1,933 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: ~Universe~ |
May 31 2009, 08:33 PM
36 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Do it chronologically, with your uni being the first and state your expected grade or classification of degree and then Pre-U and grades achieved.
University of Malaya, Malaysia Month year - Present Bachelor of Arts in XXXXX Expected grade: 1st Class La Salle College, XXX Month year - Month year STPM: Ekonomi (A+), Matematiks (A+), Bahasa Cina (A+) La Salle High School, XXXXX Month year - Month year SPM Added on May 31, 2009, 8:34 pmSorry bad alignments ~ This post has been edited by Joshua836: May 31 2009, 08:34 PM |
Jun 1 2009, 06:02 AM
13 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: West Orion |
How important is degree classification in the long run?
I'm graduated from engineering school.3rd class deg holder. I know sometime classification varies a bit depending on your field. i really much dont know malaysia's situation about this. I got a disastrous 2.1 and in redundancy. seeking career in OnG might be uphill for a 3rd classer fresh grad eh? as career proceed it becomes less important. question is, do i have to mention my grade on my cv? and most importantly,what should I do to make a cutting edge against this matter? the first job security is a painfull one to obtain... can someone experts assist me? This post has been edited by zlata: Jun 1 2009, 06:15 AM |
Jun 1 2009, 09:38 AM
60 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(zlata @ Jun 1 2009, 06:02 AM) How important is degree classification in the long run? Aiyo, if you are ashamed of the fact that you're a 3rd class, don't put it in your CV lah. Highlight your other key strengths during the interview. 1st class, 2nd class, 3rd class, it doesn't matter in the long run. Most importantly is that you can produce results for the organization efficiently. I'm graduated from engineering school.3rd class deg holder. I know sometime classification varies a bit depending on your field. i really much dont know malaysia's situation about this. I got a disastrous 2.1 and in redundancy. seeking career in OnG might be uphill for a 3rd classer fresh grad eh? as career proceed it becomes less important. question is, do i have to mention my grade on my cv? and most importantly,what should I do to make a cutting edge against this matter? the first job security is a painfull one to obtain... can someone experts assist me? Although certain big organizations e.g. IBM tends to look at honors classifications. So it depends which organization you join loh. My bf is a 3rd class degree holder and he's now the COO for his own company. I'm a second upper class honors and I'm still jobless |
Jun 1 2009, 05:47 PM
36 posts Joined: May 2009 |
well, a 3rd class is not the end of the world, I personally think that it could be compensated by work experiences or other vocational work-related qualifications.
In the long run, I mean once you've started working, the classification of degree would not affect you at all. For your case, as an engineer, I am not too sure whether do you have to be a second class honours to be qualified as chartered engineer (if you are heading towards that direction) As operasian pointed out that, you needn't to put it on your CV but you must be able to justify why did you get a 3rd class. I mean I am pretty sure your interviewer will query you on this when they'd received your application and decided to invite you for an interview. Probably, you could aim for some smaller engineering firms or so to start off with and load yourself with experience. |
Jun 1 2009, 10:02 PM
40 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
cgpa is not important when you have an experience.one of my friend he get the job without her boss see their qualifications..
Jun 1 2009, 11:34 PM
80 posts Joined: May 2009 |
anyone have a good cover letter to share pls??
Jun 2 2009, 05:11 PM
158 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur.... Status: 32Bit Mode ON |
Jun 2 2009, 07:47 PM
150 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: KL/PJ |
QUOTE(ronzai89 @ Jun 2 2009, 06:11 PM) of course ar experience most important thing..cgpa just for backup ( fresh graduate) ...Added on June 2, 2009, 7:49 pm QUOTE(lngck @ Jun 2 2009, 12:34 AM) have you try GOOGLE ??there are a lot of cover letter over there ..This post has been edited by obelickz: Jun 2 2009, 07:49 PM |
Jun 7 2009, 06:10 PM
1,807 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(socratesman @ May 17 2009, 05:57 PM) I am currently with company X. I'd appreciate if some kind soul can answer my question quoted above. Thanks!I started off with them in position A, then promoted to B, and now in position C. So in my resume, should I mention about my previous positions A and B and its respective job responsibilities? thanks! |
Jun 8 2009, 06:31 PM
401 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: kuala lumpur |
QUOTE(socratesman @ Jun 7 2009, 06:10 PM) Well, if possible, you should combine both position A&B under one same column. It means you will have 2 columns for your job description. One is for position C and the other is for position A&B combination. This will show that you have grown in terms of responsiblities and capacity within the company. |
Jun 26 2009, 12:06 PM
186 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Taken from http://www.iwantscholarship.net/2009/06/ho...omising-resume/
Imagine this, you do not know this person at all, and you want to find out everything about this person in 2 page of papers. This is RESUME. A resume can is the first impressions you gave to a potential reader be it recruiter, potential employer or a professor. There are a few types of resume that a student might need to write, another name for resume is CV. 1. Resume to apply for internship 2. Resume to apply for scholarship 3. Resume to apply for job (part-time or full-time job) The method to write these kind of resume could differ from one another. 1. Resume Internship - It should reflect your current results, your active involvement in any kind of activities, your working experience (part time counted too), most importantly write a good cover letter and also a reference letter from your current university/college. Without a reference letter, the company will be doubful if you are really a student or not. 2. Resume scholarship -It should reflect your good results during your studies, working experience is a plus point and your involvement in extra curricular activities. A good resume should be accompany by 2 reference letter from your university and your manager ( if you are working currently). Also some scholarship do ask for your parent’s combined payslip and essay to supplement the application. -Another plus point will be your research project during your university time, if you have written some papers and published it somewhere, include a summary of it in your appication 3. Resume career -If you are a fresh grad, do shine in your results and your involvement in your university time, strongly suggest to hold any position clubs/society, or you have volunteered in any NGO or NPO. Or you during your internship you might involved in any project that you can write something something about it. In general, a good resume should follow the following guidelines -Maximum 2 page, if is longer, the recruiter get bored and will set it aside -Contact details, if you want to be contacted right away make sure you write a valid contact phone numbers and email address, make sure your email address is professional. If your name is Jason Tan your might want your email to be jasontan@email.com instead of jason65325@email.com -Your results, if you are applying to work for an airline, they might require good language skills, so do point out your language ability. Dont think they care so much what you score in your accounting class. -Education history, write the most recent one on top, if you have master qualification, write down master’s result followed by degree result. Do not think you need your high school result anymore as it seems not important anymore. Work experience: position : period: responsibility: challenges: achievement -Language ability – could be pretty useful these days to know multiple languages -Awards -Skills- computer skills, personal skills , any other skills -References- do contact the person before you write down their names, they will be contacted by recruiter Remember that everyone will submit a resume, whats makes yours more attractive is up to you to sell your good points. And most importantly do not cheat and know what you are writing most likely the interviewer will look at your resume while interviewing you and if you are not able to answer the question and do not remember what you wrote in it. Is not a very good impression isn’t in? However if you produce a professional resume, had a good interview. You are most likely HIRED. |
Aug 2 2009, 12:26 AM
11 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Do we need to put someone as a reference in our resume?
Please advice |
Aug 2 2009, 12:39 AM
261 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
I like to put "References available upon request". If anyone wants to call up your references, you will need to prepare them for it.
Aug 3 2009, 07:40 PM
11 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Aug 9 2009, 01:25 AM
643 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Deutschland |
QUOTE(anniewf87 @ May 24 2009, 02:37 PM) Is it wise to hand in the hardcopy of my resume directly to the office rather sending through e-mail? depends on what the company prefers. most MNC's will only entertain online resume. Any HR people here can advice? Thanks. if you have the hr contact, just give them a call and ask what they prefer. Added on August 9, 2009, 1:41 am QUOTE(Houlivgan @ May 22 2009, 04:30 PM) For cover letter what is my current position i use present and past tense for older things that might need to be mentioned.however for CV, i dont think there is a right or wrong, its up to your preference, personally i prefer present tense. since its already being listed by year, so in that time period that is whats happening This post has been edited by kaffra: Aug 9 2009, 01:41 AM |
Aug 18 2009, 04:28 PM
2,102 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
I hear that one should submit resume, cover letters or CV in Words format but I have a dilemma here.
Its because I am a young professional qualification holder & its grading system is very different than degree, which it is papers based. Companies in UK or US recognised these problem but when I look at Malaysia companies its all about CGPA & education history. Those can be easily formatted in words but my Prof Cert comes in respective papers with grading marks & sessions attemped attached. So a tabling format is more convenient & systematic & there is no problem when I send hardcopies directly but certain org only accept online. So my main enquiry is can I use Excel for the tabling format or I should stick with Word for safety. Damn long with words but only minutes in excel & way more systematic too but since everyone use words but they are degree holders so,...... please advice. Thank you. |
Aug 24 2009, 10:18 PM
643 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Deutschland |
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 18 2009, 04:28 PM) I hear that one should submit resume, cover letters or CV in Words format but I have a dilemma here. not at all, in fact the preferred format for data transfer is pdf.Its because I am a young professional qualification holder & its grading system is very different than degree, which it is papers based. Companies in UK or US recognised these problem but when I look at Malaysia companies its all about CGPA & education history. Those can be easily formatted in words but my Prof Cert comes in respective papers with grading marks & sessions attemped attached. So a tabling format is more convenient & systematic & there is no problem when I send hardcopies directly but certain org only accept online. So my main enquiry is can I use Excel for the tabling format or I should stick with Word for safety. Damn long with words but only minutes in excel & way more systematic too but since everyone use words but they are degree holders so,...... please advice. Thank you. even if in the rare case word document is specified, you can embed your excel sheet in word, or just copy/create the table in word. |
Aug 29 2009, 02:00 PM
158 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Kenya Wakanda |
What is the right or deemed most suitable resume format for a fresh graduate? Please enlighten me.
| Change to: | 0.0208sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:57 AM |