume to fit into the malaysian criterias. I heard from many friends that the format in Malaysia is a little different where often they ask for your expected salary and request for you to write down your previous salary. Also they often ask for a picture.

So my question is, do you convert your previous salary? do you add the picture in with your resume or clip it on top of your resume?? Its so weird because this is so discriminative as if they are hiring base on your looks and your expected price. I'm still at the confused stage with the hiring practices in malaysia. Can someone be good enough to enlighten me??
milleu
post May 12 2009, 01:36 PM

431 posts

I'm graduated from us and I don't include my picture and my expected salary. Unless the person contact me and really need it.and as far as i've experience without those two never really actually hurt my chances in getting interviews and everything.

My resume is also kept short,1 page as per the us standard.

super macgyver
post May 12 2009, 03:51 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(babysakura @ May 9 2009, 11:27 AM)
I'm a fresh grad that graduated in an overseas institution and will be returning to KL next month. I am trying to update my resume to fit into the malaysian criterias. I heard from many friends that the format in Malaysia is a little different where often they ask for your expected salary and request for you to write down your previous salary. Also they often ask for a picture.

So my question is, do you convert your previous salary? do you add the picture in with your resume or clip it on top of your resume?? Its so weird because this is so discriminative as if they are hiring base on your looks and your expected price. I'm still at the confused stage with the hiring practices in malaysia. Can someone be good enough to enlighten me??
i usually dun include my picture. sweat.gif

regards,
macgyver

71 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0179sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:06 PM